Valentine’s Day Celebrations Banned All Across Pakistan: IHC

Valentines day is actually about Love in general, not just about romantic love.

But IHC and the President are right.
It does not fit into Pakistan's traditions and values.

Stupid ban

1- Saying someone "I Love you" or giving someone a gift is not haram. Never was. Really find a line any where in religious text (no derrived interpretation) which states it is haram

2- You will always find statements, where people used to come to Prophet to ask , I love or feel attracted to
such and such women what should I do ? and they were normally advised on social level privately. to get married by proposal or abstain etc)
Such examples exist openly in hadith books (not talking about some book some Saudi Mulla wrote last
20-30 years ago)

3- A society where you can't say or share love , is not natural. Without decleration of love , or interest almost noone will get married

This statement

"Yeh Hamare culture main nahi hai" , "Translation - This is not part of our culture"
  • Can someone exaplain to me how in our culture man / women declare their admiration for one an other?

Aek Card or small choclate box hai , not an invitation to jump into bed with anyone

Valentine just a mere gift exchange

Time for reality Check

Reference
Sahih al-Bukhari 2585
In-book reference : Book 51, Hadith 19
Narrated `Aisha:

"Allah's Messenger (ﷺ) used to accept gifts and used to give something in return."

Reference
Sahih al-Bukhari 2574
In-book reference : Book 51, Hadith 9

"The people used to look forward for the days of my (`Aisha's) turn to send gifts to Allah's Messenger (ﷺ) in order to please him."

General practice of gift giving in culture very very very common
Arabic/English book reference : Book 1, Hadith 124

"O Muslim women, never belittle any gift you give your neighbour even if it is a hoof of a sheep".

Reference
Jami` at-Tirmidhi 1084
In-book reference : Book 11, Hadith 5

The Messenger of Allah said: "When someone whose religion and character you are pleased with proposes (intent to marry) to one of you, then marry to him."

So if someone can't even show intent or interest because we all should hide in cave and not approach women , may be our court can explain how men and women are suppose to show intent or interest to each other

Following a borrowed system from UK and making amendments to show we are Muslim.Impose Muslim law that is perfect solution for all minorities to live the life in freedom.

Valentine's day is haraam.

The ban is correct.

We used to have this ban Valentines call in India till few years ago as well but now it has become a part of our culture. Even the older generation celebrates it

Oh the irony..
Congrats Pakistanis for curbing social rights of human using Islam..That explains what whole world is paranoid about now days..

Right-wing groups are set to disrupt the Valentine's Day celebrations this year too. Bajrang Dal, which propagated celebrating the day as "matra-pitra diwas" last year is set to launch a week-long "balidan saptah" this year in the memory of martyrs like, Bhagat Singh, Rajguru and Sukhdev. Vishwa Hindu Parishad activists threatened to drag courting couples to Arya Samaj mandirs for summary marriages.

Bajrang Dal national president Rajesh Pandey said they would not be putting any "restrictions" on couples but would launch the "balidaan saptah" celebrations across the country to wean away youngsters from the "Western influence". Claiming that the V-Day celebrations were on the wane in all major cities, Pandey said, "Our youth must be nationalist rather than blindly following foreign culture."

VHP's Ajju Chauhan said the activists would be on the lookout for courting couples on V-Day. "We will take all such couple to the nearest Arya Samaj mandir and get them married," he said, claiming that arrangements to conduct such marriages would be put in place two days before February 14.

A young couple, on the condition of anonymity, told TOI that such threats from the right-wing groups do make them uncomfortable, but do not deter them from celebrating the festival of love. "From Sunday onwards, I'd give her a gift every single day," the young college-going boy said.

Mridula Bawai, owner of Hallmark Anugraha at Sanjay Place, said arrangements are already in place for Feb 14 and the week preceding that. "Celebrations would start from Sunday, the Rose Day, and we are stocking gifts for each and every day," she said, adding that business grows around this time every year.

Pankaj Agarwal, owner of Vatica flower shop at Sanjay Place, said orders for roses have already gone up by 50% and would go even higher in the coming days. "Chocolate bouquet is likely to be a hit this season," Agarwal added.

