A question about the Urdu letter 'ژ'

Zee-shaun

While listening to several desi vloggers lately I've often noticed the absence or mispronunciation of the Urdu letter ژ (zhe), specially by Youtubers from the Punjab region.

There's many examples but these two words 'measure' and 'pleasure' are always mispronounced as 'may'yer' and 'play'yer', even by the more educated journalists like Dr Moeed Pirzada and Essa Naqvi.

I'm curious if there's a logic reason behind it. :unsure:

While listening to several desi vloggers lately I've often noticed the absence or mispronunciation of the Urdu letter ژ (zhe), specially by Youtubers from the Punjab region.

There's many examples but these two words 'measure' and 'pleasure' are always mispronounced as 'may'yer' and 'play'yer', even by the more educated journalists like Dr Moeed Pirzada and Essa Naqvi.

Biology

So you can differentiate and identify.

Many ethnic groups around the world share such

I know some ethnic groups have a dominant linguistic presence even if they live abroad like Germans, Italians, Hispanics and Chinese to name a few. But my question remains, is 'zhe' sound alien to Punjab region?

maybe they belong to some migrant group

I don't speak Urdu but can guess that's simply accent 😉

Egyptians for example say Ostaz أستاز instead of Ostadh أستاذ

Chinese are known to skip the letter "r"

Those spelling variety occur generally with letters in the middle or in the end of the words, I'm sure those desi people will pronounce Zorro as Zorro.

isnt that the normal way of pronunciation though can you show be the proper way and the improper way for me to differentiate between the 2? also I dont know what does being "educated" has to do with if he is speaking Urdu with a native accent, how is this a judgement on his education level

Pata nahi ham یوئے hi boltay hain. Aap kya boltay hain

Karachi wale isko 'zhe' he parhte hain.

urdu-alphabets-with-their-sound-in-english.jpg

isnt that the normal way of pronunciation though can you show be the proper way and the improper way for me to differentiate between the 2? also I dont know what does being "educated" has to do with if he is speaking Urdu with a native accent, how is this a judgement on his education level

No it's not the same and I already provided two examples in my OP. Take another word 'television'.
Correct pronunciation would be 'teh·luh·vi·zhn' where as my friends from the north pronounce it as 'tele- vion'.

Being educated has nothing to do with speaking Urdu with or without an accent but in this case with the correct pronunciation of an English word. I meant no offence.

I have 2 Egyptian friends and their accent always puts a smile on my face :-)
Pita (bread) is pronounced as 'bita' and mango as manju.
And of course there's Bakistan :cheesy:
It's Bakistan also in Tunisia and all the Arab world I guess : باكستان