9707058862_1f7a601277_b.jpg

9946689136_8f618d72b9_b.jpg

swaminarayan-akshardham-shree-mandir-in-new-delhi-177687.jpg

9056437920_6966628099_b.jpg

hotel-le-meridian-delhi-5star-1024x687.jpg

95546383.jpg

2907791036_e1d281d9bb_o.jpg

910419058_233613ccc7_b.jpg
baki to sab theek hai per itna kam traffik bhai ji ye foto dilli ke nahi ho sakte :omghaha:

From someone who lives with a Dilli walla.. It seems like I already know these places. Whatever it is, I am more interested in Kareems.:smitten:

well forget karim's now jawahar hotel next to it is much much better

so whats your point i said delhi existed long long before the muslims came and i prooved it while you said muslims build delhi well for your information the name delhi came from the name of a hindu chieftain Dhile singh

well whats your point about rubble and all when ever a king is over thrown by a stronger king his system and all monuments showing his might were destroyed in earlier times it was onli taimur who stopped this practice and quet ul islam masjid ..read the first masjid in india was build after destroying 17 jain and hindu tempels if you go to mehrauli even today you will be able to see stones of ancient indian gods scattered all around the place and the ashoka pillar there hasent rusted in 2200 years and thats the testimony that anicent hindu / indian civilization was much much ahead of its time even the damascus blades used by salauddin in jeruslam had there wootz steel from india

so whats your point i ask again and you bieng a bengali what athurity do you have over Indian capital or its civilization
1.There is no accepted theory as the appearance of the name Delhi. Prithviraj Cauhan is the first major ruler of Delhi we know of.

2. Delhi is a cosmopolitan city wherein live Bengalees as well as others. For the Muslims of SA Delhi has special significance. Atop the Lal Quilla used to proudly flutter our green flag. Every Muslim child pines to see the flag back.

1.There is no accepted theory as the appearance of the name Delhi. Prithviraj Cauhan is the first major ruler of Delhi we know of.

2. Delhi is a cosmopolitan city wherein live Bengalees as well as others. For the Muslims of SA Delhi has special significance. Atop the Lal Quilla used to proudly flutter our green flag. Every Muslim child pines to see the flag back.
ha ha ha that was realli hillarious

any way there are no records cause during the sultanate period all the hindu tempels , monuments were torn down by the invading barbarians and as for history when most of the educated hindus were slaughtered and there homes set on fire read about the lirarry fires of taxilla and later nalanda which kept burning for weeks at a strech

but this thread was about city of djinns not slums but for some highli egoistick pakistani & bangladeshi members who cant see any thing good said or written by indian spoilt the whole thread and Mods is keeping quite

From someone who lives with a Dilli walla.. It seems like I already know these places. Whatever it is, I am more interested in Kareems.:smitten:

Just shifted out from my childhood home to my own place in Gurgaon. Pretty neat at 23, no? Found a nice picture someone took from the bulding adjacent to mine.

Gurgaon.jpg

A nice place to live in, NCR and all. BUT nothing beats Delhi, forget everything else..its all the greenery..there is a 3-4 mile stretch of just pure green right behind my parents' house. Miss it, early morning smokes on my veranda were accompanied by dew and birds flitting about among all those trees.:frown:

It was under Muslim rule between 1206 and 1857 , not before and after that. It was mainly old Delhi that was under Muslim rule, not New Delhi.

History of Delhi - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

"The core of Delhi's tangible heritage is Islamic, spanning over seven centuries of Islamic rule over the city". Before the Muslims Delhi was not a city with a heart or culture fit to be the capital of a great empire. There had existed only few uneven structures which were sore to the eye. That was only fit for a pagan society. Our forefathers really brought greatness to the city.

There! You had to say it, didn't you? :)

**rummages through my neatly compiled pile of home delivery menus desperately trying to find Kareem's take-out pamphlet (though admittedly, Bambai-wala Kareem's is not nearly as good as purani Dilli-waali Kareem's)**

History of Delhi - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

"The core of Delhi's tangible heritage is Islamic, spanning over seven centuries of Islamic rule over the city". Before the Muslims Delhi was not a city with a heart or culture fit to be the capital of a great empire. There had existed only few uneven structures which were sore to the eye. That was only fit for a pagan society. Our forefathers really brought greatness to the city.

True. The baniya though has bettered the place, and obviously taken over it as was bound to happen. Those more deserving always take the cake, inferior folks must make do with the scraps. Hopefully you'll be able to build an approximation of the Taj and the Red Fort in Dhaka.:chilli: