Bangladesh Economy: News & Updates

That's a little unfair..... Credit must be given when due. Hate Bal politics by all mean but please don't knock development. Everything can not be viewed simply through the prism of BAL destructive political manuvaring.

@ " Billboards kia tere bapka hai". Now, why again you people are removing the billboards during the hours of darkness.

@ There is an old saying in Hindi," Ku-tta jab pagul hojata hai, tu ushko --- mardena chaihaiye ".

Mitsubishi to make Mirage cars in Bangladesh

Plans to invest Tk 400cr

2014-mitsubishi-mirage-ny.jpg

The Mitsubishi Mirage is now available in Bangladesh at a starting price of Tk 20 lakh. The five-seater is aimed at the middle class with a three-cylinder engine that could go 16km on one litre of petrol. The small family car is brought to Bangladesh by Rangs Ltd

Japan's Mitsubishi Motors Corporation plans to set up a manufacturing unit in Bangladesh to produce sedan cars for the local market.

The company will set up the unit under a public-private partnership (PPP), with an initial investment of Tk 400 crore, Masahiko Ueki, Mitsubishi's corporate general manager, said yesterday during his meeting with Industries Minister Dilip Barua.

The production of the car, Mirage Sedan, in Bangladesh will create employment and value addition, said Ueki, while adding that the price of the vehicle would not exceed Tk 15 lakh.

He also suggested the government reshuffle the duty structure, particularly on the imports of completely knocked-down cars (CKD).

“Now, the duty rates on the CKD and CBU [completely built unit] are the same,” Ueki said.

Barua said people's purchasing power is increasing because of the government's co-ordinated financial policy.

“As a result, car ownership is increasing. Bangladesh is now a lucrative market for the automobile industry.”

Romo Rouf Chowdhury, managing director of Rangs Ltd, the sole distributor of Mitsubishi vehicles in Bangladesh, was also present at the meeting.

Earlier on Wednesday, Rangs launched Mitsubishi's latest fuel-efficient, compact vehicle -- Mirage -- targeting the country's growing middle-class population.

The Daily Star

@ " Billboards kia tere bapka hai". Now, why again you people are removing the billboards during the hours of darkness.

@ There is an old saying in Hindi," Ku-tta jab pagul hojata hai, tu ushko --- mardena chaihaiye ".

I share your outrage about BAL criminality regarding the billboards amoungst multiplicity of other crimes and excesses but at the same time as criticising their political actions where development has taken place they should also be applauded. You misunderstood, I am not a saying these developments somehow absolves or nullifies BAL crimes.

Seeing everything through political perspectives damages us as a nation. Most things are not black and white but rather shades of grey.

DHAKA: Foreign exchange reserves of Bangladesh reached 16.03 billion US dollars breaking all the previous record after Independence as ranked second in South Asia.Bangladesh Bank sources made the disclosure on Tuesday. Governor of the central bank Dr Atiur Rahman told banglanews that its the highest reserve record after Independence.''It proves that our economy is stable and strong.Meanwhile,India ranked first and Pakistan stood third in foreign reserves among South Asian countries,

The reserves reached $ 16.03 billion to be precise, only second to India in South Asia. The figure is $ 6 billion more than Pakistan’s,. India has reserve of $ 277 billion, higher than the US, according to August 2 data. Forex Reserve and Treasury Management Division General Manager Kazi Saidur Rahman said buoyant remittance flow and increased export income had helped the reserve reach the new height.

DHAKA: Foreign exchange reserves of Bangladesh reached 16.03 billion US dollars breaking all the previous record after Independence as ranked second in South Asia.Bangladesh Bank sources made the disclosure on Tuesday. Governor of the central bank Dr Atiur Rahman told banglanews that its the highest reserve record after Independence.''It proves that our economy is stable and strong.Meanwhile,India ranked first and Pakistan stood third in foreign reserves among South Asian countries,

The reserves reached $ 16.03 billion to be precise, only second to India in South Asia. The figure is $ 6 billion more than Pakistan’s,. India has reserve of $ 277 billion, higher than the US, according to August 2 data. Forex Reserve and Treasury Management Division General Manager Kazi Saidur Rahman said buoyant remittance flow and increased export income had helped the reserve reach the new height.

it has already been posted, welcome to the forum. just little tips: when you post tittle, check if similar thread has been posted or not (forum's system shows similar threads titles when you post thread title) so it will prevent you from double post :)

Its a big reserve. We have a very strong current account surplus. So, it will build reserve in the course of time. I wish to see a reserve of 50 billion plus in 5 years.

i do not agree, we need to keep all in balance, if we suddenly have reserve of $50billion which is huge. It will affect badly our exports because it will make taka strong against USD. So we will no longer have advance of cheap products.

This is an artificially inflated reserve, $16 bilion is not actual figure.

1) more than $4 billion Bangladesh Bank bought from open market
BB buys record 4 billion US dollars

2) More than $1 billion came from loan private business brought in as loan from foreign banks as oppose to ocal bank. When repayment starts Bangladesh will see the impact
A glut in foreign currency loans « Dhaka Courier

3) Contractionary monetary policy pursued by Awami League caused severe decrease in capital machinary and industrial raw material import. Severly impacting GDP growth. Overall decerease more than $3 billion that was not spent on industrial growth and production are part of reserve now.

Import of factory raw materials, capital machinery drops

Discounting all these artificial propping by Awami League regime, reserver is actually well below $8 billion dollars. Given size of Bangladesh current economy that is not enough for even meeting needs for 3 months worth import, let alone loan repayments.

Look for Awami League digital deception, billboard near you.