Assam Rifles camp under attack in Arunachal Pradesh

Not sure why India has not already made armed drones locally.

The militants are holed up in forests in mountains just like TTP in Shawal valley.

India has policy not to use airpower on terrorists.Risk of Collateral Damage is too high.first and for the last time we used it,bombs did its job,blew up rebels to hell.but there was civilian casualties as well.

No Levina ji, you are terribly wrong again. The ULFA has no strong following among the Naga people for the same reason Khalsa militants would not have a strong following among kashmir jihadi supporters.

Assam and Nagaland are two separate states in case you never noticed Levina Ji. You are so completely wrong here that I don't know where to start correcting you.

The NSCN you quoted is the first insurgent group in India which was formed in 1950s, the ULFA came up much later. The two states of Assam and Nagaland are having different issues to tackle with. It is not a IPL team where people of each state will randomly support each other.

I don't know about any incident. But everything else you said is certainly not true. You are very confused about Assam, Nagaland and insurgencies in these two states.

You know zilch!
Go and check how NSCN and ULFA have coordinated in the past and traded weapons. How difficult is it to comprehend that militant groups of neighboring states can and will join hands against a common establishment???
I might have only got the name wrong but you had the audacity to provoke me..

So you've accepted that you know nothing about the incident.
Do you have any knowledge of black day/15 august and what happens on that day??
Have you ever faced a bomb blast? or have you even been to school in a bus surrounded by security guards???
If no, then better zip your mouth.

@OrionHunter

I agree with @levina. A newly floated joint force has been established consisting of United Liberation Front of Western South East Asia comprising NSCN (K), Ulfa (I), Kamatapur Liberation Organization and NDFB (Songbijit).

The ULFA-ATF renamed itself as ULFA-Independent (ULFA-I), following its 'central executive committee' meeting between April 2 and 5, 2013.

Leadership: ULFA-I is presently led by its 'Chairman' Abhijit Barman; and Paresh Baruah (57), who is the 'vice-chairman' and also 'commander-in-chief', based somewhere near the Sino-Myanmar border. The 'central committee' of the outfit includes- 'Associate general secretary' and 'finance secretary in-charge' Jibon Moran, 'assistant foreign secretary' Pranmoy Asom and 'deputy commander-in-chief' Dristi Rajkhowa.

Strength: ULFA-ATF has an estimated strength of 150-250 militants, mostly new recruits, who are militarily organized into three groups - Rongili (the cheerful lady), the biggest formation, based in Myanmar; Lakhimi (the homely lady) is a small group still in Bangladesh; and Kopili (the speedy river), the new identity for the erstwhile 27th battalion, now temporarily based in Majuli, located in Jorhat.

Areas of Activity and Influence: According to reports, ULFA-I now has camps in Myanmar, Garo hills of Meghalaya and Tirap and Changlang Districts of Arunachal Pradesh and Mon District of Nagaland. According to reports the outfits still has three camps in Bangladesh.

The ULFA-I continues to maintain the linkages with most other militant formations with which the undivided ULFA had established its relations. The outfit continues to get the support from the ISI.

How new is your new outfit? That woman was talking about an incident in 1997 where she claimed ULFA carried out attacks in Dimapur.
Do you always rant like this? Calling a lady member as 'that woman' drips with sarcasm and utter disdain. A better word you could have used was, 'lady' instead of calling her 'that woman'. Or just taken her name. I guess you haven't learnt any manners where you come from.
@levina
And if your knowledge of geography is as horrifying as levina then don't comment further.
You ignoramus, I've served in CI ops in the East especially in Nagaland for four years. And you tell me my knowledge of geography is 'horrifying'? I've operated on every square foot out there while you've seen it only on maps.

So just get down from your imaginary high horse. You think everyone out here is a fool? No go take a nap and cool your sparse brain cells. You're getting annoying.

How new is your new outfit? That woman was talking about an incident in 1997 where she claimed ULFA carried out attacks in Dimapur.
what exactly is your problem???
You 're not even aware of that bomb blast which happened 2 decades back in Dimapur.
what are you debating on???
what was it that made you say this?
Indian Patriot said:
Yaar itna bhi mat feka karo
what exactly did I exaggerate??
Indian Patriot said:
And if your knowledge of geography is as horrifying as levina then don't comment further.
Did I ever say Dimapur is in Assam??
This is my post...
levina said:
Thats another problem, locals who help the authorities are hunted down. I remember an incident where a man's hands were chopped off because he had informed army about a blast ULFA was planning. This happened in late 90's.
levina said:
I was in school back then.
On our way to school, one of the escorting 3 tonne was bomb blasted in Dimapur and it was during the investigation that this incident came to light. Cartoon!
Do you deny that such groups dont attack army convoys?? or is it merely because I got the group's name wrong you're dragging my name and sullying me for an innocuous post and asking trolls to chip in???

What is your problem you horrible person?

You commented that in 1997 ULFA carried out attacks in Dimapur a

Since you are so confused why I am calling your comments as stupid. Let me put it across really simple.

1. Assam and Nagaland are two DIFFERENT states in India.

2. Dimapur is the name of a town in Nagaland, not Assam.

3. ULFA is an insurgent outfit of Assam, while NSCN operates in Nagalnd.

4. For that simple reason, ULFA cannot carry out any atacks in Dimapur or Nagaland.

5. You and almost all Indians here have no idea about the geography and history of your own country.

Please

Calm down and get off the computer.

Well its not easy as it sounds to hunt down terrorist in jungles of N.E .Also unlike kashmir the number of soldiers deployed too are less.And forests gives perfect cover for terrorists who move only in small groups.Same goes with Naxals.There are only 64000 central paramilitary to hunt down Naxals who are spread in more than 7 or 8 states.Plus most of those deep jungles are not even surveyed.

So since Independence, we have not surveyed all of our land? This is what upsets me the most. In China, they take security and protection of their land, resources, etc seriously. This is what decades of voting for one family does.....it makes the country a piece of shit.

Please

Calm down and get off the computer.

I understand that you acted in good faith and I respect your decision. I lost my cool and I crossed the line and I apologise for that. But with all due respect sir it was not me but her who was trolling. This thread is about insurgency in the remote north-eastern region of India. In this context she was telling about an attack carried out by an insurgent group named ULFA in Dimapur which is impossible because insurgency in that region is based on linguistic and ethnic lines. ULFA is a militant outfit based in the Indian state of Assam whereas Dimapur is in Nagaland which is again a separate Indian state. They are different ethnicity, linguistic group and have different cultures. Her knowledge on ground reality and geography was, politely saying, inaccurate. It is like a Pakistani claiming that Karachi is in Kashmir or Islamabad is a sea-port city. Either you would be laughing hysterically at their ignorance or get royally pissed off.

I tried to correct her mistake but she warned me not to do so. Things escalated quickly from there.

I regret crossing the line.