Did 'absolutely right thing' in 2002, Narendra Modi says

To be honest the comment did not go down well with me either. Now I am a Hindu nationalist as well. And I believe that 2002 was bound to happen and no power in India could have stopped the wheel once it had started turning. And it had started turning quite a bit before 2002. That was a different time and even as a kid I remember the tension that was all around. But its time to bury that now in the larger interest of the country. And Shri Modi needs to be more polished and circumspect in his words. He should come across as big hearted and willing to forgive and forget. These type of statements make him come across as petty and vindictive, and not someone big enough to pull a country forward together. I have no animosity against good Muslims, and I believe that in 2002 good Hindus and good Muslims both died. And it was all triggered by some really really nasty Muslims. For which so many others of their community were forced to suffer. It is not fair to paint the whole community as nasty, and we need a leader who realizes that. I would never vote for the Congress. I despise it intensely. But Shri Modi is making it really hard for me to vote for the BJP, which is what I want to do. As a Hindu, I would hold him to a higher standard, and that is the bare boned truth.

That interview was creepy. How someone who aspires to be a leader of India can draw such an insensitive analogy is beyond me. Forget the fact that the analogy is completely erroneous, how someone could make such a choice of words is bewildering in the least. That question was not unexpected, the answer was probably well rehearsed. Would have to believe that it was deliberate & not something that just slipped out. There is also something about Mr. Modi's facial expressions when talking on such matters that is unnerving.He looked remorseless, unrepentant, not something you should expect from a CM whose fellow citizens were brutally murdered. Regardless of whether there is any criminal culpability, there is a moral one just like there was for Rajiv Gandhi in 1984. To simply brush that aside with some insensitive comments is just sad. The guy is honest, hardworking & all but whether he actually have the depth to be an Indian leader is questionable. A lot of Modi's fans operate on the same idea that failed so spectacularly in Egypt. i.e. Run the country as if it were theirs alone & pay no heed to the opposition. While it is unlikely that Mr. Modi & the BJP will ever muster up enough support of their own to do that, the example of Mr.Morsi might be a good takeaway of how not to try & govern a democracy. The belief that one can bulldoze one's ideas through without trying to broad base one's support base is one which is destined to fail & more importantly, one that deserves to fail. Atal Behari Vajpayee, he is not(even if some of his more extreme supporters wish precisely that). Many people did not vote for Vajpayee but very few disliked him & almost no one feared him. That is the only way to go in a country like India. The BJP it seems, wants to go more & more the way of its alliance partner, the Shiv Sena. India needs a right of centre party that is responsible & provides an alternate vision to the left of centre Congress, not a 'B' team of
the Shiv Sena, only larger in size.

This is what he said,

any person if we are driving a car, we are a driver, and someone else is driving a car and we’re sitting behind, even then if a puppy comes under the wheel, will it be painful or not? Of course it is. If I’m a chief minister or not, I’m a human being. If something bad happens anywhere, it is natural to be sad.

What is so offensive or insensitive about that ?

Plus I dont know if you read Madhu Kishwar's article about Modi's meet with some clerics from communities that were affected in the riots..this is what he had to say to them,

“Look, no one can deny that a 1000 plus Muslims were killed. I only ask you, whatever happens between Palamapur and Vapi, between Bharuch and Jamnagar—good or bad- the buck will stop with you. You are our chief minister. Whenever there is a problem, whoever is in put in trouble—whether Hindu or Muslim- it is your responsibility. We will always have the right to ask you: why did this happen under your charge?

"To this Modi replied: Yes, this blot happened during my tenure and I have to wash it off.(‘Haan ye mere kaal ka kalank hai, aur mujhe usko dhona hai’)..People told us Modi never says sorry. I said, what does sorry mean? If this Maya Kodnani comes and says sorry to Muslims, will she be forgiven? We have a criminal justice system in this country which does not accept sorry. What will Narendra Modi’s sorry mean to us? We will judge his sorry from his actual doings..

And what do you mean he looked remorseless or unrepetant..what crime did he commit for him to be full of remorse or repentful ? . Do you expect him to make a drama like Sheila Dixit did by crying on screen while doing precious nothing on ground to actually improve the situation and kept making excuses ? He has made it pretty clear that he did everything in his power/ambit to stop the riots and there is no need to repent for that. He has also said that if found guilty he ready to face the music.

And the reference to Morsi is simply a non-sequitor. He has been the CM of Guj for 12 years and no idea was "bulldozed" through against the wishes of the people. As regards not listening to opposition, which ruling party ever did that in India ? We have parties that actually even roll back good things done by the opposition once they get into power. Modi is authoritative, not authoritarian. He is decisive, not dictatorial. He expects results and drives people to get that. Unfortunately that difference is lost upon the people of this country who are getting used to "coalition dharmas" (dramas) and weak, indecisive leadership which are ironically becoming a virtue instead of weakness.

I have no idea what on earth you trying to say, try again.

