Bangladesh 2nd largest economy in South Asia

I dunno, I think its a most beautiful anthem....the meaning and feeling cuts so very deep like no other...it always uses "o ma" to give that deep motherly touch all along it.

Mori hay, hay re Ma tor mukher bani amar kane lage shudhar môto,

Ma, tor bôdonkhani molin hole ami nôyon... o ma, ami nôyon jôle bhashi...shonar bangla...ami tomae bhalobhashi...

Who can bare to see one's mother sad? Some words hit at level no other anthem does imo.

But I agree its often sung too fast (esp at most events with that military kind of tune I don't care for) and with not the needed emotion/pause....but I like the tune (when it is slow and paced well) quite a lot too when it is done in the proper way to bring out the sadness and joy in the words.

Could you point me to what Bengali/Tagore songs you say are better? I am just interested.

@Joe Shearer
You are making a mistake about the intention of my saying about the National Anthem. It is certainly a good poem. But, an anthem is not just a poem.
- The first point is, it is not exactly analogous to our national characteristics to sing it like a Baishnab song. We are not Hindus, but historically quite a rogue type of Muslims. The melody represents Baishnabi style, a typical Hindu one.
- It was not intended for our country. It was written at a time when Bangladesh itself was within India, and the song was another version of Bande Mataram. It does not suit us.
- The melody is basically based on the Baishab song of a Film. How do you think of it? Is it appropriate to steal the melody for a National Anthem?
- The song is quite difficult to sing even by the professional guys. A National Anthem must be easy to sing.

Another point. Even our national flag does not represent our past and continuity as the Muslims of this region. Whatever explanation the BAL group gives it symbolizes Hindu mind with a Sun inside it. I understand it was taken as a token of appeasement to the then Indian leadership. However, it is time we change it to a one that represents our mindset.

I dunno, I think its a most beautiful anthem....the meaning and feeling cuts so very deep like no other...it always uses "o ma" to give that deep motherly touch all along it.

Mori hay, hay re Ma tor mukher bani amar kane lage shudhar môto,

Ma, tor bôdonkhani molin hole ami nôyon... o ma, ami nôyon jôle bhashi...shonar bangla...ami tomae bhalobhashi...

Who can bare to see one's mother sad? Some words hit at level no other anthem does imo.

But I agree its often sung too fast (esp at most events with that military kind of tune I don't care for) and with not the needed emotion/pause....but I like the tune (when it is slow and paced well) quite a lot too when it is done in the proper way to bring out the sadness and joy in the words.

Could you point me to what Bengali/Tagore songs you say are better? I am just interested.

@Joe Shearer

His objection is parochial. It is to the Hindu influences in the song, originally a poem. But then he needs to take up a Nazrul song, or a folk song, because otherwise most of the older composers were Hindus anyway.

I'm sorry, he's getting too bitter and harsh for me. This isn't a good direction.

I looked through my meagre repertoire, and came out blank. The most suitable would have been a song by Charankabi Mukunda Das, a song that was almost representative of the agitation against the first partition of Bengal. But then I realised it sings about 'Bharata Lakshmi'; certainly not what @bluesky is looking for.

No help for it; it has to be Nazrul then. Unless @bluesky wants to nail us to the wall for the horrible hydraulic engineering of Farakka, and sing Megh dey, pani dey at us.

@Nilgiri

Are you familiar with Nazrul's oeuvre? Asking in this specific context. Although he was born in West Bengal, he might do; he was tenderly looked after in Bangladesh, and died there. I could reproduce some for you to listen to, and to urge onto your friends.

His objection is parochial. It is to the Hindu influences in the song, originally a poem. But then he needs to take up a Nazrul song, or a folk song, because otherwise most of the older composers were Hindus anyway.

I'm sorry, he's getting too bitter and harsh for me. This isn't a good direction.

I looked through my meagre repertoire, and came out blank. The most suitable would have been a song by Charankabi Mukunda Das, a song that was almost representative of the agitation against the first partition of Bengal. But then I realised it sings about 'Bharata Lakshmi'; certainly not what @bluesky is looking for.

No help for it; it has to be Nazrul then. Unless @bluesky wants to nail us to the wall for the horrible hydraulic engineering of Farakka, and sing Megh dey, pani dey at us.

@Nilgiri

Are you familiar with Nazrul's oeuvre? Asking in this specific context. Although he was born in West Bengal, he might do; he was tenderly looked after in Bangladesh, and died there. I could reproduce some for you to listen to, and to urge onto your friends.
Most of the time a national anthem was written for the very purpose instead of picking from an existing poem. PK national anthem was written only to be a national anthem.
I have the similar opinion about our national anthem as bluesky. I never memorized it neither sang it in school. It was horrible.

@Nilgiri

My good Bangladeshi brother in real life (a roommate 2nd year college is where it all commenced) had a poster up on his door for a good portion of that year....with basically what was a grand tree of Bengali poets/writers etc....the solid roots (beard and all) being the face of the venerable Tagore and the heavy lower branches with Nazrul etc....so you can imagine I am quite well acquainted with a good number of them (some names forgotten, but nonetheless I remember some of the poems/songs). I have to go find that picture...it was great.

What would you consider as Nazruls best sounding songs that you are referring to here (if so)?...poems I have read plenty (unfortunately only translated....though Bengali version have been sounded of to me and it sounds so much better though I could not understand). Please do post away as you see fit....this is fair enough thread to do so I feel.

You are making a mistake about the intention of my saying about the National Anthem. It is certainly a good poem. But, an anthem is not just a poem.
- The first point is it is not exactly analogous to our national characteristics to sing it like a Baishnab song. We are not Hindus, but historically quite a rogue type of Muslims. The melody represents Baishnabi style, a typical Hindu one.
- It was not intended for our country. It was written at a time when Bangladesh itself was within India, and the song was another version of Bande Mataram. It does not suit us.
- The melody is basically based on the Baishab song of a Film. How do you think of it? Is it appropriate to steal the melody for a National Anthem?
- The song is quite difficult to sing even by the professional guys. A National Anthem must be easy to sing.

Another point. Even our national flag does not represent our past and continuity as the Muslims of this region. Whatever explanation the BAL group gives it symbolizes Hindu mind with a Sun inside it. I understand it was taken as a token of appeasement to the then Indian leadership. However, it is time we change it to a one that represents our mindset.

Wow dude....I appreciate this frankness though. Out of interest, are you going to want to change all the Bengali "hindu" words/concepts too that are in such high prevalence in day to day use? My BD brother told me (when his sister got married and we struck up a convo on it more broadly) that yup they have same haldi ceremony due to lingering hindu customs (and this guy is staunch muslim dude...most of his family support Pakistan cricket team when he was growing up too btw...he was the only holdout for men in blue :) ).....so do you support getting rid of all those kind of vestigial things? Were you even being ironic about the Saudi funded schooling sheesh?

I'm not sure where this part of you is coming from...you simply cannot dissect, whitewash and sanctify a country from its heritage and history so cut and clean like was done with the borders by radcliffe....The communists in the 2 large titan countries came most close to it (and they never did it for the reason of political border that seems to be driving you)....but even they could not do it in the end (and you don't want to know how many lives, blood and tears it cost, trust me).

How popular is your thought process regarding this would you say among Bangladeshis anyway? From my experience its very few...but I have not been to Bangladesh, I only know from Bangladeshis I have met here in Canada and cpl other places.

Brother, I have this same song name "ami kothay pabo tare" and this song is a boul ( বাউল) song of gagon harkara ( গগন হরকরা) . However there is a common misunderstanding in this case here.

Few peoples accuse Robi Thakur of plagiarism, and it became a trend and that is very unfortunate, please do not hear them.

Indeed the melody of Amar Shonar Bangla was under the shade of ( ছায়া অবলম্বনে বুঝাইসি) the baul melody "ami kothay pabo tare ", but Robi Thakur took permission from Gagon harkara .
Please read this debate, specially look at the replies of kuloda Roy , from that reply posted on আগস্ট 24, 25 of 2011 , read the debate please I can't link of the exact comment as I am on mobile now. But please search the comment and read serial few comments of the same man . You will know .
Robi Thakur actually did not use the music without the permission of gagon harkara .
It's a large debate though. But clearly it's proved that the accusation against Robi Thakur is false .
@bluesky and @Joe Shearer

So Tagore actually chose the melody as well? I thought that was given to the poem later after his passing?

No not a Nazrul song. He does not have an exact one. A new Poet could have written a new song for the national anthem. Otherwise, I would propose "Dhono-dhannyo Pushpe bhora---" by Dwijendralal Roy. It has the exact meaning and is not exactly a replica of Bande Mataram. The melody is sooo beautiful and can be sung by almost anyone.

Read the poem and listen to the melody below and think how beautifully it has been composed. The Awami stupids of those days were almost uneducated and ignorant. I wonder even if they knew of the existence of this poem/song.

- The first point is, it is not exactly analogous to our national characteristics to sing it like a Baishnab song. We are not Hindus, but historically quite a rogue type of Muslims. The melody represents Baishnabi style, a typical Hindu one.

To be fair, I've never seen my father sing along to the national anthem. Here on our Bangla Channels whenever a Shilpi or some kind of song with the national anthem playing he would shout "Dhuur Bodla!". I haven't seen anyone except Bengali teachers and wannabe intellects follow along.

