A Masterful 175 by Sachin : Completes 17,000 Runs & 45th ODI Century

Chanakyaa

HYDERABAD: Sachin Tendulkar produced a breathtaking 175 to very nearly take India to a sensational win in a nerve-wrecking fifth One-dayer
Sachin against Australia but the hosts floundered in the dying stages to succumb to a three-run defeat and give the visitors a 3-2 lead in the series.

Chasing Australia's mammoth 350 for four, built mainly around Shaun Marsh's 112 and Shane Watson's 93, the Indians rode on Tendulkar's heroic 141 ball knock to come within sniffing distance of a remarkable win but the tailenders faltered under pressure to be all out for 347 with two balls to spare.

It was a remarkable exhibition of strokeplay by Tendulkar, who not only notched up his 45th ODI hundred but also became the first cricketer in the history of the game to cross the 17,000-run mark.

It was also the fastest century by an Indian against the Australians as well as the highest individual score against the visitors.

The jam-packed Rajiv Gandhi International stadium witnessed an extraordinary contest which saw as many as 697 runs being scored in a game which fortunes fluctuated from one end to the other till the very end.

The two teams will now travel to Guwahati for the sixth One-dayer to be held on Sunday.

Tendulkar was at his ominous best from the onset as he clobbered the Australian attack to all parts of the ground, hitting 19 fours and four sixes.

Opening the batting, he first shared 66 runs with Virender Sehwag (38 off 30) and then stitched a vital 137 runs with Suresh Raina, who made a run-a-ball 59, for the fifth wicket in exactly 19 overs to power India to the victory.

I Wish he completed a Double Century!!

A very good and close match. Specially when there were 16 balls and 12 runs.

The sixer made sure Indian victory but dont know what happend as i couldnt watch the last balls

What a game was that man..I thought we will have Kangaroo curry today..Brilliant Innings by him ..No question he is the best!! :cheers:

India lost the 1st ODI and this one by a margin of couple of runs.

Very unlucky... but well played India.

The "Little Master" was absolutely brilliant today in the field. I watched the Australian innings but for the last 25 overs of the Indian innings, I had to go out for some time but I had an idea about the Indian innings because I was constantly being updated. How you ask? At the pharmacy where I was buying some medicines, the TV was on and everyone (even the customers) had their heads glued to the TV, watching Sachin's inning carefully. I spent a good 20 minutes there because being Pakistani's, we were all very excited. Everyone wanted his wicket, but nonetheless everyone appreciated his master blasts.

Next stop, the grocery store. After coming out of the store, I noticed that there was an electronics shop right around the corner and they had this HUGE LCD TV displayed in their window and of course, the match was being shown. There were about 10 random people from all walks of life standing outside the shop, watching the match. I joined them and because of that, the policeman on duty also joined us to watch the remaining innings. Spent a good 20 minutes there as well because that's the true "Spirit" of the game. All in all, as always, it was an exciting experience and we were all very happy when Australia finally finished the game. :D

Congratulations to Sachin on scoring 17,000 runs and completing his 45th ODI century. All i can is just wow. :tup:

The "Little Master" was absolutely brilliant today in the field. I watched the Australian innings but for the last 25 overs of the Indian innings, I had to go out for some time but I had an idea about the Indian innings because I was constantly being updated. How you ask? At the pharmacy where I was buying some medicines, the TV was on and everyone (even the customers) had their heads glued to the TV, watching Sachin's inning carefully. I spent a good 20 minutes there because being Pakistani's, we were all very excited. Everyone wanted his wicket, but nonetheless everyone appreciated his master blasts.

Next stop, the grocery store. After coming out of the store, I noticed that there was an electronics shop right around the corner and they had this HUGE LCD TV displayed in their window and of course, the match was being shown. There were about 10 random people from all walks of life standing outside the shop, watching the match. I joined them and because of that, the policeman on duty also joined us to watch the remaining innings. Spent a good 20 minutes there as well because that's the true "Spirit" of the game. All in all, as always, it was an exciting experience and we were all very happy when Australia finally finished the game. :D

Congratulations to Sachin on scoring 17,000 runs and completing his 45th ODI century. All i can is just wow. :tup:

From next game on I am gonna support New Zealand for sure :taz: ;)

Haha, Pakistani's and Indian's will always support the team that is playing against their rival. Now that's a fact! :cheers:

Thats a misconception mate... Pakistan is my second favourite team..

Not every one yaar..I support Pakistan against any other country except India and South Africa..and you know there is one guy in our hostel who is a hard core fan of Pakistan team .Even against India he supports Pakistan..And we used to make fun of him a lot when Pakistan loose a match ..

PS :That guy is not a Muslim..Members please don't put religious angle in to it..He was a fast bowler and he literally worshiped Shohaib Aktar..that was the reason

Plz Enjoy this Thread in the Praise of The Master.. We have many Other "Dedicated" Threads to Pull off each other.

Except for the Last Ball he played, It never felt he was going to be OUT.
Sachin played as if he was playing in his Twenties.

Guys really he is a Master of The Masters.

I wanted the indians to win this match---specially chasing 350 against australia---.

Not every one yaar..I support Pakistan against any other country except India and South Africa..and you know there is one guy in our hostel who is a hard core fan of Pakistan team .Even against India he supports Pakistan..And we used to make fun of him a lot when Pakistan loose a match ..

PS :That guy is not a Muslim..Members please don't put religious angle in to it..He was a fast bowler and he literally worshiped Shohaib Aktar..that was the reason

:eek::eek: yaar tum hostel main the ya mental hospital main??

aur us bande ko Nishan-e-Pakistan main nominate hona tha kya :lol:

Thats a misconception mate... Pakistan is my second favourite team..

Of course I wasn't talking about everyone. Just a generalization on my part. But it's a fact that "Most" of us are full of bias when it comes to cricket. :cheers:

:eek::eek: yaar tum hostel main the ya mental hospital main??

aur us bande ko Nishan-e-Pakistan main nominate hona tha kya :lol:

Every boys hostel is similar to mental hospital yaar ;) and he will be more happy if they allow him to play for Pakistan team :D ..