M_Id_460841_valentine_day.jpg

9508250.jpg

9508250.jpg

Mangalore-Bajrang-Dal-protests-against-Valentine-Day-celebrations-01.jpg

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bajrang Dal Valentine’s Day threat irks youth

THE ASIAN AGE. | AKSHAYA KUMAR SAHOO
Published : Feb 13, 2017, 2:03 am IST
Updated : Feb 13, 2017, 6:40 am IST

The group said it wants to protest against “westernisation” of Indian culture.
aa-Cover-kk4car5489anujmdusod41e7i5-20170213020157.Medi.jpeg

Bajrang Dal members Sunday said they will marry off boys and girls seen together at parks. (Representational Image)
Bhubaneswar: The Odisha unit of the Bajrang Dal will go on ‘moral policing’ patrols at parks, eateries and shopping malls in Bhubaneswar on Tuesday, Valentine’s Day, Bajrang Dal activist Bhubesh Nayak said Sunday.

Bajrang Dal members Sunday said they will marry off boys and girls seen together at parks.

“Valentine’s Day celebration will be protested as a whole. If any couple is found involved in an indecent act or in a compromising position at public places, we will force them to marry in presence of their guardians,” Mr Nayak said.

The youth in Odisha’s capital, however, are disappointed with the Bajrang Dal’s “threat”. They want to celebrate Valentine’s Day properly.

“We are eagerly waiting for Valentine’s Day. This is the day when we express our love. Moral policing by Bajrang Dal in Odisha has always caused panic for us,” said Saibalini Samal, a student of Ramadevi Women’s University.

“We never support their act of forcing couples to marry,” she added.

The police has made tight security arrangements to maintain law and order, deputy commissioner of police Satyabrat Bhoi said.

“Police will be deployed at malls, parks and some public places to avert any untoward incident. Anybody found disturbing law and order will be taken to custody,” he said.

http://www.asianage.com/india/all-india/130217/bajrang-dal-valentines-day-threat-irks-youth.html

Bajrang Dal vows for moral policing on V-Day

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of the Valentine’s Day, Bajrang Dal has threatened to make rounds of the parks, eateries and shopping malls in the City to protest against the ‘westernisation’ of Indian culture. They announced to solemnise the marriage of boys and girls in presence of their parents in full public view at the place where they will be caught.

“The Valentine’s Day celebration will be protested as a whole. If any couple is found involved in indecent act or in a compromising position at public places, we will force them to marry each other in presence of their guardians”, district convenor of Bajrang Dal, Bhubesh Nayak said.

The young love birds have not supported the moral policing of the saffron brigade.

“The young boys and girls are excited over the Valentine’s Day, but feared to celebrate it. We never support their act of forcing the couple to marry each other”, said Ankita, a student.

On the other hand, elaborate security arrangements have been made to keep an eye on nuisance creators and ensure peace, DCP Satyabrat Bhoi said.

“Police forces will be deployed at malls, parks and some public places to avert any untoward incident. Anybody found creating law and order situation will be taken to task”, he added.

https://odishatv.in/odisha/body-slider/bajrang-dal-vows-for-moral-policing-on-v-day-193879/
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Oh the irony..
Congrats Indians for curbing social rights of human using Hinduism..That explains what whole world is paranoid about now days..

To hell with valentine's day. Its a sh!!ty holiday.
its stupid. period.
It conflicts with our culture.

Do not make it Pakistan-India troll fest or else you all can think of dire consequences.

Those people comes out every year from cave to continue havoc but people will reject them this year like every other years in past..Our constitution gives equal social right to every person..
Here there is no Bajrang dal or any right wing group but Islamabad high court..
Yeah, Narendra Modi also came from a cave, involved in mass murder of muslims and become the minister.Learn to send them to their caves back first. We are standing with our high courts and do not consider banning valentine's day as "violation to human rights". Go shoo away, and be careful with your girl friend or else they will get you. ;)

regards

Right-wing groups are set to disrupt the Valentine's Day celebrations this year too. Bajrang Dal, which propagated celebrating the day as "matra-pitra diwas" last year is set to launch a week-long "balidan saptah" this year in the memory of martyrs like, Bhagat Singh, Rajguru and Sukhdev. Vishwa Hindu Parishad activists threatened to drag courting couples to Arya Samaj mandirs for summary marriages.

Bajrang Dal national president Rajesh Pandey said they would not be putting any "restrictions" on couples but would launch the "balidaan saptah" celebrations across the country to wean away youngsters from the "Western influence". Claiming that the V-Day celebrations were on the wane in all major cities, Pandey said, "Our youth must be nationalist rather than blindly following foreign culture."

VHP's Ajju Chauhan said the activists would be on the lookout for courting couples on V-Day. "We will take all such couple to the nearest Arya Samaj mandir and get them married," he said, claiming that arrangements to conduct such marriages would be put in place two days before February 14.

A young couple, on the condition of anonymity, told TOI that such threats from the right-wing groups do make them uncomfortable, but do not deter them from celebrating the festival of love. "From Sunday onwards, I'd give her a gift every single day," the young college-going boy said.

Mridula Bawai, owner of Hallmark Anugraha at Sanjay Place, said arrangements are already in place for Feb 14 and the week preceding that. "Celebrations would start from Sunday, the Rose Day, and we are stocking gifts for each and every day," she said, adding that business grows around this time every year.

Pankaj Agarwal, owner of Vatica flower shop at Sanjay Place, said orders for roses have already gone up by 50% and would go even higher in the coming days. "Chocolate bouquet is likely to be a hit this season," Agarwal added.

M_Id_460841_valentine_day.jpg

9508250.jpg

9508250.jpg

Mangalore-Bajrang-Dal-protests-against-Valentine-Day-celebrations-01.jpg

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE ASIAN AGE. | AKSHAYA KUMAR SAHOO
Published : Feb 13, 2017, 2:03 am IST
Updated : Feb 13, 2017, 6:40 am IST

aa-Cover-kk4car5489anujmdusod41e7i5-20170213020157.Medi.jpeg

Bajrang Dal members Sunday said they will marry off boys and girls seen together at parks. (Representational Image)
Bhubaneswar: The Odisha unit of the Bajrang Dal will go on ‘moral policing’ patrols at parks, eateries and shopping malls in Bhubaneswar on Tuesday, Valentine’s Day, Bajrang Dal activist Bhubesh Nayak said Sunday.

Bajrang Dal members Sunday said they will marry off boys and girls seen together at parks.

“Valentine’s Day celebration will be protested as a whole. If any couple is found involved in an indecent act or in a compromising position at public places, we will force them to marry in presence of their guardians,” Mr Nayak said.

The youth in Odisha’s capital, however, are disappointed with the Bajrang Dal’s “threat”. They want to celebrate Valentine’s Day properly.

“We are eagerly waiting for Valentine’s Day. This is the day when we express our love. Moral policing by Bajrang Dal in Odisha has always caused panic for us,” said Saibalini Samal, a student of Ramadevi Women’s University.

“We never support their act of forcing couples to marry,” she added.

The police has made tight security arrangements to maintain law and order, deputy commissioner of police Satyabrat Bhoi said.

“Police will be deployed at malls, parks and some public places to avert any untoward incident. Anybody found disturbing law and order will be taken to custody,” he said.

http://www.asianage.com/india/all-india/130217/bajrang-dal-valentines-day-threat-irks-youth.html

Bajrang Dal vows for moral policing on V-Day

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of the Valentine’s Day, Bajrang Dal has threatened to make rounds of the parks, eateries and shopping malls in the City to protest against the ‘westernisation’ of Indian culture. They announced to solemnise the marriage of boys and girls in presence of their parents in full public view at the place where they will be caught.

“The Valentine’s Day celebration will be protested as a whole. If any couple is found involved in indecent act or in a compromising position at public places, we will force them to marry each other in presence of their guardians”, district convenor of Bajrang Dal, Bhubesh Nayak said.

The young love birds have not supported the moral policing of the saffron brigade.

“The young boys and girls are excited over the Valentine’s Day, but feared to celebrate it. We never support their act of forcing the couple to marry each other”, said Ankita, a student.

On the other hand, elaborate security arrangements have been made to keep an eye on nuisance creators and ensure peace, DCP Satyabrat Bhoi said.

