63% Increase in Hajj expenses: News & Discussions

Yesterday Ali Khan said , 70 percent of total hajj expense paid by hajji goes to Saudi Arabia. Recently Saudi govt raised Hajj expenses . When ask to renegotiate these expense, he replied , we can't that my impact our relations. So, it means KSA ....botti da ka bakra lana ..... cant blame PTI...

Then kindly remove taxes on Hajj services... Isn't this haram ? government imposing tax on hajjis ? Then why our taxes should subsidize the food,travelling in PIA and train of arm forces personnel? or simply as said the cinemas screens in cantonments/askaris..or has the government abolished quota for MNA/MPA and journalist? ...Your money is financing sikhs for easier route but it can't go for muslims .By your logic the list will go on..
Are you that ignorant or trying to act like one Hajj is compulsory on those who can afford it that is basic rule of hajj if Government has to subsidize Hajj for you than sorry it's not Hajj. Stop mixing two totally different things for GOD sake

It's certainly a bad news for poor people but whether or not it's the right step, I am conflicted on this one.

As far as my limited understanding of religion goes, Hajj is mandatory once a lifetime based on one's hard earned Halal money with no charity/loan etc.

While on the other hand, it's also the responsibility of Islamic welfare Govt. to make Hajj easy and cheaper for poor masses.

________

Alhamdulillah...I performed Hajj when I was only 3 years old. You guys can call me Haji Agnostic, if you like...
People should go for umrah if they cant afford hajj...philanthropist should help poor for hajj..govt should help once it achieves social security i.e good health and poor not dying of hunger (capital income of 8-10k atleast)

Pakistan is not even in top 100 countries

The Hajj is 'economically big' for Saudi Arabia, from a Pakistani perspective, there is limited impact outside of the travel/airline business.
KSA is making hajj very expensive , you live in US and you know hajj is now very expensive. They are charging all development of Mecca and Madina to hajis . Plus, in future they have plan to increase the cost. Because it only biggest consistent source of income compare to oil.

Let us take that line of thinking further: The State has no business in influencing, promoting, or prohibiting matters of religion which must remain in the personal domain for all citizens.
I usually hesitate to make far reaching statements, but I see your point. The case here is more on religious side, where if Islam has already exempt you from an obligation then why resources of a poor country should not be utilized in more urgent matters - such as the pathetic state of HDI!

hajj se paisa kama sakte hain per chaar Ghareeb ki maddad nahi hosakti
How Pakistan makes money from Hajj bhai? Most is made by Saudi Arabia, as you would know Makkah and Madina are located there. Poor should be helped, but in the right aspects such as education, food security, jobs etc.. There are examples of Prophet Mohammad (pbuh) and the Khulfa-e-Rashadeen helping poor, but I have never heard about the state providing financial aid for Hajj. I would appreciate any examples if you know of.

KSA is making hajj very expensive , you live in US and you know hajj is now very expensive. They are charging all development of Mecca and Madina to hajis . Plus, in future they have plan to increase the cost. Because it only biggest consistent source of income compare to oil.
You want to get the sawab for Hajj but also complaining about expenses. Hajj was always expensive and a difficult journey, but it's difficulty has dramatically decreased due to improvements in travelling facilities and transportation technologies. Compared to 1400 years ago, the Hajj of today is not even 1\100th in difficulty.

Although, I also proposed removing taxes on air tickets for Hajj, and providing Forex needed on central bank rate. But my second thought is that it will open another Pandora box where people will demand same facilities for Omrah, religious pilgrimage to Iran, Iraq, India etc. And what about religious pilgrimage of Non-Muslim they are also equal citizen. So, government should let tour operators to arrange things but keep check on prices and facilities provided. Rest, if person don't have money then he/she must pray to God for It.

