Arun Shourie on NaMo

Thanks @Indo-guy . But what is the process to call for elections (date, early/on time, etc.)? Who does it? Is it one person, or has there to be a consensus, or does it automatically kick in after set period of time?

I also do not appreciate the noises coming out of the BJP. The other day Rudy was saying the economy is so screwed up, even when/if the BJP comes to power, it will take them a minimum of 2 years to reverse the damage done by the Congress. To me that sounds like setting the ground for more of the same crap, just by different leadership.

Edit: I saw your new post just now!

He is right, see reforms are long term stimulation tools, the economy currently suffers because of lack of consistency- this lack of consistency is the very policy paralysis that is being harped about. It took a multitude of errors over the last 4 years to bring us to this point- fixing it will take time too.

People are always out looking for a panacea, an assault on the problems that will somehow "slay" said problems. It is not possible to do so, that is a simple thing and must be understood- no more difficult to grasp than the fact that if I push you off from the 10th floor you're a dead man- the rules of physics and biology will have it end no other way.

Our government had the beautiful idea of implementing MNREGA even in districts which HAD A LABOR SHORTAGE!! Just a very small example of the idiocy that prevails when people refuse to understand that electing people, leave alone the right ones, is the first and most trivial step in a democracy. It is in fact the least important one, you can make elephants peddle a mono-cycle if it comes down to it and you can sure as hell make donkeys churn out smart legislation. There are other factors, steps, actions that are far more important and will in the foreseeable future remain absent within the Indian setup, lamentably.

Thanks @Indo-guy . But what is the process to call for elections (date, early/on time, etc.)? Who does it? Is it one person, or has there to be a consensus, or does it automatically kick in after set period of time?

I also do not appreciate the noises coming out of the BJP. The other day Rudy was saying the economy is so screwed up, even when/if the BJP comes to power, it will take them a minimum of 2 years to reverse the damage done by the Congress. To me that sounds like setting the ground for more of the same crap, just by different leadership.

Edit: I saw your new post just now!

No date or time limit for general elections...they can happen as soon as within 1 year of previous general election.
Ruling party / PM can recommend the dissolution of Lok sabha to President and then President can dissolve Lok Sabha . Once Lok Sabha has dissolved or has completed its due tenure ... Presidents asks the current PM to run Care Taker government... Election Commission calls for General Election.
Yes once Lok-sabha's maximum tenure is completed i.e 5 years , the elections kick in normally.

No consensus with opposition is required ! All that is required is recommendation by sitting government . Only other way would be if Government falls prematurely ....But in current situation SP, BSP on whose external support this UPA II is surviving are also not ready to pull the curtains over UPA rule as both Mulayam and Mayavati are hoping for UPA government to grow unpopular so their chances of coming to Centre via third front would brighten up ....

Since everybody is hoping for next term at treasury benches ...nobody is willing for early elections.....neither UPA , NDA or small time parties like SP,BSP !!!

@Indo-guy , what about no confidence vote? Even if all parties of ruling coalition stay put and do not pull the plug.

He is right, see reforms are long term stimulation tools, the economy currently suffers because of lack of consistency- this lack of consistency is the very policy paralysis that is being harped about. It took a multitude of errors over the last 4 years to bring us to this point- fixing it will take time too.

People are always out looking for a panacea, an assault on the problems that will somehow "slay" said problems. It is not possible to do so, that is a simple thing and must be understood- no more difficult to grasp than the fact that if I push you off from the 10th floor you're a dead man- the rules of physics and biology will have it end no other way.

Our government had the beautiful idea of implementing MNREGA even in districts which HAD A LABOR SHORTAGE!! Just a very small example of the idiocy that prevails when people refuse to understand that electing people, leave alone the right ones, is the first and most trivial step in a democracy. It is in fact the least important one, you can make elephants peddle a mono-cycle if it comes down to it and you can sure as hell make donkeys churn out smart legislation. There are other factors, steps, actions that are far more important and will in the foreseeable future remain absent within the Indian setup, lamentably.

It's true even if BJP comes to power and does right things , it will take few years to set everything right or results to show up .

You may be able to see some instant changes like those of Market responses e.g sensex etc....but you can seldom put sensex as true barometer of Economy ! It will take few years for Indian economy to be put on back-track !!!

I hope by the time I finish college and start looking for a job, things are better. This is most depressing man. My blood boils when I see state of our economy and then hear about some Congress small time politician caught with 4000+ crores of forex in his home. I mean kya majaak hai yeh? Khula loot chal raha hai desh ka.

Isi liye pados ke log hum par bahut zyaada hi kuch hasste hein .

It's true even if BJP comes to power and does right things , it will take few years to set everything right or results to show up .

You may be able to see some instant changes like those of Market responses e.g sensex etc....but you can seldom put sensex as true barometer of Economy ! It will take few years for Indian economy to be put on back-track !!!

See that's true. The market suffers when there is uncertainty, the market can be remedied quickly- that is not the problem. The current market crisis arises from our sainted babus and their ham handed measures to prop up the rupee. Even if the rupee sands at 70 against the dollar the markets can stabilize IF it does not fluctuate afterwards like it has been for some time now. Investors despise uncertainty- retroactive taxation anyone?

The economy on the other hand is far more complex, for example a lot of the telecom sector expansion during UPA-1 was actually a result of the Vajpayee government's policies. The economy does not take its lead from ad hoc measures and ham-handedness. If only I could get my hands on Chidu, Ramesh and Sibal- I'd have my buffaloes back in Bihar plant their feces smeared bottoms on the faces of these aforementioned dimwits.