“Police forces will be deployed at malls, parks and some public places to avert any untoward incident. Anybody found creating law and order situation will be taken to task”, he added.

https://odishatv.in/odisha/body-slider/bajrang-dal-vows-for-moral-policing-on-v-day-193879/

Oh the irony..
Congrats Indians for curbing social rights of human using Hinduism..That explains what whole world is paranoid about now days..

Little point. He is only here to troll senselessly. I have no clue what form of misery it is that he comes here to escape and vent out that frustration from said misery. Anyhow

Its less about religion ( such practices are not allowed in many religions especially abarhamic) but more about the conservative nature of the area. South Asia, south east asia, south west asia, middle east e.t.c are simply conservative and hail from a conservative culture thus leading to questions being raised on such holidays.

Between you and me. This is an over hyped holiday that finds its massive source in companies who want people to buy useless gifts as an expression of love. Love is NOT stuffed red teddy bear. Its sacrifice, compromise and accepting the flaws of the other. That's love. Not some company hyped holiday where people waste thousands of rupees on an individual scale simply to showcase love by buying materialistic things which is the exact opposite of love quite frankly. Ridiculous.

I don't care whether its banned or not but if forced opinion. I am on Ban side. :p :p :p

Narendra modi/Mass murder that's different context sir ji.We still have all Hindus Muslims Christians living together in 2017. And I also can give several example related to Pakistan but what's the point.:)
Anyway it's your land your rule..:tup:

In Pakistan, Hindu, Muslims and Christians are also living together.Happy foruming without trolling, remember that.;)

Little point. He is only here to troll senselessly. I have no clue what form of misery it is that he comes here to escape and vent out that frustration from said misery. Anyhow

Its less about religion ( such practices are not allowed in many religions especially abarhamic) but more about the conservative nature of the area. South Asia, south east asia, south west asia, middle east e.t.c are simply conservative and hail from a conservative culture thus leading to questions being raised on such holidays.

Between you and me. This is an over hyped holiday that finds its massive source in companies who want people to buy useless gifts as an expression of love. Love is NOT stuffed red teddy bear. Its sacrifice, compromise and accepting the flaws of the other. That's love. Not some company hyped holiday where people waste thousands of rupees on an individual scale simply to showcase love by buying materialistic things which is the exact opposite of love quite frankly. Ridiculous.

I don't care whether its banned or not but if forced opinion. I am on Ban side. :p :p :p

V-day is not the only day to have 'love'.You have whole year to ruin your life and hereafter.See, if you like somebody and you are interested to marry is something else.It is not at all forbidden in Islam either. In fact, if marriage is unwanted, then it is not accepted at all.A/c to hadith, a girl came to Rasool Allah(SAW) complaining that she was forced to marry. Rasool Allah(SAW) without any delay, announced the rejection of marriage.
Now, having girl friend for time pass and vice versa is like bearing a burden on your shoulders.Why are you carrying this burden when it is not ever lasting, when this pleasure is not ever lasting and when your afterlife offers everlasting torment. Avoid it.
The below video highlights an amazing story from Risala e Nur 7th collection.Please look at this video and express your point of view as well :)

regards

Tongue-in-cheek, of course:

http://images.dawn.com/news/1177095/5-people-who-are-secretly-happy-about-the-ban-on-valentines-day

5 people who are secretly happy about the ban on Valentine's Day
IMAGES STAFF

DESK REPORT

We mean, that's why noone's protesting against the ban, right? Not because it's totally irrelevant?

Valentine's Day has been banned in Pakistan... and noone seems to care.

There's no furious hashtagging on Twitter, no one's made a sarcastic meme (yet) and we guess it's too early in the week to think about protests and rallies. Yawn.

Why the silence, we wonder?

Could it be that people don't care about Valentine's and the government's actually wasted time, resources and possibly taxpayer money in announcing an exceedingly irrelevant ban? Nah, they wouldn't do thaaat.

Maaaybe, people are secretly happy about the ban. Yes, that has to be it.

Here's 5 kinds of people who could be secretly happy about the ban on Valentine's Day celebrations.

1) Single people. Duh.

giphy.gif

As Bina Shah tweeted with mock candour, "I'm single so I hate Valentine's Day anyway. You should all be as miserable as me."

Clapping for honesty.

