Army swoops on ‘CIA agents’

Updated at: 0844 PST, Wednesday, June 15, 2011
WASHINGTON: Pakistan’s top military spy agency has arrested some of the Pakistani informants who fed information to the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) in the months leading up to the raid that led to the death of Osama bin Laden, according to American officials.

Pakistan’s detention of five CIA informants, including a Pakistani Army major who officials said copied the license plates of cars visiting bin Laden’s compound in Abbottabad, Pakistan, in the weeks before the raid, is the latest evidence of the fractured relationship between the United States and Pakistan. It comes at a time when the Obama administration is seeking Pakistan’s support in brokering an endgame in the war in neighboring Afghanistan.

At a closed briefing last week, members of the Senate Intelligence Committee asked Michael J. Morell, the deputy C.I.A. director, to rate Pakistan’s cooperation with the United States on counterterrorism operations, on a scale of 1 to 10.

“Three,” Mr. Morell replied, according to officials familiar with the exchange.
The fate of the C.I.A. informants arrested in Pakistan is unclear, but American officials said that the C.I.A. director, Leon E. Panetta, raised the issue when he travelled to Islamabad last week to meet with Pakistani military and intelligence officers.

Some in Washington see the arrests as illustrative of the disconnect between Pakistani and American priorities at a time when they are supposed to be allies in the fight against Al Qaeda — instead of hunting down the support network that allowed Bin Laden to live comfortably for years, the Pakistani authorities are arresting those who assisted in the raid that killed the world’s most wanted man.

The Bin Laden raid and more recent attacks by militants in Pakistan have been blows to the country’s military, a revered institution in the country. Some officials and outside experts said the military is mired in its worst crisis of confidence in decades.

American officials cautioned that Mr. Morell’s comments about Pakistani support was a snapshot of the current relationship, and did not represent the administration’s overall assessment.

“We have a strong relationship with our Pakistani counterparts and work through issues when they arise,” said Marie E. Harf, a C.I.A. spokeswoman. “Director Panetta had productive meetings last week in Islamabad. It’s a crucial partnership, and we will continue to work together in the fight against Al Qaeda and other terrorist groups who threaten our country and theirs.”

In a sign of the growing anger on Capitol Hill, Representative Mike Rogers, a Michigan Republican who leads the House Intelligence Committee, said Tuesday that he believed elements of the ISI and the military had helped protect bin Laden.

Updated at: 0844 PST, Wednesday, June 15, 2011
WASHINGTON: Pakistan’s top military spy agency has arrested some of the Pakistani informants who fed information to the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) in the months leading up to the raid that led to the death of Osama bin Laden, according to American officials.

Pakistan’s detention of five CIA informants, including a Pakistani Army major who officials said copied the license plates of cars visiting bin Laden’s compound in Abbottabad, Pakistan, in the weeks before the raid, is the latest evidence of the fractured relationship between the United States and Pakistan. It comes at a time when the Obama administration is seeking Pakistan’s support in brokering an endgame in the war in neighboring Afghanistan.

At a closed briefing last week, members of the Senate Intelligence Committee asked Michael J. Morell, the deputy C.I.A. director, to rate Pakistan’s cooperation with the United States on counterterrorism operations, on a scale of 1 to 10.

“Three,” Mr. Morell replied, according to officials familiar with the exchange.
The fate of the C.I.A. informants arrested in Pakistan is unclear, but American officials said that the C.I.A. director, Leon E. Panetta, raised the issue when he travelled to Islamabad last week to meet with Pakistani military and intelligence officers.

Some in Washington see the arrests as illustrative of the disconnect between Pakistani and American priorities at a time when they are supposed to be allies in the fight against Al Qaeda — instead of hunting down the support network that allowed Bin Laden to live comfortably for years, the Pakistani authorities are arresting those who assisted in the raid that killed the world’s most wanted man.

The Bin Laden raid and more recent attacks by militants in Pakistan have been blows to the country’s military, a revered institution in the country. Some officials and outside experts said the military is mired in its worst crisis of confidence in decades.

American officials cautioned that Mr. Morell’s comments about Pakistani support was a snapshot of the current relationship, and did not represent the administration’s overall assessment.

“We have a strong relationship with our Pakistani counterparts and work through issues when they arise,” said Marie E. Harf, a C.I.A. spokeswoman. “Director Panetta had productive meetings last week in Islamabad. It’s a crucial partnership, and we will continue to work together in the fight against Al Qaeda and other terrorist groups who threaten our country and theirs.”

In a sign of the growing anger on Capitol Hill, Representative Mike Rogers, a Michigan Republican who leads the House Intelligence Committee, said Tuesday that he believed elements of the ISI and the military had helped protect bin Laden.
They should be tried in Military Courts and should be punished severly

It would not be surprising if a US senator or a congressman expresses his "view" that they want Pakistan to pay back the so called "aid" given by US for WOT on Pakistani soil and air, just like the one who expressed his "view" of Iraq paying US for the war in Iraq.

Well you got to admit that the congressman is thinking of the Treaty of Versailles when the loser is suppose to pay reparations.

release him... and give him asylum to neutral country, his life will be in danger...

The US Congress has acted and is suspending 75% of financial support to Pakistan until President Obama can lay out how the US fudning will be used in support of the War on Terrorism as it is intended to be so used, not for other purposes.

Excellent news, i hope the rest of the 25% is also suspended, rather whole 100% in canceled.

Kindly ask your local representatives to do the good deed by canceling the whole 100% of this aid to Pakistan and use it for the good of the poor, the ones getting less health insurance, they are in much need of this 1Billion$ a year aid, then we are.

Man that was embarrassing. They failed to protect Osama Bin Laden, it was too late to arrest the informants that provide the intel to kill Osama. Do better next time ISI.

Had ISI been wanting to protect OBL, your Uncle Sam's daddy's daddy, meaning dada ji of Uncle Sam would not be have been able to find him.

I have no idea why it is so hard for the US people to figure it out that OBL was of no value to us, it was due to him that we are in such a situation. He had no strategic value to Pakistan nor we had any positive effect of hiding him or AQ operatives which we by the way have captured in hundreds and handed over to the US. May be a very hard thing to make the people of US understand.

Anyway, hope one day you guys get it and understand that we had nothing to do with AQ or its operatives.

Man that was embarrassing. They failed to protect Osama Bin Laden, it was too late to arrest the informants that provide the intel to kill Osama. Do better next time ISI.
Sir issue is not they didn't knew about Osama or Obama but the issue is what the hell informers and spies of other countries are doing in Pakistan

They should be tortured first for getting Osama Bin Laden killed. The Pakistanis cried in shame for failing to protect Osama. It was a national tragedy.
no because they are the agents of another country

Sir issue is not they didn't knew about Osama or Obama but the issue is what the hell informers and spies of other countries are doing in Pakistan

Don't waste time on people who come with specific agenda. Mr. oldman's agenda is very clear.

Bhains kae agay been bajanay wali baat hai.

Based on the ISI past failures I'm certain that the death of Osama was the ISI's failure. So don't throw up on me about oh the ISI would have make sure Osama would not be found. The ISI is not invincible as you claim. Look at your country with all those attacks. Should each attack in Pakistan be a failure? If your ISI is sooooo good in uncovering a CIA network of informants, then your precious ISI should start concentrating on terror groups instead of blaming on the CIA or the U.S.

first give explanation for the failure of 9/11 and the lie which you spoke about Weapons of Mass Destruction in Iraq