At Least 63 Kids Have Died In Gorakhpur Hospital In 5 Days, Yogi Govt Admits Oxygen Shortage

Quoting a guy like that won't help encourage a serious discussion on this issue which needs apolitical approach but I guess politics overshadows death of little kids.
serious discussion? Kya baat hai bhai. Kab se?

@ranjeet since you spoke about serious discussion about the above quoted.

BJP IT slaves had a busy day yesterday. Source: https://twitter.com/samjawed65

DHH1MrNXkAAKCxD.jpg

DHH1MpHXoAAQOib.jpg

DHH1dNmXsAAG1_O.jpg

DHH2DOWXoAA1E5a.jpg

DHH23xnXkAAUMIS.jpg

DHH3Y22XUAADofR.jpg

Would you like to elaborate on Dr Kafeel Khan's role in this tragedy?
Oh I've been waiting for that. Too many alerts, so unable to answer all of them. Coming to the point.

Some one has to bear the brunt, Poor Khan ended up taking up the blame... We all know the knee jerk reaction of politicians, this is just one such act. Do read the below

Gorakhpur’s Dr Kafeel Khan: What We Know About Him & What We Don’t

In a strange turn of events, Dr Kafeel Khan, the Gorakhpur doctor who allegedly “saved children’s lives” as the BRD Medical College and Hospital battled an oxygen supply shortage, was removed as the nodal officer for the Department of Pediatrics on Sunday.

Dr Khan, who was in charge of the encephalitis ward at the hospital where 64 kids have died in the last 6 days, was initially hailed as a hero for his ‘quick thinking’.

The doctor confirmed his sacking, as he was quoted by a Times of Indiareport as saying:

It’s a smear campaign against me. I was only trying to help the children...Dr Kafeel Khan
Also Read: Gorakhpur Live: Yogi Vows Probe; UP Cong Wants Him to Resign

While Dr Bhupendra Sharma would be replacing him as the nodal officer, the TOI report did add that Khan would continue serving as a doctor in the hospital.

With his sacking, a plethora of questions have emerged. Here’s what we know about him and what we don’t.

When and Why Was Dr Khan Sacked?
What we know: As per a Hindustan Times report, the reasons behind Khan's sacking were ‘dereliction of duty’ as well as ‘carrying out private practice’.

The same report claimed that according to sources in the BRD Medical College and Hospital, Khan had “concocted tales” of his own ‘heroic acts’. Khan reportedly also runs a private practice – a 50-bed children’s hospital called Medispring Hospital and Research Centre in Gorakhpur, which is owned by his wife.

KK Gupta, director general, medical education (Gorakhpur), questioned Khan's action of arranging for three cylinders on his own when there were already 52 cylinders at the hospital on 10 August. Furthermore, he called all the adulation around him a result of all the media coverage, saying the hospital did not refer to him as a hero.

Also Read: Gorakhpur: As Families Mourn Children’s Deaths, Who’s Responsible?

However, a Hindustan Times report also cites anonymous sources from the hospital claiming that Khan and a former principal of the medical college, Dr RK Mishra, were in-charge of ensuring a continuous supply of oxygen cylinders.
The same report claims that following preliminary investigation, Mishra and Khan were accused of being primarily responsible for the acute shortage of oxygen cylinders, causing the deaths of many children.

Moreover, the report asserts that according to their sources from the hospital, Khan was also a part of the hospital’s purchase committee and was aware of the fact that they owed a huge debt to Pushpa Sales, the Lucknow-based oxygen supplier to the company.

What we don’t know is whether or not Khan was actually responsible for payments to be made for oxygen cylinders.

Why Was Dr Khan Hailed as a ‘Hero’?
What we know: On the night of 10 August, when the oxygen supply at the BRD Medical College and Hospital was critically low, it was Khan who decided to take control of the situation by driving to private homes to borrow oxygen cylinders, reported DNA. Khan paid Rs 10,000 to an oxygen supplier out of his own pocket, reported CNN-News18.

As the news of Khan’s ‘heroism’ broke, social media went into overdrive, with praises for the doctor.

What we don’t know is whether Dr Khan was actually responsible for saving the lives of many children by arranging for more oxygen supply, as there hasn’t been any official validation from the hospital.

Also Read: Dr Kafeel Khan, ‘Hero’ of Gorakhpur, Removed From His Position

Kafeel Khan: Fraud or Scapegoat?
What we know: Sunday witnessed Twitterati ‘digging’ into Khan’s past.

Some Twitter users cited some old Hindi articles, alleging that Khan had been accused of rape in the past.

Also Read: Yogi Vows to Punish Guilty As Gorakhpur Death Toll Hits 64

Another Twitter user cited an old article, which had mentioned one “Dr Kafeel Ahmed Khan, a Lucknow-based doctor,” as having impersonated someone in the National Board Exam for medical registration in 2009. Moreover, the same Twitter user claimed, citing a legal document, that the Manipal University had suspended Dr Kafeel Khan for a criminal case against him.

However, when questioned about past charges of harassment and impersonation against him that have now suddenly surfaced, Khan was quoted as saying:

I have no idea why past controversies are being raked up now.
thequint%2F2017-08%2Ffc0f698c-762d-46ad-8f1d-0d2ceecf96e2%2FKarnatakaHC.JPG

Also Read: Will Get Detailed Report on Gorakhpur Deaths: UP CM Adityanath

The Twitter user who goes by the handle @WrongDoc also claims:

The hospital’s website is however, not available at the moment.

thequint%2F2017-08%2Fb254735d-d1e6-4f51-bb38-e9611460cb26%2FWEBSITE_ERROR.JPG

However, a snapshot of the page linked by the Twitter user can still be accessed by clicking on the link. A quick glance reveals that indeed there is no mention of Dr Kafeel Khan in the list of faculty at the Gorakhpur hospital.

Further, Twitter users who ‘identified’ Khan’s Twitter handle as @dr_manipal, pointed out tweets by the user that were deemed as obscene.

upload_2017-8-14_14-2-50.gif

(Photo Courtesy: Twitter / Gaurav Pradhan)
thequint%2F2017-08%2F49aa5acd-71e0-46ca-b666-a009005dcd91%2FVulgar1.JPG

thequint%2F2017-08%2Fae2d7989-adc4-4af3-a47a-9e5a39e93e54%2FVulgar2.JPG

Also, a trending topic on Twitter is #StandWithDrKafeel, which is being used by many Twitter users to absolve Kafeel of blame, while calling him a scapegoat.

What we don’t know is whether the Twitter account using Khan’s name is actually his. Moreover, his identity remains shrouded in mystery as it is unclear whether he indeed is Dr Kafeel Ahmad Khan of Manipal University. The Quint has not been able to independently verify whether @dr_manipal is Khan’s Twitter handle. Moreover, it should be noted that the Twitter account under that name is no longer available. Also, even if the Twitter account going by his name is not a fake one trying to impersonate Dr Khan, it is possible that it is another Dr Kafeel Khan altogether.

Source: https://www.thequint.com/india/2017/08/14/gorakhpur-tragedy-what-we-know-about-dr-kafeel-khan

@ranjeet So if this was all the fault of doctors, then why are police being dumping and threatening witnesses and concerned parties.

20770478_1548540871835729_2868947630868721355_n.jpg

A health department source, however, alleged that Rajiv Mishra, the principal, had received "orders from Lucknow" to withhold the payment because the vendor had failed to grease palms in the government.

Some parents alleged that as soon as the oxygen supply was snapped on Wednesday evening, the government flooded the hospital with police to "terrorise" the patients' families. The cops allegedly ejected the children's relatives from the wards and, after the deaths, from the compound - in some instances, from the city itself.

Amit Singh of Deoria told The Telegraph: "The doctors killed my daughter Pratigya, and the police forced me out of the premises."

Vijay Lal of Kushinagar told television channels: "My 16-day-old daughter died in the paediatric ward. Policemen dropped me at the railway station in an auto-rickshaw and warned me not to return. I was scared."

Source: https://www.telegraphindia.com/1170813/jsp/frontpage/story_167051.jsp

@ranjeet yogi baba's government takes action on oxygen cylinder supplier while claiming the below

The state government has strenuously denied that the deaths were caused by shortage of oxygen, even though parents of the children who died say they were asked by doctors to manually pump oxygen for several hours.

Source: https://scroll.in/pulse/847105/adit...en-payments-were-delayed-by-a-day-says-doctor

Poor state of medical infrastructure in Gorakhpur hospital was highlighted by CAG in May

Gorakhpur hospital deaths: Yogi Adityanath's visit to hospital delayed oxygen payments, says doctor

Oh I've been waiting for that. Too many alerts, so unable to answer all of them. Coming to the point.

Some one has to bear the brunt, Poor Khan ended up taking up the blame... We all know the knee jerk reaction of politicians, this is just one such act. Do read the below

So Poor Dr Khan is sacrificing himself to save Yogi? The article below is cherry picking quotes from "sources" to fit in the narrative. This Doctor's role is under scanner along with Rajiv Mishra. Khan can't play the victim card.

Since you are a true Muslim, your hatred is understood and I consider it justified. Had Gorakhpur been ruled by a Muslim MP, you would not have opened a thread. That is understandable. You have never deviated from your 'schedule'. Though this does color the way you see things ( as do I), it needs observation.

For instance...

Please provide the mortality list over this period of 25 (or more years). We can see how many died in the 90s (or before) and so on. If there has been any improvement or not will be clear.
True muslimo_O

Had it been a Muslim MP, Sanghis would have started numerous threads many laced with fake claims and news. So you are assured to see one incase it happens.

Look at the present scenario, no Sanghi is seen maligning Mishra saab(who was also held responsible for this) but Sanghis are at full throttle maligning KHAN saab.

You do realize that deaths of so many kids with in a span of 2 days is a real big news, hence it is being all over the news channels.

Since Yogi has been representing the constituency for good 25 years, not sure why he overlooked the need of better infrastructure in his constituency.
Poor state of medical infrastructure in Gorakhpur hospital was highlighted by CAG in May

So Poor Dr Khan is sacrificing himself to save Yogi? The article below is cherry picking quotes from "sources" to fit in the narrative. This Doctor's role is under scanner along with Rajiv Mishra. Khan can't play the victim card.
Its more like Yogi slaughtering Khan saab to save his own skin.

Cherry picking? What has the government suspended him for? Initially there were no specific reasons mentioned by the government for sacking him. Later on some reports claim that it was dereliction of duty. No Government source mentions as to what exactly was "dereliction of duty". I have posted an article which speaks about everything that concerns Khan saab. Read it completely instead of "Cherry picking".

Posting it again for you..

Gorakhpur’s Dr Kafeel Khan: What We Know About Him & What We Don’t

In a strange turn of events, Dr Kafeel Khan, the Gorakhpur doctor who allegedly “saved children’s lives” as the BRD Medical College and Hospital battled an oxygen supply shortage, was removed as the nodal officer for the Department of Pediatrics on Sunday.

Dr Khan, who was in charge of the encephalitis ward at the hospital where 64 kids have died in the last 6 days, was initially hailed as a hero for his ‘quick thinking’.

The doctor confirmed his sacking, as he was quoted by a Times of Indiareport as saying:

It’s a smear campaign against me. I was only trying to help the children...Dr Kafeel Khan
Also Read: Gorakhpur Live: Yogi Vows Probe; UP Cong Wants Him to Resign

While Dr Bhupendra Sharma would be replacing him as the nodal officer, the TOI report did add that Khan would continue serving as a doctor in the hospital.

With his sacking, a plethora of questions have emerged. Here’s what we know about him and what we don’t.

When and Why Was Dr Khan Sacked?
What we know:
As per a Hindustan Times report, the reasons behind Khan's sacking were ‘dereliction of duty’ as well as ‘carrying out private practice’.

