Negative rating protocol

jaunty

I posted this on the other thread but I wasn't sure if that was the appropriate place, so cross posting it here again:

@WebMaster

I just wanted a clarification about this silly game that one person likes to play. I ask this because almost all 10 of my negative ratings have been awarded in that fashion by one particular person who once did not like me calling his idol "Taliban Khan" whereas many people use that with impunity. The game is

1) Award negative rating.
2) Immediately delete the post.
3) Follow it by a thread ban.
4) Often follow it by a warning (optional)

Is this a valid protocol? What is the point of giving negative rating to a post when you are going to delete it immediately? Doesn't it sort of defeat the purpose? It also leaves me without the option of contesting that rating.

I was wondering if a system where everything associated with a deleted post (ratings/thanks) gets deleted would be a better option.

Source: Wrong Post Ratings | Page 35

I posted this on the other thread but I wasn't sure if that was the appropriate place, so cross posting it here again:

@WebMaster

I just wanted a clarification about this silly game that one person likes to play. I ask this because almost all 10 of my negative ratings have been awarded in that fashion by one particular person who once did not like me calling his idol "Taliban Khan" whereas many people use that with impunity. The game is

1) Award negative rating.
2) Immediately delete the post.
3) Follow it by a thread ban.
4) Often follow it by a warning (optional)

Is this a valid protocol? What is the point of giving negative rating to a post when you are going to delete it immediately? Doesn't it sort of defeat the purpose? It also leaves me without the option of contesting that rating.

I was wondering if a system where everything associated with a deleted post (ratings/thanks) gets deleted would be a better option.

Source: Wrong Post Ratings | Page 35
this is some serious stuff… your officially a troll once you get 10+ ratings…
@WebMaster you should perhaps have the ratings where they expire after a certain amount of time…
since ratings control the quality of the posts then a person can be making bad posts today but few months he could become a high quality poster…. same with a person who is making good posts today he can become a bad poster tomorrow.

@Aeronaut

this is some serious stuff… your officially a troll once you get 10+ ratings…
@WebMaster you should perhaps have the ratings where they expire after a certain amount of time…
since ratings control the quality of the posts then a person can be making bad posts today but few months he could become a high quality poster…. same with a person who is making good posts today he can become a bad poster tomorrow.

@Aeronaut

Thanks, that is a good suggestion.

Bhai kyu dukhi hotey ho.Its just a virtual world,let them enjoy their rules and position.Chill mar yaara :tup::cheers:
Take the advice of @Sardar Singh here. No point being delusional.
aby kon sochta hai in batoon ko yaar tension na le

Don't worry I don't care about my ratings. If I did I would be politically correct and have low negatives. It's not that difficult.That is not a concern at all. I am just pointing out how the system has been abused. It is just a suggestion.

• Follow set rules as per forum book.
  • Use standard civil speak
Increase your post quality, have more substance than rhetoric and there would be no let alone any negative ratings/infractions.

• Follow set rules as per forum book.
  • Use standard civil speak
Increase your post quality, have more substance than rhetoric and there would be no let alone any negative ratings/infractions.
i've gotten negative rating simply stating something sandy didn't like…
it wasn't against forum rules..

Sandy is only around to be the equalizer, he has never given any Indian a neg only negs Pakistanis and Chinese even if Indians in the same thread also make troll remarks.

Don't worry I don't care about my ratings. If I did I would be politically correct and have low negatives. It's not that difficult.That is not a concern at all. I am just pointing out how the system has been abused. It is just a suggestion.

Of course you don't hence why you didn't make a thread concerning said ratings. :lol:

Neg Ratings can be reversed, just mention the team members, they will have a look and would reverse if that needs to be done.

Of course you don't hence why you didn't make a thread concerning said ratings.

If I did I would be posting goody goody things to please admins/mods/TTs. In case you haven't noticed I was talking about the abuse of the system, wasn't crying to get my ratings lowered, never have.

Chill bro. I never judge a person with ratings. I have no negative ratings but many highly qualified posters and much better posters than me have negative ratings so does that mean i am better than them? No! not at all. Ratings is just a small time crown here like the number of likes you get.
In the end its the quality of ones discussion and posting which will determine how people see him. Reputation should be amde here not by ratings or likes but by the amount of sense one speaks. Its only human nature that you wont give a positive rating to something you disagree with irrespective of how sensible and how meaningful the post is.

Chill bro. I never judge a person with ratings. I have no negative ratings but many highly qualified posters and much better posters than me have negative ratings so does that mean i am better than them? No! not at all. Ratings is just a small time crown here like the number of likes you get.
In the end its the quality of ones discussion and posting which will determine how people see him. Reputation should be amde here not by ratings or likes but by the amount of sense one speaks. Its only human nature that you wont give a positive rating to something you disagree with irrespective of how sensible and how meaningful the post is.

It was about abuse of power and I felt that it was something the @WebMaster should know. I am always chill.

Neg Ratings can be reversed, just mention the team members, they will have a look and would reverse if that needs to be done.

That is precisely the point I was trying to make. When you delete the post immediately after rating it negatively and impose a thread ban there is no option to contest such ratings. It is abuse of power and I am pretty sure you know very well who is that abuser I am talking about. :lol: