All eyes on Afridi

Awesome

RETIRED MOD
World T20: Afridi vows strong comeback perfomance | Firstpost

Karachi: Pakistan allrounder Shahid Afridi has conceded that his present lack of form is a source of concern for him.

But the experienced player vowed to bounce back from his bad form in the ICC World Twenty20.

“I was disappointed with myself today with the performance against India in the warm-up match. It has been a struggle for me in last few weeks. But I know I can make a strong comeback in this tournament,” Afridi said.

The allrounder fell for a second ball duck and conceded 41 runs in his four overs against India after returning to the side after missing the recent T20 series against Australia in the UAE due to a thumb injury.

Pakistan allrounder Shahid Afridi has conceded that his present lack of form is a source of concern for him. Reuters
Afridi, 32, is the most experienced limited overs player in the national side with 349 One-day International appearances and 50 T20 matches under his belt.

But in recent weeks he has struggled with his bowling and batting, leading to speculations about his future in the team.

“Every senior player goes through a bad patch and it is the same with me. These testing times come for everyone and I have seen big players in tears when they are not performing,” Afridi said.

“I am concerned but I also know that I can make a comeback. I am confident of playing an impact role for my team in this World Cup,” he said.

Afridi said that he knew people always had a lot of expectations from him.

“I am trying hard and I am not giving up. I know I can contribute to the team,” he said.

“It has been my earnest desire to accomplish something in the event” ~ Shahid Afridi | SportPulse

Shahid Afridi who didn’t performed well in thePakistan v/s India warm-up match both with the bat and ball said “I was disappointed with myself today with the performance against India in the warm-up match. It has been a struggle for me in the last few weeks. But I know I can make a strong comeback in this tournament”, Afridi said.

He said that he is determined to come up to the expectations of the people and want to perform convincingly for the Pakistan Cricket Team in the on-going World T20 Championship.

“It has been my earnest desire to accomplish something in the event,” Shahid Afridi said. “It’s my endeavor to do my best and bring honor and glory to the country,” Afridi said from Colombo after Pakistan convincingly beat arch-rivals India by five wickets in their opening warm-up on Monday.

He admits that he is going through a bad patch of his career and lacks in performance.

Afridi urged, ‘I am working hard both on my bowling and batting to regain my touch as well as fitness, I know I can contribute to the team”.

“Every senior player goes through a bad patch and it is the same with me, these testing times come for everyone and I have seen big players in tears when they are not performing”, Afridi uttered, as he has played a pivotal role in Pakistan’s victory in World T20,2009”.

“It’s a big confidence-boosting win as we were chasing a big total,” he said while praising the team for their brilliant performance & victory against India.

He admired, "It’s very positive win with Kamran Akmal leading the way. We needed to carry this form in the stage matches of the tournament againstNew Zealand and Bangladesh.”

Afridi looking to regain old touch in World T20

KARACHI: Pakistan ace all-rounder Shahid Afridi vowed to live upto the expectations of the nation in the ICC World Twenty20 Championship starting from Tuesday.

"Its my endeavor to do my best and bring honor and glory to the country," he told APP in on telephone from Colombo after Pakistan convincingly beat arch-rival India by five wickets in their opening warm-up game.

"It has been my ernest desire to accomplish something in the event," the former Pakistan captain, commented.

However he said he was going through a crisis situation due to lack of form.

"I am working hard both on my bowling and batting to regain my touch and my fitness as well," Shahid Afridi, who played pivotal role in winning the 2009 World T20 title, said.

"Too much expectations and hype from my and Pakistan team supporters put an additional pressure on me," he pointed out. He appealed to his supporter to pray for team and his success.

"Twenty20 is very tough brand of cricket and it can make you hero and zero on one ball," he asserted.

He complimented the team for their grand victory over India. "Its big confidence-boosting win as Pakistan was chasing a big total," he said.

"Its very positive win with Kamran Akmal leading the way. We needed to carry this form in coming matches against New Zealand and Bangladesh," Afridi said.

He said chasing 185 was not easy. But Kamran and Shoaib Malik did the job admirably. Shahid Afridi struggled in the warm-up match, conceding 41 runs and dismissed for second ball Reuters

It may be mentioned here that Shahid Afridi also struggled in the one-day and Twenty20 Internationals against Australia in United Arab Emirates and now facing big challenge to regain form and fitness.