@Indo-guy , what about no confidence vote? Even if all parties of ruling coalition stay put and do not pull the plug.

You can't bring no confidence motion in period less than 6 months . UPA II survived last No confidence motion at the time of FDI , thanks to SP, BSP. Both these parties know it very well that they need to remain in good book of congress so that if Third front emerges at largest block in next elections , they will require Congress support to form next government. Besides both these parties are not ready for election in UP which is their main battleground ....and main decisive factor in next Lok Sabha will be who will win the UP !!!

Frankly speaking after TMC and DMK exit , UPA is minority government ...solely surviving on external SP, BSP support .

Any change in ground situation will force one of these parties pull plug on UPA ....in that case we may see election this November rather than next may !

SP, BSP have used political leverage against UPA by managing to get rid off CBI goons !!! and UPA seemed to have used CBI to their political benefit very well too ...

All are parasites , sucking blood of India !!!

Your anger need to be vented during election....Vote sensibly so that we do not have blood suckers at the Centre again .

These corrupt politicians made us laughing stock in eye of whole world at the time of Common-wealth games !!!

Same with me . Vajpayee was a true statesman ! I never had much inclination to BJP but it was for the Vajpayee that I first time voted for BJP. I still remember vividly the evening on 11'th May when Vajpayee declared Nuclear tests...I also remember the Live telecast of his Lahore bus visit ( I was apeearing for XII'th exam ) and subsequent Kargil . Vajpayee just like a true statesman was true connoisseur of talent . He brought a dream team of great people like Dr Kalam , Brajesh Mishra , Arun Shourie and so on all of whom had fall out with BJP after recession of Vajpayee era .

India committed blunder by denying second stint to Mr Vajpayee ... All current generation of BJP leaders look pigmies in front of stature of Mr Vajpayee .

Well except for Modi, Shourie and Swami ji, I would agree with you on the rest.

They are still charismatic leaders and it shows.

In 2004, we did a horrible mistake and to date, suffer for it.

Let's not make that blunder again.

It is time we assemble our team of Avengers once again. :)

Your anger need to be vented during election....Vote sensibly so that we do not have blood suckers at the Centre again .

These corrupt politicians made us laughing stock in eye of whole world at the time of Common-wealth games !!!

Sir but that is closing the barn door after the horse has bolted. Next time BJP will do loot, and we will kick them out after 5 years, and vote for who? Congress. And the cycle will repeat, and we will slide continuously backward. We cannot afford 5 year loots like are going on. How many thousands upon thousands of crores have been funneled away? Could this money back again circulating in our economy not bring immediate results?

@Ayush @Tshering22 @doppelganger @Indo-guy A simple AND succinct insight into the "policy paralysis". Pointed out in super simplified terms.

Bare in mind that we are ALSO to blame for it. For example 90% or more of the posters on PDF from India will scream and spew vitriol about any policy brought about by a party which is not of their linking, they will criticize it on the basis of being a product of people and ideologies they dislike, forgetting that the said policies must be analyzed in terms of their material value and repercussions alone rather than falling back to the usage of ad hominem to try and prop up your sentiments regarding the same.

Sir but that is closing the barn door after the horse has bolted. Next time BJP will do loot, and we will kick them out after 5 years, and vote for who? Congress. And the cycle will repeat, and we will slide continuously backward. We cannot afford 5 year loots like are going on. How many thousands upon thousands of crores have been funneled away? Could this money back again circulating in our economy not bring immediate results?

Hi Don't call me Sir ! Just call Indo-guy ...that's ok .

We are a democracy ...and we have no other choice but to choose the lesser evil ....

Leakage of few thousands of Crores is bound to take place and will continue to take place ..... No respite from that . Corruption is all season , all country phenomenon .

Do you know China ,Malaysia , india lose trillions of dollars not because of corruption of politicians but corruption of corporates via black money ...

So while you will be upset for politicians swallowing thousand crores ....there are bigger fishes ....swallowing bigger seas !!!

We have to punish those who engage in corruption ....and reward those who are less corrupt !!!

and only way to do this is 5 year election cycle !!!

Your only weapon is your vote .

Your only revenge can be who you cast your vote for and against whom !!!

@Ayush @Tshering22 @doppelganger @Indo-guy A simple AND succinct insight into the "policy paralysis". Pointed out in super simplified terms.

Bare in mind that we are ALSO to blame for it. For example 90% or more of the posters on PDF from India will scream and spew vitriol about any policy brought about by a party which is not of their linking, they will criticize it on the basis of being a product of people and ideologies they dislike, forgetting that the said policies must be analyzed in terms of their material value and repercussions alone rather than falling back to the usage of ad hominem to try and prop up your sentiments regarding the same.

Thanks ...and agree completely that we have become more and more subjective . Majority people who vote today are not objective about what they are doing . UPA II happened simply because of farmer loan waivers ....Farmers from interiors voted for Congress in masses ...simply because UPA waived off their loans . Well it was in their interest but rest of the UPA policies were not in India's national interest ....people don't understand that .

You see in 1946 general elections , people of great Britain defeated Winston Churchill and brought Clement Atlee .

The great Winston Churchill who single handedly steered Europe out of clutches of Nazi Germany was defeated at hands of his own people who although acknowledged his leadership in war time but made choice that Atlee was the right person to lead nation during after-war nation building efforts .

Our people lack this objectivity , simply because most of them don't think rationally .

We are deeply emotional people and we think by heart and not by brain !!!