Do we really need democracy in Pakistan?

Yes. Go for a caliphate in Pakistan. Make me lifetime Ameer ul Momineen. Problem sorted. I will simply open a huge concentration camp and ged rid of all undesirables as defined by me - the Ameer ul Momineen
45de8b21b3c85b5b70429f99cf5687a9.jpg

May be biometric voting? Or better political choices for the voters. Or both.

Both, plus aik independent body honi chahiye (group of very well educated ppl - Qualifications minimum 7 PhDs in different subjects) jo PM, President (I mean Leader) k actions ko monitor karey. aur leader jawabday ho uss certain body ko. We hear a lot these dayz about we are humans and humans make mistakes - No Sir, yes we are humans but PMs, Presidents, are public servants, their job to serve the public, their job is not to make mistakes, if they do, thn they shud go, aur iss cheez ka faisla woh independent body karey jo hum (awam) main say merit per select ki gaye ho.

yeh aik normal sa suggestion hai, isko aur bhi alter aur refine kiya jaa sakta hai parliament wagera ko dimagh main rakh kar.

As the saying goes, "agar chor bhook mitanay k liye chori karey toh haath chor k nai hukamraan k kaatney chahiye"

So you guys are for democracy but a refined one. See it takes long to get true democracy. Specially keeping in mind our current scenario. Can we wait that long? The world is far ahead of us and to compete we need instant changes. Is there any other way in your opinion or would you like to wait and let this democracy re-invent itself?

Slow and steady wins the race sir g, but hamarey paas koi goal hona chahiye, filhaal toh koi goal hi nai dikh raha.

Any system can work. Look at Iran. They have strict laws. Yet that doesn't stop them from progressing. Hell they made engines, have a Better space program than us. They've been ranked sixth in Nano tech. Etc. Problem with western style democracy is that it's too lenient and passive. Pakistan needs rigid laws that puts fear in peoples hearts so they be kept in check.

IMO the best thing to do at the moment and in current scenario is to separate religion from governance or at least decide on the the framework of what is above what. This is very important for Pakistan as since independence it has not really established a "governance skeleton" so to say.

Secondly trust the people of Pakistan. Agreed that due to lack of formal education many are unable to make an informed decision , which does not imply that education is the only deciding factor, however it plays a role [Americans really think they have an option of good and bad between Hillary & Trump - - and they think they are the educated ones], but not every time civilian governments make a blunder does the army needs to poke its head in. Agreed that Pakistani politicians are no angels and are most of the time concern with filling their pockets, but are any politicians angels?

Thirdly work needs to start from ground up. Don't mistake 'ground up' with 'absolute zero'. What I mean here is people like us sit in their homes and blog on forums that such and such can be done, however it is as much a responsibilty of an ordinary Pakistani as it is of the higher ups of the hierarchy to give though, analyze the state of affairs [at local levels at least], to reconsider the options they have in terms of politicians, distance and rise above petty issues, and most importantly change the way of thinking. THIS does not mean forsake your religious affiliations which is a matter of great concern for many Pakistanis, but to think and act on ways to contribute.

Having said all of the above, do I become eligible for the Pakistani PM's seat? [pun intended at Malala episode]

YES WE NEED DEMOCRAY in pakistan....but not a democracy copy pasted from western countries but only using it as a foundation and building a proper "Modren" Islamic country based upon the principle of pluralist society.
one of the things a islamic country needs is to have an integrated Islamic council which would have the best Islamic scholars selected Internationally and a Islamic research institute..

Democracy can't work with a bunch if incompetent puppets competing to be in power. It has divided, weakened and has been utterly useless. Keep in electing crooks that reap the people of the nation. That is suicide.

IMO we need democracy with strong independent institutions and local form of Government . I think no form of gov will work without strong institutions which we dont have .