2) Workaholics

funny-job-gif-13.gif

"Valentine's is falling on a Tuesday this year. Totally inconvenient! I could have a meeting that day... My boss usually calls me in the evening... I can't afford a late night in the middle of the week..."

Just marry your job, okay?

3) The *kanjoos*

giphy.gif

You were probably as happy about this ban as you were sad about the blocking of ********.

"Oh no sweety, I can't take you out to that nice cafe. How about we make Maggi at home and watch a movie on my laptop?"

Phft, cheapskate.

4) The conspiracy theorist

giphy.gif

"Let's get real. Valentine's Day is all an invention of the Illuminati. The whole concept of chocolates on V-day is a yahoodi saazish, cupid is a RAW agent and global warming is a hoax. Wake up people."

How do you sleep at night, bro?

5) The hipster

giphy.gif

"Ugh, Valentine's Day is so commercial. Chocolates are overrated, have you ever tried kale? I'm going to follow the South Korean tradition of Candle Day."

Yeah, we don't know what that is but we doubt you do either.

This article is categorised as humour/satire.

its not a curve ball, a genuine question considering how things work in India... not sure about pakistan but I suspect not much different.
my original(now modified) question was why do we need a research to determine why children are preferring to find partner themselves instead of asking parent's help. Is it not natural anyway? thats the normal thing to do for any teenager and older(adult)... in any society...
the research should be into 'how desi society is capable of managing a grip on younger folks and keeping them infantile by taking all decision on their behalf(while giving some rudimentary sense of free will sometimes) when its unheard of in many other part of the world. Is it deference to old age? lack of economic independence at young age?
You just described how things currently work, and I have nothing against people helping in finding partner(parents, friends whoever).. we are talking about that being the primary driver, marriage/companionship is pretty individual thing I would say.

When you put them in driving seat, izzat, biradri, family relation becomes important.... if there is a cousin of marriageable age, there will be pressure in considering her, and lot of heartburn if you dont.

Hmm... So your idea/ contention is .. that why do parents/ families butt in, when the natural order of things is two individuals being attracted to each other and making their decision for themselves ... In your opinion that's a natural way of doing things. Gotta hand it to ya, a good question that makes one think.

The simple answer would be protection. Protection is the reason for checks and balances, where elders are loaded with the responsibility of marrying their children to a suitable guy or a gal. Why? because you need some rationality at the table. Ultimately, the decision is still up to the guy and the gal, where they have every right to say yes or no.
The trade off is protection in the long terms for a bit of freedom where things such as experience and rationality of the elders maximizes the potential for a successful marriage. Now of course, there are people who try to take advantage of this system, in order to benefit their families etc. and force their children to marry such and such, which is why the last decision maker is the individual.

Coming to the point of the "natural way of things". How do we define "natural" ? People who support certain behaviors cite the examples of animals who exhibit said behavior as a natural thing.Well, if animals are the true representation of what's natural, we know species of monkeys like Orangutans are known to 'force mate' with the females.The question now becomes, what is the compass that determines whats natural and whats not ? My opinion is that a person's values are what determine, what's natural for that person and the culture acts as an oversight, setting in stone as to whats natural in that society.

So if your a conservative living in a christian household where you agree with the values of Christianity, your most likely to date and abstain before you go out and marry. If your more of a free spirit, your more likely to have many relationships, and then settle down with one. The US allows this kind of behavior because at a societal level, they think freedom to this extent is natural because they agree to such a system (majority). However, the fruits of such a system are "baby mamas" and kids who haven't seen their dads their whole life, or dads who have to pay child support without even being biological fathers to a child etc. Like I said the divorce rate is through the roof when it comes to such countries. In terms of research, kids from a stable household are more likely to do better at school and at life in general. Again, we come to the trade off, which in this case would be freedom in dating for a high possibility of life changing repercussions in the future for both this and the next generation.

As a country, we've decided that our betterment is in a societal system, that protects our current and future generations. Freedom has it's tradeoff's and in our case we think the trade off isn't worth it ...

Flying is a Western invention, and not a Muslim tradition,
yet Pakistan Air Force is doing just that.
Will there be a Fatwa vs JF-17?

As usual your post is NONSENSICAL. What do you mean by that?
Did you ever heard about ibne Farnas?
Google it and use your mind... if you don't have.. borrow from the neighbour