'Brutish' Indian rapist 26 ignored a Melbourne sex worker's pleas to stop and then refused to leave!

Shantanu_Left

'Brutish' rapist, 26, who ignored a sex worker's pleas to stop and then refused to leave because the booking wasn't over is jailed for six years and will be deported to India
  • Ranvir Singh raped a sex worker at a brothel in Collingwood in Melbourne
  • Singh, now 26, then refused to leave because the booking wasn't over
  • Sex was initially consensual, but that changed when then Singh became 'rough'
Sorry can't resist my own comments on this.

By AUSTRALIAN ASSOCIATED PRESS

PUBLISHED: 11:42 BST, 22 July 2020 | UPDATED: 11:44 BST, 22 July 2020

A 'brutish' rapist who ignored a Melbourne sex worker's pleas to stop and then refused to leave because the booking wasn't over has been jailed for six years.

Ranvir Singh (isn't that a mediocre Bollywood actor as well?)
was found guilty of raping the woman twice at a Collingwood brothel in February 2018.

'You ignored her repeated requests to stop. You ignored her physical resistance in the face of that resistance, you asserted your power and physical strength over her,' Victorian County Court Judge George Georgiou said.

31055178-8548385-image-a-3_1595414452935.jpg

Tennu gori-chitti kuriyan nahii milangi, kakay :cheesy: gorian suit boot say impress nahi hoti

The sex was initially consensual, but that changed when then 24-year-old Singh became 'rough', bit and pinned the woman to the bed. (O teri, ye aaya Indians wali auqat pe :cheesy:)

'Stop. You are hurting me,' she told him. (You should stop when she says so, no matter how much you paid her!)

'I can't take it anymore. You're hurting me.'

Instead Singh ignored her pleas and held her down on the bed, pinning her arms during the rape.

'It's fine. You can take it,' the then 24-year-old said.

After the attacks, Singh told his victim to get back in the bed because 'the booking wasn't over' (o teri, paisa vasool kar ke rahega ye sardar), but she escaped the room and went to her manager.

31055180-8548385-image-a-5_1595414456820.jpg

Shakal dekh apnee bandar ki aulaad :undecided:

The woman was haunted by the rapes, left with chronic post-traumatic stress disorder and 'stripped of her will to live'.

'It feels as though I am the one being punished, being judged and excluded from society, silenced into submission,' she previously told the court.

'Whatever discomfort you may feel will never come close to resembling the cruelty I have experienced first hand,' the woman told her attacker.

She said she was left an 'empty husk' after the assaults.

The judge said the rapes 'clearly humiliated and degraded her'

'It frightened her, it rendered her powerless and caused her significant pain,' Judge Georgiou said.

Singh felt a sense of entitlement because he paid for sexual services, the court was told.

:coffee:

'Your brutish behaviour and words to the victim at the time you were raping her are consistent with that explanation,' he said.

Singh has continued to deny he did anything wrong and told a mental health professional he blamed police for his conviction.

The 26-year-old from India was jailed for six years and must serve at least three years and eight months behind bars before he is eligible for parole. (OMG, ye parole pe chhot gaya toh phir murder kar dega uss larki ka)

He faces deportation after he serves his sentence.

Jaa India wapis, waha jinnay rape karney hai kar. These people are unworthy of living outside India.
---

This is a problem all too common with Indian men. They degrade prostitutes in a very bad manner. I have seen it so many times. Even prostitutes are human beings, and you're just paying for a service. You don't get to brutalize them for the exchange of money.

@sinait @Indos @lonelyman @eldarlmari

What do you think about this rapist Indian bloke? Do you think they are a minority of Indian men, or many Indian men are like this? What can they learn better in order to not act like this?

@masterchief_mirza
Shakal achi naa hoo to seerat dekhi jati hai, unfortunately these people have neither shakal (looks) nor seerat (good behavior). They bring a very bad name to the rest of us Indians. So it is important that Indians on these forum acknowledge openly that India is a depraved and sick society, and requires course correction to join the rest of the world. There is something wrong about Indian culture which produces "men" like Ranvir Singh. Any Indian who fails to condemn Ranvir Singh is complicit in these crimes.

'Brutish' rapist, 26, who ignored a sex worker's pleas to stop and then refused to leave because the booking wasn't over is jailed for six years and will be deported to India

A 'brutish' rapist who ignored a Melbourne sex worker's pleas to stop and then refused to leave because the booking wasn't over has been jailed for six years.

was found guilty of raping the woman twice at a Collingwood brothel in February 2018.

'You ignored her repeated requests to stop. You ignored her physical resistance in the face of that resistance, you asserted your power and physical strength over her,' Victorian County Court Judge George Georgiou said.

Tennu gori-chitti kuriyan nahii milangi, kakay :cheesy: gorian suit boot say impress nahi hoti

The sex was initially consensual, but that changed when then 24-year-old Singh became 'rough', bit and pinned the woman to the bed. (O teri, ye aaya Indians wali auqat pe :cheesy:)

'Stop. You are hurting me,' she told him. (You should stop when she says so, no matter how much you paid her!)

