Remebering Kishore Kumar- 1929 To 1987

IND151

61135.jpg

Pradeep Somasundaran still remembers being mesmerised by “Dukhi man mere…” (Funtoosh), as he heard the song for the first time.

“I was in living in Gujarat at the time and I had heard the song on the Binaca Geetmala programme on radio,” says the playback singer. “I was bowled over by the voice; it was probably the first song of Kishore Kumar that I heard. I found him a singer completely different from anyone else I had heard till then.”

Kishore captivated everyone with his magical voice and distinct style of singing. His 85 birth anniversary falls tomorrow (August 4). He remains one of India’s most popular singers still.

Though he had been around from the 1950s, with hits like “Dukhi man mere…”, “Ek ladki bheegi bhaagi si…” (Chalti Ka Naam Gaadi), which he also acted, “Maana janab ne pukara nahin…” (Paying Guest), it was in the 1970s and ’80s that he truly rocked.

Aradhana (1969) did not make just Rajesh Khanna the superstar, but Kishore too, as a singer. “Mere sapnon ki raani…” and “Roop tera mastaana…” charmed an entire country. There was no stopping Kishore now.

If S.D. Burman had composed those songs that made Kishore, his son R.D. Burman established him as the voice of the Bollywood hero for two decades.

Some of Kishore’s best songs were tuned by R.D., like “Chingari koi bhadke…” (Amar Prem), “Mere naina saawan bhado…” (Mehbooba), “Diye jalte hain…’ (Namak Haraam), “Humein tumse pyar kitna…” (Khudrat), “O mere dil ke chain…” (Mere Jeevan Saathi), “Yeh shaam mastaani…” (Kati Patang) and “Rim jhim gire saawan…” (Manzil). They were all chart-toppers.

There were also some Kishore-R.D. gems that were not as celebrated, like “Jidhar dekhoon teri tasveer…” (Mahaan); both the singer and the composer are at their best here.

Then there was Aandhi, in which R.D. composed three of the finest duets off all time in Hindi cinema. We could never get tired of those songs by Kishore and Lata Mangeshkar – “Is mod pe jaaten hai…”, “Tum aa gaye ho…” and “Tere bina zindagi se…”

“R.D. brought the best out of Kishore,’ says Pradeep, the winner of ‘Meri Awaaz Suno’ (1996), one of India’s first music reality shows on television. “Kishore could make a mark at a time when Mohammad Rafi ruled Bollywood because of his unique voice and his soulful style of rendering.”

He was untrained as a singer, yes. But genius needs no training. And Kishore was a genius. Totally.

https://www.google.co.in/url?sa=t&r...44LYBQ&usg=AFQjCNFMdX-5cNALnsyLwKfKYhVOt41SKg

Kishor is Kishor. Uske bare main Kya kahen. Shabd bhi Kam pad jayege. It was unfortunate that he didn't remain with us for a long. He departed leaving us with a loss which can not be make up.

I love Kishore:)

P.S.
@IND151
I didnt see you opening the thread for Mohd Rafi. Clear proof that you are a communal bigot and dehshatgard bania.:D

I like most of his songs.
My favorites,
1. Yeh shaam mastani
2. Mere sapno ki rani
3. Chookar mere man ko
4. O mere Dil ke chaen
5. Roop tera mastana

I love Md. Rafi and Mukesh more.

I love Kishore:)

P.S.
@IND151
I didnt see you opening the thread for Mohd Rafi. Clear proof that you are a communal bigot and dehshatgard bania.:D
:what: your post shows you are itching for making it a point to divide.

NVM.

On topic

Kishor was a great singer . Love his voice

:what: your post shows you are itching for making it a point to divide.

NVM.

On topic

Kishor was a great singer . Love his voice
Arre yaar that was a mazaak!

Tune sirf meri burai karni hai kya:D

Arre yaar that was a mazaak!

Tune sirf meri burai karni hai kya:D

:P ab achai najar aye gi to karon na teri
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kishore Kumar: The dark side of genius

744166-Kishorecopy-1407166069-572-640x480.jpg

August 4 marks 85 years since late singer-actor Kishore Da was born. PHOTO: FILE

Mera jeevan kora kaaghaz kora hi reh gaya… Jo likha tha aansoon ke sung beh gaya,” sang the legendary Kishore Kumar for the 1974 film Kora Kagaz. But the actor-singer’s life away from the reel was anything but a ‘kora kaaghaz.’ With an illustrious career and public image, Kishore Da’s fans have long idolised him for his larger-than-life persona. However, not many know that behind the veil of enchanting glory lay a disenchanted man, who we unveil on his 85th birthday (August 4), as compiled from the Hindustan Times.

After earning his spurs in acting, singing and later, at stage shows, Kishore came to be known as a people’s person, but till the very end, he preferred to stay aloof, resulting in two polarised Kishores in one. Kishore wasn’t content with acting in films and wished to be left alone to sing.

He had to succumb to the pressure of his older brother, star Ashok Kumar, who wanted Kishore to step foot in acting. Initially, he was sometimes not paid for his work, which gradually made him paranoid, with the sense of underappreciation staying with him even when he became successful.

Kishore-Kumar.jpg

But just when his days of struggle were over and he found ground in singing, his personal life began troubling him. His first wife Ruma left him, only to find a new career and husband in Calcutta. Actor Madhubala, who was his second wife, passed away after nine years of marriage. The third woman he married, Yogeeta, decided to part ways with him on his 49thbirthday in 1978. It was only after this that he found marital solace with actor Leena Chandavarka.

When then prime minister Indira Gandhi declared a state of emergency in India during 1975 and 1977, Kishore was ordered to lend his vocals to a song supporting her 20-point plan. When he renounced the directive, the information and broadcasting minister at the time, VC Shukla, announced a ban on his voice on All India Radio.

Not only did he fall short of the record during the strife with political heavyweights, but also had a bad record of income tax payments. In an interview, he once showed his income tax files in shreds, stating mockingly, “Rats love to eat them. These are very effective as pesticide.”

Kishore Da didn’t smoke or drink and had no friends, thus kept away from social gatherings. By the late 1960s, he became increasingly disgruntled towards people, so he began treating his trees as pets, giving names to and conversing with them. Interestingly, he once had an architect redesign his house in a moat to deter people from meeting him, but the project was stalled.

He would give in if people pestered him for interviews, but then leave the scene, excusing himself via a note. What may come as a shock to his fans, his living room contained skulls and bones with red lights and spine-chilling music, the morbidity of which aimed at preventing unwelcome people from visiting him. Whether Kishore surrendered to sadness or was conquered by madness remains a mystery, but the artiste’s life is certainly worth deciphering.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 5th, 2014.

When then prime minister Indira Gandhi declared a state of emergency in India during 1975 and 1977, Kishore was ordered to lend his vocals to a song supporting her 20-point plan. When he renounced the directive, the information and broadcasting minister at the time, VC Shukla, announced a ban on his voice on All India Radio.
I thought he was just a mad genius. But seems his political conscience was active very much.

Since I grew up mostly in 90s my favorite bollywood singer is Kumar Sanu.

pal pal dil ke paas tum rahti ho....my fav song...

lolzz it doesnt matter what era you grew up as legends live forever. even we were not born when Kishor was on peek

Yes, he won consecutive awards for lending his voice. I just remember how sweet were those 90's movies with their songs.