A Black Woman Wrote A Letter About The Racism She’s Faced For Being A Bollywood Fan

It is not because of mutual reasons .It is your same trait of copying others .

Neither I nor any other Indians said that Chinese are bad or good or Indians look up or down on them.
It was you that claimed that Indians admire about Chinese and their beauty etc .
And I explained the reality and that is really disturbing you.
Did I said that Indians are in the Hongkong film industry ?
In fact I dont know whether there is any such industry in there .Noone in India cares whether there is any Indian in there or not .

Neither I nor any other Chinese said that Indians are bad or good or Chinese look up or down on them.
It was you that claimed that Chinese admire about Indians and their beauty etc .
Did I said that Chinese are in Bollywood industry ?
In fact while i do know there is such industry in there .Noone in the Sinosphere cares whether there is any Chinese in there or not .

Discrimination based on stereotypes and socia-econ are not racism. Discrimination based on skin color is racism. Japanese and Chinese are almost same race with similar culture, any issues it's usually personal or political. In the west, where we actually live in the same community, we get along very well if we don't go political.

LMAO, Indians love Chinese women for their fair skin. Case in point, Indians in North America either go for white or Chinese women, not dark skinned Southeast Asians.

If it's not about skin color, why was Miss American Indian deemed as too dark?
The feeling is mutual.

Chinese look down on dark-skinned indians like animals who shit in the open.

They are also detested for their horrendous body odour and procrastinating nature

Hence indians are often ghetto-ised all over the world
Neither I nor any other Chinese said that Indians are bad or good or Chinese look up or down on them.
It was you that claimed that Chinese admire about Indians and their beauty etc .
Did I said that Chinese are in Bollywood industry ?
In fact while i do know there is such industry in there .Noone in the Sinosphere cares whether there is any Chinese in there or not .

Now look these posts. One of your starts with this stupid claim .When our people reject that stupidity ,you also joined the bad wagon.

And if you are here to prove the real Chinese trait of copy and paste please dont quote me .Because when I showed your place you are merely copying and pasting my words .
Please have some shame :sarcastic:

You Singaporean Chinese are mostly dark skinned. Tamils there are fairer compared to you.
What? :taz: Tamils? :omghaha:

Like this fine resident from Tamil Nadu?
The-OTHER_Home-of-Subcultures-and-Style-Documentary_India-masquerade-gods-Yannick-Cormier_14.jpg
:haha:

I know a few fine ladies of Hispanic origin who love to watch these movies and attend the star studded shows.

LOL - sounds like an excerpt from a madrassa text-book. The only ones enslaved have been people of present day Pakistan - enslaved by Hindus, Sikhs, Arabs, Brits, Americans and now surprise surprise the Chinese. The best part is that they have enslavement so encoded in their genes that whoever is their current master - they rush to their defense. Ideal slave.

Spoken like a true Indian ret*rd. Still living in psychological slavery. But you are constantly avoiding the question. Why were you enslaved for so long (1000+ years)??? Never going to get out of it. All we can do is b*tch-slap you every time you get deluded and put you back in your place.

:enjoy:

Where is jamahir anyway?

He has perma retired from this forum unfortunately. Maybe he will be back one day, I sure hope so! Last I heard was he was pursuing a sweetheart and a microprocessor design or something (and getting plenty of flak about not dedicating more time to that....even from me at some points). Didn't expect him to flat out quit cold turkey tho.

I have never made friends with such an ultra-leftist before (crazy university liasons dont count!)...I hope he didn't take my angry words to him sometimes too seriously. Jamahir if you are reading this im sorry bhai!

@django @Zibago

This is Fabienne Menoud, a Haitian nurse currently living in Switzerland.
sub-buzz-24908-1486017896-1.jpg

Fabienne Menoud
She’s been a massive fan of Bollywood films since she was 14 years old, and has even met a bunch of Bollywood actors.
sub-buzz-9644-1486019626-6.jpg

Fabienne Menoud
Menoud told BuzzFeed that Deepika Padukone, Vidya Balan, Ranbir Kapoor, Randeep Hooda, Kangana Ranaut, Tabu, Ranveer Singh, Amitabh Bachchan, Aamir Khan, and Priyanka Chopra are her favourite actors.

Menoud said she’s seen over 300 Bollywood films, and that Ram Leela, Devdas, My Name Is Khan, DDLJ, and Kuch Kuch Hota Hai are her favourites.
sub-buzz-6559-1486018393-1.jpg

Fabienne Menoud
Recently, Menoud penned an open letter calling out people (mostly Indians) who have mistreated her because of her ethnicity in relation to her love for Hindi cinema.
sub-buzz-22027-1486018953-1.jpg

Fabienne Menoud
In the letter, she wrote: “I am sad to say that it is not easy for me to be a Bollywood fan. I had many bad experiences where people did not take my love for Bollywood seriously because of my ethnicity and colour.”
sub-buzz-3325-1486019057-1.jpg

Fabienne Menoud
She cited specific instances in the letter about racism against her. One such instance was when Priyanka Chopra was shooting for Quantico, Menoud and her cousin were asked a lot of questions just for being there to meet her.
sub-buzz-14009-1486019235-1.jpg

Fabienne Menoud
“We were the only black people in the line,” she wrote. “A guy from her team came to us and began questioning us. He asked how we know of the star! I was shocked as he did not believe that we are genuine fans of hers.”

Another instance was at an IIFA event in Madrid. Menoud, who was part of the media crew, claimed that everyone else was given media access to the celebrities, except for her.
sub-buzz-10174-1486019585-1.jpg

Fabienne Menoud
“During the media interviews at IIFA, each celeb was in a room where the media could interview them for a few moments. Imagine my shock when the bodyguard let everyone enter except me. People behaved strangely all through the event. They would look at me, laugh, and some kid even tried to kick me.”

Menoud told BuzzFeed that she wrote the letter to emphasise how the colour of her skin shouldn’t have any bearing on her love for India and Bollywood.
sub-buzz-3312-1486019848-1.jpg

Fabienne Menoud
“I wanted to point out that issue and tell people that they should be happy with their passions and not be ashamed of that,” she said. “There are a lot of people like me who love India and Bollywood! I have seen more Indian movies than French or English.”

She further stated that she hates it when people don’t take her love for Indian culture seriously. She often receives criticism or strange looks from others.
sub-buzz-7402-1486020073-3.jpg

Fabienne Menoud
“I listen to Bollywood songs every day –I have Indian channels on my TV because of that and for me that is normal!” she said. “That’s my life, so I don’t understand how, because of my skin colour, people can laugh or not take my passions seriously! I like their country, I like their music! If anyone comes and tells me that they love my country, I’d be proud and wouldn’t give them strange looks or laugh at them or not take them seriously.”

Menoud provided BuzzFeed with the full text of the letter. You can read it here:
I am a girl from Haiti and have been a fan of Bollywood since I was 14 years old. I discovered Bollywood through my lessons at school and with the movie Bend It Like Beckham. I am now 26 and my passion for Bollywood has only increased with time.

If I decided to write an open letter today, it is to point out the challenges in being a Bollywood fan of another ethnicity.

I have at least 100 CDs of Indian movies, several Hindi learning books and some on Indian culture and travelling to India. I also convinced my mother to add three Indian channels in our TV box because of my love for Bollywood movies and Koffee With Karan.

However, I am sad to say that it is not easy for me to be a Bollywood fan. I had many bad experiences where people did not take my love for Bollywood seriously because of my ethnicity and colour.

For instance, when a famous star was shooting for the pilot of her show abroad, I went to meet her along with my cousin. We were the only black people in the line. A guy from her team came to us and began questioning us. He asked how we know of the star! I was shocked as he did not believe that we are genuine fans of hers.

Another time, I went to IIFA, Madrid and was attending a press con on behalf of a French media where I was working. A lady looked at me in a strange way and began questioning me. Though I explained I am from the media, she gave me queer looks. At the end of the press con when I asked a couple of celebrities for pictures, they just walked away. I was shocked and wondered why it happened!

During the media interviews at IIFA, each celeb was in a room where media could interview them for a few moments. Imagine my shock when the bodyguard let everyone enter except me. People behaved strangely all through the event. They would look at me, laugh at me and some kid even tried to kick me.

My friend and I were the only two black people there and we felt terrible being left out like that.

When I went to watch Ae Dil Hai Mushkil recently, people were staring at me like I was an animal!

See, there are no rules about who should love what! My passion is India, I love listening to Bollywood songs. I love Deepika Padukone and have a t-shirt of her. I love Indian food, I’m learning Hindi and I’m black, Haitian and proud!

You should be proud that people like me like your country, your culture, your industry. That we want to meet you to tell you that we love you! Do not look at us in a weird way just because of our skin colour.

We are in 2017 and even if you think that only Indians are Bollywood fans, you’re wrong!

https://www.buzzfeed.com/andreborge...he-racism-shes?utm_term=.dmYJ7VWn0#.kijzyk96B
That is a shame how this woman was treated. I feel very ashamed of being an Indian when things like this come up in the spotlight.

PS she's a fine looking chocolate momma. I'll be her raja and she can be my rani any night of the week.

This lady needs to be made aware that Indians treat their own 'dark-skinned' people like shit.

Wtf?

Africans n Indians have almost the same skin colour- why the hate

Exactly. It beggar's belief how Indians can be racist to black people given that they're just as dark, if not darker than Africans. Even the higher caste Indians are dark, too.

He has perma retired from this forum unfortunately. Maybe he will be back one day, I sure hope so! Last I heard was he was pursuing a sweetheart and a microprocessor design or something (and getting plenty of flak about not dedicating more time to that....even from me at some points). Didn't expect him to flat out quit cold turkey tho.

I have never made friends with such an ultra-leftist before (crazy university liasons dont count!)...I hope he didn't take my angry words to him sometimes too seriously. Jamahir if you are reading this im sorry bhai!

@django @Zibago
He @jamahir was a fine human being, a tad too extreme in his left wing views ie Pol Pot was a better leader than Jimmy Carter and when it came to women Helly Shah was better than Nargis and co,,,hands down.Kudos yaar.

Dated a nigerian hunny back in my uni days hehe. Her hips....maaan they could crush (in a good way).

She was a jamahir wet dream lets leave it at that lol.
Nigerians are really tall and thick they normally have deep voices plus that facial structure is something i am not really attracted to dont get me wrong i find Somalian/Ethiopians cute but its the west/central africans face i dont fancy it looks very unfeminine if i may put it frankly

@django @Zibago
He also had medical issues if i renember correctly lets hope he is ok