5 injured in clashes after woman throws stone at a cow

16 Million People in the US are Now Vegan or Vegetarian!
SHARE TWEET PINIT GOOGLE+ EMAIL

Nadine Watters

2 years ago / 66466 Views

In 2009, a tiny one percent of the US population reported eating vegetarian or vegan. Now, 5% of the United States population is vegetarian and half of those people are vegan. The rates have skyrocketed over the last five years and studies show the rates are climbing. (1) So why are people continuing to go veg? The reason seems to involve a mix of various factors, with the largest impact coming from how much we have learned about commercial farming and animal treatment over the last five years. (2)

Why the United States is Going Veg…
To think that 16 million people in this country eat absolutely no animal products is pretty amazing, considering the degree to which meat has an impact on most of our culture. Approximately 42% of those who do not eat animal products say that they went vegan after they saw an educational film. Sixty-nine percent said they chose to eat a vegan diet to support the ethical treatment of animals. Forty-five percent say they transitioned into veganism over time and of all those who are vegan, 52% say they have been eating vegan for less than 10 years. This could be an indicator of the way the country has become more knowledgeable about our food supply over the last five years. (2)

Which Other Factors Are Involved?
Of all these vegetarians and vegans, the vast majority are women. (2) In fact, in 2009 when only 1 million people were veg*n, a whopping 79% of those were women at the time. Now, out of 5% of the population, one million people report eating vegan and the rest vegetarian. Women still make up 79% percent of the vegan group and 59% of the vegetarian group. (2)

But veganism isn’t just for women. Many men have made the change as well and as of 2012, meat consumption was down a massive 12.2% from 2007. In fact, people aren’t just eating vegan, they’re also more curious about this way of life too. Google reported a three-fold increase in vegan searches from 2007 to 2014! A search for “vegan 2007” showed over 1,600 results while a search for “vegan 2014” showed over 24,000 results! (3)

Celebrities also make up a significant portion of those who are vegan or vegetarian. Athletes, talk show hosts, millionaires, and even political figures are now turning to a veggie-based diet or a completely vegan diet. Restaurants are also changing by either offering a vegan or vegetarian entree and many new exclusive vegan restaurants are open now that weren’t around five years ago. Supermarkets now cater to vegans and offer more vegan or vegetarian products and the online raw vegan food industry has been thriving the last five years and only continues to grow. In fact, it’s now estimated that by 2050, America may be a “vegan country”, at least by a large percentage! (3,4)

No longer is veganism the diet for hippies and health nuts; according to statistics, it’s now just a smart way to live that can help decrease our ecological footprint and works our compassion muscles. Kale, anyone?

View attachment 389142
Wow! One cherry picked article makes a difference

it has nothing to do with eating habits.
Muslims won't become less muslims if they stop eating beef. By the way in Arab there were no cows. The more emphasis on cow meat is to hurt Hindu sentiments prevails in Muslims of South Asia. Muslims specially in Pakistan must learn to respect other religious views.
Baap ki jagir nahi hai duniya ki apni man mani karte raho. It's simple :)
https://defence.pk/pdf/threads/okay-we-wont-eat-beef-indian-muslims.487320/
The muslims of india have declared they won't eat beef but still there is so much hate mongering going on in that thread by indians. The truth is hindu supremacists are sadists they will find any excuse to murder or torture muslims in their country,Heck they will even slaughter their own cows just to do it. These same people have the audacity to lecture others on human rights:rofl:.

The muslims of india have declared they won't eat beef but still there is so much hate mongering going on in that thread by indians. The truth is hindu supremacists are sadists they will find any excuse to murder or torture muslims in their country,Heck they will even slaughter their own cows just to do it. These same people have the audacity to lecture others on human rights:rofl:

I used the term, south Asia, and then I wrote , Specially Pakistanis. :hitwall:

nRw7zZm.jpg

Olive anyone?
Appetizers+035.JPG

From my gf: That's got to be the cutest thing ever!!!

(I am now goading her to try make them lol)

If forcing ones eating habit, on another, is NOT fascism, then what is?

I think it is not their eating habits, otherwise Aghoris wouldn't exist in any modern day society.

They think of cow as a sacred animal, and we fail to understand the rationality behind such thinking. I don't see what is so unique about cows that is not there in any other animal or how they are superior than a brilliant creation like a human? But anyhow the method of making others respect their irrational belief can be more non violent ......... any logical reasoning would convince people to refrain from any particular act. Or else a simple humble request would do wonders.

In real life I have dined with my Hindu friends in Karachi, ate from their plate, drank from their glass, without caring what any other Muslim thinks about me. I never hesitated, never had a problem .............. it was all because I felt they need me more than my Muslim friends.

Most people of subcontinent don't think much, emotional fools that believe in superstitions, majority of them have zero ability to go beyond their narrow vision, they will stick to what their parents and grand parents have been doing no matter how irrational and foolish that may look like ... .............. and no wonder a cesspool we live in, without any hope of improved standards of life. The other day I was listening to some Molvi sahib ....... he was stressing how evil eye exists and how it can put a human in danger, though at this stage of my life I find it hard to digest superstitious thinking no more matter how much anyone gives it a religious color ......... but I kept listening and waited for moment when Molvi sahib makes the foolish mistake and I can thank ALLAH that my brain is still working ............. guess it didn't take long, Molvi sahib decided to describe the symptoms of evil eye ............ he said anyone suffering from evil eye would have gastric problem, would have feeling of congestion in chest, would have blood pressure problem, would feel anxiety all the possible medical reasons related to ones diet.................. and I said yes Molvi sahib .............. the habit of not exercising after a diet rich in spices, oil and salt and has nothing to do with all this ........... but the evil eye is the reason ............... I don't know what is stopping Muslims from destroying all non Muslim forces by just click of an evil eye. Now consider how many of us would stop seeing medical practitioners and believe its because of evil eye ............ and the next generation if it happens to stick to their parents beliefs would make it obligatory on everyone to respect that gastric problem happens because of evil eye.

the problem imo is not the ban on cow slaughter, it is enforcing one's eating habits.
the reason why "sickulars" like me are opposed to any such diktats is because this will not stop at cows, it will continue in restrictions to other eatables as well. for eg, if my memory serves right, the MP govt banned eggs for midday meal because of this very idiotic reason ie it hurts "veggie sentiments". tomorrow, they might as well ban all non veg food claiming its offensive to veggies.
if we, i mean our "rightist" compatriots are so "tolerant" why dont they show some maturity, leave this cow thing and concentrate on economy, education and social well being, just like our PM is trying hard to do.
BJP got the mandate for betterment of our country not to fracture a social structure which had been successfully in place (again a rightist claim).
cheers.

the problem imo is not the ban on cow slaughter, it is enforcing one's eating habits.
the reason why "sickulars" like me are opposed to any such diktats is because this will not stop at cows, it will continue in restrictions to other eatables as well. for eg, if my memory serves right, the MP govt banned eggs for midday meal because of this very idiotic reason ie it hurts "veggie sentiments". tomorrow, they might as well ban all non veg food claiming its offensive to veggies.
if we, i mean our "rightist" compatriots are so "tolerant" why dont they show some maturity, leave this cow thing and concentrate on economy, education and social well being, just like our PM is trying hard to do.
BJP got the mandate for betterment of our country not to fracture a social structure which had been successfully in place (again a rightist claim).
cheers.

Most sensible post in the thread.. While at it both sides are being hypocrite bunch of wankers, Either you eat all farm bred meat that's produced for human consumption includes COWS, goats, PIGS and Chicken or go Vegan (Including not eating seafood)

Ones food choices need not be dictated by religions dogma either by choice or force

@Gibbs @takeiteasy
i guess we as a nation, fail to learn from history. and even if we do, we tend to focus on all the wrong parts.
almost all of the members here are learned and informed. they know how the nazi party grabbed power with a huge mandate (because the socialists kept their infighting) and what followed then on.
moving nearer, we know how pakistan went from a model of developement (at least the south koreans thought so) to a very deplorable situation today (good that it has largely realised its mistakes and going up). Bhutto and Zia did what they had to do.
i just hope Modi become our Den Xiopao (sorry i forgot his name) than Hitler.
Hindu supremacists, as any other, would fight tooth and nail to establish the social, economical and political order that was prevelant before the muslim / east india invaders came in and wrecked their super comfortable lifestyle. and as gullible/uneducated/uninformed our general mass is, i expect the worst.
i sincerely believe my prediction will not come true.
Most sensible post in the thread.. While at it both sides are being hypocrite bunch of wankers, Either you eat all farm bred meat that's produced for human consumption includes COWS, goats, PIGS and Chicken or go Vegan (Including not eating seafood)

Ones food choices need not be dictated by religions dogma either by choice or force

Yes. This is just a tool to unleash Hindutva terror. They want Hindu Rashtra and they spread terror and anarchy to achieve that. Tomorrow it may not be cow, can be fish or mutton or poultry whatever. They are the Virat Hindus who wants Hindustan not India.

i just hope Modi become our Den Xiopao
When a fellow's brain was put on pawn at a RSS Sakha that too at a very tender age, Can we expect Deng Xiaoping in him? NEVER. Someone whose thought process affected by what is taught in Sakhas - the ideologies of ancient terrorists like Golwalkar and Savarkar, no sanity can be expected. Besides, who will forget 2002? All these RSS IT cell whitewashing cannot whiten the dark stains of RSS terror.

eh @saiyan0321 ... got tagged by you to pages of .... 'enlightenment'!!!:p:

Actually, there is no problem in having your beef/pork/chicken/dog/cat/earthworm etc. The issue is that there is a law in India .. under Article 48 of the Constitution of India.

I shall post the necessary extract:

48. Organisation of agriculture and animal husbandry.—The State shall endeavour to organise agriculture and animal husbandry on modern and scientific lines and shall, in particular, take steps for preserving and improving the breeds, and prohibiting the slaughter, of cows and calves and other milch and draught cattle.

source:
http://lawmin.nic.in/olwing/coi/coi-english/Const.Pock 2Pg.Rom8Fsss(7).pdf

Now just because BJP has come into power in UP, and this is only one small step in a series of steps introduced to get semblance of rule of law in UP (Western UP is called the Wild West after all), there is a hue and cry.

A perfect admixture of politics, religion and general ignorance and propensity to undermine laws of a nation.:disagree:

http://archive.indianexpress.com/news/sc-laws-prohibiting-cow-slaughter-constitutional/1426/

When a fellow's brain was put on pawn at a RSS Sakha that too at a very tender age, Can we expect Deng Xiaoping in him? NEVER. Someone whose thought process affected by what is taught in Sakhas - the ideologies of ancient terrorists like Golwalkar and Savarkar, no sanity can be expected. Besides, who will forget 2002? All these RSS IT cell whitewashing cannot whiten the dark stains of RSS terror.
We can only hope for the best. In the past, Vajpayee ji to crossed the lines with RSS.
If Modi ji is a true leader, he will think and act beyond party/Sangh politics.