Bangladesh unveil $4.4 billion defence budget for 2021-2022.

The embalms of the Bangladeshi armed forces looks very identical to their Pakistani counterparts.

Ah!

You mean emblems. :-)

Yes they are because most early senior commanders of Bangladesh armed forces all trained in Pakistani training academies at one time.

Looks improvement on the paper only. They will revise it down after they realise that actual government revenue is not what they dreamed of. Happens every year.
Defence budget in Bangladesh never revised down. In fact it will increase somewhat in the revised budget at the end of fiscal year. This happened always and likely to happen this time also. It is the Annual Development Budget(ADB) mostly which will bear the brunt of cut in allocation in revised budget.

Another thing is, cut in revised budget is not as severe as you are assuming. In 2020-2021 fiscal year, initial budget was proposed 5.68 trillion Taka, which was revised down 5.39 trillion Taka later in the year. So it decreased only 5.1% from the initial target.

My bad for the autocorrect 😂

No problem. :-)

Embalming is usually done for dead bodies. I was confused for a few minutes there. Autocorrect does strange corrections quite often. :-)

Defence budget in Bangladesh never revised down. In fact it will increase somewhat in the revised budget at the end of fiscal year. This happened always and likely to happen this time also. It is the Annual Development Budget(ADB) mostly which will bear the brunt of cut in allocation in revised budget.

Another thing is, cut in revised budget is not as severe as you are assuming. In 2020-2021 fiscal year, initial budget was proposed 5.68 trillion Taka, which was revised down 5.39 trillion Taka later in the year. So it decreased only 5.1% from the initial target.
I was talking about revenue budget not budget as a whole. It was due to corona, that GoB borrowed heavily to make up for revenue shortfall in 2020-21. Budgets were heavily revised previously though. Also revised are different to actuals. Wait for actuals in 2023 budget. Even with current revised budget, estimations for revenue was 3.1 trillion. Revised targets are also over the top. They won't hit 2.4 trillion this year. That is revenue shortfall of 25% to the revised estimates. How absurd is that?

When India revised its budget this year for Corona, our revenue collection exceeded the estimation by over 7%.

২০২১-২২ অর্থবছরে উল্লেখযোগ্য যেসব কার্যাবলি, প্রকল্প ও কর্মসূচি বাস্তবায়ন করা হবে সেগুলো হচ্ছে, ঢাকায় বঙ্গবন্ধু সামরিক জাদুঘর নির্মাণ, চট্টগ্রামে বিএনএ বঙ্গবন্ধু কমপ্লেক্স নির্মাণ করা, বরিশালে শেখ হাসিনা সেনানিবাস স্থাপন, পটুয়াখালীতে বানৌজা শের-ই-বাংলা পটুয়াখালী স্থাপন করা, পদ্মা বহুমুখী সেতু প্রকল্পের সার্বিক নিরাপত্তা বিধানকল্পে ৯৯ কম্পোজিট ব্রিগেড স্থাপন করা, বিএএফ ঘাঁটি জহুরুল হক চট্টগ্রাম বিমান সেনা প্রশিক্ষণ ইনস্টিটিউট স্থাপন করা, চট্টগ্রামে আর্টিলারি সেন্টার ও স্কুলে মুজিব ব্যাটারি কমপ্লেক্স নির্মাণ করা, ডিজিএফআইয়ের টেলিযোগাযোগ ও আইসিটি অবকাঠামো, মানব সম্পদ এবং কারিগরি উন্নয়ন করা, মিলিটারি ইনস্টিটিউট অব সায়েন্স অ্যান্ড টেকনোলজি (এমআইএসটি), মিরপুর সেনানিবাসের অবকাঠামোগত সুবিধা সম্প্রসারণ এবং আবহাওয়া ও জলবায়ু সেবা প্রকল্পের আওতায় আবহাওয়া তথ্য সেবা, আগাম সতর্কবাণী পদ্ধতি জোরদারকরণ (কম্পোনেন্ট-এ) প্রকল্পও এই বরাদ্দের আওতায় আছে।

