Best Tourist Attractions In Islamabad?

For tourism purposes, I think Islamabad is a boring and culture less city. It only got populated in 1970s. It's a good and clean place to live in if you like small town living, but other than that it sucks. It's standard has been falling rapidly though. It's attracting criminals from all over the country because of its reputation for rich people. For tourism purposes I would suggest Lahore, particularly mall road instead.

But if your stay is just going to be in Islamabad, then I suggest Pharwala fortress, which is in the rural suburbs of Islamabad. It is a Gakhar fortress famous for its resistance against mughal emperor Babur.
images

You can also check out Rawat fortress, where Sultan Sarang is buried. Sultan Sarang was the Gakhar chieftain famous for his stout resistance against Sher Shah Suri and his son Islam Shah.
8833365.jpg

If you're a major history buff like me, then I would suggest a trip to Chakwal and PD Khan region, where many ancient structures stand.

Hope this helped.

Hi to all my fellow PDF members! I am going to visit Dharna Abad aka. Islamabad starting from tomorrow. I don't know how many of you actually live there or used to live there. So please advice me on places I should visit apart from IK's Azadi Town as I have plenty of free time this December! :D

Thanks for all your help and advice in this regard! :)

@A.Rafay @Ahmad1996 @airmarshal @Akheilos @Armstrong @arushbhai @AstanoshKhan @AZADPAKISTAN2009 @balixd @batmannow @Bilal. @chauvunist @Crypto @Dr. Stranglove @Evil Flare @EyanKhan @Fahad Khan 2 @GIANTsasquatch @graphican @Green Arrow @Guleen Ahmed @HRK @Jazzbot @Junaid B @Jzaib @Khalidr @khawaja07 @Leader @Luftwaffe @Marshmallow @mr42O @Muhammad Omar @nomi007 @Pak123 @Pakistani shaheens @Pakistanisage @Peaceful Civilian @pkuser2k12 @Pukhtoon @PWFI @raazh @Rafael @Rashid Mahmood @RescueRanger @Saifkhan12 @Sedqal @SHAMK9 @Spy Master @Stealth @Strike X @SUPARCO @sur @syedali73 @Tameem @TankMan @Tayyab1796 @Zarvan @waleed3601 @AdeelFaheem @Rajput_Pakistani @Men in Green @orakzai4u @IceCold @LoveIcon @razahassan1997 @Cheetah786 @Dil Pakistan @asq @junaid hamza @Pukhtoon @jamahir @Strigon @Rafi @Ulla @HughSlaman @420canada @sathya @slapshot @raza_888 @SBD-3 @cb4 @AsianUnion @Aether @xyxmt @Proudpakistaniguy @WishLivePak @Waffen SS @janon @pak-marine @AgNoStiC MuSliM @Donatello @FaujHistorian @Fracker @Ranches @ghoul @Jf Thunder @GreenFalcon @genmirajborgza786 @Pakistani Exile @KURUMAYA @Irfan Baloch @ali_raza @Syed.Ali.Haider @dexter @Patriots @muslim_pakistani @W.11 @Meengla @zaid butt @ajpirzada

Make sure you don't derail democracy :D @Norwegian

Lots of places and locations mentioned in this thread should be visited in hot summer months. Since I am originally running away from severe cold weather here in Norway, I was expecting to visit some indoor Malls, Parks and other not-so-high mountainous regions. I am tired of similar rough terrain I am accustomed to where I live and want some change :)

If you want to escape the cold,
come to Karachi,
no such thing as winter here,
a freakin shining sun for about 360 days in a year

332943-0ab0b4f350fd099268dee84c58c9a98d.jpg

Attachments

• 1978641_741939329163037_54302594_n.jpg
    1978641_741939329163037_54302594_n.jpg
    73.9 KB · Views: 20
  • 1978641_741939329163037_54302594_n.jpg
    1978641_741939329163037_54302594_n.jpg
    73.9 KB · Views: 17
  • 10153046_10154014929115564_7524852612866097409_n.jpg
    10153046_10154014929115564_7524852612866097409_n.jpg
    89.7 KB · Views: 18
BC mulk sai nafrat bhi karni hai aur aa kar marna bhi isi mulk main hai. Story of youthias living outside Pakistan like OP.