Indian deputy consul general arrested in US on visa fraud charges

Hardly any chance! I read somewhere that her husband is a Pakistani!

WTF????!!!! :fie::fie::fie::fie:

She is married to a remarkable New York-born Indian-American who is a professor of philosophy and an oenophile, and who is combining the two passions to become a "wine philosopher."

Aakash Singh Rathore developed an interest in wines while teaching and writing his doctoral dissertation in Belgium in the early 2000s, after he which he also acquired his oenology qualifications from the University of Provence. It was around that time he met Devyani Khobragade, who was the studying German at the Goethe Institute in Berlin ahead of her posting there as a diplomat.

Soon after, he visited India's wine country in her home state Maharashtra and in Karnataka, spending long months at vineyards and wineries in and around Nashik, Pune, and Bangalore, the result of which was the first authoritative "Complete Indian Wine Guide" published in 2006. He has also served the Indian Government as an advisor to the Indian Grape Board.

Devyani case resolution complicated by marriage to US-born 'wine philosopher' - Times Of India

Yeah, She is our Agent 007 licensed to kill!! The author is hallucinating and is very good on conspiracy theories!! OMG!!:lol:

maybe author was invited for dinner at her home in the past & he was served a Fish.....but the fish was served RAW.....maybe he interpreted it as some kind of CODE to disclose her REAL identity?

P.S. Oh now i m the one who is HALLUCINATING.

@KRAIT you are MISUSING your powers just to prove that you are NEUTRAL.......:D

P.S. Chance of an Indian Mod on this forum is RARE :whistle:

Fear and loathing in New York: Former diplomat Prabhu Dayal reveals how Indian envoys to the US can fall victim to maids pursuing their American dreams
By Prabhu Dayal 23:03 22 Dec 2013, updated 23:08 22 Dec 2013

Devyani Khobragade's arrest has resulted in an unprecedented Indo-US row which shows little sign of abating. Since I was Consul General in New York from September 2008 till February 2013, I feel duty-bound to put the situation in a full and correct perspective.

Devyani worked as my deputy towards the end of my term. Moreover, I also faced a lawsuit about which some misinformed comments continue to be made in sections of the media.

article-2528046-1A429C9800000578-678_472x423.jpg

Prabhu Dayal was India's Consul General in New York from September 2008 to February 2013
I met (Devyani's domestic help) Sangeeta Richard several times at the consulate. She not only seemed happy and cheerful, but also struck me as being quite well-groomed and educated - not the usual type of domestic worker.

Given the recent history of problems faced by the consulate, I advised Devyani to be careful. I also told her that there were plenty of people around who could misguide Sangeeta and create trouble.

Cases of desertion by domestic assistants are not new. For decades, domestic assistants accompanying our diplomats to the US have gone missing, preferring to stay there illegally and pursue their dollar dreams.

Countless security guards, including many from the police and paramilitary services, have also done likewise.

Although the US authorities have invariably been informed whenever this has happened, they have done nothing to nab them. As is well known, the US has a very large number of illegal, undocumented aliens who provide cheap labour.

However, in October 2000, the US Congress enacted the Victims of Trafficking and Violence Protection Act (TVPA). In terms of this Act, our domestic assistants who abscond can now obtain a trafficking visa by alleging that they were subjected to involuntary servitude and not paid wages as per US laws. They can get a three year T Visa which gets converted to full resident status.

Naturally, such persons allege that they would face extreme hardship if they were deported back, as Sangeeta Richard has done. In return, they have to cooperate with the law enforcement agencies against the alleged traffickers - their former employers.

Then in 2010, New York state enacted the Domestic Workers Bill of Rights, after which there has been a spate of lawsuits filed by domestic workers.

HOOK OR CROOK

article-2528046-1A429C8800000578-445_472x423.jpg

Devyani Khobragade may have fallen victim to a common menace - maids desperately seeking green cards
It is no secret that many Indians go to the US and try to stay on by hook or crook. Thousands of Sikhs have managed to obtain political asylum by alleging that they are being persecuted in India and thus getting full resident-status.

Privately, many of them admit that they only took the asylum route as it was the only way they could get a Green Card. However, the US authorities continue to give asylum visas to many Sikh applicants, blindly ignoring the fact that the Sikhs are a thriving community in India, and that our Prime Minister is himself a Sikh.

However, the asylum visa is not available to everybody. This is where the TVPA has opened the doors to people like Sangeeta Richard, who can obtain official passports as domestic assistants of our diplomats, get an A3 visa from the US Embassy, reach US shores, work there for some months, abscond and then obtain a T Visa.

The visa fraud allegedly committed by Devyani Khobragade was in fact committed by Sangeeta Richard as she misrepresented her terms of employment to the US Embassy during her interview with the Consular officer to get an A3 domestic worker visa, which would later enable her to leapfrog to a trafficking T Visa.

Now, a few words about two earlier cases which took place in New York.

Shanti Gurung worked as a housekeeper for Dr Neena Malhotra, Consul for over three years. I met her often as she would come to the consulate to attend functions such as Republic Day, Independence Day, Diwali, Baisakhi etc, as well as music concerts, and she was always happy and contented.

I was shocked when she went missing on the eve of Dr Neena's departure from New York on transfer, and even more shocked when she filed a lawsuit a year later against her employer alleging confinement, forced labour, slavery, illtreatment etc. No doubt, she did so to obtain a T Visa.

Mrs Santosh Bhardwaj worked as my housekeeper for two years in India and four years in Morocco before joining me as my domestic assistant in New York in February 2009. Eleven months later, in January 2010, she absconded from the consulate building where she lived.

Seventeen months after that, she filed a suit against me alleging slavery, forced labour, non-payment of full wages etc. She alleged that she was not given proper accommodation and was made to sleep in a storage area. She also made an allegation about an incident of sexual harassment. These allegations were prominently reported in the media.

Six weeks later, her lawyers filed an amended suit in which the allegation about sexual harassment and being made to sleep in a storage area were voluntarily dropped.

Under US judicial practice, a plaintiff enjoys absolute litigation privilege and can amend a suit by adding or deleting charges. However, these and many other allegations had already received wide publicity in the media and continue to be referred to even now.

The fact was that she was not made to sleep in a storage area but was provided a fully-furnished one bedroom apartment in the consulate building with heating, air-conditioning, television and an attached bathroom, and there were many witnesses to this fact.

As regards sexual harassment, this charge was also completely false. The media gave very little coverage to the voluntary dropping of these charges.

article-2528046-1A42A80400000578-197_472x619.jpg

Immunity at the UN
She was so well treated in Delhi and Morocco that she voluntarily went with us to New York. Did our treatment towards her suddenly change so drastically in New York that it was tantamount to slavery and involuntary servitude?

The suit alleged that I had not paid her wages at $10 an hour as per the contract. Here, I would like to draw attention to the website of the US State Department which states the following: "As of March 2011, the Department has decided that no deductions are allowed for lodging, medical care, medical insurance or travel. As of April 2012,deductions taken for meals are also no longer allowed".

However, Mrs Bhardwaj worked for me in New York from January 2009 till February 2010, when deductions for perks were allowed by the State Department. If perks are included, the emoluments of my domestic assistant were considerably more than what she was to get under the contract. A fully furnished one bedroom apartment in the Upper East part of New York does not come for less than $2,500!

Added to this were the expenses towards water, electricity, heating, air-conditioning, food, medical cover, travel passages (including for home leave) plus a handsome salary.

BIASED & HIGH-HANDED

The emoluments of all officials posted by the MEA to Embassies and Consulates include salary and perks; the emoluments of a domestic assistant accompanying an Indian diplomat are built into the officer's own package, and also include salary and perks.

It is only after March 2011 that the US State Department has begun to disallow deductions for perks for domestic assistants. Litigation in the US is a very expensive and stressful process. Most lawsuits end up in an out of court settlement without acknowledgement of wrongdoing.

