Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft by 2018

You mean to say we do the same mistake what we did with HAL Marut? Do u even know what are u talking about?

DRDO/ARDE/HAL has structural engineer, what they will do? I can't see any design work left in LCA. The designers are free now, they can go for designing AMCA. This is called parallel use of resources.

Just tell me what work left in LCA now??[/quote]

For that sake u cant keep on making new projects and wasting the money and time.. whats the point of facilitating a design if IAF does nt feel the requirement.. if it feels it wud have publically endorsed the need of AMCA and stated it to be the need of the hour.. did they do that? no they did nt...

we can be all saying big things but then
You’ve got to think about big things while you’re doing small things, so that all the small things go in the right direction.”
-------- by Alvin Toffler

What this article and DRDO intentions mean just the opposite

For that sake u cant keep on making new projects and wasting the money and time.. whats the point of facilitating a design if IAF does nt feel the requirement.. if it feels it wud have publically endorsed the need of AMCA and stated it to be the need of the hour.. did they do that? no they did nt...

we can be all saying big things but then
You’ve got to think about big things while you’re doing small things, so that all the small things go in the right direction.”
-------- by Alvin Toffler

What this article and DRDO intentions mean just the opposite

Don't worry about money and time, Money spend in research never go waste. IAF are big Baskets, we all know the dollar greedy attitude of procurement department. AMCA will be the need of hour. Forget how Arjuna was killed by Armed forces?

DRDO must be ready with AMCA, I am sure one day IAF will float the tender and try to buy from abroad, so that they can make some kickback.

More over I feel there is no more work is left in LCA and AMCA can be kicked off.

some more good news

Self-reliant India eyes new terrains in parachute technology

By Anantha Krishnan M | Express News Service
Bangalore: Scientists with the Agra-based Aerial Delivery Research and Development Establishment (ADRDE) say that India has become self-reliant in designing and manufacturing brake parachutes used in various fighter jets being operated by the Indian Air Force (IAF). In addition, heavy drop parachutes for transport aircraft, recovery chutes for unmanned platforms and ejection seat chutes have also gone the desi way, thanks to efforts of ADRDE, a DRDO lab.
Speaking to Express, ADRDE director Dr S C Sati stated that in the last 10 years over 10 lakh different parachutes were delivered to the IAF by Indian industries, via the transfer of technology (ToT) route. “Today, brake parachutes used in Su-30 MKI, Jaguar, Tejas, Hawk, MiG 29 and MiG 27 are all made in India. We have recently designed a 30 sqm area cluster of five parachutes for heavy drop systems in P-16. Almost all the IAF assets are now using Indian parachutes, thereby reducing the important content. It has been a silent march towards total self-reliance,” Sati said.

The product design work of Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft has been started by the Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO) and the vehicle is expected to be ready in 2018, Dr Tamilmani, Director General (Aeronautical Systems) DRDO, Bangalore has said.

Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of the three-day international meet on ‘Product Life Cycle, Modelling, Simulation and Synthesis (PLMSS) at VIT university on Monday,’ he said the aircraft would be equipped with twin engines with super cruise power and for the first time it would be using the stealth technology to ‘hide’ from radar surveillance.

The work on the design of Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) that began nearly 20 years back had culminated in developing vehicles using indigenous technology and the first batch of 40 such aircraft would be ready for defence utilization by the year 2017. The Hindustan Aeronautical Limited (HAL) would manufacture four vehicles this year, eight by next year and sixteen each in the following two years, Tamilmani added. With the advent of communication and automation technology, system engineering and other tools, the message to the world community is: ‘India can build new-state-of-art aerospace technology products and is ready for competition.’ Tamilmani said each of the LCA would be built at an estimated cost of `200 crore and these aircraft would be subjected to around 14,000 failure simulation conditions, to test the efficacy of the technology before they were deployed for the army. The ground work on designing the aircraft was started in the year 1993 and the prototype would be ready in the next five years. “We had to build the technology all by ourselves from scratch as no agency was willing to share the technology. Even though we have taken a little more time to develop the technology, we have now laid a strong foundation in this field,” he noted.

While 30 to 40 per cent of the product development time was consumed for developing design and testing, 50 to 60 per cent of the time had to be spent on quality certification, which was very stringent. Around seven lakh plus test points have to be checked in the aircraft for the certification, Tamilmani added further.

“We are slowly making policy changes in the production of civil aircraft also. The government has allowed to manufacture 70 to 100-seater aircraft in the next five years,” he said. The private sector would be involved in a big way, to work with the National Aerospace Laboratories and the HAL. Many countries were presently using the platform of aeronautics to propel new technologies, using the concepts of PLMSS, without the support of which it would be difficult to design combat and civilian aircraft, Tamilmani pointed out.

'Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft by 2018' -The New Indian Express

Thanks for Info

Awesome News!

@Abingdonboy @sancho @jaunty @Srinivas @gslv mk3 @DRAY @Dash @MohitV @Skull and Bones @[Bregs] @acetophenol @IND151 @HariPrasad @he-man
IND151 , @saikumar , @Subho , @SN320 ,
IND151 , neehar , jarves , heisenberg , Rangila , @proud_indian , Assault Rifle , @Nitro , lightoftruth , eowyn , Vicar , HunterKiller ,

@Rajaraja Chola , @XiNiX , Android , nik22 , banvanaxl , @Supply&Demand , Kill-The-Enemy , @Nair saab , @Shardul.....the lion , Bullet500 , Sunny009 , PARIKRAMA

@Indo-guy , @Brahmos_2 , @desert warrior , @gslv , @acetoph
enol , @Srinivas ,@MohitV

@Abingdonboy @sancho @jaunty @Srinivas @gslv mk3 @DRAY @Dash @MohitV @Skull and Bones @[Bregs] @acetophenol @HariPrasad @he-man
, @saikumar , @Subho , @SN320 , @fsayed , @eowyn , @Tridibans , @rickblood19 , @sms , s_madaans , my2cents
@neehar , @jarves , @heisenberg , @Rangila , @proud_indian , @Assault Rifle , @Nitro , @lightoftruth , @eowyn , @Vicar , @HunterKiller , @Rajaraja Chola , @XiNiX , @Android , @nik22 , @banvanaxl , @Supply&Demand , @Kill-The-Enemy , @Nair saab , @Shardul.....the lion , @Bullet500 , @Sunny009 , @PARIKRAMA , @bloo , @knightmare , @indiatester , @sathya , @Indo-guy , @Brahmos_2 , @manishmaithani , @Ashokudu , @Badbadman , @desert warrior , @gslv , @Alpha1 , @SOHEIL , @acetophenol , @Choppers , @Blue Sword , @humanfirst , @Srinivas , @jiki , @akshay gehlot , @MohitV

I hope DRDO keeps up its word. If by 2018 they can pull it off then India will be one of very very few countries to have two 5th gen fighter programmes. No photocopies I hope.​

The AMCA should be shelved for good.Instead,the very limited resources and trained man power ADE has,should be totally devoted in developing the AURA stealth HALE UCAV and get done with it.Why create a repeat of capability when we already have committed to FGFA project??

Why are you mixing manned and unmanned programs? Do you even know what you're talking about?

I hope DRDO keeps up its word. If by 2018 they can pull it off then India will be one of very very few countries to have two 5th gen fighter programmes. No photocopies I hope.​

Its very much possible.. India started working (actual work) on LCA in 1993 and TD1 was available in 1995, TD2 was available in 1998. In 5 years 2 TD can be made. Since we already have our LCA, we will take 10-12 year timeline to achieve IOC/FOC.

• Full funding started from April 1993 full-scale development work for phase 1 started in June.
  • First technology demonstrator, TD-1, rolled out on 17 November 1995 and was followed by TD-2 in 1998. However, technical problems in flight control systems and structural deficiencies plagued the prototypes and they remained grounded.
2001:
First flight of TD1
2013: IOC-2 was given
2014:
FoC expected

According to some sources HAL is taking MIG 29 frame and upgrading to AMCA by incorporating stealth, Dassault tech, PAK FA tech ..... etc....

This will reduce the design time :)

Expect AMCA to be into production fast ...... :cheers:

According to some sources HAL is taking MIG 29 frame and upgrading to AMCA by incorporating stealth, Dassault tech, PAK FA tech ..... etc....

This will reduce the design time :)

Expect AMCA to be into production fast ...... :cheers:

One of the respected member (@sancho ) has already mentioned that it is impossible to make stealth out of non-stealth fighter. This issue was disscussed in LCA thread where one member claimed that LCA MK-III will be stealth.

If there will be any stealth design, it will be from scratch (or copied like china does). U can not make 4th gen fighter to 5th gen fighter..

its good to have ambition.but i'd like to wait and see.

2018? realy? :undecided:
Sounds far fetched If we consider the usual speed of these projects of DRDO
Anyways good luck to India

I guess AMCA won't have first flight before 2020 and hope for FOC only after 2025.

really-pl-ffffff-3

Hard to believe that AMCA will be ready by 2018...if he means designs will be ready its OK. But if he meant the fighter will fly by 2018...well its unbelieveable. I have doubts that the DRDO would manage to get FOC for MK2 by 2018. But again whats wrong in hoping.

One of the respected member (@sancho ) has already mentioned that it is impossible to make stealth out of non-stealth fighter. This issue was disscussed in LCA thread where one member claimed that LCA MK-III will be stealth.

If there will be any stealth design, it will be from scratch (or copied like china does). U can not make 4th gen fighter to 5th gen fighter..

It is possible, It depends on the airframe, Flankers evolved into PAK-FA. Except the canards are removed and incorporated as frontal flaps of the wing.

The advantage of using already proven airframe is , 'flight control laws' can be tweaked to minimum which reduces the design time.

MIG 29 is a proven interceptor which can become Omni role combat aircraft with some changes.

Incorporating stealth is a relative term, LCA Mark 2 is a stealth aircraft!!

The product design work of Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft has been started by the Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO) and the vehicle is expected to be ready in 2018, Dr Tamilmani, Director General (Aeronautical Systems) DRDO, Bangalore has said.
Speaking to reporters on the sidelines of the three-day international meet on ‘Product Life Cycle, Modelling, Simulation and Synthesis (PLMSS) at VIT university on Monday,’ he said the aircraft would be equipped with twin engines with super cruise power and for the first time it would be using the stealth technology to ‘hide’ from radar surveillance.

Can anybody pls tell me what kind of engine we are proposing for AMCA or even planning? do we intend to use AL 31 or its variants series.. In that case, do we mean to imply that super cruise technology will be based on imported engines like LCA depending on GE 404 or 414 engine kits? If we are saying our own engine, which one is that??

Is stealth the only feature required? hiding from radar surveillance - In DRDO terms that is low RCS.. or are we taking abt a internal weapons bay like PAKFA?

A medium class aircraft - how many are required for our operational purposes? this is to understand that rafale is also expected to be with us in close to 200 in numbers including the follow on order..

Coming to AMCA: Its need for Indian low end role. Since after 30-40 years LCA will retired, and the Light weight class fighter will be removed from IAF. Then we will have medium class fighters and heavy fighters only.

IAF will nvr remove light class.. LCA can be phased out with sumth else or later evolved versions of LCA but mark my words.. it will nvr remove that.. the utilisation benefits of a low cost light class bird is well documented within the operational strategy of IAF.