What's new

Bangladesh farmer who killed 160,000 rats in one year crowned national champion

Homo Sapiens

ELITE MEMBER
Reaction score
Country
Bangladesh
Bangladesh farmer who killed 160,000 rats in one year crowned national champion - Telegraph

Abdul Khaleq Mirbohor, a farmer, describes his 'love' of killing rodents after submitting 161,220 severed tails to claim his prize

Rat-in-a-Sewer_2242662b.jpg

"I've been killing rats since 1996. I love killing them," said Mr Mirbohor Photo: AFP/Getty Images

By AFP

11:46AM BST 08 Oct 2015

Bangladesh has crowned a new national champion rat killer after his team eradicated more than 160,000 rodents in the past 12 months, officials said on Thursday.

Farmer Abdul Khaleq Mirbohor won 20,000 Bangladeshi taka (£167) at a ceremony in Dhaka on Wednesday for eliminating 161,220 rats in a year as part of a nationwide campaign to stop grain being devoured by rodents.

'I've been killing rats since 1996. I love killing them. They are the enemy of the country and people'
Abdul Khaleq Mirbohor
http://twitter.com/intent/tweet?tex...-champion.html?WT.mc_id=tmgoff_pq_tw_20150423
"Mr Mirbohor is a passionate rat killer. During the ceremony, he told the dignitaries that nothing gives him pleasure [more] than killing grain-eating rodents," Abul Kalam Azad, head of the government's plant protection unit, told AFP.

Mirbohor hired mostly women volunteers to kill the rats in paddy and wheat fields, then submitted the tails of the deceased animals to the regional agriculture office to count them.

"I've been killing rats since 1996. I love killing them. They are the enemy of the country and people. They devour grains, ground nuts and spread diseases," the 55-year-old farmer told AFP.

Government official Borhan Uddin said the farmer was "obsessed" with killing rats. "Fellow villagers called him mad. He is like a Pied Piper of Hamelin," he said.