What if he use the same puppy metaphor for entire India. im sure you Indians will not be happy with that so stop supporting his stupid abusive remarks for Indian Muslims

Then that should have been the stand he took. That would have been the sensible way to go. People can accept mistakes acknowledged, it wouldn't have diminished Modi. Manohar Parrikar used that line & gave Modi a fairly decent way out. Even you will have to admit that this absolute reluctance to admit any mistake, is foolish when there were so many dead people as a result. There was omission even if no commission.

He was pretty clear in his interview about that,

Ques: But do you think you did the right thing in 2002?

Ans: Absolutely. However much brainpower the Supreme Being has given us, however much experience I’ve got, and whatever I had available in that situation

Why are people always of the assumption that the riots could have been prevented in the first place and he did not do that deliberately ? ever think of the possibility that they were too big, the provocation too huge to be prevented, in the first place ? That is a very real possibility and in that case there is neither omission nor commission.

India is not Pakistan so Muslims need not act like happy if they are not. In many part of Gujarat they have become ultra rich living in houses of crores of rupees and using posh cars which an average Pakistani can only envy.

Regarding Puppy remark, I can not help you if you have any comprehension problem. If you are eager to compare your Muslims brothers to Puppy, I can not help. Enjoy the blast of Quetta & Karachi.

Hindu modi called Indian Muslims puppies thats enough to prove mentality of hindu militant leaders towards Indian Muslims.

You can keep enjoying your Melagon blasts by these hindu extremists

Funny how there is all this ruckus about just a metaphor and nothing about "Baccha Baccha Ram ka, Raghavji ke kaam ka" gem from Digvijay Singh.

hehe..if you didnt know, the deputy floor leader of Congress in MP resigned from Congress and joined BJP the following day saying he was disgusted with this tweet from Diggi Raja..:lol:

But anyway, this is about Lord Ram and hence secular. No issues.

Why are people always of the assumption that the riots could have been prevented in the first place ? ever think of the possibility that they were too big, the provocation too huge to be prevented, in the first place ? That is a very real possibility and in that case there is neither omission nor commission.

Exactly. It is a fact that only those riots linger on in memory when one side gets killed in disproportionate numbers. Otherwise it its history, India has had so many riots, most under Congress rule. In which the death count has been near equal. How many are remembered and talked about to this day?

if this is the standard of your comprehension of a simple thing he said,

why going bonker . You said he treats all Indians equally so it means either all Indians are puppies in his eyes or non is a puppy.

how long will you keep crying about malegaon.. is 2013 , and muslims bombed a buddhist plae last week.

puppies are adorable arent they? so why are you offended. where they called dog or were they called *****?

Does anyone know what exactly he said?

Was it puppy or pilloo or kutte ka bacha? His Hindi is a bit rusty. Needs to polish it up before 2014.

Though to be fair we have had PMs who could hardly speak Hindi as well.

see, there is always a section of people who are offended by this.
Modi himself took offense to Rahu G's beehive of activity referring to india. but no one else too exception. so why are they all unhappy now.
Shashi tharoor talked about cattle class referring to cutting down of MPs tracel to economy class.

these kind of things are unnecesatily blown out of proportion.politics of india.. you wont understand,.

I very well understand communal dirty politics of India.

The only difference which you refused to see between the comments of Modi and Shashi is that Shashi was NOT refering to particular community he was generally speaking about deprived ones irresepctive of religion whereas as Modi is calling Indian hunderds of those Muslims as puppies who were killed in Gujarat by Hindu militants.

why going bonker . You said he treats all Indians equally so it means either all Indians are puppies in his eyes or non is a puppy.

Stop trolling about Modi. Its pathetic to watch. I can understand that you sh@t in your pants at the very mention of his name which is why you are trying to hair split and over analyse his every utterance. Proves that you are really a bunch of cowards who is now mortally scared of the rise of a Hindu Rashtra.

how long will you keep crying about malegaon.. is 2013 , and muslims bombed a buddhist plae last week.

puppies are adorable arent they? so why are you offended. where they called dog or were they called *****?

Puppies are cute so well you will NOT be offended by calling Hindus puppies but we Muslims do consider it offensive.

Exactly. It is a fact that only those riots linger on in memory when one side gets killed in disproportionate numbers. Otherwise it its history, India has had so many riots, most under Congress rule. In which the death count has been near equal. How many are remembered and talked about to this day?

Sorry dude, in Nellie in Assam 3000 muslims were killed in just 6 hours with almost no loss of life on the opposite side. No one talks of that. The Sikh riots with more than 4000 Sikhs dead in Delhi alone were a one sided massacre, atleast in 1984. No one talks of that. In ahmedabad in 1965 more than 5000 muslims and about 1000 hindus died. No one talks of that. In contrast 2002 riots had 740 muslims and about 300 hindu casualties. Nothing disproportionate about that.

The only reason 2002 is lingering on is because of two reasons :

--> Congress and the entrenched Delhi elite know that Modi is actually a threat to the status-quo and is not like the co-opted Delhi leadership of BJP

--> They have got no other stick to beat him with. Governance - check. Corruption - nada. General law and order - good. The only thing remaining is an incident that happened 11 years ago.