Cotton May Be New Dispute for India, Pakistan

Mogambo

Cotton May Be New Dispute for India, Pakistan

By Tom Wright

Pakistan is fighting back after India banned raw cotton exports last month, creating a new bone of contention in an already frosty relationship.

New Delhi says it imposed the ban to ensure its own garment and textile industry has adequate supplies after a poor global harvest of raw cotton, especially in China and the U.S.

“It’s a slap on the face of free trade in the global economy,” said Mohsin Ayub Mirza, a textile manufacturer in Karachi and chairman of the Pakistan Readymade Garments Manufacturers & Exporters Association.

Pakistan argues that India should honor contracts for 200,000 cotton bales for which letters of credit have already been issued, says Ikhtiar Baig, a Karachi-based garment producer and federal adviser to the government on the textile industry.

“Pakistan is against India’s ban on cotton exports,” Mr. Baig added.

India, like the U.S., is an important exporter of raw cotton. Pakistan and China, despite producing large amounts of cotton, are among the biggest importers because of their large yarn spinning and garment industries.

The two governments are discussing the issue. Separately, in a step forward on Tuesday, both countries said that their foreign ministers will meet in Islamabad in July.

Pakistani garment and textile producers admit they are facing much bigger problems than India’s ban alone. The U.S. Department of Agriculture expects cotton mills to consume 115.9 million cotton bales this year while production will only be 102.9 million bales. Local yarn producers have taken advantage of global cotton shortages to sell their products at high prices in China.

That has exacerbated shortages of yarn in the local market, forcing some textile and garment businesses to shut down and putting people out of work. Yarn prices are up almost 100%.

Tens of thousands of people took to the streets in Karachi and Faisalabad on Tuesday to call for an immediate ban on yarn exports. While peaceful for now, the protests risk further destabilizing India’s neighbor.

But political and business tensions between India and Pakistan don’t appear to be affecting cultural relations. Pakistanis love Bollywood and an Indian film star was chosen as the face of this year’s summer collection of one of Pakistans leading cloth producers — Faisalabad-based Firdous Textile — although some wonder whether marketing in Pakistan should be using home-grown talent.

Cotton May Be New Dispute for India, Pakistan - India Real Time - WSJ

Why should we allow export at the cost of our own industry and millions of jobs?

Its our cotton and its our right what we will do with it.

At one hand pakistan is not giving us Most Favored Nation (MFN) status when we have given pakistan that status long ago.

When you are not allowing our products and just want our raw material its not fair at all.

This year producion all ove the world is very low inclusing USA and China.

Only India has good production, now prices of cotton is sky rocketing and every nation wants our cotton, why we should give them???

We should utilize our resources for our textile industry and millions of jobs. Our cloth will become competitive as we will have cost advantage.

Govt. should not hear the request of USA, Bangladesh or Pakistan in this regard.

Why should we allow export at the cost of our own industry and millions of jobs?

Its our cotton and its our right what we will do with it.

At one hand pakistan is not giving us Most Favored Nation (MFN) status when we have given pakistan that status long ago.

When you are not allowing our products and just want our raw material its not fair at all.

This year producion all ove the world is very low inclusing USA and China.

Only India has good production, now prices of cotton is sky rocketing and every nation wants our cotton, why we should give them???

We should utilize our resources for our textile industry and millions of jobs. Our cloth will become competitive as we will have cost advantage.

Govt. should not hear the request of USA, Bangladesh or Pakistan in this regard.

you are correct Mogambo...no need to export to Pakistan..let the prices rise so we can earn more profit

Its not only about profit.

If we have cheap raw material then our products will be cheaper and more competitive in high volatile market.

Whole of our Industries will gain, will have more orders from all over the world that means more and more dollars with millions of jobs to the poor blue collar workers.

I'm sorry but I'm against the idea of banning exports. I am a free marketeer and I believe that if the cotton farmer can get good prices outside India, he should be allowed to export. This ban will only restrict the prices of raw cotton as number of buyers will be limited.

For the Indian mills, there is a competitive advantage of geographical location. The transportation costs of raw cotton would be much less for them as compared to foreign nations. If Indian mills are still unable to produce yarn at a competitive price, the govt. should not help them out.

If we have cheap raw material then our products will be cheaper and more competitive in high volatile market.

Whole of our Industries will gain, will have more orders from all over the world that means more and more dollars with millions of jobs to the poor blue collar workers.

Well sir though your intentions are right don't you think that this would undermine the very idea of free trade and also globalisation. While we cry foul if any similar action is done by a european country to us how can we do this ourselves?