No govt clealry bring a bill of all taxes removal from hajj since we are islamic republic we care for majority hindus dont go that frequently for pilgrims

Why should those taxes be removed from air tickets. Please do tell where those taxes are used from air tickets.
Why you pose taxes on hajj which relgions name your country been made im not saying airline do not take orofit from hajis but the profit to PPUA shoukd be average which in itself govt earning and pak govt already taking too much taxes in other itens tgre to four times on one item probleum is corruption eating those taxes

No govt clealry bring a bill of all taxes removal from hajj since we are islamic republic we care for majority hindus dont go that frequently for pilgrims

My concern is not minorities, I don't think they will get any benefits. Believe me, you lend finger to mullah brigade they will catch whole arm. You bring the bill for removal of taxes on Hajj tickets, they will start asking same for Umrah, then there are people for whom pilgrimage to Iran & Iraq is also very important they will ask for same, then there are people for whom visiting KMC Shrine in India is very important. In short, government must stay away from this, it should only facilitate in issuance of passports, visas etc. that's it.

I agree, unfortunately some people believe that living on govt handouts is their right, whether they be media houses or people wanting to go on hajj.

Whats surprising is that no one is upset with KSA for increasing the prices even though its filthy rich.

Because it is a never ending ritual started way before Muslims settled in Makkah or Madina.
The Hajj is 'economically big' for Saudi Arabia, from a Pakistani perspective, there is limited impact outside of the travel/airline business.
This is not true. The Hajj economy spreads beyond the 5-40 days of the pilgrimage.
How Pakistan makes money from Hajj bhai? Most is made by Saudi Arabia, as you would know Makkah and Madina are located there. Poor should be helped, but in the right aspects such as education, food security, jobs etc.. There are examples of Prophet Mohammad (pbuh) and the Khulfa-e-Rashadeen helping poor, but I have never heard about the state providing financial aid for Hajj. I would appreciate any examples if you know of.

Provisions have always been made for traveling Hajis even at the times of the Rashidun just like provisions had been made for those fleeing unrest, a plague, famine etc.

Nobody is demanding that the hajj be free. It should remain for those who can afford but it should not be made out of reach for the poor since the poor already have less than a nothing say on any other matter.

If the end of the day, the government has little extra left in the bank, a tiny percentile can be made available for the relief for those wishing to undertake the annual pilgrimage to Bakkah.

Provisions have always been made for traveling Hajis even at the times of the Rashidun just like provisions had been made for those fleeing unrest, a plague, famine etc.

Nobody is demanding that the hajj be free. It should remain for those who can afford but it should not be made out of reach for the poor since the poor already have less than a nothing say on any other matter.

If the end of the day, the government has little extra left in the bank, a tiny percentile can be made available for the relief for those wishing to undertake the annual pilgrimage to Bakkah.
I would like some references for those, as what you state may be true but your interpretations is quite generic. I would not compare the plight of displaced people from war and famine with the ones unable to do hajj.
When we have poverty at such a large scale, shouldn't the focus be on getting them out of this vicious cycle of poverty first? These subsidies are more on the luxury side for now in Pakistan's context, and with such a pathetic state of HDI such expenses cannot be justified in the near future.

You are comparing Hajj with wheat. You just proved your epic ignorance. Hajj is a religious duty which has some conditions which include it's only compulsory on you if you can afford it. You have to afford not Government have to give you subsidy so please stop posting pathetically hilarious stuff
Lets say .if its for 1000$..before..
And now its 2000$..

So only people with 2000... can go...

Why not make it . 10.000$.

So only the very rich can go...
Less people.. less crowded..

I would like some references for those, as what you state may be true but your interpretations is quite generic. I would not compare the plight of displaced people from war and famine with the ones unable to do hajj.
When we have poverty at such a large scale, shouldn't the focus be on getting them out of this vicious cycle of poverty first? These subsidies are more on the luxury side for now in Pakistan's context, and with such a pathetic state of HDI such expenses cannot be justified in the near future.

We can discuss this over and over again but why should we? The government has already decided and will not take a U-Turn on this and I have made my arguments. The rest is between the Muslimeens and the GoP.

I wish the government good luck so as they earn more 'estetaat' so that Muslimeens maybe facilitated in this age of economic warfare for Hajj.

Lets say .if its for 1000$..before..
And now its 2000$..

So only people with 2000... can go...

Why not make it . 10.000$.

So only the very rich can go...
Less people.. less crowded..

jaega dollar 300 pe. ye bhi arrange kardenge apki khushi ki liye