এ ছাড়া ১২টি ক্যাডেট কলেজের উন্নয়ন ও সম্প্রসারণ, মিরপুর সেনানিবাসে ডিএসসিএসসির জন্য অফিসার্স মেস ও বিওকিউ নির্মাণ, ডিএলএসএস করসের নেটওয়ার্ক পরিধি সম্প্রসারণ এবং টাইডল স্টেশন আধুনিকীকরণ, রিমোট সেন্সিং ও ডিআইএস প্রযুক্তি প্রয়োগের মাধ্যমে বাংলাদেশের সমুদ্র উপকূলের ভৌগোলিক তথ্য ব্যবস্থা এবং সমুদ্রে মাছের বিচরণ ক্ষেত্র শনাক্তকরণ পদ্ধতি স্থাপন এবং বাংলাদেশের ১৪টি নদীবন্দরে প্রথম শ্রেণির আবহাওয়া পর্যবেক্ষণাগার শক্তিশালীকরণে (২৪ সংশোধিত) বরাদ্দের অর্থ ব্যয় করা হবে।

Defence budget in Bangladesh never revised down. In fact it will increase somewhat in the revised budget at the end of fiscal year.

Ummm looks they do get revised down.

"২০২০-২১ অর্থবছরে প্রস্তাবিত প্রতিরক্ষা মন্ত্রণালয়ে বরাদ্দ দেওয়া হয় ৩৪ হাজার ৮৪১ কোটি টাকা। তবে সংশোধিত বাজেটে দাঁড়ায় ৩৩ হাজার ৯১৬ কোটি টাকা।"

just for information, either lakh or crore is not an English words
They’re Indian numerical system words adopted in English language.
4.4 billion dollars is not much for the military and hopefully Bangladesh's economy will grow rapidly so that it can support a higher military budget.In 2035, with a per capita GDP of $10,000 and a population of 190 million, Bangladesh's GDP will reach $2 trillion, which can provide a military budget of $35 billion.

If the percentage of military spending reaches 2% of GDP, it would be $40 billion, this amount of military spending would allow Bangladesh's military capability to go out of the Bay of Bengal.
40 billion in 2035 dollar might not mean much especially if US dollar inflation rate is to increase
They need to improve their air defence. No point of having a great economy if you can't defend it. Su35 and J10 would suit them well.
We should swear off anything Russian except women
How so? India's budget estimations and realisations are mostly in sync with margin of may be 5%.

Bangladesh revenue budgets are overestimated by at least 30% every year. They make these inflated budgets just to make peeps like you happy.

For 2020-21, they set a target of 3.4 trillion taka but will manage to may be 2.2-2.4 trillion before end of the year. For 2019-20, Bangladesh revenue was about 2.2 trillion taka. Who would in their right mind, put 3.4 trillion in the very next budget as revenue target. Can any country raise their revenue by 35% in one year? GOB takes everyone to be a fool.
Well then, wait for SIPRI list for expenditures

They’re Indian numerical system words adopted in English language.

No, it is not adopted in English words. Only South Asian do that. English article should be for international readers, if it is only for BD so better use Bengali instead of English

Mate native English speakers don’t use this denotations doesn’t mean they can’t be English words.
you’re reading an article directed towards south Asians so it’s not a big deal. If you need help interpreting then just ask. We are happy to help

one, ten, hundred, thousand, ten thousand is same in both systems
lac/lakh- 100k
Ten lac/lakh- million
Crore- 10 million
10 crore- 100 million
100 crore- 1 billion
And so on …. Commas sit in different places… numbers stay the same

pretty easy For me and many others here because we did maths in both system in schools and I studied in an English medium Indian school so that’s saying something

just for information, either lakh or crore is not an English words
1 Lakh is 100,000 or 0.1 million. And 1 Crore is 10 million. Now, the exchange rate is $1.00 = About Tk84.00.

It is difficult for me to understand the amount in Taka if given in millions or billions. I feel comfortable with Lakh and Crore. I think most people are the same.

Pakistanis have been sold a particular worldview by people who benefit most from a high defence budget.

Even with nukes Pakistan has more warfare than almost any country. I think this shows that brute force is not the answer in a multi polar world.

Even with a mortal enemy like India, there is diplomacy and the benefit of competing powers (like China). China has made you safer than all of your weapons put together.