The same report claimed that according to sources in the BRD Medical College and Hospital, Khan had “concocted tales” of his own ‘heroic acts’. Khan reportedly also runs a private practice – a 50-bed children’s hospital called Medispring Hospital and Research Centre in Gorakhpur, which is owned by his wife.

KK Gupta, director general, medical education (Gorakhpur), questioned Khan's action of arranging for three cylinders on his own when there were already 52 cylinders at the hospital on 10 August. Furthermore, he called all the adulation around him a result of all the media coverage, saying the hospital did not refer to him as a hero.

Also Read: Gorakhpur: As Families Mourn Children’s Deaths, Who’s Responsible?

However, a Hindustan Times report also cites anonymous sources from the hospital claiming that Khan and a former principal of the medical college, Dr RK Mishra, were in-charge of ensuring a continuous supply of oxygen cylinders.
The same report claims that following preliminary investigation, Mishra and Khan were accused of being primarily responsible for the acute shortage of oxygen cylinders, causing the deaths of many children.

Moreover, the report asserts that according to their sources from the hospital, Khan was also a part of the hospital’s purchase committee and was aware of the fact that they owed a huge debt to Pushpa Sales, the Lucknow-based oxygen supplier to the company.

What we don’t know is whether or not Khan was actually responsible for payments to be made for oxygen cylinders.

Why Was Dr Khan Hailed as a ‘Hero’?
What we know:
On the night of 10 August, when the oxygen supply at the BRD Medical College and Hospital was critically low, it was Khan who decided to take control of the situation by driving to private homes to borrow oxygen cylinders, reported DNA. Khan paid Rs 10,000 to an oxygen supplier out of his own pocket, reported CNN-News18.

As the news of Khan’s ‘heroism’ broke, social media went into overdrive, with praises for the doctor.

What we don’t know is whether Dr Khan was actually responsible for saving the lives of many children by arranging for more oxygen supply, as there hasn’t been any official validation from the hospital.

Also Read: Dr Kafeel Khan, ‘Hero’ of Gorakhpur, Removed From His Position

Kafeel Khan: Fraud or Scapegoat?
What we know:
Sunday witnessed Twitterati ‘digging’ into Khan’s past.

Some Twitter users cited some old Hindi articles, alleging that Khan had been accused of rape in the past.

Also Read: Yogi Vows to Punish Guilty As Gorakhpur Death Toll Hits 64

Another Twitter user cited an old article, which had mentioned one “Dr Kafeel Ahmed Khan, a Lucknow-based doctor,” as having impersonated someone in the National Board Exam for medical registration in 2009. Moreover, the same Twitter user claimed, citing a legal document, that the Manipal University had suspended Dr Kafeel Khan for a criminal case against him.

However, when questioned about past charges of harassment and impersonation against him that have now suddenly surfaced, Khan was quoted as saying:

I have no idea why past controversies are being raked up now.
thequint%2F2017-08%2Ffc0f698c-762d-46ad-8f1d-0d2ceecf96e2%2FKarnatakaHC.JPG

Also Read: Will Get Detailed Report on Gorakhpur Deaths: UP CM Adityanath

The Twitter user who goes by the handle @WrongDoc also claims:

The hospital’s website is however, not available at the moment.

thequint%2F2017-08%2Fb254735d-d1e6-4f51-bb38-e9611460cb26%2FWEBSITE_ERROR.JPG

However, a snapshot of the page linked by the Twitter user can still be accessed by clicking on the link. A quick glance reveals that indeed there is no mention of Dr Kafeel Khan in the list of faculty at the Gorakhpur hospital.

Further, Twitter users who ‘identified’ Khan’s Twitter handle as @dr_manipal, pointed out tweets by the user that were deemed as obscene.

upload_2017-8-14_14-2-50-gif.418297

thequint%2F2017-08%2Fae2d7989-adc4-4af3-a47a-9e5a39e93e54%2FVulgar2.JPG

upload_2017-8-14_14-2-50-gif.418299

upload_2017-8-14_14-2-50-gif.418298

Also, a trending topic on Twitter is #StandWithDrKafeel, which is being used by many Twitter users to absolve Kafeel of blame, while calling him a scapegoat.

