Bollywood: the Ideology of India

Hamzay

You might be surprised at the title of this thread, but I have found this the strongest string that unites India's multilingual, multicultural, multi-religious masses and a multitude of issues and problems.

The Indian motion picture and television industry is one of the largest and fastest growing sectors, contributing USD 8.1 billion (c. INR 50,000 Cr.) to the country’s economy, equating to 0.5% of GDP, in 2013, according to a new report launched on March 12. The sector also supports a significant 1.8 million (18.8 lac) jobs.

http://www.indiatimes.com/news/more...ia-industry-contributes-05-of-gdp-134203.html

Not a key contribution to economy. But it's not about economy at all.

With around 35% of the population being illiterate, films constitute an extremely significant medium to reach the majority of the population and unite it through the construction of a common imaginary. Cinema generally tackles the political and social issues that the country faces, and India is no exception. Since independence in 1947, Hindi cinema has emerged as the “national cinema” and considered the nation-building process as one of its “missions”. What is more specific to India, however, is the long tradition of political involvement of film stars in politics, not only as “communication” figures adding glamour to a politician’s campaign, but as actual elected members of government. The careers of major figures of Indian cinema such as Marudhur Gopalan Ramachdran (known as “MGR”), Sunil Dutt, Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao or Amitabh Bachchan show how much the shift from cinema to politics is almost natural in a country where the cinematographic production is, in spite of popular belief, extremely political.

http://www.inaglobal.fr/en/cinema/article/blurred-lines-between-politics-and-cinema-india-8110

Here's a demography of India's religions:

census_647_082515092921.gif

Bollywood is the opium of masses.

Hamzay

Conclusion: India doesn't have an ideology like the 'Two Nation Theory' that created Pakistan. So, India has to 'sedate her wild populations' with Bollywood. This is the cheap vision of this 'great country'.

We have been in the state of war (proxy or actual) with our 'bulky' neighbour. Mutual coexistence is not a fortunate probability. Both can't live and prosper together side by side. One has to dominate the other.. and we must know where the spirit of 'Mother India' is contained.

It was Indira Gandhi's brainchild.
The forced secular submission of Pakistan.
Some duuuudes messed it up.

I can't say more

Why did Mahmud of Ghazni invade India 17 times?

Because he agreed with me that a strong neighbour under Hinduvta was a threat and peaceful coexistence was not a choice.

It was Indira Gandhi's brainchild.
The forced secular submission of Pakistan.
Some duuuudes messed it up.

I can't say more

I didn't say it was Pakistan. It was India since Indira Gandhi was a child herself. Bollywood is the key to unite India as if it's an ideology.

With around 35% of the population being illiterate, films constitute an extremely significant medium to reach the majority of the population and unite it through the construction of a common imaginary.

So Bollywood contains the spirit of 'Mother India' wow!! I thought only Chinese has that monopoly over high IQ :lol: last time I watched a Bollywood movie was like a decade ago, guess it's time for me to binge-watch some :rofl:

Why did Mahmud of Ghazni invade India 17 times?

Because he agreed with me that a strong neighbour under Hinduvta was a threat and peaceful coexistence was not a choice.

I didn't say it was Pakistan. It was India since Indira Gandhi was a child herself. Bollywood is the key to unite India as if it's an ideology.

With around 35% of the population being illiterate, films constitute an extremely significant medium to reach the majority of the population and unite it through the construction of a common imaginary.

I don't give a shizz what happens in India. I am telling you Bollywoods importance for Pakistan

172 million Muslims of India including millions of Kashmiris.

In very simple words: no Bollywood, no India.

So Bollywood contains the spirit of 'Mother India' wow!! I thought only Chinese has that monopoly over high IQ :lol: last time I watched a Bollywood movie was like a decade ago, guess it's time for me to binge-watch some :rofl:

Well, your media is an offshoot of Bollywood. So even if you watch your funny bullet ins, you get the sedation equally.

So Bollywood was Indira gandhi's brainchild!! super duper wow :cheesy:

This is why I love surfing internet during midnight :rofl:

Buddy i am telling you about the export to Pakistan and not the industry.

But i am glad it takes small things an misunderstanding to make you happy and feel alive.

You sir are a humble man.

Well, your media is an offshoot of Bollywood. So even if you watch your funny bullet ins, you get the sedation equally.
keep them coming man, Just keep posting, I am fcuking loving this midnight comedy train :rofl:

Buddy i am telling you about the export to Pakistan and not the industry.

But i am glad it takes small things an misunderstanding to make you happy and feel alive.

You sir are a humble man.
Arrey bhai jab bardast nahi hota toh lete kyu ho? Stop drooling over Bollywood simple.

keep them coming man, Just keep posting, I am fcuking loving this midnight comedy train :rofl:

Indian dilemma is it has to keep singing 'Bharat is shhecular'.

But you can't use religion to unite 'Shecular Bharat'.

You don't have just one national language like Urdu.

You don't have just one and only caste of all people; you have untouchables in various forms.

So you have only medium left to unite all of them using a 'crap' called Bollywood; the film industry is successfully showing myth to make Indians believe they are a great nation, they have a glorious past, they were never kicked hard on their butts, they were only too kind and too loving that they let criminal Muslim invaders run over their country.

i agree, if they dont have anything to bark against Pakistan (first fear behind their unity), they usually run after their Muslims or filmstars who love to generate scandals for gossips so they cant think about themselves.. take out religion and gossips, they will start thinking about what a Marathi have in common with UP and Bihar? Why southern cow eaters are paying their taxes for well being of cow vigilant northerns etc.

Not just that, but Bollywood is also using Pakistan to frighten Indians as a uniting factor.

Indian dilemma is it has to keep singing 'Bharat is shhecular'.

But you can't use religion to unite 'Shecular Bharat'.

You don't have just one national language like Urdu.

You don't have just one and only caste of all people; you have untouchables in various forms.

So you have only medium left to unite all of them using a 'crap' called Bollywood; the film industry is successfully showing myth to make Indians believe they are a great nation, they have a glorious past, they were never kicked hard on their butts, they were only too kind and too loving that they let criminal Muslim invaders run over their country.
Weird-Meme-Weird-shit-weird-shit-everywhere.jpg