I think someone along the way will certainly redefine our national identity, cause honestly bro..It's feminine as f### and people are aware of that.

@Joe Shearer I have also thought that "Dhono-dhannyo Pushpe bhora" is better suited to be our national anthem. Although I don't follow the reasoning of bluesky. But I too think "Dhono dhannyo pushpe bhora" has a better melody.

It has a deep feeling too. Specially the final lines "Amar ei deshete jonmo jeno ei deshete mori".

No hate for Tagore though. I like his poems and short stories. "Shonar Tori" is the best poem I have ever read.

রাশি রাশি ভারা ভারা
ধান-কাটা হল সারা,
ভরা নদী ক্ষুরধারা
খরপরশা--
কাটিতে কাটিতে ধান এল বরষা॥

So Tagore actually chose the melody as well? I thought that was given to the poem later after his passing?
Here is the original song @Nilgiri,
And the tagore song was based on it. He took the music from Gagon harkara with his permission. Amar Shonar Bangla is a different poem but influenced by this lyrics , but the melody is totally the same, but since he took the permission of gagon harkara and also mentioned it somewhere, so amar sonar Bangla is very much fine song.
However, watch the boul song and also pay attention to it's melody .

@Nilgiri

• মানতে হবে, আমাদের বাঙালি ভাইয়েরা ব্যাপারটাকে ঠিক ধরেছেন, যেটা ভাবছিলাম তা নয়। They are right in pointing out that it is difficult to sing, and is perhaps a shade too emotional for an anthem; an anthem has to inspire people, after all. While @bluesky has been true to himself in pointing to the residual ethos of the National Anthem that they have, he has also, as has @Mage, pointed to a most appropriate song that is known and loved throughout Bengal, west or east. In case you haven't heard it before, here it is. I have two sentimental attachments to it; first, it was a familiar slow march that I heard again and again in my childhood, as my father was very fond of it; second, my mother's father was a personal friend of Dilip Roy, the son of the composer, Dwijendra Lal Roy.

• নজরুলের গান গুলি বেশি'র ভাগ কুচ কাওয়াজের সুরের সাথে পরে। উনি তো নিজেই সৈন্য বাহিনী তে ছিলেন, তাই এটা স্বাভাবিক। There are softer ones, perhaps more appealing, but my own favourites are the rather predictable rousing martial tunes below. I feel that they are far, far better than most of the awful tunes composed by bandmasters in the Indian Army, who , poor things, thought they were Kenneth Alsop but were wrong. Some Indian Army recent compositions are unbelievably bad. Nazrul's songs are very martial, very march-worthy. Here are three of them, not all of classical cast (one is downright newfangled!)

My apologies for the versions put up; I was eager to get a version of these for my playlist, impatient even, and didn't put in the effort that I should have. If anyone has a better version to suggest, for any of these, I will be most grateful.

I was amused and touched that our friend @Kandari-Hushiyaar took his ID from the Nazrul song, Durgom giri...

Lovely thought.

@bluesky

Your point, bhai.

@Nilgiri

• মানতে হবে, আমাদের বাঙালি ভাইয়েরা ব্যাপারটাকে ঠিক ধরেছেন, যেটা ভাবছিলাম তা নয়। They are right in pointing out that it is difficult to sing, and is perhaps a shade too emotional for an anthem; an anthem has to inspire people, after all. While @bluesky has been true to himself in pointing to the residual ethos of the National Anthem that they have, he has also, as has @Mage, pointed to a most appropriate song that is known and loved throughout Bengal, west or east. In case you haven't heard it before, here it is. I have two sentimental attachments to it; first, it was a familiar slow march that I heard again and again in my childhood, as my father was very fond of it; second, my mother's father was a friend of the son of the composer, Dwijendra Lal Roy.

• নজরুলের গান গুলি বেশি'র ভাগ কুচ কাওয়াজের সুরের সাথে পরে। উনি তো নিজেই সৈন্য বাহিনী তে ছিলেন, তাই এটা স্বাভাবিক। There are softer ones, perhaps more appealing, but my own favourites are the rather predictable rousing martial tunes below. I feel that they are far, far better than most of the awful tunes composed by bandmasters in the Indian Army, who , poor things, thought they were Kenneth Alsop but were wrong. Some Indian Army recent compositions are unbelievably bad. Nazrul's songs are very martial, very march-worthy. Here are three of them, not all of classical cast (one is downright newfangled!)

My apologies for the versions put up; I was eager to get a version of these for my playlist, impatient even, and didn't put in the effort that I should have. If anyone has a better version to suggest, for any of these, I will be most grateful.

