36 Rafale, 3 squadrons of Su-30 MKI and LCA MK-II fighter jets to arm the IAF

Suman

NEW DELHI: As the number of fighter squadrons steadily dip, India will make do with the 36 Rafale Fighters, three squadrons of the Russian Made SU-30MKI that are in the making and make up the rest of the numbers with the indigenously made Tejas (Mark-II).

"We plan to induct as many as a Tejas Mark-II to make up the number" a senior Indian Air Force (IAF) official told NDTV.

The Indian Air Force requires 42-44 Squadrons of fighters to deal with Western and Northern borders. It has only about 34 Squadrons of fighters. And, it will have to retire about 14 squadrons of Mi-G-21 and MiG-27 fighters by 2022.

Earlier, speaking to Press Trust of India, Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar said that India is unlikely to increase the number of Rafale fighters. The defence minister said that French-made jets were "way too expensive."

The Modi government has also questioned UPA for clearing the French fighter deal which was likely to cost the nation over USD 20 Billion.

"I also feel like having a BMW and Mercedes. But I don't because I can't afford it. First I can't afford it and second I don't need it. So, 126 Rafales was economically unviable. It was not required," Mr Parrikar said.

The proposal to buy 126 French Fighters fell through after nearly decade-long negotiations between India and France. Faced with the dipping number of Fighters, India decided to buy 36 "ready-to-fly" fighters instead of trying to acquire technology from Dassault and make it in India.

"It is a very pragmatic decision considering the shortfall and capability gaps" a senior IAF officer told NDTV.

The only issue i see is the LCA MK2. The prioritization in the program and ability to adhere the deadlines by all 3 agencies - DRDO/HAL/ADA.
I hope they start work on it quickly and get more than just 3 prototypes.. possibly 6 and clock as much flight hours as possible before say 2021-22 to maximise the potential of the aircraft before mass production.
i also hope production rate form the start would be closer to 14-16 birds a year and ramped upto 30-36 birds a year to meet the urgency of numbers.
Finally Tejas program would get its due, and with patience we get our own world class product..

Rather pragmatic approach. The Tejas will finally live to see its full potential as it should be. Although I think a lot of the strong arming was also done to the IAF to "know their place" and get realistic.

Tejas will now have a strong future.

This govt wants DESI MAAL

Kaya kare yaar, Foreign maal khane ki aadat par gaye hai. Paisa kaise milayga.
That's y HF-24 jet project was killed.
Nothing to do with foreign equipment. Had to do with getting out of hand and trying to exploit the sudden love for defence spending unfairly. The IAF was acting like a spoilt child and Parikar put them in their place.

images

images

images

These beasts will be backbone of IAF :smitten:

Nothing to do with foreign equipment. Had to do with getting out of hand and trying to exploit the sudden love for defence spending unfairly. The IAF was acting like a spoilt child and Parikar put them in their place.

Parikar knows how to to get things done, The proper way.
Rafael deal isnt finished. It will have a part 2. Sit back n watch Parikar squeeze more from the French.

Exactly

Parikar knows how to to get things done, The proper way.
Rafael deal isnt finished. It will have a part 2. Sit back n watch Parikar squeeze more from the French.
I doubt it. If he is pragmatic and no egoistic, he will leave the Rafale at maximum of 3-4 squadrons and concentrate on making the proper Tejas(Mk.II) and the FGFA, along with preparing the AMCA program to do a better job than the disaster that was the project management of Tejas(and Arjun). The only way to acheive that is to let TATA,Reliance and other private firms with their PRESET quality control and corporate cut throat mentality take a major role in these programs.

I feel like the IAF has been badly mismanaged in the fighter aircraft category.

The LCA is so behind schedule it is laughable.

The MMRCA has been a disaster. The IAF would have been better off with the Mirage 2000 production line that was offered by France.

The Sukhoi is the lone bright spot and even this plane is facing major problems with serviceability.

If a two front war breaks out I dont see the IAF having the numbers necessary to defeat the enemy.

Very much versatile and it provides you with lot of options.
Light ,medium ,heavy trio
And both MKIs + Rafales are payload monsters.
Mind you 36 is not bad a number.Considering that there is already a 5th generation AC in the pipeline, it's a very good compromise.

There is a wow factor to it.

mbmrp.jpg
Sums it up with a thumbs up.

Quantity over quality wins many a time in wars. I would prefer 5 Tejas to a lone Rafale.

What India should do is have 2 to 3 squadrons of Rafale and fill the number with Tejas. I would also say make SAAB the partner in Tejas program. This would make Tejas a potent platform.

Dont expect much from usa. Let carter come and see what we get from them .
I would like navy to go for another vikrant class than expensive emal which will definately take more than a decade to materlise.
As for tejas we will get tejas mk1p with aesa in 2017. So does that mean no foc in 2015?

Military Forum Latest Posts