If legal contracts have been signed for export of cotton, then they should be honoured. If they are not, the rest of the countries have full right to take India to international court.

Barring already signed contracts, the govt has full right to ban exports.

I'm sorry but I'm against the idea of banning exports. I am a free marketeer and I believe that if the cotton farmer can get good prices outside India, he should be allowed to export. This ban will only restrict the prices of raw cotton as number of buyers will be limited.

For the Indian mills, there is a competitive advantage of geographical location. The transportation costs of raw cotton would be much less for them as compared to foreign nations. If Indian mills are still unable to produce yarn at a competitive price, the govt. should not help them out.

But ur confuse my friend.

1. Farmers don't export, it is dalal who earn the profit from export.

2. pakistan is not allowing our goods but only want raw material is it good??????

Is it free market????????????

Well sir though your intentions are right don't you think that this would undermine the very idea of free trade and also globalisation. While we cry foul if any similar action is done by a european country to us how can we do this ourselves?

Here the situaion is all diffrent we are not creating any trade barriers.

Look at pakistan they hate us, do everything to harm us and in trade create barriers just to stop our goods.

When they are not following the principle of free trade how can they expect us to close our eyes.

Taali ek haath se nahi bajti

Yaar hard working people from any nation have no time for hate and conspiracy theories, they just want to earn bread for family and live peacefully. Thriving, strong middle class Pakistan is in interest of India so that they can give their children better education and battle with mullahs, jihadi's. Just look at Punjab and J&K, prosperity brought peace, Punjab today is richest state in India and people have no time to listen to all that Khalistan bullshit theories. Have you met any common Pakistani before comming to conclusion that all Pakistani's hate India ? I am not talking about rich elites or hypocrytes who are living abroad and doing nothing except bashing others for internal problems.

Look at pakistan they hate us, do everything to harm us.

Here the situaion is all diffrent we are not creating any trade barriers.

Look at pakistan they hate us, do everything to harm us and in trade create barriers just to stop our goods.

When they are not following the principle of free trade how can they expect us to close our eyes.

This is the reason why SOME Pakistani's hate you, I have been reading your posts and what you have to say overall, it is just more divides between us as you clearly hate Pakistani's yourself. I do not think you are suitable to be a positive contributer to this forum, best if you leave as this clearly is Pakistan oriented forum with people who want to create a space for mutual respect and understanding of each other.

But ur confuse my friend.

1. Farmers don't export, it is dalal who earn the profit from export.

2. pakistan is not allowing our goods but only want raw material is it good??????

Is it free market????????????

Wait Wait, this is not about whether we want raw material or not.If the fact that the contract has been signed,then you have to honour it like what Malay said.

Furthermore sir, this is a trade, is there anything wrong in buying raw materials? It seems like you are not following the principle of trade. If you don't want to sell your raw materials in the first place, then why did you signed a contract for 200mil bales?

(Whether the contract is signed is debatable, but I am assuming from the source stated above)

This is the reason why SOME Pakistani's hate you, I have been reading your posts and what you have to say overall, it is just more divides between us as you clearly hate Pakistani's yourself. I do not think you are suitable to be a positive contributer to this forum, best if you leave as this clearly is Pakistan oriented forum with people who want to create a space for mutual respect and understanding of each other.

T-Faz, can you counter his argument instead of being personal. I know his attitude towards Pakistan from his language is coarse, but "Koi bhatt Nahi", Let the mods settle this if he want. Let's counter his argument on his contract.Whatcha say?

Yes i agree...My Uncle is from Tirupur(one of the largest garment manufacturing centre in India) and he own a industry over there.
He says that the cost of yarn has gone up manifold in India in the recent years due to this export to Pakistan,BD and our wages being more than theirs,naturally our garments are becoming less competitive in the international market.

So good move by the GOI.This will definitely help in retrieving the market we lost in the recent years to other countries. :tup:

Buddy we r not saints who have devoted our lives for the sake of others. GOI should be doing wat is good for Indians rather than Pakistanis.

Its our cotton and its our right what we will do with it

You signed a contract, you received the LC (which is as good as Cash on Delivery), terms and conditions were met. Breaking international contracts is no joke. Of course its Pakistan so sab chalta hai.

Should be a slap in the face of all those increase "Trade with India" movements in Pakistan. Resolve your issues first and then do your bhai chara work.

This is a testament that till our issues are not resolved with India, there is no point in CBMs and all the BS about beating around the bush.