Arun Shourie on NaMo

The book written by Shourie is rather accurate, consider that all the assertions made are clearly referenced, drawn from their sources Al-Azhar in Cairo to Jama here.

What is his book's name ???

"The World Of Fatwas" which left a lot of people fuming- he was painfully accurate though- wonder what the folks at Al-Azhar Cairo felt like about his references which he drew from them. Specially the Fatwa on how to render a female's presence among men who are not her relatives or her husband acceptable- that one brought the house down.

Although thankfully Izzat Atiyya was pretty much condemned by the majority of the Egyptian society, including his fellows at Al Azhar and in the MB- which proves that there is still hope for humanity.

@Ayush @Tshering22 @doppelganger @Indo-guy A simple AND succinct insight into the "policy paralysis". Pointed out in super simplified terms.

Bare in mind that we are ALSO to blame for it. For example 90% or more of the posters on PDF from India will scream and spew vitriol about any policy brought about by a party which is not of their linking, they will criticize it on the basis of being a product of people and ideologies they dislike, forgetting that the said policies must be analyzed in terms of their material value and repercussions alone rather than falling back to the usage of ad hominem to try and prop up your sentiments regarding the same.

because we are emotional voters yaar.. we vote for the party which appeals to our emotions..
and yes,bashing each and every move of UPA is uncalled for..

A very nice political discussion going for as of now .

Thanks that the guynextdoor guy is banned .

The faggot has been squashed by the maggots.

Thanks ...and agree completely that we have become more and more subjective . Majority people who vote today are not objective about what they are doing . UPA II happened simply because of farmer loan waivers ....Farmers from interiors voted for Congress in masses ...simply because UPA waived off their loans . Well it was in their interest but rest of the UPA policies were not in India's national interest ....people don't understand that .

But bhai there is no one India, or one typical Indian. There are a huge cross section of interests and motives and agendas. And come down to it, India is a land of farmers. India is a land of the poor. Purely in number of votes terms. So if UPA II came on the back of waivers, will UPA III come on the back of food security bill? I will commit suicide or go on a shooting spree in New Delhi .....

Nice discussion going on. Keep it up guys.

The faggot has been squashed by the maggots.

But bhai there is no one India, or one typical Indian. There are a huge cross section of interests and motives and agendas. And come down to it, India is a land of farmers. India is a land of the poor. Purely in number of votes terms. So if UPA II came on the back of waivers, will UPA III come on the back of food security bill? I will commit suicide or go on a shooting spree in New Delhi .....

It's difficult question to answer ...While the same rural vote bank which brought UPA II is being targeted by Food security bill and Cash Transfer scheme ....Same population is also worst hit due to ongoing inflation ....The rupee continues to weaken....this will force diesel hike ...this will impact this population further by worsening all sorts of costs ...

Urban population has been clearly wary of UPA due to hosts of Scams ...thanks to media ...But you see rural population is not that much influenced by media ....or else NDA would not be defeated in 2004 !

My own gut feeling is that the chances of hung parliament or third front government with congress support is very high unless BJP pulls out miracle and pushes its numbers. With Modi at helm it will be difficult for BJP to gather new alliance partners if BJP has less than 170 seats , even if it emerges as single largest party .
BJP needs to work very hard to come back to power ....

Possibility of UPA coming back can't be rejected completely as we do not know how rural population votes this time !!!

@Indo-guy you are seriously depressing me with your sensible analysis man. Now with rupee at 65 to a dollar, I cannot even go abroad to study and escape Congress-stan. :hitwall:

Just a doubt, who will become the finance minister when BJP comes to power?

Who will be the ideal candidate, Yashwant Sinha or Arun Shourie?

@DRAY @doppelganger @Indo-guy @Ayush @Koovie @kurup @kaykay And this is proper decorum- political decorum as espoused by Vajpayee and statesmen who came before him- and all but forgotten today. A speech no less laced with disagreement than any one may come across but dignified and absent any theatrics.

I have been personally great admirer of Shrimati Sushma Swarajaji ! She is one of the great leaders we have today .

I have been following her political career very closely ...and my opinion is not based on single incident . She has consistently done well .I admire her not just because she is a great orator ...She is well versed with problems of people...She is veteran parliamentarian.. . She had guts to pit against Sonia Gandhi at last moment in totally unknown constituency which was traditional stronghold and safe constituency for Congress with little chance to win. And even after she lost from Bellari against Sonia Gandhi ,she kept in touch with that constituency. She was the first person to congratulate Sonia Gandhi after victory in Bellari . Besides she is political heir of AB Vajpayee. He had predicted she will became PM one day . AB Vajpayee was visionary he knew worth of person. He will not just say so about anybody. I trust his judgment...Besides Sushma swaraj knows how to take everybody along ...How to reconcile and make up ...She has most qualities that need to make PM ...in my honest opinion ...
Most important her slate looks clean . She has not been accused of any corruption. Never been part of controversy . She always carries herself in most dignified way , yet would not spare in parliament whoever is not correct. She is one parliamentarian which all parties are scared off ...for she is a learned parliamentarian and makes well studied representation . She is treat to hear in parliament . I switch on Lok sabha TV just to hear her point of view every time !

We need more leaders like Sushma Swarajaji ....

I have been personally great admirer of Shrimati Sushma Swarajaji ! She is one of the great leaders we have today .

I have been following her political career very closely ...and my opinion is not based on single incident . She has consistently done well .I admire her not just because she is a great orator ...She is well versed with problems of people...She is veteran parliamentarian.. . She had guts to pit against Sonia Gandhi at last moment in totally unknown constituency which was traditional stronghold and safe constituency for Congress with little chance to win. And even after she lost from Bellari against Sonia Gandhi ,she kept in touch with that constituency. She was the first person to congratulate Sonia Gandhi after victory in Bellari . Besides she is political heir of AB Vajpayee. He had predicted she will became PM one day . AB Vajpayee was visionary he knew worth of person. He will not just say so about anybody. I trust his judgment...Besides Sushma swaraj knows how to take everybody along ...How to reconcile and make up ...She has most qualities that need to make PM ...in my honest opinion ...
Most important her slate looks clean . She has not been accused of any corruption. Never been part of controversy . She always carries herself in most dignified way , yet would not spare in parliament whoever is not correct. She is one parliamentarian which all parties are scared off ...for she is a learned parliamentarian and makes well studied representation . She is treat to hear in parliament . I switch on Lok sabha TV just to hear her point of view every time !

We need more leaders like Sushma Swarajaji ....

Also respect Sushma ji greatly. She is an Indian.

And I find "Stephen-ian" pseudos like Mani Shankar Aiyar the biggest put offs.

@Indo-guy you are seriously depressing me with your sensible analysis man. Now with rupee at 65 to a dollar, I cannot even go abroad to study and escape Congress-stan. :hitwall:

Various economists have predicted that rupee may drop as low as 75 per dollar and economy will bottom out by November . By next 2 years economy should stabilize ( If we don't let economy deteriorate ) . Long term forecasts for Indian economy are ok .

As far as you are concerned ...Where there is will , there is way !

I am currently working in Singapore ...but India is always in my thoughts and my dreams ...so no matter how far you can go you can never escape your country .

" There is something in India ....which will never let it be destroyed ....no matter what odds are stacked up against her ...and India has uncanny ability to rise from down under " and I have complete faith in that ....

Just a doubt, who will become the finance minister when BJP comes to power?

Who will be the ideal candidate, Yashwant Sinha or Arun Shourie?

Given my understanding ... real job is done by Bureaucracy! well minister does have some important role to play ...but most important is how good is the team .
Better to have some technocrat / economist as finance minister with good team of Secretaries to support and good PM who gives him free hand to follow policies that are in Nation's interest !
To have some continuity better to have finance minister who has previous experience in dealing with issues pertaining to Finance ministry .... Yashwant Sinha or Jaswant Singh are both capable enough.

But this is really a long shot ....all depends upon which formation occupies center ....I just hope not to see Mulayam singh or Mayavati in PM seat ...that's all !!!

Either way i think its too late for the govt. , either Modi comes to power or if congress comes back, then i think we may end up with an Egypt like situation.... i know it sounds laughable.. Soo many people are upset and angry , it only takes one small spark for the whole thing to blow over ...

It does not sound laughable at all.