Each MiG-35 to cost only $30 mil for the Russians. Is the IAF listening?

Yes for china alone its a good deterance but i am talking about post 2020 scenario of 2 pronged war and we need more numbers and be prepared for anything

It depends on what is your objective in a 2 front war.

Is it a total domination of 2 nuclear state who dont lack in conventional/manpower force either.

Or

Is it keeping one(preferably China) at bay or at a level of skirmish while going all out on another?

Or

Holding your area as long as possible if both sino pak go all out for a war?

India envisage and prepared for second outcome where we feel that with diplomacy we can keep china out of indo pak war or limit its influence to some skirmish/stand off level. We dont think we can stand offensive against those 2 powers even with 40+ squads.

It depends on what is your objective in a 2 front war.

Is it a total domination of 2 nuclear state who dont lack in conventional/manpower force either.

Or

Is it keeping one(preferably China) at bay or at a level of skirmish while going all out on another?

Or

Holding your area as long as possible if both sino pak go all out for a war?

India envisage and prepared for second outcome where we feel that with diplomacy we can keep china out of indo pak war or limit its influence to some skirmish/stand off level. We dont think we can stand offensive against those 2 powers even with 40+ squads.

Then why bother even trying to increase the squadrons to even prescribed 39??

Its optimal number for credible deterrence.

We are all for 39 squads with quality fighters but at the moment we have to discuss what is possible and what is not.

We are certainly missing the mark of 39 but we believe that with recent force multiplier and addition of more capable aircraft will neutralize this lack in number and we can "defend" equally well. Just need to utter "Dont worry". :)

Its optimal number for credible deterrence.

We are all for 39 squads with quality fighters but at the moment we have to discuss what is possible and what is not.

We are certainly missing the mark of 39 but we believe that with recent force multiplier and addition of more capable aircraft will neutralize this lack in number and we can "defend" equally well. Just need to utter "Dont worry". :)

Am not................in all probity there will never be a war,,but whats wrong in good analysis??

btw what about the costly upgrade of mirage 2000 costing about 40 million dollar per plane??
are we so foolish??

@he-man

Look at this article

LCAs to be ready by mid-2014, says India's top scientist

HYDERABAD: Production work to roll out the country's first indigenous light combat aircraft Tejas began in full throttle and the first few aircraft should roll out by mid-2014, India's top defence scientist said on Friday.

The lightweight multi-role combat aircraft, which is in the making for 30 years now, has gone through several phases of streamlining in the drawing room after the armed forces expressed reservation about its faulty initial design.

The LCAs are supposed to replace India's ageing fleet of MiGs, and Avinash Chander, the newly-appointed chief of Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and scientific advisor to defence minister AK Antony was hopeful that things had finally fallen into place. "As such, the production work has already started full throttle. So, currently there are no bottlenecks to prevent the rolling out of first lot of these indigenously built LCA by middle of next year," Chander told TOI.

"Production rate, I believe is around 16-20 per year and huge orders would assist in good production rates," he said.

Although the time frame for getting the initial operational clearance-2 for Tejas has now been set at 2013 year end, Chander said he was confident that the aircraft will be ready for the clearance by September-end.

"Final Operational Clearance (FOC) for our first modern Light Combat Aircraft for Indian Air Force would follow soon thereafter. Meanwhile, these two processes can go on parallel to save precious time in delivery and induction once the IOC-2 and FOC are given," said the DRDO chief.

We might have 5-6 Tejas by mid 2014 itself.

@he-man

Look at this article

We might have 5-6 Tejas by mid 2014 itself.

Its avinash chander man.........the undisputed king of trolls after retirement of vk saraswat

But i do hope he turns out to be true!!

btw what about the costly upgrade of mirage 2000 costing about 40 million dollar per plane??
are we so foolish??

No we are not foolish. The cost includes new armaments as well not only life extension.

Also dont forget Mirage is our prime carrier of nukes and we need fit and powerful mirage to do the job with no fail. Best of upgrade need some money and French are known to milk you the most when you need.

Having said so, Mirage upgradation was necessary.

Its avinash chander man.........the undisputed king of trolls after retirement of vk saraswat

But i do hope he turns out to be true!!

Atleast he cant claim that production is on full throttle when it is actually not.

LCA is closely monitor by MoD right now. We can assume any news coming out from DRDO to be true these days.

No we are not foolish. The cost includes new armaments as well not only life extension.

Also dont forget Mirage is our prime carrier of nukes and we need fit and powerful mirage to do the job with no fail. Best of upgrade need some money and French are known to milk you the most when you need.

Having said so, Mirage upgradation was necessary.

Atleast he cant claim that production is on full throttle when it is actually not.

LCA is closely monitor by MoD right now. We can assume any news coming out from DRDO to be true these days.

Keeping weapons aside it still cost us 30 million per plane for

1)DASH 5 mmi standars

2)ICMS mk3 ecm system

3)mica integration

4)full glass cockpit

5)rdy-2 radar

now i think french rather milked us well:pissed:

Technical specifications for this "MiG 29 on steroids

NO-19 radar has been replaced with the multifunction advanced slotted-array Phazatron Zhuk-M2E
1553B databus
New IFF
Rd-33 Series 3 engines (license production in India)
Improved OLS-UEM IRST (same as MiG-35)
New mission computers, navigation system (RLG-INS w/GPS + possible Glonass module - Sagem's Sigma95N), Stores Management System, new VRS (Video Recording System) plus DMG (Display Map Generator).
Better ground attack capabilities (integration of KAB bombs, Kh-29, Kh-31), integration with Litening pod (unconfirmed) and Sudarshan+Paveway+Griffin LGB (unconfirmed)
Glass cockpit with new HUD, two MFDs, HOTAS
Integration of R-77 (Astra by 2015 and Astra-2 later on)
Increased fuel capacity and refueling probe (50% boost in range)
New ESM and ECM suite with solid state AESA based jammers
Integration of Operational Data Link (ODL) to allow connectivity with IACCS
Instrument Landing system

keeping mig-21 in reserve is not an option man,,,,,those machines have nothing left
Its better to retire them even earlier than 2019

As for squadron strength,,,,it all depends on HAL manufacturing rate of lca mk1 and 2 because if they cannot roduce these at a good rate then numbers fall further and currently there is no surety

reserve doesn't mean that they will be in active duty, rather just keep them flyable(like we are doing with some old migs) so that in hypothetical situations(say in full flagged war etc) we can use them.

Do we have reserve pilots as well to fly those reserve fighters? No.

bhai ideally they should have been retired 10-12 years ago from now!!!

and u want them to fly beyond 2020..........i think pilots deserve better

Do we have reserve pilots as well to fly those reserve fighters? No.

Ofcourse we have. We achieved 44 sqdn figure once in mid-late 80s, so what is making you feel that those aircrafts were pilotless??

Technical specifications for this "MiG 29 on steroids

NO-19 radar has been replaced with the multifunction advanced slotted-array Phazatron Zhuk-M2E
1553B databus
New IFF
Rd-33 Series 3 engines (license production in India)
Improved OLS-UEM IRST (same as MiG-35)
New mission computers, navigation system (RLG-INS w/GPS + possible Glonass module - Sagem's Sigma95N), Stores Management System, new VRS (Video Recording System) plus DMG (Display Map Generator).
Better ground attack capabilities (integration of KAB bombs, Kh-29, Kh-31), integration with Litening pod (unconfirmed) and Sudarshan+Paveway+Griffin LGB (unconfirmed)
Glass cockpit with new HUD, two MFDs, HOTAS
Integration of R-77 (Astra by 2015 and Astra-2 later on)
Increased fuel capacity and refueling probe (50% boost in range)
New ESM and ECM suite with solid state AESA based jammers
Integration of Operational Data Link (ODL) to allow connectivity with IACCS
Instrument Landing system

for absolute details on all systems go here

http://www.defence.pk/forums/indian...deliver-six-mig-29k-warplanes-india-2.html(my earlier effort)

Ofcourse we have. We achieved 44 sqdn figure once in mid-late 80s, so what is making you feel that those aircrafts were pilotless??

haha,,,,,,,,,,chaddo yaar......44 squadrons is not gonna be achieved till late 2020's

bhai ideally they should have been retired 10-12 years ago from now!!!

and u want them to fly beyond 2020..........i think pilots deserve better

deserves better, I agreed. But In war you can't make excuses like pilots desreve better etc. These things can be sorted out in peace time and so far we have failed sorting these things out.