I wasn't trying to belittle Bangladesh army, Yes at the moment ties with India is great but anything is possible in the future. Myanmar is another issue for Bangladesh, if your government takes a tougher stance regarding Rohingya, then Myanmar threat could increase. With a great economy and future, you also need a well equipped army to defend its territory.

Pakistan has warfare because of Afghanistan, 2 superpowers attacked it and the after effects reached Pakistan unfortunately. Pakistan also need to improve its military so that in the future they cannot be threatened. Libya is a great example, a beautiful rich country but completely destroyed by Nato and the so called holy warriors. Gaddafi should have improved his army but he trusted his European allies, he thought his country will not be attacked, he worked hard to make his country economy, welfare strong but all gone done the bin.

Ah!

You mean emblems. :-)

Yes they are because most early senior commanders of Bangladesh armed forces all trained in Pakistani training academies at one time.
The embalms of the Bangladeshi armed forces looks very identical to their Pakistani counterparts.
This has more to do with the organisational set ups than training.

The colour patterns of insignias/logos/emblems/patches have largely been retained from British Indian Armed Forces to Pakistan Armed Forces through to Bangladesh Armed Forces.
It was not deemed necessary to re-invent everything upon formation of Bangladesh Armed Forces.
You will notice that emblems, insignias, etc. of both PA and BA are similar to those of British Army and other services of ex-British colonies.

For example, a red/yellow patch is commonly used for Corps of Armour, deep brown for Army Medical Corps, bright red for Corps of Military Police, etc.

Three Services examples:
UK:
British.jpg

Australia:
Australian_Defence_Force_tri-service_flag.jpg

Bangladesh:
bangladesh.jpg

Pakistan:
Pak.png

Corps of Armour examples:

Australian Army:
download.jpg

Malaysian Army:
malaysia.gif

BA:
BA.png

PA:
PA.jpg

Libya is a great example, a beautiful rich country but completely destroyed by Nato and the so called holy warriors. Gaddafi should have improved his army but he trusted his European allies, he thought his country will not be attacked, he worked hard to make his country economy, welfare strong but all gone done the bin.
No, Libya is not a great example of what you are trying to imply by talking military. Gaddafi had no intention of industrializing his country. He had no idea what industrialization means to a country.

His was a socialistic approach. Sell oil and import goods from the West and somehow distribute the revenue among the populace.

Note also, Pakistan's military strength cannot, in the long run, survive the economic reality of the country. It was doing well before 1971. I saw many many mills and factories in some areas of and in the desert east of Karachi built by private people led by 22 families.

I was expecting Pakistan to grow 22,000 or 220,000 families who would build industries. But, somehow it stopped and your govt started to borrow easy money from here and there. Now, the debt is above $102 billion that you are facing problems to repay with interest.

About Bangladesh, do not worry. We are following exactly the same policy of Pakistan and BD borrowing stands at $70 billion already.

Simply speaking, no economic strength means no military strength. It will be only superficial strength.

No, Libya is not a great example of what you are trying to imply by talking military. Gaddafi had no intention of industrializing his country. He had no idea what industrialization means to a country.

His was a socialistic approach. Sell oil and import goods from the West and somehow distribute the revenue among the populace.

Note also, Pakistan's military strength cannot, in the long run, survive the economic reality of the country. It was doing well before 1971. I saw many many mills and factories in some areas of and in the desert east of Karachi built by private people led by 22 families.

I was expecting Pakistan to grow 22,000 or 220,000 families who would build industries. But, somehow it stopped and your govt started to borrow easy money from here and there. Now, the debt is above $102 billion that you are facing problems to repay with interest.

About Bangladesh, do not worry. We are following exactly the same policy of Pakistan and BD borrowing stands at $70 billion already.

Simply speaking, no economic strength means no military strength. It will be only superficial strength.

Pakistan debt is certainly an issue. I am surprised Bangladesh is not so behind but on other fronts you are doing really good, you have decent forex reserves, economy growing at a good pace. Pakistan new government is trying to implement reforms, hopefully Pakistan will be on the road to recovery in the next few years.

I mentioned Libya because it was a rich country, with the best education, healthcare etc and if today Gaddafi was here maybe he would have realised that he needs to open industries, factories for exports and not only rely on oil. But he had a weak military and because he did not toe the Western lines, he was removed from power, killed and his country destroyed.