Instead Singh ignored her pleas and held her down on the bed, pinning her arms during the rape.

After the attacks, Singh told his victim to get back in the bed because 'the booking wasn't over' (o teri, paisa vasool kar ke rahega ye sardar), but she escaped the room and went to her manager.

The woman was haunted by the rapes, left with chronic post-traumatic stress disorder and 'stripped of her will to live'.

'It feels as though I am the one being punished, being judged and excluded from society, silenced into submission,' she previously told the court.

'Whatever discomfort you may feel will never come close to resembling the cruelty I have experienced first hand,' the woman told her attacker.

'It frightened her, it rendered her powerless and caused her significant pain,' Judge Georgiou said.

Singh felt a sense of entitlement because he paid for sexual services, the court was told.

'Your brutish behaviour and words to the victim at the time you were raping her are consistent with that explanation,' he said.

Singh has continued to deny he did anything wrong and told a mental health professional he blamed police for his conviction.

The 26-year-old from India was jailed for six years and must serve at least three years and eight months behind bars before he is eligible for parole. (OMG, ye parole pe chhot gaya toh phir murder kar dega uss larki ka)

Jaa India wapis, waha jinnay rape karney hai kar. These people are unworthy of living outside India.
---

This is a problem all too common with Indian men. They degrade prostitutes in a very bad manner. I have seen it so many times. Even prostitutes are human beings, and you're just paying for a service. You don't get to brutalize them for the exchange of money.

What do you think about this rapist Indian bloke? Do you think they are a minority of Indian men, or many Indian men are like this? What can they learn better in order to not act like this?

@masterchief_mirza
Shakal achi naa hoo to seerat dekhi jati hai, unfortunately these people have neither shakal (looks) nor seerat (good behavior). They bring a very bad name to the rest of us Indians. So it is important that Indians on these forum acknowledge openly that India is a depraved and sick society, and requires course correction to join the rest of the world. There is something wrong about Indian culture which produces "men" like Ranvir Singh. Any Indian who fails to condemn Ranvir Singh is complicit in these crimes.

It is a sensitive subject so a bit unsure how to deal with this, but the question arises, how do you prove rape during sex with a prostitute after having paid.
Just a thought, without questioning the guilty judgment.

It is a sensitive subject so a bit unsure how to deal with this, but the question arises, how do you prove rape during sex with a prostitute after having paid.

In Western countries, paid sex is treated in the same category as other personal services such as massage, erotic massage, or personal therapy. Australia is extremely progressive in supporting the rights and dignity of commercial sex workers, protecting them from sicko clients is a government's job as all brothels are legalized and pay taxes. Something similar in Amsterdam although the prostitutes there do suffer crazy psychotic clients.

I do feel for the female workers. During an out-call, they have no choice about the kind of customer that will greet them. Many of these clients have sick and degrading fetishes.

If I am going to hire a hooker, I will still need to be a gentleman with her. Treat her like I'd any other woman. Usually, no problems occur when someone is nice to ahooker...it's her job so you won't be wrongly accused as long as you kept your end of the deal.

Of course, if there is a man that treats all women like hookers, then God help him.

In India, prostitutes have zero protection from abusive clients. Many are scarred by cigarette butts (which is very common bad habit with Indian male customers).

I don't have that much knowledge about how the average Pakistani male clients behave!

It's definitely a sensitive subject, but it should be discussed because of the ramifications it has about the perception of Indian (as well as other men of the subcontinent). It's this kind of image that sees Indian men ejected from nightclubs although they make up stories such as religious discrimination.

Whether sex is transactional or not is irrelevant to the issue of consent. There are clearly established legal algorithms and recourse that facilitate the unequivocal definition of "rape" in such scenarios, firmly entrenched within the legal codes of all developed nations. This is nothing novel or as yet undefined. Consent may be withdrawn - in legal terms - and based on what is available in this article, it seems obvious that consent was withdrawn.

---

@masterchief_mirza
Interesting thread. Your exaggerations are evident in places, but the general underlying point being made about the perpetrator of this act is taken.

I don't know much about prostitutes (honest!) and how they're treated in general in UK.

Sadly, in terms of diaspora communities, in UK, I see little difference in general behaviour towards women in nightclubs between Pakistanis and Indians. The nightclub culture is simply a gutter culture to begin with, hence it perhaps simply attracts the trash end of society in general.

I don't know much about prostitutes (honest!) and how they're treated in general in UK.

You don't have to explain. Ap say bat karke yaqeen aa jata hai ap shareef insan ho. :-)

The nightclub culture is simply a gutter culture to begin with, hence it perhaps simply attracts the trash end of society in general.

I am finally beginning to see the wisdom of that statement. Agreed.

Whether sex is transactional or not is irrelevant to the issue of consent. There are clearly established legal algorithms and recourse that facilitate the unequivocal definition of "rape" in such scenarios, firmly entrenched within the legal codes of all developed nations. This is nothing novel or as yet undefined. Consent may be withdrawn - in legal terms - and based on what is available in this article, it seems obvious that consent was withdrawn.

