What Are You Listening to Right Now - Round 2

oh @Zibago didn't even thank the post.

and the rest of the long list of tagees only thanked.

though as moonlight says she will get to that post.

let me tag @Levina as well.
I had gone through the list of songs.
Infact I wanted to add one to the list
A hundred miles (English)-> inspired Hindi version-> Jab koyi baat Bigad jaye jab koyi mushkil pad jaaye.
Infact I once sang both the songs,in continuation, at a party, and ppl at the party were pretty surprised that this Hindi song had been a copy too. Unfortunate!
I love both the songs though. :)

I had gone through the list of songs.
Infact I wanted to add one to the list
A hundred miles (English)-> inspired Hindi version-> Jab koyi baat Bigad jaye jab koyi mushkil pad jaaye.

hmm, i didn't know that... thanks.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqMEI_bDKH8

it is such a clean song and unhurried and melodious and evocative... totally different to the noisy, super-fast and frivolous filth that generally defines english singing now.

the song reminds me of collabro group's audition in the 2014 'britain's got talent'.. watch the audience's reaction :

www.youtube.com/watch?v=ob5UJS2WwQ8

and the fallen angel track in above song makes me post 'aye khuda' which i had been intending to do for some days... even for me this was a highly emotional watching... as with many good songs this also has emraan hashmi :

www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8_vDn1wsYE

the line "main hi hoon jo rehmat se gira" is just...

@Zibago @django @Mentee @BDforever @Moonlight

@B+ Dracula

mentee, the visuals of the song complimented the lyrics, yes??

Infact I once sang both the songs,in continuation, at a party, and ppl at the party were pretty surprised that this Hindi song had been a copy too. Unfortunate!
I love both the songs though. :)

the hindi one is good too, though the composer should have acknowledged in a film magazine that it is copied/inspired from 'a hundred miles'.

so you have a singing voice??

and incidentally i have been intending to do a little song i heard on a youtube channel... will do soon and upload it on soundcloud.

this is a short list of some bombay films songs ( bollywood ) that are inspired by music in arabic and farsi... and the arabic originals have different cultural origins... i will list the hindi song and then the original and any extra when applicable... the hindi songs were either hits or super-hits or did okay.

our algerian friend, @Ceylal , may be interested in songs 2 and 5 and the bonus... serbian member, @proka89 , may be interested in song 2... our iranian friend, @2800 , will be interested in song 3... our egyptian friend, @Mahmoud_EGY , may be interested in song 4.

1. 'ya ali' is from the 2006 film 'gangster' and film is about redemption of a gangster... the song brought the singer, zubeen garg, into limelight... he actually appears in the song as the singer... the song was a sensational hit :

Ya Ali - Gangster HD - YouTube

the original is 'ya ghali' ( "o my precious" ) from the kuwaiti band 'guitara' and sung by a female singer ( rahaf, i think[1] ) and sung beautifully and i wish i could understand arabic... the song came out in 2003 according to a comment in a youtube page[2] for the song and this page doesn't have the original vid so not posting it just below but posting the original vid... you will find the south asian string music instrument sitar in the beginning and there is some more south asian inclusion as well... didn't understand the vid though :

Ya Ghali - Guitara - YouTube

2. 'kaali naagin ke jaise' from the 1999 film 'mann' ( a nice film really )... this is a nicely produced piece having the top stars aamir khan and rani mukherjee ( she was then ) with nice dance steps though the lyrics become repetitive and should have been more... rani looked so lovely in those days and her expressions are so natural and appealing... ignore the first 15 seconds of the vid :

Kali Nagin Ke Jaise - Mann (1080p HD Song) - YouTube

the immediate original for this was 'ya rayah' ( 1997 ) by the algeria-origin singer rachid taha ( "rashid" for the desis ) but 'ya rayah' was originally composed and performed in the 1970's by the algerian, dahmane el harrachi[3]... nevertheless, here is the rachid taha version :

Rachid Taha - Ya Rayah [Clip Officiel,HD,Rai,Pop,1997] - YouTube

a serbian singer, zdravko colic ( the last name pronounced "colich" i believe ), adopted 'ya rayah' in 1997 for his song 'jako, jako slabo ti srce zavodis' and his music has a slight variation but to my non-serbian ears seems to mesh well with the lyrics :

Zdravko Colic - Jako, jako slabo ti srce zavodis - (Audio 1997) - YouTube

3. 'hawa hawa' was a superhit song of the late 80's util the mid 90's... it is from the 1988 hindi film 'don 2' and sung by the pakistani singer hasan jahangir... fun vid as well :

HINDI - HAWA HAWA E HAWA - YouTube

the original was the 1975 iranian song in farsi 'havaar havaar' by koorosh yaghmaee :

Kourosh Yaghmaei , Havar Havar :.: کوروش یغمایی ، هوار هوار - YouTube

you can find similarity in the hindi song following some words of the farsi song.

4. 'kaho na kaho' is from the 2004 film 'murder'... the song for which i am posting only audio ( ;) was again a super-hit and its pakistani singer, amir jamal[4], mixes arabic and hindi fluidly :

Kaho Na Kaho Song from Murder (2004): Listen & Download

please excuse above song's low upload quality.

the original is the 2000 arabic song 'tamally ma'ak'[5] by the egyptian singer, amr diab... good quality singing and nice vid story-line :

Tamally Maak - Amr Diab تملى معاك - عمرو دياب - YouTube

last year i also found this beautiful mixing of the amr diab song with a mexican vid and this one has a puma, a beautiful wild-cat native to the americas ( is any cat not beautiful?? )... the vid being a mexican one i got to know from a comment in this vid :

06-Amr Diab - Tamally Maak - YouTube

5. 'ladki ladki' ( "girls, those girls" ) is a fun song from the 1993 film 'shrimaan aashiq'... the song depicts a "brotherhood of suffered men" group who are warning male citizens of the dangers of falling in love with the ladies ( :D ) :

Rishi Kapoor Shreemaan Aashique 1993 Hindi Movie Song-Ladki Ladki - YouTube

the original is the 1992 'didi' by cheb khaled... this song ( the audio ) had become famous in india then despite most indians not knowing arabic :

"Didi" a 1992 song by Algerian artist Khaled (HD) Official Video - YouTube

and here is khaled singing 'didi' in hindi/urdu/hindustani ( :enjoy: ) :

khaled - Didi ( version indien) - YouTube

6. bonus song... 'abdul qadir' is a algerian folk song[6] in the algerian dialect of arabic and the man being spoken of, abdul qadir ibn muhieddine[7], was a algerian freedom fighter and sufi who fought against the french colonials in the mid-1800's ( ceylal can tell more )... this version is a live performance by three famous algerian singers ( khaled, rachid taha and faudel ) during a concert in paris in 1998... i like the melody and the energy of the singing and the lyrics are deep ( see below ) and for desi people ( south asians ) the song is actually a sufi qawwali... the musicians at the back are marvelous and i like how all three singers interact with the musicians... as a side note, rachid taha looks like some spanish playboy in manner of antonio banderas... anyway, hear away this fine song :
Abdul Qadir-Original - YouTube

the lyrics[8]... the other three people mentioned in the lyrics are spiritual/religious leaders and scholars and to know about them please look at the source :

Abdelkader Boualam, I don't feel well
Heal me ease my pain, be compassionate with me
x2

Sidi Abderrahman, prepare yourself and do your best
You are a capable person, for your obedient do a favour
x2

x2

Sidi Boumediene, on your land I'm safe
Sidi Boumediene, under your protection I feel safe
Sidi El Houari, my precious Sultan
Heal me, master Abdellah Sultan of Awliya

It's all about that poor and miserable girl
She got me in confusion, we had a good long time together
x2

x3

La la la la la la........

You the Wali come heal me ease my pain
Sidi Abderrahman heal me heal me heal me

---

right, i have taken 3+ hours to type this post... am logging-off to go to sleep... enjoy the music.

@Levina @Zibago @django @Mentee @Moonlight

@BDforever @Bilal9 @IrbiS @Aether @B+ Dracula

@The_Showstopper @jbgt90 @thesolar65

@Indos @haviZsultan @Chinese Bamboo @Aepsilons @Mr.Meap

@waz, i wanted you to not only enjoy the music but also watch song 6 so that we can analyze the cultural change in the algerian diaspora in france ( the audience in that concert )... ceylal can help us.

---

[1] Guitara — Free listening, videos, concerts, stats and pictures at Last.fm

[2] Guitara - Ya Ghali (Full Song) - YouTube

[3] Ya Rayah - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

[4] Amir Jamal - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

[5] Tamally Maak - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

[6] Abdel Kader (song) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

[7] Abdelkader El Djezairi - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

[8] Abdelkader lyrics - English translation (Version #2)

Thanks for the tag and sorry for the late reply.

I love that song 'Ya Ali'. It's just perfect. Melody and lyrics. (Y).

And then that Didi and Kaho Na Kaho are again two of the songs I don't mind listening. Both have ability to grab your attention. Lastly, I like that song "Abdul Qadir" I never heard it before. I liked it. It's catchy. And thanks for sharing it.

so you have a singing voice
Well you've heard me so you shld know better. :lol:
It was a party where everyone was supposed to sing and so did I.
I am an untrained bathroom singer, but I always make sure that after what i sing ppl forget about how I sang and concentrate on what I sang, for example in this case ppl were wondering about the copied songs in Bollywood. Lolz

the hindi one is good too, though the composer should have acknowledged in a film magazine that it is copied/inspired from 'a hundred miles
Let me surprise you with one of AR Rahman's songs.

The song is not copied but the background music is very similar.

Original song(all that she wants- ace of base).

AR Rahman's song...

Lastly, I like that song "Abdul Qadir" I never heard it before. I liked it. It's catchy. And thanks for sharing it.

for some reason it seems to have been known in turkey, as per the comments on the song's two yt pages, and some pakistanis there also said they knew of the song since childhood.

i can't figure out how.

okay, the seriousness of 'aye khuda' in my previous post i should have offset with this fine cheery song 'khuda hafiz'... turn on the volume :

in 'indian idol junior 2015' was a young man from rajasthan, moti khan, who had a style of his own, a folk style... here he sings a peaceful song 'surili akhiyon waale' :

and this one, 'dil ibaadat', which is originally in a different style he delivers in such a melancholic style as if he's a world weary 40 year old... marvelous :

for comparison this is the original :

and then 'aapki yaad aati rahi' by pakistani singer ahmed jahanzeb... a superb song that is a fine counterpart to the original by chaya ganguly :

and then two songs of rahat fateh ali khan :

but I always make sure that after what i sing ppl forget about how I sang and concentrate on what I sang, for example in this case ppl were wondering about the copied songs in Bollywood. Lolz

chalooooo !!

Let me surprise you with one of AR Rahman's songs.

The song is not copied but the background music is very similar.

Original song(all that she wants- ace of base).

AR Rahman's song...

yeah the beats are quite the same.

and what funny lyrics !! :D

but kamal hassan is such a good dancer, watch at 3:45 mins.

the fast beats of that song reminded me of "hello doctor, dil ki chori ho gayi" :

www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7vnozyQ1Q8

please listen to the song list in above section.

pharay gy if any one of these singers are still alive they should sue bollywood.period:P

and the fallen angel track in above song makes me post 'aye khuda' which i had been intending to do for some days... even for me this was a highly emotional watching... as with many good songs this also has emraan hashmi :

www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8_vDn1wsYE

the line "main hi hoon jo rehmat se gira" is just...

@Zibago @django @Mentee @BDforever @Moonlight

@B+ Dracula

mentee, the visuals of the song complimented the lyrics, yes??

well sir g there wasn't any fallen angel in the first place,it was my race,the Humankind:( and INSHALLAH i will take back my place,what Adam and Eve did was purely out of innocence,they didn't sin against HIM:)----coming to the visuals, not wholly but to some extent,yes, the visuals do justice with the lyrics

I love that song 'Ya Ali'. It's just perfect. Melody and lyrics. (Y).
kakay try this

pharay gy if any one of these singers are still alive they should sue bollywood.period:P

they must be long gone, but even otherwise i think they will be happy that their tune has been popularized far away. :D

well sir g there wasn't any fallen angel in the first place,it was my race,the Humankind:( and INSHALLAH i will take back my place

you will take back your place?? matbal??

coming to the visuals, not wholly but to some extent,yes, the visuals do justice with the lyrics

:tup:

kakay try this

a unusual song, though we must celebrate the fusion.

i liked the cinematography and i liked that instrument, duduk.

you will take back your place?? matbal??
my rightful place,bheek nahe---i call for a full fledged defamatory suit against the pseudo clergy for demeaning the STATUS of my Great Great Grand Father and Mother-----------:mad:
sir g shaitan khabees had made an outrageously ridicolous pattern out of this apple story,point being made is that this particular incident which is true, was is and will always going to be used to make humanity curse their very own existence---on the other hand to malign the Womankind,why? because, she is responsible for the existence and continuance of human race----have you ever heard father fuc** brother fuc*** it has always been motherf*** sis***------this evil notion had been planted in our subconscious that a woman is nothing but a curse for men---- every shitttttttt which happens in a man's life is due to her--------her brain is too small-------:blah:indirectly she's an idiot-------to be honest in the history of mankind except on some certain occasions we never gave her a level playing field,subsequently she resorted to the nefarious ploys, to secure matrimonial and other benefits----we made her like that didn't even spare the reproductive organs like penis and vagina -----have been successful in making these abusive as hell---and whats with that fuc this fuc that,do we think we look cool using profanity----------hell no---------we are the ones who are the object of the Love of Almighty,any angel jin e.t.c should come to terms with my kind,if not then deal with it--------------:butcher:
@Levina @Moonlight @Robinhood Pandey @jammersat @Zibago @karakoram

When I was going through a low patch in my life, I used to hear this song by Kylie Minogue...

The visuals of the song are totally in contrast to the almost mystic music. The song is not good visually but a treat to ears. I used to feel a sense of warmth and belonging after listening to this song.

a unusual song, though we must celebrate the fusion.

i liked the cinematography and i liked that instrument, duduk.

could not find more subtle explanation than this:)
"Those kids who are arguing against the outlook of the person (Ali Wali) and the feminine look don't know anything about the Oriental Mystic ways of the Mystic Poets and Saints. Be that Bullay Shah, Baba Fareed or Shah Abdul Latif Bhittai, all of them have worn the feminine identity to pose themselves weak and in love with the God and other saints and Imam etc. Here all the visuals are unbiased expression of truest love to Ali where the person( Ali Wali) smears Tilk of Ali's name, Ali's Mala, Ali's Chunri etc and dances without any other thought of the world." courtesy of a fb poster

my rightful place,bheek nahe---i call for a full fledged defamatory suit against the pseudo clergy for demeaning the STATUS of my Great Great Grand Father and Mother-----------:mad:

and you would be right in doing so.

on the other hand to malign the Womankind

yeah.

and reminds me of @Levina 's status update from some days ago.

why? because, she is responsible for the existence and continuance of human race----have you ever heard father fuc** brother fuc*** it has always been motherf*** sis***------this evil notion had been planted in our subconscious that a woman is nothing but a curse for men

yeah, and the youtube comments sections are the primary battlegrounds for such exchanges and the worst people are desis who either start cross-border slanging matches or are insulting to some female who's the subject in the vid or even some female commentor.

the only place where i have heard father fuc*** being used famously is the hilarious youtube channel of maxim bady... of course i don't support his use of that phrase and i think he too uses it to create opposition to the maa-behen ki gaali.

he is the baap of all reaction vids... three of his vids about which you are guaranteed to say "and hilarity ensues" and the original vids he is reacting to in his last two making you think "how can this be tolerated??" :

www.youtube.com/watch?v=KFlkQAb5IqU

www.youtube.com/watch?v=dMXyI63POT4

www.youtube.com/watch?v=acYYlOKnbMM

beyond that he is a drum of fresh air in a world that has gone insane with political correctness, consumerism, "fitness" consciousness, easy access to any vomit-inducing behavior/self-change as long as one has money or sympathy from the vegans/fake-feminists/hippies and others of that filthy kind, general capitalism and frivolous behavior.

i like how he says "soooooooo" at the beginning and "yallah" at the end of every vid.

---- every shitttttttt which happens in a man's life is due to her--------her brain is too small-------:blah:indirectly she's an idiot-------to be honest in the history of mankind except on some certain occasions we never gave her a level playing field,subsequently she resorted to the nefarious ploys, to secure matrnimonial and other benefits

here i must say that many females have also been misogynists, using social traditions and modern misguided or correct laws in being hateful and conspiratorial against some member of their own kind.

have been successful in making these abusive as hell---and whats with that fuc this fuc that,do we think we look cool using profanity----------hell no---------

no, we don't really look cool doing that. :)

just that many fools think they do.

we are the ones who are the object of the Love of Almighty,any angel jin e.t.c should come to terms with my kind,if not then deal with it--------------:butcher:

:tup:

umm, you tagged pandey ji. :D

could not find more subtle explanation than this:)
"Those kids who are arguing against the outlook of the person (Ali Wali) and the feminine look don't know anything about the Oriental Mystic ways of the Mystic Poets and Saints.

i don't know if i like this aspect or not, though theek hai.