Wow now I see what you are all going on about (I similarly have always believed either Vande Mataram or Saare Jahan se Acha would have made far better anthems for India than Jana Gana Mana).

I will be re-listening and humming this tune (Dhana Dhannya Pushpa Bhora) for quite some time now...until I learn all the words.

I just read the translation too, how very deep and touching it is (man you Bengalis sure know how to tug the heart strings).

I have a good topic of conversation to bring up (and hopefully surprise him with my singing this song) with my BD brother now when we next catch up (we never really got into all this part of BD anthem candidates etc...probably why I never came across this sublime ethereal song before)....so thank you all kindly.

I see what you mean about Kazi Nazrul style now as well and I do much empathise with your preference. But to me the slower country-idyllic songs (like this Dhana Dhannya Pushpa Bhora) always hold a special place in my heart...part of the reason here in North America, traditional bluegrass is my most favourite (esp when they get a wallowing soulful harmonica going)...it has a gentle resonance that undulates to what really for me ....makes life worth living in the end...a most highest love for all that made you what you are...things that existed far before you and will far after you.

A day I could not have asked for much better truly...it has ended on this wonderful perfect note...quite literally. I wish you all the very best! It is truly such things like this that do make it all worthwhile in the end to be here.

Coincidentally This song written by Nazrul Sung by a Bangladeshi in a West Bengal TV channel went viral yesterday in Bengali fb world. @Joe Shearer @Nilgiri

Those Iron Gates of Prison
Destroy those
iron gates of prison(2x)
demolisth the blood-stained stony altars
of chain worshipping!
O youthful Shiva(2x)
blow your horn of universal cataclysm!
Let the flag of destruction
rise amidst the rubble of prison walls
of the East!!
Iron gates of prison(2x)
{Destroy those
iron gates of prison demolisth the blood-stained stony altars
of chain worshipping!
O youthful Shiva(2x)
of the East!!}
Iron gates of prison(2x)

Play the music of the festival of Shiva!
Who's the master? Who's the king?
Who is it
that punishes the truth of freedom?
Ha! Ha! Ha! It's a laugh--
God is to be hanged?
Rumor-monger--
who teaches this pitiful "truth"?
Iron gates of prison(2x)
{Destroy those
of chain worshipping!
O youthful Shiva(2x)
of the East!!}
Iron gates of prison(2x)

O you forgetful Madman --
shake -- shake the prisons
with your forceful cataclysmic pulls!
Send your Haidari call,
play your war-drums--
call Death
towards Life!
Iron gates of prison(2x)
{Destroy those
of chain worshipping!
O youthful Shiva(2x)
of the East!!}
Iron gates of prison(2x)

There, the Baishakhi storm is dancing--
are you just going to sit through your days?
Let's see
you shake up the foundation
of that terrible prison.
Kick - break the locks!
All those prisons--
set them on fire,
burn them down, uproot them forever!
Iron gates of prison(2x)
{Destroy those
of chain worshipping!
O youthful Shiva(2x)
of the East!!}
Iron gates of prison(Many x)

Coincidentally This song written by Nazrul Sung by a Bangladeshi in a West Bengal TV channel went viral yesterday in Bengali fb world. @Joe Shearer @Nilgiri

Those Iron Gates of Prison
Destroy those
iron gates of prison(2x)
demolisth the blood-stained stony altars
of chain worshipping!
O youthful Shiva(2x)
of the East!!
Iron gates of prison(2x)
{Destroy those
of chain worshipping!
O youthful Shiva(2x)
of the East!!}
Iron gates of prison(2x)

Play the music of the festival of Shiva!
Who's the master? Who's the king?
Who is it
that punishes the truth of freedom?
Ha! Ha! Ha! It's a laugh--
God is to be hanged?
Rumor-monger--
who teaches this pitiful "truth"?
Iron gates of prison(2x)
{Destroy those
of chain worshipping!
O youthful Shiva(2x)
of the East!!}
Iron gates of prison(2x)

O you forgetful Madman --
shake -- shake the prisons
with your forceful cataclysmic pulls!
Send your Haidari call,
play your war-drums--
call Death
towards Life!
Iron gates of prison(2x)
{Destroy those
of chain worshipping!
O youthful Shiva(2x)
of the East!!}
Iron gates of prison(2x)

There, the Baishakhi storm is dancing--
are you just going to sit through your days?
Let's see
you shake up the foundation
of that terrible prison.
Kick - break the locks!
All those prisons--
set them on fire,
burn them down, uproot them forever!
Iron gates of prison(2x)
{Destroy those
of chain worshipping!
O youthful Shiva(2x)
of the East!!}
Iron gates of prison(Many x)
Where thread heading not getting but thanks for sharing Novels performance. :-):tup: