68th Republic Day Celebrations - 26th January 2017

Lol kid.

You don't have motorcycle stunts in your parades , because you don't make one. Calm down.

Don't be a cry baby. No one here is bothered about your parade lol.

Whats the purpose of loading 15 soldiers on a single bike, your army does not have enough trucks to carry them?
We don't have motorcycle stunts in our parade because our soldiers are not clowns.
BTW Pakistan is 5th largest manufacturer of motorcycles in the world. Its a cottage industry in Pakistan. We don't have to make a big fuss about it

Whats the purpose of loading 15 soldiers on a single bike, your army does not have enough trucks to carry them?
We don't have motorcycle stunts in our parade because our soldiers are not clowns.
BTW Pakistan is 5th largest manufacturer of motorcycles in the world. Its a cottage industry in Pakistan. We don't have to make a big fuss about it

Lol, you don't do bike stunts becoz you don't have " Pakistani " bikes to do it. Lol

Lol

Why so much pain lol ?

Kid , calm down.

By the way I won't compare the RE with the junk you all have in Pakistan lol. That would be a insult to RE.
Lol, you don't do bike stunts becoz you don't have " Pakistani " bikes to do it. Lol
Lol kid.

You don't have motorcycle stunts in your parades , because you don't make one. Calm down.

Don't be a cry baby. No one here is bothered about your parade lol.

Albeit, i considered you as a sane Indian member but one just needs to scratch the surface.
May i remind you that this is a Pakistani forum and Indians are privileged to be here.
We see Chinese, Russian, Arabic, Iranian and others post videos of their military parades with acknowledgement from rest but it seems only Indians get their kicks by demeaning others.....acute lack of confidence i would say.....and in any case, we display our equipment you call junk by either moving through the venue or flying overhead, not being dragged on a clumsy trailer. And if bikes do stunts cos they are made in India then what about other material that is displayed. Lols indeed.

Albeit, i considered you as a sane Indian member but one just needs to scratch the surface.
May i remind you that this is a Pakistani forum and Indians are privileged to be here.
We see Chinese, Russian, Arabic, Iranian and others post videos of their military parades with acknowledgement from rest but it seems only Indians get their kicks by demeaning others.....acute lack of confidence i would say.....and in any case, we display our equipment you call junk by either moving through the venue or flying overhead, not being dragged on a clumsy trailer. And if bikes do stunts cos they are made in India then what about other material that is displayed. Lols indeed.

I am not running to destroy good threads of others. Will never do it.

But won't accept it too. It was such a fine thread made trash.

Its Indians doing stunts on a beautiful bike made in India on Indian Republic day for Indians.

We dance , show arts , do a lot more.

We don't need to satisfy the criteria of a good parade by others.

Just like airshows , they are Royal Enfield Dare Devils team and use REs of IA [Like many Airforces use their Aircraft ] to entertain.

Ministry of Defence
24-January, 2017 18:49 IST
LCA (TEJAS) and AEW&C will Fly-Past for first time at RD Parade -2017

The Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) Tejas and Airborne Early Warning & Control System (AEW&C) developed by DRDO will fly-past for the first time during the Republic Day Parade 2017. Representing India’s stride in indigenous Defence Technologies, the DRDO contingent this year consists of the 155 mm/52 Calibre Advanced Towed Artillery Gun System (ATAGS) and Arudhra- the Medium Power Radar.

Tejas is indigenously developed by Aeronautical Development Agency, an autonomous society of DRDO and produced by Hindustan Aeronautics Limited. It is a light-weight and multirole four plus generation tactical fighter aircraft which can carry laser guided bombs and modern missiles to cause extreme damage to the target. Tejas has been inducted into 45th Squadron of Indian Air Force. It is a move towards self-reliance in ‘Air Power’ requirement of the nation. Tejas is the pride of the country and a step towards “Make in India” initiative.

The Airborne Early Warning & Control System (AEW&C) is an ‘Eye in the Sky’. It is a force multiplier, developed by DRDO for IAF with Centre for Air Borne Systems (CABS) as nodal agency. AEW&C system consists of multiple sensors for Surveillance and Signal Intelligence. It helps in Air Defence operations and is capable of communicating using VHF, UHF, C-Band and SATCOM links for Network Centric Operations. Induction of AEW&C into services will make the country self-reliant and position India in top five countries having this capability.

The Advanced Towed Artillery Gun System (ATAGS) is an indigenous weapon system developed by DRDO under Prime Minister’s ‘Make in India’ initiative. Armament Research and Development Establishment (ARDE); a Pune based premiere R&D establishment of DRDO is the nodal agency for design and development of ATAGS with industry partners namely Bharat Forge Limited and Tata Power SED. ATAGS has excellent accuracy, consistency, mobility, reliability and automation and is capable of achieving 47 plus km range. The armament system of the ATAGS which comprises 52 calibre Gun Barrel with Breech Mechanism, Muzzle Brake and Recoil System has been designed and developed to fire the 155 mm calibre ammunitions held by Army with enhanced range, accuracy and precision as well as greater fire power. The system is configured with All Electric Drive technology for the first time in the world that will ensure maintenance free and reliable operation over longer periods of time.

Medium Power Radar - Arudhra has been indigenously developed by Electronics and Radar Development Establishment (LRDE), Bengaluru, an establishment of DRDO. Arudhra is the first indigenous rotating active phased array multi-function radar with Digital Beam forming technology. The radar covers 360 degree in azimuth and is capable of performing volumetric surveillance to detect and track aerial targets up to 400 km in range and 30 km altitude. This radar can survive intense ECM environment and electromagnetic interference. It is integrated with modern identification of Friend or Foe system to recognize enemy targets and is transportable by road, rail and Air.

DRDO has a mission to empower India with self-reliance in defence technologies. Since its creation in 1958, DRDO’s research, design and development efforts have led to the production of hundreds of products that include state-of-the-art weapons, platforms, equipment and life support systems for the Indian armed forces. Today, the production value of systems (excluding the strategic systems) already inducted or approved for induction, exceeds Rupees Two lakh sixty thousand crores. The strategic systems developed by DRDO have given our country the much needed multi-level strategic deterrence.

Ministry of Home Affairs
24-January, 2017 17:07 IST
Republic Day Police Medals 2017 Announced

777 personnel have been awarded police medals on the occasion of the Republic Day this year. Police Medals for Gallantry (PMG) have been awarded to 100 personnel, President’s Police Medals for Distinguished Service to 80 personnel and Police Medal for Meritorious Service to 597 personnel.

LIST OF AWARDEES OF GALLANTRY MEDALS ON THE OCCASION OF REPUBLIC DAY-2017
POLICE MEDAL FOR GALLANTRY
http://pibphoto.nic.in/documents/rlink/2017/jan/p201712401.pdf

PRESIDENT'S POLICE MEDALFOR DISTINGUISHED SERVICE REPUBLIC DAY-2017
http://pibphoto.nic.in/documents/rlink/2017/jan/p201712402.pdf

POLICE MEDAL FOR MERITORIOUS SERVICE REPUBLIC DAY-2017
http://pibphoto.nic.in/documents/rlink/2017/jan/p201712403.pdf

State Wise/ Force Wise list of medal awardees to the Police personnel on the occasion of Republic Day - 2017
http://pibphoto.nic.in/documents/rlink/2017/jan/p201712404.pdf

Ministry of Tourism
24-January, 2017 14:35 IST
‘BHARAT PARV’ being Organized at Red Fort from 26th to 31st January 2017

The “Bharat Parv” event is being organized by the Government of India at the Red Fort, Delhi from 26th to 31st January 2017, as part of the Republic Day 2017Celebrations. The prime objective of organizing the event is to generate a patriotic mood, promote the rich cultural diversity of the country, to ensure wider participation of the general public and to popularise the idea of Ek Bharat Shreshtha Bharat.

The Ministry of Tourism has been designated as the nodal Ministry for the event, the highlights of which include display of the Republic Day Parade Tableaux, Performances by the Armed Forces Bands (static and moving), a Multi-Cuisine Food Court, Crafts Mela, Cultural Performances from different regions of the country and a Photo Exhibition by the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting.

The Cultural Performances include choreographed Folk / Tribal Dances and Music from across the country arranged through the North Zonal Cultural Centre as well as performances by cultural troupes from the different States/ UTs of the country. The Food Court will have 50 stalls set up by the States / UTs, National Association of Street Vendors of India (NASVI) showcasing food from different regions as well as by the Institutes of Hotel Management and ITDC. The Crafts Mela with 50 stalls will showcase the diverse handicrafts of the country, arranged by the State Governments and Ministry of Textiles through the Office of the Development Commissioner of Handicrafts. There will be 11 Theme State Pavilions where each State would showcase their achievements and initiatives, tourism products and destinations, etc. The Ministry of Information & Broadcasting is also setting up a Photo Exhibition on the theme “Mera Desh Badal Raha Hai, Aage Badh Raha Hai”. The big attraction of the event are the Republic Day Parade Tableaux which will be stationed at the venue for the duration of the event.

The Bharat Parv Event will be inaugurated at 5:00 p.m. on 26th January 2017and will be open to the public from 5 p.m. to 9 p.m, on 26th January 2017 and from 12 noon to 9 p.m. from 27th to 31st January 2017. The Event is open to the public and entry is free. However, identity proof is necessary for entry.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi receiving the Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi, Deputy Supreme Commander of U.A.E. Armed Forces, General Sheikh Mohammed Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, on his arrival in New Delhi on January 24, 2017.
s2017012498289.jpg

s2017012498290.jpg

s2017012498291.jpg

http://zeenews.india.com/india/pm-m...share-strong-bonds-of-friendship_1970225.html

Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday received at the airport Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, who will be the Chief Guest at this year's Republic Day parade.

Al Nahyan, also the Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE armed forces, arrived here on a three-day visit.

Later the PM tweeted - "Welcome to India. We are honoured to host you and delighted that you will join our Republic Day celebrations."

He also wrote - "India and UAE share strong bonds of friendship & extensive cooperation. Looking forward to building on this & further cementing ties."

Apart from providing boost to trade and investments ties, enhancement of cooperation in strategic areas of energy, defence and security will dominate the talks tomorrow.

Yesterday, briefing the reporters on the visit, Secretary Economic Relations Amar Sinha had said "substantial" outcome was expected in the area of defence and security where they will "solidify" their cooperation given shared views on common threat.

"Defence and security is emerging as a new area of cooperation based upon shared views and concerns about common threats. We are hoping that this visit would solidify the same," he had said and added that there would be "substantial" outcome in the security and defence area.

Noting that the UAE has the largest sovereign fund and they are looking at investment, Sinha had said that there was an agreement that they would invest nearly USD 75 billion in India in next couple of years.

Maintaining that the decision to elevate the bilateral ties to strategic level had already been taken, Sinha had said, "However, we are still signing an agreement which is more like an action plan which thrashes out of idea of strategic partnership and brings out concrete idea of what both sides are committed to do."

(With PTI inputs)
Republic Day preparations

565212-dpz-24jnab08-repub.jpg

The fountain near Parliament is illuminated ahead of the Republic Day celebrations in New Delhi.

President's Secretariat
25-January, 2017 19:17 IST
Address by the President of India on the eve of the Republic Day of India 2017
Fellow citizens:

1. On the eve of the sixty-eighth Republic Day of our nation, I extend warm greetings to all of you in India and abroad. I convey my special greetings to members of our Armed Forces, Para-military Forces and Internal Security Forces. I pay my tribute to the brave soldiers and security personnel who made the supreme sacrifice of their lives in defending India’s territorial integrity and maintaining law and order.

Brothers and sisters:

2. When India attained freedom on 15th August 1947, we did not have an instrument of governance of our own. We waited till 26th January, 1950 when the Indian people gave to themselves a Constitution to secure for all its citizens, justice, liberty, equality, and gender and economic equity. We promised to promote fraternity, dignity of the individual, and unity and integrity of the nation.

On that day, we became the largest democracy of the world.

3. The faith and commitment of people gave life to our Constitution and our founding fathers, wisely and carefully, steered the new nation past its troubles of being a poor economy with huge regional imbalances and a vast citizenry deprived of even basic necessities.

4. It goes to the credit of the strong institutions of democracy built by our founders that for the last six and a half decades, Indian democracy has been an oasis of stability in the region troubled by unrest. From a population of 360 million in 1951, we are now a 1.3 billion strong nation. Even then, our per capita income has shown a ten-fold increase, poverty ratio has declined by two-thirds, average life expectancy has more than doubled, and literacy rate has shown a four-fold increase. We are today the fastest growing amongst the major economies of the world. We are the second largest reservoir of scientific and technical manpower, the third largest army, the sixth member of the nuclear club, the sixth member in the race for space, and the tenth largest industrial power. From a net food grains importing country, India is now a leading exporter of food commodities. The journey so far has been eventful, sometimes painful, but most of the times, exhilarating.

5. What has brought us thus far will take us further ahead. But we will have to learn to adjust our sails, quickly and deftly, to the winds of change. Evolutionary and incremental growth will have to accommodate rapid disruptions brought in by advances of science and technology. Innovation, more so inclusive innovation, will have to become a way of life. Education will have to keep pace with technology. In the race between man and machine, the winner will have to be job generation. The velocity of technology adoption will call for a workforce that is willing to learn and adapt. Our education system will have to join hands with innovation to prepare our youth for life-long learning.

Fellow citizens:

6. Our economy has been performing well despite the challenging global economic conditions. In the first half of 2016-17, it grew at a rate of 7.2 percent – same as that last year – showing sustained recovery. We are firmly on the path of fiscal consolidation and our inflation level is within comfort zone. Though our exports are yet to pick up, we have managed a stable external sector with sizeable foreign exchange reserves.

7. Demonetization, while immobilizing black money and fighting corruption, may have led to temporary slowdown of economic activity. As more and more transactions become cashless, it will improve the transparency of the economy.

Brothers and sisters:

8. Born in independent India, three generations of citizens do not carry the baggage of colonial past. These generations have had the privilege of acquiring education, pursuing opportunities and chasing dreams in a free nation. This sometimes makes it easy for them to take freedom for granted; to forget the price that extraordinary men and women paid to win this freedom; to forget that the tree of freedom needs constant care and nourishment. Democracy has conferred rights on each one of us. But along with these rights, come responsibilities which have to be discharged. Gandhiji said and I quote: “The highest form of freedom carries with it the greatest measure of discipline and humility. Freedom that comes from discipline and humility cannot be denied; unbridled license is a sign of vulgarity injurious alike to self and others” (unquote).

Fellow citizens:

9. Youth today are brimming with hope and aspirations. They pursue their life goals, which they perceive will bring them fame, success and happiness, with single-minded devotion. They consider happiness as their existential objective, which of course is understandable. They search for happiness in the highs and lows of day-to-day emotions, and in the fulfilment of the objectives they have set for themselves. They look for a job as well as a purpose in life. Lack of opportunities leads to frustration and unhappiness which manifests itself in anger, anxiety, stress and aberrations in behaviour. This has to be dealt with by inculcating pro-social behaviour through gainful employment, active engagement with community, parental guidance, and empathetic response from a caring society.

Brothers and sisters:

10. One of my predecessors left on my table a framed quotation which reads (and I quote): “The object of government in peace and in war is not the glory of rulers or races but the happiness of the common man” (unquote). Happiness is fundamental to the human experience of life. Happiness is equally the outcome of economic and non-economic parameters. The quest for happiness is closely tied to sustainable development, which combines human well-being, social inclusion and environmental sustainability. We must make happiness and well-being of our people as the touchstones of public policy.

11. Many of the flagship initiatives of the government have been designed to promote the well-being of the society. The Swachh Bharat Mission aims at a Clean India by 2nd October, 2019 to coincide with the 150th Birth Anniversary of Gandhiji. Increased spending on programmes like MGNREGA is enhancing employment generation to rejuvenate the rural economy. Aadhaar, with its present reach of over 110 crore people, is helping in direct transfer of benefits, plugging leakages and improving transparency. The Digital India programme is creating a knowledge economy through universal provision of digital infrastructure and platforms for cashless economic transactions. Initiatives like Start-up India and Atal Innovation Mission are fostering innovation and new-age entrepreneurship. Under the Skill India initiative, the National Skill Development Mission is working on skilling 300 million youth by 2022.

Brothers and sisters:

12. It is my firm conviction that India’s pluralism and her social, cultural, linguistic and religious diversity are our greatest strength. Our tradition has always celebrated the ‘argumentative’ Indian; not the ‘intolerant’ Indian. Multiple views, thoughts and philosophies have competed with each other peacefully for centuries in our country. A wise and discerning mind is necessary for democracy to flourish. More than the unison of ideas, a healthy democracy calls for conformity to the values of tolerance, patience and respect for others. These values must reside in the hearts and minds of every Indian; inculcating in them a temperament of understanding and responsibility.

Fellow citizens:

13. We have a noisy democracy. Yet, we need more and not less of democracy. The strength of our democracy is evidenced by the fact that over 66 percent of the total electorate of 834 million voted in the 2014 General Elections. The depth and breadth of our democracy sparkles in the regular elections being held in our panchayati raj institutions. And yet, our legislatures lose sessions to disruptions when they should be debating and legislating on issues of importance. Collective efforts must be made to bring the focus back to debate, discussion and decision-making.

14. As our Republic enters her sixty-eighth year, we must acknowledge that our systems are not perfect. The imperfections have to be recognized and rectified. The settled complacencies have to be questioned. The edifice of trust has to be strengthened. The time is also ripe for a constructive debate on electoral reforms and a return to the practice of the early decades after independence when elections to Lok Sabha and state assemblies were held simultaneously. It is for the Election Commission to take this exercise forward in consultation with political parties.

Fellow citizens:

15. In a fiercely competitive world, we have to work harder than ever to redeem the promises that we make to our people.

o We have to work harder because our war on poverty is not yet over. Our economy is yet to grow at over 10 percent for an extended period of time to make a significant dent on poverty. One-fifth of our countrymen still remain below poverty line. Gandhiji’s mission to wipe every tear from every eye still remains unfulfilled.

o We have to work harder to provide food security to our people and to make the agriculture sector resilient to the vagaries of nature. We have to provide better amenities and opportunities to our people in villages to ensure a decent quality of life.

o We have to work harder to provide enhanced employment opportunities to our youth through the creation of world-class manufacturing and services sectors. The competitiveness of the domestic industry has to be improved by focusing on quality, productivity and efficiency.

o We have to work harder to provide safety and security to our women and children. Women must be able to lead their lives with honour and dignity. Children must be able to enjoy their childhood to the fullest.

o We have to work harder to change our consumption pattern which has resulted in environmental and ecological de-gradation. We have to appease nature to prevent it from unleashing its fury in the form of floods, landslides and droughts.

o We have to work harder because our pluralistic culture and tolerance are still being put to test by vested interests. Reason and moderation should be our guide in dealing with such situations.

o We have to work harder to keep at bay the dark forces of terrorism. These forces have to be dealt with firmly and decisively. The forces inimical to our interests cannot be allowed to grow.

o We have to work harder to ensure the well-being of our soldiers and security personnel who protect us from internal and external threats.

And,

o We have to work harder because;

We are all equal children before our mother;

And our motherland asks each of us in whatever role we play;

To do our duty;

With integrity, commitment and unflinching loyalty;

To the values enshrined in our Constitution.

Jai Hind!

The President, Shri Pranab Mukherjee addressing the Nation on the eve of the 68th Republic Day, in New Delhi on January 25, 2017.
s2017012598368.jpg

Vice President's Secretariat
25-January, 2017 13:29 IST
Vice President Greets Citizens on Republic Day

The Vice President of India, Shri M. Hamid Ansari has conveyed his warm greetings and best wishes to the citizens of our country on the occasion of Republic Day Celebrations. In a message, he said that we should reaffirm our commitment towards the Constitution and founding principles of our Republic and revalidate our faith in the cherished ideals of liberty, equality, fraternity and justice for all.

Following is the text of Vice President’s message:

“I convey my warm greetings and best wishes to all our citizens on the happy occasion of Republic Day Celebrations.

On this occasion we should reaffirm our commitment towards the Constitution and founding principles of our Republic and revalidate our faith in the cherished ideals of liberty, equality, fraternity and justice for all.

On this joyous day, let us celebrate the achievements of our Republic and solemnly resolve to dedicate ourselves towards building a peaceful, harmonious and progressive India.”

Ministry of Defence
25-January, 2017 20:48 IST
Curtain Raiser-Republic Day – 2017

The Nation’s military prowess and achievements in different fields, state-of- the-art defence platforms, its diverse cultural and social traditions, and the government’s emphasis on self-reliance and indigenisation will be showcased before the public at the historic Rajpath when the country celebrates its 68th Republic Day tomorrow.

The highlights of this year’s Parade will be, a 149-member UAE Presidential Guard, the Air Force, the Navy and Army contingent led by a UAE band consisting of 35 musicians marching on Rajpath and presenting a ceremonial salute to the President of India. The UAE military contingent is led by Lt Col Abood Musabeh Abood Musabeh Alghfeli.

This year’s parade will also see some of the firsts to its credit. For the first time a contingent of the National Security Guard (NSG) popularly known as the Black Cat Commandoes will march-past the Rajpath. The parade will also see the fly-past of three LCA Tejas Aircraft flying at a height of 300 m from ground in ‘Vic’ formation and the Airborne Early Warning & Control System (AEW&C) developed by DRDO.

Sticking to the 67 years tradition of the Republic Day Celebration, the colourful BSF Camel Regiment led by Deputy Commandant Kuldeep Seervi will take part.

The Indian Army’s missile firing capability, T-90 ‘Bhishma’ tank, Infantry Combat Vehicle BMP-2K, Mobile Autonomous Launcher of the BrahMos Missile System, Weapon Locating Raddar ‘Swathi’, Akash Weapon System, CBRN Recconnnaisance Vehicle and Dhanush Gun System will be the main draw in the mechanised columns.

An Indian Air Force Tableau will roll down the Rajpath with the theme “Air Dominance Through Network Centric Operations”. The Tableau will display the scaled down models of Su-30 MKI, Mirage-2000, AWACS, UAV, Apache and Communication Sattelite.

This year the Indian Navy’s Tableau will have the theme ‘Indian Navy – Professional Force-Anchoring Stability, Security and National Prosperity’. The tableau showcases the lethal Marine Commandoes proceeding for action, the indigenously built Kolkata Class Destroyer and the Kalvari Class next generation attack submarines. The tableaux also displays a model of the P-8I Long Range Maritime Patrol Aircraft.

The parade ceremony will commence at the Amar Jawan Jyoti at India Gate where the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi will lead the nation in paying homage to the martyrs by laying a wreath. An eternal flame burns at the Amar Jawan Jyoti to commemorate the indomitable courage of our Armed Forces personnel who have made the supreme sacrifice in the service of the motherland. The Amar Jawan, the immortal soldier, is symbolised by a reversed rifle standing on its barrel and crested by a soldier’s helmet.

As per tradition, after unfurling the National Flag, the national anthem will be played with a 21 gun salute. The parade will then commence and the President will take the salute. This year’s Chief Guest in the parade will be His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, the Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) Armed Forces. The parade will be commanded by Lt. General Manoj Mukund Naravane, General Officer Commanding, Delhi Area. Major General Rajesh Sahai, Chief of Staff, Headquarter Delhi Area will be the parade Second-in-Command.

Param Vir Chakra winners Subedar Major & Honorary Captain Bana Singh (Retd), Subedar Yogendra Singh Yadav, 18 Grenadiers and Naib/Subedar Sanjay Kumar, 13 JAK Rifles and Ashok Chakra winners Major General Cyrus A Pithawalla (Retd), Lt Col Jas Ram Singh (Retd), Shri Hukum Singh and Shri Govind Singh of district Chhatarpur, Madhya Pradesh and Shri Bhure Lal of district Guna also from Madhya Pradesh will follow the Deputy Parade Commander on Jeeps.

The marching contingents of Army will include horse-mounted columns of the 61st Cavalry, the Machanised Infantry Regiment, the Bihar Regiment, the 39 Gorkha Training Centre, 58 Gorkha Training Centre, the Madras Engineering Group and Centre and 103 Infantry Battalion (Territoral Army) Sikh LI.

The marching contingent of Navy comprising 144 young sailors will be led by Lieutenant Aparna Nair, while the Indian Air Force contingent comprising 144 men will be led by Squadran Leader Attal Singh Shekhon. The Paramilitary and other auxiliary civil forces will include the Border Security Force Camel Contingent, Indian Coast Guard, Central Reserve Police Force, Central Industrial Security Force, Delhi Police, National Cadet Corps and National Service Scheme.

Tableaux from 17 States and UT, six Central Ministries and Departments will present the varied historical, art and cultural heritage of the country. They will also showcase country’s progress in different fields, particularly floats from Goa, Gujarat, Odisha, West Bengal, Assam and Jammu & Kashmir with their varied themes, which will be of special attraction. The floats of Central Board of Excise and Customs, Ministry of Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises and Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Allevation will showcase the rapid development of some of the flagship programmes of the Government. The floats of Council of Scientific and Industial Reasearch (CSIR) and Ministry of Skill Development & Enterpreneurship will highlight the significant progress in the scientific and technoligical growth in the country as well as our efforts to promote skill development and enterpreneurship to achieve the vision of “Skill India”.

Twenty one of the Twenty five children selected for the National Bravery Award–2016 will also participate in the parade. Four children have got the award posthumously. In the children’s pageant section, about 600 boys and girls drawn from three schools in Delhi and a group of school children from South Central Zone Cultural Centre, Nagpur will perform colourful dances on varid themes. The splendid driving skills of ‘Dare Devils’- the motorcycle display team of Corps of Military Police will be a major attraction of the parade. They will perform different stunts like Salute to President, Ladder, Double Bar, Lotus, Christmas Tree, Aircraft, Sudarshan Chakra, Flower Pot, Pyramid and Wheeling on moving motor cycles.

The grand finale of the parade will be a spectacular flypast by the IAF. The flypast will commence with the ‘Chakra’ formation, comprising three Mi-35 helicopters in ‘Vic’ formation, followed by the ‘Hercules’ formation comprising three C-130J Super Hercules aircraft in ‘Vic’ formation. Trailing them will be the ‘Netra’ which is an Airborne Early Warning and Control System Aircraft also known as “Eye in the Sky”. It will be followed by the ‘Globe formation’ comprising one C-17 Globemaster flanked by two Su-30 MKIs. Next in line will be the fighters, where five Jaguars will fly in Arrowhead formation, another five MiG-29 Air Superiority Fighters will fly in Fulcrum style. Then the breath-taking ‘Trishul’ formation comprising three Su-30 MKIs of No. 24 Squadron would fly over the Rajpath, and once in front of the saluting dais, the Su-30 MKI aircraft will split upwards, making a Trishul in the sky. The flypast will conclude with another Su-30 MKI carrying out a ‘Vertical Charlie’ manoeuvre over the saluting dais.

The ceremony will culminate with the national anthem and release of balloons.

NW/NAo/DM/Ranjan

Ministry of Defence
25-January, 2017 20:29 IST
Gallantry Awards to Navy on 26 January 2017

SHAURYA CHAKRA

ASHU SINGH, CHIEF MECHANICAL ENGINEER (131980 – F)

(POSTHUMOUSLY)

i201712502.jpg

On 06 Mar 16, at about 1600 hrs, an incident of deck head lagging fire accompanied with heavy smouldering occurred in the ‘B’ Boiler Room of INS Viraat. The sailor showed exemplary courage and presence of mind in safeguarding machinery by taking correct procedural step in crash stopping B1 boiler which was last in use and securing other machinery in the vicinity. He took lead role in successfully fighting the fire relentlessly for 35 min with all other watch keepers and Standing Sea Fire Party (SSFP) in the extreme harsh conditions with intense heat and heavy smoke without thinking about his own safety thereby averting a major disaster. He also safeguarded the life of other fire fighters by guiding them to evacuate boiler room in time.

In the process the sailor, undeterred and unmindful of his own life, safeguarded the life of men and propulsion machinery of the aircraft carrier, displaying conspicuous gallantry, exemplary leadership and presented an example of "Service before Self". The sailor displayed dauntless courage, most conspicuous gallantry, selfless service, outstanding professionalism and exemplary leadership disregarding the pain and suffocation and had sacrificed his own life while ensuring safety of fellow ship mates and the aircraft carrier.

This feat of courage by the sailor, in saving both, personnel and the equipment at the cost of his own life is an act worthy of recognition and is in keeping with the highest traditions of the Service, and therefore, (Late) Ashu Singh, Chief Mechanical Engineer is awarded Shaurya Chakra (Posthumously).

NAO SENA MEDAL (GALLANTRY)

RAKESH KUMAR, HULL ARTIFICER 4, (502230-H)

(POSTHUMOUSLY)

i201712503.jpg

On 10 Jun 16, Rakesh Kumar, Hull Artificer 4, 502230-H of INS Vikramaditya, was part of the team assigned the task of overseeing fitment of a newly fabricated 1.2 m piece of Sewage Treatment Plant (STP) pipe by two civilian contract-workers in Cofferdam 9K6, whose horizontal dimensions measure 2.1m X 0.76m. The sailor was assigned the task of connecting and supervising the operation of a submersible pump and was positioned in the Power Generation Room (PGR), one deck above the compartment containing the Cofferdam, with access to the Cofferdam being only through a long vertical ladder that led down from a narrow hatch. During the pipe-replacement process, the sailor heard someone shouting from the compartment below and saw a civilian emerging from it in a semi-conscious state. The sailor went down the ladder, picked up the civilian on his shoulder and climbed up the vertical ladder to the PGR, laying him down under an AC vent. He then learnt that the other civilian was also unconscious in the Cofferdam. Without any thought to his own safety, the sailor clambered down the vertical ladder again and with no hesitation entered the Cofferdam where he saw his team leader wearing an Emergency Life saving Apparatus (ELSA) set and trying to pick up the civilian worker, who was lying prone in the well of the Cofferdam, partly covered with water. Rakesh, with all his strength, tried to lift the second civilian, but was unable to do so as his clothes were slippery and entangled with deck fittings in the narrow space. Despite knowing the dangers of the probable presence in the space of toxic gas and its consequences, Rakesh did not relent in his efforts and continued trying to bodily lift the civilian out of the Cofferdam in the hope of saving his life. He, however, lost track of time, and whilst continuing his vain but valiant efforts, also succumbed to the toxic gas inhalation and collapsed inside the Cofferdam. He was extricated from the compartment by a rescue team a few minutes later, but was unfortunately declared dead in the hospital.

It is evident from the act of the sailor that he with scant regard to his personal safety ventured into the congested cofferdam seeing a civilian worker shouting in semi-conscious state. The sailor was completely aware that the presence of dangerous and poisonous gases in the congested enclosed space will endanger the lives of the civilians working there. Even a moment’s delay would cause the civilians to lose their lives. Realising this, sailor rushed to the space and lifted the first civilian on his shoulder and climbed up the ladder and saved him. Thereafter, though the sailor was exhausted, showing rare grit of courage and valour he ventured into the congested space infested with the poisonous gases to save the second civilian. Whilst continuing his vain but valiant efforts, Rakesh Kumar, Hull Artificer 4 succumbed to the toxic gas inhalation. This feat of exemplary courage by the sailor, in saving the civilians working in the enclosed and congested space infested with the deadly poisonous gases of H2S with scant regard to the safety of his own life is an act worthy of recognition and is in keeping with the highest traditions of the Service, and therefore, (Late) Rakesh Kumar, Hull Artificer 4 is awarded Nao Sena Medal (Gallantry) (Posthumously).

NAO SENA MEDAL (GALLANTRY)

LT CDR NEERAJ KUMAR (06143-K)

i201712504.jpg

Lt Cdr Neeraj Kumar (06143-K) is the NBCD Officer onboard INS Trikand. At about 1820h on 08 June 2016, whilst transiting off Goa in heavy weather, INS Trikand was contacted on radio by Merchant Vessel MV Infinity One anchored off Grandi Island. MV Infinity One reported crack in starboard ship’s side with ingress of water causing ten degrees list being aggravated by heavy weather and swell, and requested de-flooding assistance in emergency. Immediately, INS Trikand closed MV Infinity to render assistance. Weather was extremely unfavourable, with heavy rain, low visibility, winds gusting to 25-29 KN, pitch dark night conditions and sea state 3-4. Undeterred by the challenging weather conditions, Lt Cdr Neeraj Kumar sprang into action and quickly mustered a four man Damage Control (DC) team along with dewatering pumps and leak stopping gears. During embarkation of the DC team and stores into the ship’s boat, the boat and ship were rolling excessively in the heavy seas and the scramble net swayed precariously throughout the descent into the boat. Keeping his cool and displaying unflinching courage, Lt Cdr Neeraj Kumar led from the front and ensured all men and stores were loaded into the boat in record time. Motivating his team all along the way and closely monitoring their movements, he led the team personally on an extremely demanding transit across the choppy seas to the marooned Merchant Vessel. Upon embarkation onboard the Merchant Vessel at 2020h on 08 June 2016, the MV crew were assessed to be poorly trained and motivated, with many seemingly in shock. The forward hold of MV Infinity was half flooded and the ship was listed excessively to starboard with sea/ swell breaking over the weather deck. The only access to the forward hold was via a catwalk that was on the starboard edge of the weather deck, which was constantly awash with sea and spray. Catwalk and upper decks were caked with bitumen dust from the ship’s cargo, which along with the heel to starboard, aggravated by the pitch black night and falling rain created treacherous underfoot conditions. The Forward Hold itself was in complete darkness and was accessible only via a narrow lobby above. All onboard pumps of the MV had burned out or suctions were choked by bitumen cargo in the hold. Displaying tremendous professional poise and composure in such trying conditions, Lt Cdr Neeraj Kumar marshalled his team expertly and swiftly rigged up portable submersible pumps in the forward hold of the MV. When MV crew were unable to provide power supply for the pumps, Lt Cdr Neeraj Kumar and his team proactively took matters into their own hands, searched all nearby compartments, identified compatible supply breakers and rigged up direct electrical tapping from those points to energise the pumps. After two hours of sustained de-flooding of the forward hold using the pumps operationalised by Lt Cdr Neeraj and his crew, the list of the MV was observed to gradually reduce and by 0315h on 09 June 2016, the list had reduced to five degrees and the MV was declared out of the danger by the Master.

Military leadership, courage in adversity and ability to overcome all odds displayed by Lt Cdr Neeraj Kumar are in the best traditions of the naval service. Technical and seamanship skills as well as sheer guts displayed by the officer ensured successful rescue of a Merchant Vessel in distress at sea and saved the lives of all 14 MV seamen of Indian nationality. For his intrepid leadership and bravery, Lt Cdr Neeraj Kumar is awarded Nao Sena Medal (Gallantry).

DKS/AC

Ministry of Defence
25-January, 2017 20:25 IST
Defence Minister visits DG NCC Republic Day Camp-2017

Defence Minister Shri Manohar Parrikar during his visit to NCC Republic Day Camp 2017 here today, conferred “Raksha Mantri Padak” and Commendation Cards to NCC Cadets for their exemplary performance and devotion to duty at an impressive ‘Investiture Ceremony’ held at NCC Republic Day Camp 2017 at Delhi Cantt. He was received by the Director General National Cadet Corps(DGNCC) Lt Gen Vinod Vashisht. A contingent of smartly turned out NCC cadets drawn from the three wings namely Army, Navy and Air Force presented an impressive Guard of Honour to the Defence Minister.

Raksha Mantri Padak was instituted in 1989 and since then it is awarded to the most deserving Cadets every year for bravery or exceptional service of highest order. This year the Raksha Mantri Padak has been awarded to Company Under Officer Priyanka Mishra of Rajasthan Directorate, Raksha Mantri Commendation Cards have been awarded to Cadet Kushagra Misra (Madhya Pradesh & Chhattisgarh Directorate), Senior Under Officer Rajlaxmi Baral (Odisha Directorate) and Girls Cadets Instructor (GCI) III E Gomathi (Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Andaman & Nicobar Directorate).

The Raksha Mantri Padak was also awarded to ten girl cadets and one GCI. The Cadets and GCI who received the Raksha Mantri Padak are Cadet Rigzen Dolker and Cadet Baljeet Kaur (Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh & Chandigarh Directorate), Cadet Tashi Laskit, Cadet Stanzin Laskit and Cadet Tsering Angmo (Jammu & Kashmir Directorate), Cadet Pooja Mehra (Uttarakhand Directorate), Cadet Lalrintluangi (North Eastern Region Directorate), Cadet Sulaxchana and Cadet Trishal Gurung (West Bengal & Sikkim Directorate), Cadet Kumari Nutan (Rajasthan Directorate) & Girl Cadet Instructor III Dolyne Kharbhih (North Eastern Region Directorate), who successfully summitted Mt Everest in May 2016 and created world record for maximum number of women from a single team and single country. Raksha Mantri Commendation Card was also awarded to Girl Cadet Instructor II Saroj Boriwal of Madhya Pradesh & Chhattishgarh Directorate who was part of the support team for Mt Everest.

The Defence Minister also inspected the well laid out flag area prepared by the cadets from all 17 NCC Directorates depicting various Social Awareness themes. He was given a crisp brief by the cadets on their respective models.

The Minister along with other distinguished guests later witnessed a spectacular cultural programme by the cadets in the NCC auditorium.

The Union Minister for Defence, Shri Manohar Parrikar inspecting the Guard of Honour, at the NCC Republic Day Camp 2017, in New Delhi on January 25, 2017. The DG, NCC, Lt. Gen. Vinod Vashisht is also seen.
s2017012598369.jpg

The Union Minister for Defence, Shri Manohar Parrikar being briefed by the NCC cadets, at the flag area depicting various social themes, during his visit to the NCC Republic Day Camp 2017, in New Delhi on January 25, 2017. The DG, NCC, Lt. Gen. Vinod Vashisht is also seen.
s2017012598370.jpg

The Union Minister for Defence, Shri Manohar Parrikar in a group photograph with the NCC Girls Mount Everest expedition team, during his visit to the NCC Republic Day Camp 2017, in New Delhi on January 25, 2017. The DG, NCC, Lt. Gen. Vinod Vashisht is also seen.
s2017012598371.jpg

Ministry of Defence
25-January, 2017 20:01 IST
398 Republic Day Gallantry and other Defence Decorations Announced

The President has approved award of 398 Gallantry and other Defence decorations to Armed Forces personnel and others on the eve of the 68th Republic Day Celebrations. This includes two Kirti Chakras, 12 Shaurya Chakras, three Bar to Sena Medal (Gallantry), 91 Sena Medal (Gallantry), two Nao Sena Medal (Gallantry), four Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry), 29 Param Vishisht Seva Medal, five Uttam Yudh Seva Medal, two Bar to Ati Vishisht Seva Medal, 49 Ati Vishisht Seva Medal, 14 Yudh Seva Medal, four Bar to Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty), 36 Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty), eight Nao Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty), 14 Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty), four Bar to Vishisht Seva Medal and 119 Vishisht Seva Medal.

The President has also approved seven awards to Indian Coast Guard Personnel for gallantry, meritorious service and distinguished service.

Ministry of Defence
25-January, 2017 19:59 IST
Gallantry Awards to Army on 26 January 2017

The President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee has approved the award of two Kirti Chakras and ten Shaurya Chakras to the Indian Army personnel on the occasion of Republic Day 2017 has been included in the list of citations.

Following documents are attached to the Press Release :-

LIST OF PERSONNEL BEING CONFERRED GALLANTRY AND DISTINGUISHED AWARDS ON THE
OCCASION OF REPUBLIC DAY-2017
http://pibphoto.nic.in/documents/rlink/2017/jan/p201712502.pdf

Summary of Honours and Awards to Army on Republic Day 2017
http://pibphoto.nic.in/documents/rlink/2017/jan/p201712503.pdf

Photographs of Awardees.
http://pibphoto.nic.in/documents/rlink/2017/jan/p201712504.pdf

Ministry of Home Affairs
25-January, 2017 11:45 IST
SSB Officers Will Celebrate Republic Day on Border Out Posts

On the personnel initiative of DG, SSB Mrs. Archana Ramasundaram, it is first time that the Officers of the rank of Dy. Commandant and above posted in various Sector Headquarters, Frontier Headquarters and Force Headquarter New Delhi are going to Border Out Posts (BOPs) in far-flung areas on Indo-Nepal & Indo-Bhutan Borders and to J&K and Naxal affected areas to celebrate 68th Republic Day with National fervor.

