As the New India Rises, So Do Slums Of Laborers

think we may be generous to India to suggest that Pakistan and Bangladesh also have slums but I am sure India does compare the size of their slums with ours because it directly relates to national greatness and regional power and the impression thereof

Being Indian and interacting with other Indian, in my whole entire life I have never heard a sentence that say India's slums are smaller then Pakistan and Bangladesh. Infact that Indians have become so immune to slums that when they see a slum they just accept it. Slums relate to only high populations, if India had population of America, the slums would have not even been in existence or minimal. But I dare to say to you that the Indian slums have facilities like TV, Freezer, running water, Gov't schools around slums (which slum kids to go to school) and other aminities.

Dear third eye; sir
i dont want go in the details of ,suffereings of the Muslims, Christians & other non Hindus communities living in india. it can be detected easily through riots against them , after every 1 or 2 year after?

but, they (Muslims, Christians) are the minorty ,of the poor majorty living in the slums in every city in india, but i am sure !you will find a very huge majorty of lowest class of hindus living there?:agree:
Still in pakistan Shias / Sunnis can sit & drink water in the same glass together even some of them hate each other , but i am affraid
that a high class hindu cant do same that ,with a lowest class hindu? i guss they cant sit together.:lol::agree::D

Friend,

You will never know the dynamics of more than one large community living together simply coz it does not exist that way in Pak.

If the Christaians & muslims are a minority inthe nation, obviously thay shall be a minority in the slums too . The Q is that why are they in slums if as per u its the caste system thats keeps ppl in slums ?

I do not know where u get ur inputs from, I have a rural background to a place close to where u have visited ( allahabad). In the 60's - 70's as a child / young man I saw vestiges of the caste system. Today it virtually does not exist in the areas where we own land.It is entirely a political game played by Pol parties ( job reservations) to secure votes. Ppl have migrated in large Nos to metros where cash paying jobs exist. A maj prob now is to find labour to work the fields. Be that as it may, no one has the time or inclination to go into caste etc anymore. It just economics that dictate daily life.

The caste dimension is so skewed that close to 70 % plus of all Govt jobs go to Scheduled caste / tribes & ' otherbackwards castes". They get accelerated promotions & you can be sent to jail simply for calling a lower caste person a ' lower caste'.

However, here it suits ppl to use this as a stick to try & beat the Indian social system (without commenting on the bonded labour & pre indep land revenue system still in vogue in Pakistan).

Being Indian and interacting with other Indian, in my whole entire life I have never heard a sentence that say India's slums are smaller then Pakistan and Bangladesh. Infact that Indians have become so immune to slums that when they see a slum they just accept it. Slums relate to only high populations, if India had population of America, the slums would have not even been in existence or minimal. But I dare to say to you that the Indian slums have facilities like TV, Freezer, running water, Gov't schools around slums (which slum kids to go to school) and other aminities.

not all slums my friend. only large ones like dharawi in mumbai have the amenities you mentioned. slums in west bengal, bihar, orissa etc are signs of crushing poverty.

the main problem with india's poor is that they lack basic common sense. they are poor, and its obvious that they cannot afford many children. yet they breed like rabbits in Australia! if each poor family had only one child, that child could atleast get some decent education and hopefully step up to the middle class. instead each poor family has 3 or 4 children, adding to their financial pressure. these children then end up being child labourers, and never receive an education. they are stuck in a state of poverty for the rest of their miserable lives.

if the govt were to bring a one child law for families with an income of less than $2 a day, i think poverty in India will reduce drastically by 2020. in order to facilitate the law, the government should provide educational seminars to poor villages, teaching the poor the necessity to have only one child. the en from poor families should be encouraged to get a vasectomy, and the government should provide this operation for free.

I think it is a matter of perspective. The following quotes may help to clarify -

""Whether a nation be mighty today and rich or not depends not on the abundance or security of its power and riches, but principally on whether its neighbours have more or less of it." German mercantilist Von Hornigk – From Paul Kennedy – ‘The Rise and Fall of the Great Powers (First Published 1988)

and

“... the power of a nation-state by no means consists only in its armed forces, but also in its economic and technological resources; in the dexterity, foresight and resolution with which its foreign policy is conducted; in the efficiency of its social and political organization. It consists most of all in the nation itself, the people; their skills, energy, ambition, discipline, initiative; their beliefs, myths and illusions. And it consists, further, in the way all these factors are related to one another. Moreover national power has to be considered not only in itself, in its absolute extent, but relative to the state's foreign or imperial obligations; it has to be considered relative to the power of other states." C. Barnett – The Collapse of British Power (1972) cited in Paul Kennedy – ‘The Rise and Fall of the Great Powers’ (1988) pg 260