I, too, had no option but to settle the case. India's view has been that the domestic assistants of our diplomats hold official passports and should be outside the purview of US labour laws.The US side has not agreed to this, insisting that US laws apply to them. This impasse continues.

What about the future? We should either get the US to agree to our position or change our present arrangement relating to the domestic assistants. Our officers should not be caught in this sort of situation arising from how the Ministry of External Affairs interprets the emoluments given to domestic assistants and how differently the US authorities interpret them. This would prevent the sort of ordeal which Dr Neena, Devyani and I myself have gone through.

It is understood that the MEA is trying to revamp the system and may itself sign contracts with domestic workers instead of officers having to do so.

Will this revamped arrangement shield officials posted at our Consulates fully? I am afraid not, for one must recall the case of Krittika Biswas, a 12th grade student and daughter of a Vice-Consul serving under me in New York. She was arrested and handcuffed in front of her fellow students at her school on the charge of cyber-bullying one of her teachers, although she asserted that she had a diplomatic passport. She was not allowed to contact her parents or anyone till the evening, and was kept in a detention centre for 28 hours with prostitutes and drug addicts in the same manner as Devyani.

My colleagues and I had to run from pillar to post to get her released. She was not taken back to her school but had to attend a sort of reform school. Later, it was discovered that it was not Krittika but another student who was responsible for the cyber-bullying, but he was not arrested.

What can one make of this except that the New York law enforcement agencies were biased and high-handed?

The Krittika Biswas case makes me apprehensive that given the US position on immunity, even if we were to revamp our system relating to domestic assistants, we will not be able to guarantee that officials in our Consulates will not be arrested or dragged into law courts for some reason or another in future.

article-2528046-1A429CA000000578-742_472x423.jpg

Devyani's domestic help Sangeeta with her husband Phillip

The US is a highly litigious country where suing people is a sort of favourite pastime. Family members of consulate officials are not given any ID cards and have absolutely no immunity. Hence, they are even more vulnerable.

An atmosphere of fear already pervades our Consulate in New York, and the New York Consulate is no longer a sought-after posting for this reason.

What are we to do in such a situation? Some of my former colleagues go to the extent of saying that if diplomats posted in our Consulates in the USA do not enjoy immunity, then we should close down these Consulates and do all Consular work from the Embassy in Washington DC, where our officials enjoy immunity.

This is not so cynical as it may sound. Firstly, Consular work relating to passports, visas, OCI cards, PIO cards has already been outsourced. Instead of bringing the documents to the Consulates, the outsourcing company could courier them to the Embassy.

Secondly, a large number of persons already send their applications to the Consulates by mail, and they would instead have to send these to Washington DC. What difference would it make if someone living in Boston has to send the application to Washington DC instead of to New York?

Of course,the Embassy's consular Section would have to be considerably strengthened for handling the additional load. All other work such as information, culture, outreach and economic would also have to be done from Washington alone, which is not so difficult in today's age of instant electronic communications.

DON'T DRAG FEET

As regards all the endless protocol work involving receiving and seeing off delegations which keep coming to New York, it could be done by the Permanent Mission to the UN, whose officials enjoy immunity.

At present, the protocol load is shared by the Permanent Mission and the Consulate. Again, the protocol wing of the Permanent Mission will have to be augmented.

I know that this suggestion by my former colleagues may be dismissed as being too cynical. There is no doubt, however, that our officers posted at the Consulate in New York have begun to feel very insecure after all these recent cases, and the same may also be true for the other Consulates in Chicago, San Francisco, Houston and Atlanta.

How will India protect its diplomats posted to the consulates given the US position on immunity? Drastic situations call for drastic steps, and if we can't learn from bad experiences, then we alone are to be blamed. Foot-dragging will not get us anywhere.

(The writer is a senior diplomat who has served as India's Consul General in New York)

(As told to Jugal R. Purohit)

Thanks to @RayOfLight for bringing this news to my notice, I thought it deserves a separate thread. Also, I had to edit/shorten the original heading for lack of sufficient space.

Fear and loathing in New York: Former diplomat Prabhu Dayal reveals how Indian envoys to the US can fall victim to maids pursuing their American dreams | Mail Online

Indian diplomats fear for staff morale as New York row continues

By Saurabh Shukla
PUBLISHED: 22:52 GMT, 22 December 2013 | UPDATED: 22:56 GMT, 22 December 2013

article-2528071-1A429CAC00000578-85_306x423.jpg

Devyani Khobragade has been moved to India's Permanent Mission to the UN in New York
One of the biggest fall-outs of the ongoing Indo-US row over Devyani Khobragade is that Indian diplomats now find themselves shackled in a country where - until recently - a posting meant a big career bonus.

While most of the top US administration officials are on Christmas vacation, resulting in complications in the Devyani Khobragade case, Indian diplomats are finding themselves on the back foot.

"We don't want to land up in trouble. It is happening again and again," a young diplomat remarked.

So prized was a US posting in the hierarchy of the Indian Foreign Service that those desirous of a stint in the 'Land of the Free' gave all efforts to realise their dreams.

But New York, which was a preferred A+ posting, is no longer the crown jewel when it comes to foreign postings. And now with three successive cases of Prabhu Dayal, Neena Malhotra and Devyani Khobragade, the United States is no longer a preferred choice among the diplomats.

Morale

Senior officials, in fact, are worried that these incidents may affect the morale of the Indian diplomats posted here.

India's Ambassador to the UN Asoke Mukerji, Acting Ambassador to the US Taranjit Sandhu and Consul General of India D. N Muley have held separate sessions with their staff to boost their morale.

Worse, since all diplomats stay in the building of India's Permanent Mission to the United Nations, the fall-out was tougher considering their families have also got sucked into the controversy.

"The kids know about this and the families are worried that this could happen to them…it is a difficult situation," another Indian diplomat told Mail Today.

Many officials here believe that they are out to do a job for the country and have to do it without any pressure from the host country, but they feel cases like these only create needless strain and impede normal diplomatic behaviour.

Sources said lawyers specialising in immigration cases are having a field day and India-based domestic assistants are now sitting fodder for them.

article-2528071-1A429C8400000578-480_634x426.jpg

An Indian national flag flies over India's consulate general building in New York

Counselling

While the Ministry of External Affairs may need to provide some counselling sessions for the diplomats to overcome their stress, the US State Department is not making the job easy for the MEA either.

"Receiving diplomatic immunity does not nullify any previously existing criminal charges. Those remain on the books. So it just is related to a diplomat's current status for the length of the time of that status," US State Department spokesperson Jen Psaki had said.

"Diplomatic immunity means, among other things, that a foreign diplomat is not subject to criminal jurisdiction in the United States for the time they are a diplomat, for the time they have that immunity," she added.

The remarks seemed to suggest that the diplomatic immunity would be specific to Khobragade's UN re-assignment for the length of the job.

The 'evacuation' that riled India

By Saurabh Shukla in New York

As India tried to get the United States to act against Devyani Khobragade's 'missing' domestic help Sangeeta Richard, an evacuation of sorts was being pulled off by the western power in India.

Unknown to the Indians, on September 10, Sangeeta's husband Phillip Richard, the couple's two children and his family were issued with US visas. There followed a lull, during which the Delhi High Court ordered an injunction restraining Richard from initiating legal proceedings against her former employer in the US, and the diplomat herself moved the Ministry of External Affairs and Delhi Police accusing Sangeeta of theft and criminal conspiracy.

On December 6, an arrest warrant issued by the Delhi Metropolitan court was forwarded to the US State Department and the US Embassy in New Delhi requesting them to instruct the relevant authorities in the US to arrest and repatriate Sangeeta to India through the Consulate in New York.

But on December 10, according to sources, Sangeeta's family was quietly taken, with the help of US Embassy officials, to the Indira Gandhi International Airport, where they boarded Air India 101 to New York.

There they were met by US officials and taken to a safe house in New York, where Sangeeta was already present.

The family continues to be in New York.

Government officials in New Delhi speculate that the husband's exit from India was facilitated deliberately before Khobragade's arrest to make him unreachable to the Indian authorities.

Indian diplomats fear for staff morale as New York row continues | Mail Online

Having a Servant Is Not a Right

AT the heart of the fracas surrounding the arrest of an Indian diplomat in New York who promised to pay her housekeeper $9.75 per hour, in compliance with United States labor rules, but instead paid her $3.31 per hour, is India’s dirty secret: One segment of the Indian population routinely exploits another, and the country’s labor laws allow gross mistreatment of domestic workers.

I can only hope that the Khobragade case will make Indians look inward and see that, feelings of patriotic fervor aside, India has a serious problem.

While the country took a step in the right direction and included domestic workers in a new law prohibiting sexual harassment in the workplace in 2013, India’s national minimum-wage law does not cover domestic workers. On average, servants in cities earn only about $64 to $161 per month, which forces them to live hand-to-mouth, in illegally built shantytowns, often without electricity and running water.

Last week, I watched with bewilderment as India’s most vociferous talk show host, Arnab Goswami, repeatedly asked his guests if they expected an Indian diplomat who is paid $4,180 a month to pay her domestic servant $4,500 a month. Meanwhile an American guest, Lisa Curtis, a senior fellow at the Heritage Foundation, tried to make a point: “If somebody cannot afford to have domestic help, then they don’t have domestic help.” Had the other guests not been seething with anger and shouting simultaneously, they would have perhaps heard a simple message: Having a servant you cannot pay a decent wage cannot be a birthright.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/12/21/o....html?emc=edit_tnt_20131221&tntemail0=y&_r=1&

Did she deserve this for a fucking payment dispute ???
Khobragade brought Richard into the U.S. with the intent of exploiting her labor by paying a below-minimum wage. Such importation of a domestic was illegal, for it was made possible only by committing visa fraud on the paperwork bearing Khobragade's signature.

Immigration under false pretenses + slave wages = human trafficking for profit - that is, slavery.

Human trafficking is a "grave crime" by the standards of the U.N. and International Criminal Court. Khobragade did not engage in these activities in support of her job, or even her country, but for her own comfort, so she has no immunity under the Consular Convention.

Khobragade is a slaver.

The Consular Convention demands not immunity in such cases, but that "the proceedings shall be conducted with the respect due to him by reason of his official position...When [not "if"]...it has become necessary to detain a consular officer, the proceedings against him shall be instituted with the minimum of delay" and the consul's post be notified.

I see no way Khobragade's case could have been handled differently, as India's embassy ignored the State Dept.'s letter in September; they could have engaged legal counsel after that.

Charged with a felony - a charge usually made only, in federal cases, after grand jury review of evidence - law enforcement is not expected to notify someone that they will be arrested if caught, especially someone considered a flight risk. Arraignment follows arrest, so arrest could not be avoided. By all accounts processing occurred speedily and without delay.

That leaves the issue of Khobragade's treatment: were "the proceedings" "conducted with respect due to her by reason of official position"?

Khobragade was not arrested in public view. According to the USMS she was not handcuffed or restrained. She was offered food and drink. She was given two hours to arrange personal matters: her phone was not seized, she used it not just to contact her superiors but to arrange for child care. She was strip-searched privately by a female attendant. link

These strike me as sufficient courtesies.

These aren't mere claims, you know. There are video cameras everywhere in police stations, jails, and courtrooms. If Khobragade's superiors doubted these matters, they could have asked for video of her processing immediately. The U.S. wouldn't make it public otherwise, of course, for that would be a needless violation of Khobragade's dignity. And the failure of the Indian government to make that request in a timely fashion suggests very well that they knew they were lying when they claimed or insinuated mistreatment.

The details of whether or not her position merited a search is a quibble, but what isn't in doubt is that the U.S. did its very best to follow the Consular Convention - whereas evidence apparently shows that Khobragade did not and her superiors firmly support her alleged criminal activities.

See that is what i mean, when USA does not give ours immunity we should not, i saw news today that India has revoked those ids of americans and the status quo remains as such.Let them Americans make a mistake in India and see how it goes!:)

While many Indians cry a river about the netas and babus in India abusing power, where is their moral fiber when a whole community of babus abroad is abusing their power and privilege?

Having a Servant Is Not a Right

AT the heart of the fracas surrounding the arrest of an Indian diplomat in New York who promised to pay her housekeeper $9.75 per hour, in compliance with United States labor rules, but instead paid her $3.31 per hour, is India’s dirty secret: One segment of the Indian population routinely exploits another, and the country’s labor laws allow gross mistreatment of domestic workers.

I can only hope that the Khobragade case will make Indians look inward and see that, feelings of patriotic fervor aside, India has a serious problem.

While the country took a step in the right direction and included domestic workers in a new law prohibiting sexual harassment in the workplace in 2013, India’s national minimum-wage law does not cover domestic workers. On average, servants in cities earn only about $64 to $161 per month, which forces them to live hand-to-mouth, in illegally built shantytowns, often without electricity and running water.

Last week, I watched with bewilderment as India’s most vociferous talk show host, Arnab Goswami, repeatedly asked his guests if they expected an Indian diplomat who is paid $4,180 a month to pay her domestic servant $4,500 a month. Meanwhile an American guest, Lisa Curtis, a senior fellow at the Heritage Foundation, tried to make a point: “If somebody cannot afford to have domestic help, then they don’t have domestic help.” Had the other guests not been seething with anger and shouting simultaneously, they would have perhaps heard a simple message: Having a servant you cannot pay a decent wage cannot be a birthright.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/12/21/o....html?emc=edit_tnt_20131221&tntemail0=y&_r=1&

It is all your PR doing the talking, I for one support Arnab Goswami in asking his questions.Your PR while trying to shield your wrongdoing will only, push India to make some drastic foreign policy changes.
Maybe USA doesn't like someone standing up to it as a bully but we do,we made our point.
By making more articles meant to demean India as slavers or etc.(let me remind you who had a slave history? and when were the blacks officially let to vote?), you only push people away from your side.This is not the age of USA the global cop, things have changed and world has moved on from doing everything as america wants it done.
All this media portrayal of India the great democracy by USA was all flattery by Usa media to steer India into Usa side away from others.We also see through your lies sorry to say,for a moment i thought maybe USA is what it says maybe they want to be good, but now it reinforces that they are not and in a small spat they wanted to show what we are ,when you are friends you don't let little things come in between , your media is defending calling us what not slave/master relation and all Indians are racists etc.we are better off without them.We don't need your certificates in human rights and etc. please, we will deal with people who are more mature in diplomacy.2014 is the year where India cuts away from Usa and runs mark my words.

While many Indians cry a river about the netas and babus in India abusing power, where is their moral fiber when a whole community of babus abroad is abusing their power and privilege?
You seriously believe that everyone who is posted as official abuses power and privilege since we are Indians? If so then Case Closed!
You pack your embassy bags and we pack ours and go away!

This certainly does not sound good..
What kind of a picture is he trying to draw by saying even though this is the 21st century people still are willing to do what it takes to flee India for "The American Dream". The maid seeing an "opportunity to get a visa" decided to falsify everything by accusing a representative of her own country of being "bad" and turning her back on her country so she could flee to the USA and live "The American Dream".

What kind of picture is this former Diplomat supposed to be showing to the rest of the world of a country that wants to be a "superpower". Yes, India is and up-and-coming power yet we have to be careful not to give the average citizen any type of opportunity to "find an out" and screw one of to gain it. This is terrible.

There is. It seems in a affidavit filed to the govt, she has reportedly given a low value to the flath she had acquired. She had mentioned she bought a flat for 90 lakhs, but in reality she had paid 1.15 crores to buy. She may even face dismissal.

Which (possible dismissal) is ok coz that's in our system