I understood that already,
I just queried how it is proved according to law, it is one person's word over the other, proof surely demands a little extra,
that was my contention. Purely from an intellectual point of view.

In Western countries, paid sex is treated in the same category as other personal services such as massage, erotic massage, or personal therapy. Australia is extremely progressive in supporting the rights and dignity of commercial sex workers, protecting them from sicko clients is a government's job as all brothels are legalized and pay taxes. Something similar in Amsterdam although the prostitutes there do suffer crazy psychotic clients.

I do feel for the female workers. During an out-call, they have no choice about the kind of customer that will greet them. Many of these clients have sick and degrading fetishes.

If I am going to hire a hooker, I will still need to be a gentleman with her. Treat her like I'd any other woman. Usually, no problems occur when someone is nice to ahooker...it's her job so you won't be wrongly accused as long as you kept your end of the deal.

Of course, if there is a man that treats all women like hookers, then God help him.

In India, prostitutes have zero protection from abusive clients. Many are scarred by cigarette butts (which is very common bad habit with Indian male customers).

I don't have that much knowledge about how the average Pakistani male clients behave!

It's definitely a sensitive subject, but it should be discussed because of the ramifications it has about the perception of Indian (as well as other men of the subcontinent). It's this kind of image that sees Indian men ejected from nightclubs although they make up stories such as religious discrimination.

My query was not moralistic or societal in its aspect,
it was purely from legalistic point of view, I was just wondering, without implying any meaning to a subject, statement, or the conclusion in the article.

I just queried how it is proved according to law, it is one person's word over the other, proof surely demands a little extra,
That's where cross examination by respective barristers, history of previous convictions, character references and all sorts of circumstantial evidence comes into effect. You're right of course that it's difficult to prove. Sometimes the defendant admits to certain elements of the plaintiff's story. Maybe, if it was a brothel, there were others in nearby rooms who heard the whole episode unfold. With witnesses to corroborate, credibility of one version of events suddenly becomes near-irrefutable.

All sex workers in Western countries have associations to protect their interests. Basically, it's the word of a woman against a man similar to other domestic violence statutes in the Western legal system.

It's a dangerous trade therefore, the licensed brothels offer a fair degree of protection from abusive clients. Street-walkers are most vulnerable (many are heroin or crack addicts which makes them easy prey for such men).

Usually body marks are seen as "evidence" in a court of law. A casual physical examination and police report within 24 hours can prove the abuse.

It's just like any other rape accusation, and has to be seen in its own merit. So the magistrates review each case separately.

However, I am getting your concern here. If a man is well-behaved, and not abusive, then he has nothing to worry about, and can look forward to a good time with the girl without getting implicated.

Some Indian men have the habit of "biting" the woman, scarring their bodies with cigarette butts, and other forms of manhandling.

In India, Ranvir Singh would go scot-free because his Indian lawyers would argue that he had paid for the services (although, on paper that's illegal). There is no protection for the prostitutes in India. 90% of male clients in India are abusive like this Punjabi Sikh boy.

There's also possible medical evidence of force/rape if there was violence involved, which is all that is needed really.

That's where cross examination by respective barristers, history of previous convictions, character references and all sorts of circumstantial evidence comes into effect. You're right of course that it's difficult to prove. Sometimes the defendant admits to certain elements of the plaintiff's story. Maybe, if it was a brothel, there were others in nearby rooms who heard the whole episode unfold. With witnesses to corroborate, credibility of one version of events suddenly becomes near-irrefutable.

Statistically, nothing happens to a lot of rapists due to a lack of evidence (many women don't press charges or drop it midway). Even in Western countries. Especially if you're a White dude that looks like Donald Trump Jr., you will not be blamed. But non-White men are under more scrutiny, general speaking. Black men are incarcerated in the USA a lot more for rape crimes than White men.

In India, it's the other way around. Most women in India would be afraid to report a rape, especially if the rapist is powerful and well-connected.

In other words: you can get away with a rape in India. Not so much so in Australia...there the probability of getting implicated is a lot higher for Indian men.

Even in Western countries. Especially if you're a White dude that looks like Donald Trump Jr., you will not be blamed. But non-White men are under more scrutiny,

Add political connections into the mix, and powerful white men in the west can get away with a fair bit. Daisy Coleman comes to mind, recently committing suicide over such issues.

"Ms Coleman alleged she was assaulted while intoxicated by a 17-year-old boy, Matthew Barnett, at a house party in January 2012, when she was 14.

Her mother said she found her daughter the next morning, left outside on the porch, with wet hair and wearing just a T-shirt and sweatpants in sub-zero temperatures.

Barnett was charged with felony sexual assault, but the case was eventually dropped. Ms Coleman's family argued this was due to the local political connections of the boy's family.

Barnett pleaded guilty to a lesser charge of child endangerment, arguing his sexual intercourse with Daisy had been consensual." BBC.

It easy if u r not a native ..its her word against his.

There's also possible medical evidence of force/rape if there was violence involved, which is all that is needed really.
Not really ..rough sex is not force sex..
There is no such thing as "forensic" evidence