On this occasion the officers will also convey the message of DG, SSB to the force personnel and public present in the functions. The DG also said that this occasion will help in establishing a healthy relationship with the border population. This national festival shall be celebrated in a manner that better relationship could be ensured between border population and SSB to strengthen integrity and unity of the country.

The idea behind this initiative is also to establish direct communication between the officers of headquarters and the jawans posted at remote locations on the borders. This endeavor will also ensure that senior officers appreciate the problems of jawans and instill confidence in them that the DG and the FHQ is sensitive towards their problems and making all out efforts to provide them better facilities.

On this occasion the DG, SSB has also called upon the force personnel to follow the motto of SSB “Service, Security & Brotherhood” and strive for security of the border population and keep the national flag flying high and achieve new heights.

http://zeenews.india.com/india/spec...rikes-conferred-gallantry-awards_1970571.html
IANS | Last Updated: Wednesday, January 25, 2017 - 23:03

New Delhi: A total of 23 soldiers from Indian Army's Special Forces that went across the border for the surgical strike have been awarded gallantry medals, including a Kirti Chakra, on occasion of the 68th Republic Day.

Major Rohit Suri of 4 Para has been awarded the Kirti Chakra, the second highest peacetime gallantry award.

"Maj Rohit Suri awarded Kirti Chakra for displaying inspiring leadership & conspicuous gallantry while leading his team in an op," the Indian Army's Northern Command said in a tweet.

The Kirti Chakra was also awarded posthumously to Lance Havildar Prem Bahadur Resmi Magar of Third Battalion of the First Gorkha Rifles, killed while fighting terrorists along the Line of Control in Tangdhar, Jammu & Kashmir.

Magar, a 'Ghatak' commando of the unit, was part of the team that thwarted an infiltration bid and shot dead four terrorists.

The gallantry awards include five Shaurya Chakras, two Yudh Seva Medals, one Bar to Sena Medal (Gallantry) and 14 Sena Medals (Gallantry) for soldiers from the 4 Para and 9 Para of Special Forces that took part in the surgical strike.

The winners of Shaurya Chakra include Ashu Singh, a Chief Mechanical Engineer who diedAwhile trying to control a fire on board aircraft carrier INS Viraat, Naik Pandurang Mahadev Gawade of 41 Rashtriya Rifles, killed fighting a group of militants in Kashmir's Kupwara, and Head Constable Sanjewan Singh of Jammu and Kashmir Police, who died while fighting along with Colonel M.N. Rai against terrorists in Jammu and Kashmir. Rai was awarded a Shaurya Chakra last year.

Winners of Param Vishisht Seva Medal includes Lt. General Praveen Bakshi, who heads the Eastern Command of Indian Army.

Altogether 398 gallantry and service awards were announced on on the eve of the 68th Republic Day including two Kirti Chakras, 12 Shaurya Chakras, three Bar to Sena Medal (Gallantry), 91 Sena Medals (Gallantry), two Nao Sena Medals (Gallantry), four Vayu Sena Medals (Gallantry), 29 Param Vishisht Seva Medals, five Uttam Yudh Seva Medals, two Bar to Ati Vishisht Seva Medals, 49 Ati Vishisht Seva Medals, 14 Yudh Seva Medals, four Bar to Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), 36 Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), eight Nao Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), 14 Vayu Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), four Bar to Vishisht Seva Medals and 119 Vishisht Seva Medals.

First Published: Wednesday, January 25, 2017 - 23:03

http://zeenews.india.com/india/repu...with-india-is-priority-of-russia_1970565.html

Moscow: Russian President Vladimir Putin on Wednesday greeted President Pranab Mukherjee and Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the eve of Republic Day and said that special and privileged strategic partnership with India was an invariable priority in Russia's foreign policy.

"Kindly accept my cordial greetings on the national holiday - the Republic Day. Your country plays an important and constructive role in solving pressing issues of regional and international agenda. "Over the decades of independent development, India has achieved impressive success in economic, social, scientific, technical and other spheres," he said in a congratulatory message.

"Special and privileged strategic partnership with India is an invariable priority in Russia’s foreign policy. I would like to reiterate our readiness to further strengthening of mutually beneficial bilateral cooperation in various areas. In this respect, great importance is being attached to the implementation of the map of events dedicated to the 70th anniversary of establishing diplomatic relations between our countries," Putin added.

He also said, "With all my heart, I wish you good health and success, and to the friendly people of India well-being and prosperity."

(With Agency inputs)

First Published: Wednesday, January 25, 2017 - 22:29

Dubai: The world's tallest building, Burj Khalifa, lit up on Wednesday night in Indian Tricolour to mark the 68th Republic Day of India.

Soon after the pictures surfaced on internet, it became a huge buzz on social media websites.

Tweeting the pictures, Vikas Swarup, official spokesperson of Ministry of External Affairs of India, said, "A dazzling testament to an enduring friendship. @BurjKhalifa lights up in the tiranga, on eve of Crown Prince attend'g India's Republic Day

burj_647_012517063658.jpg

The entire Central and New Delhi region will have nearly 50,000 security personnel drawn from Delhi Police and Central security forces guarding every nook and corner.

Police is using anti-drone technology, a senior police officer was quoted as saying. He added that CCTV cameras and control rooms will monitor the feed from the cameras.

At the same time, security personnel will be stationed atop tall buildings with anti-aircraft guns.

No landing or take-off of any commercial flight will be allowed from IGIA in New Delhi between 10:35 to 12:15 PM on January 26.

First Published: Wednesday, January 25, 2017 - 16:59