Copyright APP (Associated Press of Pakistan), 2012

Will batsman Shahid Afridi have one final act? - Indian Express

In today’s cluttered world of T20 leagues and fast food cricket, every second batsman strikes his sixes and chops his helicopters into the stands. But long, long before it became commonplace, there were very few batsmen in the world who had the courage to go hammer-and-tongs from Ball One and get away with it. Shahid Afridi, of course, is one of those few.

It then makes sense that despite it being many years since the batsman turned into a potent leg-spinner, the world -- such as the spectators at the R Premadasa Stadium — still remembers him for his exploits with the bat. On Monday, like ever-so-often in the past, Afridi let them down with another early attempt to boom boom.

Checking in big

This time, in the last warm-up game before the World T20, Afridi charged Ravichandran Ashwin second ball and got caught at long-off for a two-ball duck. It was a marginal improvement on his back-to-back golden duck in the last two games against the same side in T20s. In a format that was once thought to have been custom-made for him, the former Pakistani captain has been drawing permanently short.

In exactly 50 T20Is in his career, Afridi has four half centuries to his credit. Three of those arrived consecutively at the biggest stage, during the 2009 World T20 in England. Pakistan, it goes without saying, went on to win that edition quite comfortably. Afridi’s last half-century was hit during his last T20I against the Lankans, and between that and his last set of great scores three years ago, the batsman has played 25 matches — with half of them resulting in single-digit scores.

To be fair to Afridi, the man hardly considers himself an all-rounder. His wealth of experience comes in handy for Pakistan with the ball, the performance against India on Monday notwithstanding (he was hit for 41 runs in his four overs by Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli). Still, considering that Pakistan have players such as Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik and Abdul Razzaq all vyeing for that finishing role with the bat in the side, time is fast running out for Afridi.

Leading upto this World T20, the press and media back home in Pakistan were calling for his head, and Afridi claims that he is well aware of the fact that he has hanging off a very short rope. “I am looking to regain my form. I’m aware of the expectations from me and since it’s a very important event, I will go all-out to put on a good show,” said Afridi.

Pressure unlimited

Captain Mohammad Hafeez, however, played down the pressures surrounding his star player, claiming that with his experience in international cricket can pull him and Pakistan out of a crisis situation. “He is one of the most experienced players in our side. He is a match-winner for us since the past 15 years,” Hafeez said. “Afridi has ample experience to come out and perform on any day. He is in good shape and feeling confident.”

Confidence, however, can only do so much for a player. Earlier this year, Afridi was picked up by Ruhuna Royals for the inaugural edition of the Sri Lankan Premier League for a decent sum. He let them down rather badly by having a woeful season. If the runs dry up in Pakistan colours too on the same island during the upcoming World T20, then the big-hitting Afridi could go from memory to history.

Afridi is a double edge weapon... if all goes well he can play havoc with the other team, if not, he brings his own team under pressure. My only wish is that he makes us proud of him once again

when was the last time we seen that havoc, he should join Imran in politics now and leave cricket for younger kids.
by the way he cant be 32, when I left Pakistan in 89 he was around in national cricket that means he started playing at national level when he was 8 years old

Shahid Afridi's track record tells us that the only thing consistent about him is that he is totally inconsistent and he can not counted on in a crunch situation.

when was the last time we seen that havoc, he should join Imran in politics now and leave cricket for younger kids.
by the way he cant be 32, when I left Pakistan in 89 he was around in national cricket that means he started playing at national level when he was 8 years old

89?

Where did you see him play in 89?

Afridi bhi boorha ho raha hai. Usko rest do.. bowling karwao aur phir focus on youngsters... ab to pichle 1 saal main shayad 1 baar chala thaa... aage peechay 5 minute ground main aane aur jaane ke aur 3 minutes pitch pe khelne ke

Form is temporary & Class is parmenant !!
Afridi is no doubt at a classy player, just hope he finds his own touch. It always pleasure to see him playing at his best either be it bowling or batting

Not very long ago
Asia Cup Final... I guess march 2012
It was Afridi's cracking batting performance which brought Asia cup to Pakistan.

Watch @5:20, you will know his real age, well you won't but at least it's clear that he's older than 32. So it may be just age catching up with him. BTW he was always an average but over-hyped cricketer, records speak of itself.

89?

Where did you see him play in 89?

I dont remember where but he was playing national cricket, one of the guys i know very well played with him.

Look at his recent pictures, thats not a 32 years old face, he is byond his prime to play any cricket

Afridi bhi rotha rootha lag rha ha..josh nazar nhi a rha aisa cup wala na bowling mein na batting mein

kidar yea captaini ka issue tu nhi