I think we may be generous to India to suggest that Pakistan and Bangladesh also have slums but I am sure India does compare the size of their slums with ours because it directly relates to their national greatness and regional power ambitions and the impression thereof. For example, an American who has lived in Bangladesh for the last 20 years recently commented to me that India was a giant slum with tiny pockets of wealth. For him this is an assertion of American power and greatness in relation to that of India.

munshi by that measure India is far mightier than the rest of its neighbors (the first quote).
I've read your posts before and let me assure you, you have never been generous towards India. your talking about size? dude there are a billion plus people in India so comparing population sizes (which works out for your purposes apparently) says nothing, you need to be talking relatively, i.e percents.
and what's wrong with ambition, ten years ago we wouldn't have been even having this conversation, like I've said before change is gradual, and in India its a little more gradual than usual but you know that story about the turtle right. I'm sure if you look ten years into the past, India wasn't 'shining', today they're at the point where that bluff has at least a little bit of truth to it, gotta look at the trajectory man.

An American (seriously hung over roommate) recently commented to me, 'whats a Bangladesh dude' to me that's an assertion of Indian power and greatness w.r.t Bangladesh.

:cheers:

Friend,

You will never know the dynamics of more than one large community living together simply coz it does not exist that way in Pak.

If the Christaians & muslims are a minority inthe nation, obviously thay shall be a minority in the slums too . The Q is that why are they in slums if as per u its the caste system thats keeps ppl in slums ?

I do not know where u get ur inputs from, I have a rural background to a place close to where u have visited ( allahabad). In the 60's - 70's as a child / young man I saw vestiges of the caste system. Today it virtually does not exist in the areas where we own land.It is entirely a political game played by Pol parties ( job reservations) to secure votes. Ppl have migrated in large Nos to metros where cash paying jobs exist. A maj prob now is to find labour to work the fields. Be that as it may, no one has the time or inclination to go into caste etc anymore. It just economics that dictate daily life.

The caste dimension is so skewed that close to 70 % plus of all Govt jobs go to Scheduled caste / tribes & ' otherbackwards castes". They get accelerated promotions & you can be sent to jail simply for calling a lower caste person a ' lower caste'.

However, here it suits ppl to use this as a stick to try & beat the Indian social system (without commenting on the bonded labour & pre indep land revenue system still in vogue in Pakistan).

Dear third eye; sir
So , are you saying that cast system doesnt prevail in india any more?:eek::tsk:

Dear third eye; sir
So , are you saying that cast system doesnt prevail in india any more?:eek::tsk:

No,

It will take a great deal of education & develpment for us to see the last of the caste system..It takes time to undo centuries of wrongs, espically when it has to erased from the minds.

But it is not as bad as it is made out to be. Its more in Bollywood & politics & less on the ground. I have seen it diminish rapidly.. and not a day too soon.

No,

It will take a great deal of education & develpoment for the caste system for us to see the last of the caste system..It takes time to undo centuries of wrongs, espically when it has to erased from the minds.

But it is not as bad as it is made out to be. Its more in Bollywood & politics & less on the ground. I have seen it diminish rapidly.. and not a day too soon.

too soon, can you give any near future time frame!:undecided:

If I am not mistaken then it will be 29 February 2113, given that this year was a leap year.

Dear,Goodperson;
29 February 2113, given that this year was a leap year. i willbe praying for that:tsk::lol:

too soon, can you give any near future time frame!:undecided:

"If I am not mistaken then it will be 29 February 2113, given that this year was a leap year. "

lol, are you trying to make fun of that guy or yourselves?

"not a day too soon" ka matlab hai ki agar aaj kuch hogaya, for example caste system ban kar diya, toh koi yeh nahi bolega ki itnay jaldi kyun ban kar diya.

mein aur elaborate kar sakta hoon, if you'd like. :enjoy:

"If I am not mistaken then it will be 29 February 2113, given that this year was a leap year. "

lol, are you trying to make fun of that guy or yourselves?

"not a day too soon" ka matlab hai ki agar aaj kuch hogaya, for example caste system ban kar diya, toh koi yeh nahi bolega ki itnay jaldi kyun ban kar diya.

mein aur elaborate kar sakta hoon, if you'd like. :enjoy:

Keep it to yourself if you understood my reply.