What we don’t know is whether the Twitter account using Khan’s name is actually his. Moreover, his identity remains shrouded in mystery as it is unclear whether he indeed is Dr Kafeel Ahmad Khan of Manipal University. The Quint has not been able to independently verify whether @dr_manipal is Khan’s Twitter handle. Moreover, it should be noted that the Twitter account under that name is no longer available. Also, even if the Twitter account going by his name is not a fake one trying to impersonate Dr Khan, it is possible that it is another Dr Kafeel Khan altogether.

Source: https://www.thequint.com/india/2017/08/14/gorakhpur-tragedy-what-we-know-about-dr-kafeel-khan

Its more like Yogi slaughtering Khan saab to save his own skin.

Cherry picking? What has the government suspended him for? Initially there were no specific reasons mentioned by the government for sacking him. Later on some reports claim that it was dereliction of duty. No Government source mentions as to what exactly was "dereliction of duty". I have posted an article which speaks about everything that concerns Khan saab. Read it completely instead of "Cherry picking".

Posting it again for you..

Here I am posting it for you ... which clearly says Khan was member of supplies department, he also stole oxygen cylinders for BRD for his private clinic.

Gorakhpur hospital tragedy: Dr Kafeel Khan no hero? Allegations of stealing oxygen cylinders for his private clinic abound
http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/...-ahmed-oxygen-cylinders-supply/1/1025546.html

True muslimo_O

Had it been a Muslim MP, Sanghis would have started numerous threads many laced with fake claims and news. So you are assured to see one incase it happens.

Look at the present scenario, no Sanghi is seen maligning Mishra saab(who was also held responsible for this) but Sanghis are at full throttle maligning KHAN saab.

You do realize that deaths of so many kids with in a span of 2 days is a real big news, hence it is being all over the news channels.

Since Yogi has been representing the constituency for good 25 years, not sure why he overlooked the need of better infrastructure in his constituency.

You are lucky.
They called you just true Muslim.
Look at the following ornaments gifted to me by Bhakts:

Pakistani
Jihadi
Traitor
False flagger
Muslim
Now the last one is hilarious = Bangladeshi.

Don't know what else would be forthcoming.

In order to defend Modi's shortcomings, they attack Non-Bhakts PDF members. Simply because they can not defend crook Modi. No one can. He himself cant. Because Modi knows he follows abusive Twitter IDs beside other defects that he possess.

Here I am posting it for you ... which clearly says Khan was member of supplies department, he also stole oxygen cylinders for BRD for his private clinic.

Gorakhpur hospital tragedy: Dr Kafeel Khan no hero? Allegations of stealing oxygen cylinders for his private clinic abound
http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/...-ahmed-oxygen-cylinders-supply/1/1025546.html
So the article states

"During Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath's visit to the medical college on August 9, Dr Kafeel Khan was one of the doctors assisting his review, but according to the staff- neither did he apprise the CM on the erratic supply of oxygen cylinders nor about hospital defaulting on payments."

I would want to know what were others doctors doing while Mishraji and Khan saab were gobbling up cylinders.

"Speaking to other doctors, junior staff at the BRD College, it surfaced that Khan and then principal Dr Rajiv Mishra received a commission on every hospital purchase and handled the deals with oxygen cylinder supplier- Pushpa Sales Pvt Ltd."

Why were they silent about it when Yogi baba visited the hospital? Were their mouths sealed when Yogi baba visited?

You are lucky.
They called you just true Muslim.
Look at the following ornaments gifted to me by Bhakts:

Pakistani
Jihadi
Traitor
False flagger
Muslim
Now the last one is hilarious = Bangladeshi.

Don't know what else would be forthcoming.

In order to defend Modi's shortcomings, they attack Non-Bhakts PDF members. Simply because they can not defend crook Modi. No one can. He himself cant. Because Modi knows he follows abusive Twitter IDs beside other defects that he possess.
That's the frustration coming out. You should wear them as ornaments:yahoo: