China keen on investing $3 billion in new Mumbai metro project

Bhai Zakir

China keen on investing $3 billion in new Mumbai metro project

Bangalore_metro295.jpg

Mumbai: The Chinese Government is ready to pump in up to $3 billion into the proposed metro project connecting Colaba in south Mumbai to Santacruz in the northern fringe of the megapolis, a top official said on Friday.

The Chinese are also keen on participating in other infrastructure projects apart from those in the farming sector in the country, the official said.

"We are keen to bring our technology for the new metro project in Mumbai. We are also ready to invest in technology upgrade for the textiles sector, infrastructure and agriculture projects in the country,"
Chinese Consul General in Mumbai Liu Youfa said, on sidelines of an event in Mumbai.

He said they are "willing to invest $ 3 billion in the metro project through foreign investments along with latest technology."

The feasibility study on the proposed Colaba-SEEPZ (Santacruz Electronic Export Processing Zone at Andheri) metro project is ready and the Maharashtra Government is looking for technology and funding for the venture.

Liu claimed China is already providing magnetic and bullet trains technology to over 30 countries.

Indian Merchants Chamber President Niranjan Hiranandani, who was also present at the event, said the industry body will do everything to help attract Chinese investment into the infra projects in Mumbai.

"We need to work on two-way investment which will reduce the trade deficit on Indian side and create more jobs," Liu said.

The trade between the two Asian giants stood at $73.9 billion in 2011 and dropped marginally to $70 billion in 2012 due to economic slowdown, he said.

The Consul General, an economist by training, spoke on further developing relations between India and China.

"Together, the two countries comprise 37 per cent of the world's population. If we both come together, nobody can stop our growth. However, if one of us focuses individually on growth, it's going to hinder the other," Liu said and called for more bilateral trade and investment.

China keen on investing $3 billion in new Mumbai metro project | NDTV.com

Le Lota... Yeh to bahut Nainsaafi hai.. Ocean aur Mountain ke saath.... :lol:

On topic : China can really help us in getting high speed railway projects including Metros. Co-operation is the way forward.

Le Lota... Yeh to bahut Nainsaafi hai.. Ocean aur Mountain ke saath.... :lol:

On topic : China can really help us in getting high speed railway projects including Metros. Co-operation is the way forward.

"Le lota" you must be maithil bharmin... Same here even jha.
On topic:china really trying to get some share from indian economy

Congrats to Indian posters and mainly mumbaikars.

I wish they started the proposed project in Lahore too, but they scrapped it for the Metro Bus system.

People invest where they are assured of the return and safety of investment.

The rest of the higher then mountain and deeper then ocean thing is all crap...........in the end its all about money.

As you can see that the first phase of Mumbai metro will be operational within 3 months and the work for the phase 2 is to be started.

Mumbai metro is not dependent on chinese money but they are rushing to invest so that they can earn and get job for their people. :angel:

BTW. there are about 12 cities in India where Metro work is under constriction. :smokin:

"Together, the two
countries comprise 37 per
cent of the world's
population. If we both
come together, nobody can
stop our growth. However,
if one of us focuses
individually on growth, it's
going to hinder the other,"
WELL SAID Mr. LIU..China India partners.:cheers:

"Le lota" you must be maithil bharmin... Same here even jha.
On topic:china really trying to get some share from indian economy

Haan bhai.. maithil hi hain... :)

China or, any country for that matter will have its own interests in mind while offering such a deal. Similarly we should deal with them keeping our priorities in order. A Win-Win situation is the best option. And I ( being an admirer of Kautilya ) sincerely believe that China can help us immensely in getting our infrastructure upgraded. ( There are other positive ramifications of such development but thats another topic and will be discussed in some other thread .)

Trial as the service will start on 15th august the independent day. :angel:
And from where we are getting its compartments? Gujrat? I head gujrat made are getting export to aus for their metro/train

Haan bhai.. maithil hi hain... :)

China or, any country for that matter will have its own interests in mind while offering such a deal. Similarly we should deal with them keeping our priorities in order. A Win-Win situation is the best option. And I ( being an admirer of Kautilya ) sincerely believe that China can help us immensely in getting our infrastructure upgraded. ( There are other positive ramifications of such development but thats another topic and will be discussed in some other thread .)

The question is can we trust chienes as they have bad image such as spying and hacking.i know every country does it but china with a wider window.
Off topic:I am from darbhanga. U?

People invest where they are assured of the return and safety of investment.

The rest of the higher then mountain and deeper then ocean thing is all crap...........in the end its all about money.

As you can see that the first phase of Mumbai metro will be operational within 3 months and the work for the phase 2 is to be started.

Mumbai metro is not dependent on chinese money but they are rushing to invest so that they can earn and get job for their people. :angel:

BTW. there are about 12 cities in India where Metro work is under constriction. :smokin:

Bhai.. This number is too less. A large number of cities are in dire need of better public transport systems.

We need multi layered Metro in every Metropolitan City. I get jittery while entering Metro in either of Kolkata or, Delhi. Its simply too overcrowded and no matter how many cars they add in each train and how much they reduce the interval, the current Metros will never be able to cater to the need.