Pakistan's Biggest Food Import: Palm Oil Worth $4.5 Billion Worsens Trade Deficit

Nope.
It's fat

Sugar converts to fat in body hence why it's also a culprit but it's fat.

Hence why Asians have 3x more heart attacks even though sugar intake is higher in west .west has lower intake of ghee
Please see the data and also fat vs sugar consequences video on YouTube,,
half of adult (55 million) people have heart problems in the US...
@Wood

@Wood

I'm aware of problems that result from sugar intake. But trans fat is also an important problem to avoid.

Mainly it is sugar or carbs like wheat and rice. @Imran Khan bro, reduce the sugar intake.. In fact, 100ml milk contains 5.4 grams of sugar.. so 1 tea cup contains nearly 13.5 grams.. Then we add extra sugar in it.. Sugar and other refine carb (sugar is also carb btw) are the main reason for LDL cholesterol.. I have lost 5 kg since I left sugar.

I take English tea + 3 spoons of full fat cream, 4 times a day but no sugar. No weight gain.

Floating oil in your aalo bengan is not that bad,,

Olive oil is the solution for Pakistan. Olive oil as far as I know is match with Pakistan climate which is quite dry with less rain, something similar with Palestinian land where olive oil farming is quite large.

All farming is responsible on deforestation dude, no where on Earth you can easily add land except by expensive reclamation project.

Pakistan has variety of climate zones ranging from cold and dry to hot and humid.

Pak produces apples, peaches, oranges, mangoes and bananas.

It can grow both olives and oil palms.

@Wood

I don't need to see YouTube videos. Please send me trials rather than YouTube videos

Billions tree tsunami project of Pakistan | silent Olive revolution in Pakistan​

With the 2019/20 season, the estimated olive oil production capacity in Pakistan will reach approximately 1,400 tons. By the year 2027, production is expected to reach 16,000 tons

PTI Government​

Achievements​

Laughable

Let me put it in pripswctive

Our demand is more then 4 million tones.

While small countries like turkey Algeria Italy produce more then 3million tone each.

By 2027 out production will be 0.017milloom tones ..good going!..,doubt we will get to 4 m tones by 2300

The government has planned to increase the annual edible oil production up to 4.79 million tons over the next 10 years in an effort to take the country towards self-sufficiency in food commodities, especially in edible oil.

Minister for Planning and Development Ahsan Iqbal presided over a meeting on Friday to review the measures being undertaken to achieve self-sufficiency in edible oil.

It was informed that Pakistan imported 4.5 million tons of edible oil annually to meet its demand. At present, the country produces just 0.745 million tons of edible oil annually, which is only 8% of the total demand of over 5 million tons.

The move would help minimise the huge import bill of the food group that was recorded at $7.57 billion in the first 11 months (Jul-May) of fiscal year 2021-22.

The import of palm oil was recorded at $3.06 billion while that of soybean oil stood at $217.7 million during the period under review.

The meeting reviewed the measures being taken for palm oil sufficiency and planned that the production would be gradually increased from the current 0.745 million tons to 1.192 million tons in five years and to 4.793 million tons in the next 10 years.

Ahsan Iqbal directed that the plan to take the country towards self-reliance in edible oil should be discussed with all provincial stakeholders and a feasible roadmap should be finalised within a week after taking all of them onboard.

The minister said investors in the edible oil sector should be given special incentives to boost local production.

He said making the country self-sufficient in edible oil was the top priority of the government’s development agenda and directed to engage the private sector to expedite the process.

Don't we have enough land to grow and make our own?
eat something else, how hard is it?
been using olive oil for a long time now, its healthier and much better in every aspect!

Khaney ka tel aur mitti ka tel-dono hum Indians aur Pakistanis ka tel nikaal raha hai. Baaki rahi sahi kasar ModiGee aur Imported govt poori kar rahe hain.

Regards

eat something else, how hard is it?
been using olive oil for a long time now, its healthier and much better in every aspect!
I tnink olive oil is too expensive. I asume we import the Palm oil because it is the cheapest option.

I am talking from Youtube university POV....

From what I have seen, Pakistani street food and traditional joints seem to be using too much palm oil. Of course, it is called 'ghee' there, as opposed to 'desi ghee'. It should be noted that such a distinction does not exist in India. There is only one 'ghee' and it is desi ghee. In the organized restaurant industry palm oil is a taboo. It is 'he-who-should-not-be-named'. Professional chefs use the word 'refined' when referring to non-Palm oil and there is no word for palm oil (not even 'unrefined). Chefs will usually ask restaurant owners before joining as staff - 'Aap refined use kartay hain ya phir.....'. Unfinished sentence.

Olive oil is not a solution as many are proposing. It has a very low smoking point and cannot be used for frying or even stir frying. No way it is a substitute for refined oil. In fact after heating beyond a point, olive oil is actually bad for you.

To adopt olive oil as your primary oil, your entire cuisine has to undergo a change. Even countries which use a lot of olive oil, don't use it as a sub, but as a complement to the more prevelant animal fat

I tnink olive oil is too expensive. I asume we import the Palm oil because it is the cheapest option.
mustard oil is another option, which can be made locally with a much less Hussle as compared to palm oil. many people are using it now, its also cheap!

Mustard oil is not cheap bhai. How much does it cost there? Here it has crossed Rs 200/litre. And if you ask the purists, that is junk. They will only buy cold pressed mustard oil, which is touching Rs 400/litre

yeah round about 400 as of now, but the point is it can be brought under control as it can be farmed and manufactured locally easily. for palm to grow naturally govt would have to be vigilant for years, mustard on the other hand can be manufactured and is being manufactured at local level.

Yeah, mustard is native to the region and should be encouraged. I don't know if Sindh region can grow groundnut. It is a good oil plant and in India Gujarat and interior Maharashtra produce a lot of it, both have similar climate to Sindh (hot and arid).