Sir will you please elaborate what other systems you are pointing out here.
It's pretty obvious you are a supporter of dictatorship, but have a courage to say it straight away.
Can you please point out which country is having a dictatorship and is successful.
malaysia under mahatir mohd
china - definately no democracy

shariah is the only solution to our problems . i know majority of the members wont like this post but if we are a muslim state then it is the only solution BUT by shaira i mean the the shariah of the Prophet SAW and not of shariah of fazlulllah, diesel, mullah burka, baghdadi etc. these people have destroyed the image of shariah all over the world. the implementation of shariah needs learned , selfless muslim leaders and scholars which are very very few in pakistan.

Can you give us an example of a country where sharia law is implemented and the country is progressing.

P.S Im not opposing it just want an example.

Do we need democracy?

In short, unless you have a better system of governance, which I'd wager you don't, then yes we do need democracy.

but we have so many differences/divisions within Islam, how u planning on managing all that? for example we have Sunnis, we have Shias

Sunnis:

we have Sunni Brelvis, Sunni Deobandis, Sunni Ahl e Hadees, Sunni Salafis, Sunni Hanafis, Sunni Malikis, Sunni Hanbalis, Sunni Shafis, Sunni Qadris, Sunni Sabris, Sunni Soharwardis and much more.

Shias:

Ithna Asheri, Ithna Asheri Usooli, Ithna Asheri Akhbari, Ismaelis, Ismaeli Aghakhanis, Zaydis (Maybe) and more.

So many jurisprudential, ethical, theological differences, in sab ko manage kaisey karogey?

Democracy is not salvation. It's just another form of governing a country, a Kingdom, a ruling elite, an elected elite, all can produce good rules for society, but they can just as easily make total crap rules for part of, or their whole, country.

The Saudi Kingdom is a valid way of ruling by popular support.. So is the government system of Japan, and for most European countries the 'ruling elite' vary.

So i've chosen (a number of years ago actually) to not look at rank or name of who says what, but to only listen to, and process, what is said. On some topics, your local garbage cleanup service people will know more than a prime minister, the national chief of intelligence *and* your King / Queen combined.

that local knowledge that your local garbage cleanup crew, usually filters to the right bureaucrat and the local city council will organise the cleanup of such a local issue.

what's the point here? well, wether you're under the rule of a true Kingdom (like Saudi Arabia), or a mix of democracy and Kingdom (like *perhaps* Pakistan is at the moment), or whether you're in a 'true democracy with seperation of state and church', good government policies can only be made if there's NOT a struggle for "what form of government we use" or "who gets to be King / Prime Minister / President-of-a-country"..

You need the central leadership stay the central leadership, IN MOST CASES.
I can (idealogically) back the new Egyptian government, and praise their old President for keeping political-power-hungry "wolves" at bay with strict enforcement of strict laws.

Syria's Assad clan thought they could bomb their own citizens with their own airforce, to stop demonstrations to receive more of the country's wealth (apparently non-Assad-clan/tribe peoples got so little of the Syrian income/wealth, they found it reason to go onto the street and excercise their right to demonstrate peacefully)...
I don't know exactly how Syria turned into the total warzone that it is now. But i do know i despise Assad and his clan for not even handing over a little bit of the nation's wealth to Syrians who are not part of the Assad clans. (clans = peoples, tribes)

I also supported the Ayatollah of Iran and his leaderships, over the "Iranian green movement".
'Regime-change' is the phrase used to indicate you're going from one set of families and tribes as your government, to an entirely different set of families and clans (in most cases ok),
and even with lots and lots of outside help (all that happened and is happening in Iraq), a regime-change is gonna cost tens of thousands of lives, possibly even a percentage of the population.. 1 percent 'collateral damage' among/of 10 million humans is 100 000 (one-hundred-thousand) horrible deaths, ok..
THAT's why you wont hear people like me offer 'regime change' as an opening line or something like that. regime-change should always be the very last option to use. and it can't be bluffed with either..

What the green movement in Iran should do is stay out of the current leadership (the Ayatollah's leaderships) and focus on having a life, either in Iran or outside Iran.