Indian officials warn Kashmiris of possible nuclear attack: Report

It could be that India has decided to push the envelop a bit in the sector..

Shouldn't they be building nuclear bunkers in Mumbai,Dehli and other large cities,instead of doing it in Kashmir ?

I don't think india has the guts to carry out nuclear attack on kashmir.

91749909-india-missile-test.jpg

The cartoonist is really a dave-gran-lund.

Why kashmir? If Pakistan have to use nuke then why on earth it will be used on kashmir when we can target dehli or mumbai etc? what we'll gain by targeting kashmir? lol

GEN Colin Powel?
This is stale video during aar paar ki ladai preparation then....

Why would anyone want to nuke Kashmir?

I understood that Pakistan would not do that due to Ummah.
But Muslims are everywhere in India.
Where will Pakistan attack then?

Saala Express tribune ke paas aur koi kaam waam nahi hai kya ? Spreading rumours :hitwall:
Indians are the biggest fans of ET on PDF, from their blogs to news, everything is copy/pasted/posted by Indians here.

I don't think india has the guts to carry out nuclear attack on kashmir.
Dude, watch the video carefully. he said he never heard India involved in any thing but Pakistan name gives him some doubts.

Look at India's image who has perfect non-proliferation record, gt nuclear deal, all these nations will support India. Also keep India's No First Use policy into account. It reflects India won't act irresponsibly.

On other hand, with OBL found in near Pakistan's version of West Point, Double dealings by ISI as said by many US officers and leaders, inaction against UN declared terrorist organizations and members, No "No first Use" Policy and growing internal violence.

Imagine who will favor whom. Now you have went to UN on same LOC issue, and this news has shock value. People around the world have goosebumps because of nuke attack. India won't attack in any case but this Phobia especially in Western countries will increase many times against Pakistan. India just gave a huge blow to Pakistan without even firing a single shot.

They will see Pakistan as aggressor. Simple case of perception.

Its a master-stroke by Indian Authorities. They just made a small act and Butterfly affect occurred as Rumors and Fear can grow non-linearly.

This news will affect our economy but it will affect yours more because your economy is not strong and lacks economic shock absorbers.

Now Pakistan will have even less supporters. Going to UN turned out as idiotic step taken by Pakistan Govt.

Think over it. These statements will be released more often by India and US will join too who already had said that Pakistan's nukes are not safe.

Shouldn't they be building nuclear bunkers in Mumbai,Dehli and other large cities,instead of doing it in Kashmir ?

Nope, all the radiation and fall-out will stop at the border of Kashmir. Nothing to worry about in Ladakh, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana which are all states bordering Kashmir. LOOOOOL

This is the most absurd bit of news to be posted on PDF. But atleast its very amusing! Since I have folks in Srinagar, I called to ask about their welfare. They said that they don't need shelters; their umbrellas are good enough.
But why dampen all the excitement on this forum.............

GEN Colin Powel?
This is stale video during aar paar ki ladai preparation then....

I understood that Pakistan would not do that due to Ummah.
But Muslims are everywhere in India.
Where will Pakistan attack then?
What umah? Screw umah ;)

I dont think nukes will eevr be used realistically in Indo-Pak wars. I think they are building bunkers more realistically in worst case scenarios for heavy bombings and air raids from PAF if things do get more heated in the LOC.

Nuking Rajasthan...errr! :blink:

34i0ah2.jpg

It has nothing to do with the state itself.

Nukes will be used to counter Indian Armoured columns.
Your principle strike cores are ordered formations in that region too,
Similarly a bit higher through punjab.

similarly Pakistan concentrates on Multan / Bahalwalpur
and Gujeranwala / sialkot sectors.

I dont think nukes will eevr be used realistically in Indo-Pak wars. I think they are building bunkers more realistically in worst case scenarios for heavy bombings and air raids from PAF if things do get more heated in the LOC.

No, its not even that. Just that some of the folks in the area where the flare-up occurred are buttressing up their homes with largely earth embankments and some sand-bags. We can be sure that they do'nt look forward to being obliterated if a stray shell comes their way. And not all of them can manage to evacuate to some other places e.g. like a sunny beach in Goa.....

Of course some of us can even convince ourselves that they are building Nuclear-Proof Bunkers. Who stops us from believing that? :D
And when regular shelling takes place in that area (as it has on many occasions) civilians cannot move about freely to get stuff. So they used to stock up on provisions in times like that.
Of course we can also say that they are preparing and stocking up for a Nuclear Holocaust, can't we?! ;)

Kashmiri media is grilling Indian police officials for the gaffe:

Ill timed Lastupdate:- Wed, 23 Jan 2013 18:30:00 GMT GreaterKashmir.com

Jammu and Kashmir Police Civil Defence and State Disaster Response Force’s advisory to people for protection in case nuclear war erupts between India and Pakistan is both ill-timed and inopportune. It defies any logic to issue such advisories at a time when the condition is surely stabilizing on the LoC. Minister for External Affairs, Salman Khurshid, minced no words while saying that the situation on the LoC in Jammu and Kashmir is a lot better. The minister said ties with Pakistan can move forward in a “sensible and calibrated” way once the “dust settles”. If anything, such advisories at this time while creating needless panic among the people in Jammu and Kashmir could provide grist to the propaganda mill of a section of electronic media which seems to have specialized in blowing smaller issues into big controversies. This section of the media ostensibly harbors a visceral hatred for the calm on the borders and the peace between India and Pakistan. Thankfully, the mature political leadership in the country has shown considerable restraint to fall to the jingoistic reportage.

There are at least two reasons that make issuing of such advisories at present meaningless: One, there is apparently not even a remote chance of a conventional war— not to talk of nuclear face off—between India and Pakistan at present. The LoC has witnessed much worse tension and perhaps more ceasefire violations in the past than it has seen recently. The two countries have understandably much stakes in the peace building at present. Two, most of the advisories are about building up the wherewithal to minimize the damage caused by a nuclear war. But it is obvious that such infrastructure could not be built up in just few days. Given the freezing temperatures that Kashmir is presently witnessing it would have been desirable— and fruitful too— if our Disaster Management Cell would have come up with advisories for the aged and ailing population in Kashmir to deal with the chill. We need advisories for protection from chill, not from nuclear attack.