MURREE DECLARED CALAMITY HIT FOLLOWING DEATH OF 19 TOURISTS

It’s Been 8 years, I heard they widen the road but murree need motor way. US govt build 6 lane motorway 50 years ago on Hawaiian volcanic mountain. Murree should not be hard.
Bhai jaan...there is now a very good motorway going to murree. The old road still exists and is still used to service the small villages in that direction

you get off from expressway and go to paf base road boom same shit different road the traffic ruins all the fun man.Every year i go to murree its the same shit man.

It is an adventure...If you have 4x4 enough fuel solid food and solid will....I must say you must visit....

I love this type of situation....enjoy it....

I love extreme weathers.....

you get off from expressway and go to paf base road boom same shit different road the traffic ruins all the fun man.Every year i go to murree its the same shit man.
jab janty hain aagy zaleel hi hona hai to kiyoo jaty hain bhai ?

It is an adventure...If you have 4x4 enough fuel solid food and solid will....I must say you must visit....

I love this type of situation....enjoy it....

I love extreme weathers.....
Me too. Can walk for miles in a blizzard if dressed and equipped appropriately. Used to live in Sweden.
But this is absurd. How could entire families die inside their cars?

Correct, carbon monoxide poisoning is the reason. Govt here issue warning not to sleep in running cars.
I am sure they would be alive today even if they just spent their nights walking in snow with warm clothing. The temperature was not even below zero. Infact during snowfall you don't feel much cold ,it's colder when the sky is clear.
But these mummy daddy folks of Islamabad and shehri babus of Lahore, Gujranwala fond of eating paye,nallis chole etc can't step a bit outside of their comfort zones. They love to exaggerate things psychologically. O dekho barf payi aa Haye sardi Haye sardi ...they are known for making mess at tourist places.
Let me give you a real life example. When I was in St Petersburg Russia in 2012 in January once i missed my metro which was supposed to close at 1 am because I left the city center late. The sky was clear and I still remember the temperature was -31 and it was very windy,the cold wind was making ears ,face and nose numb. That metro station was very far away from the city center and nearby there was little populated areas. Not a restaurant ,hotel etc where I can take a shelter. I decided not to give up and stay like a loser at one place and ended up in a frost bite or possibly dead ,I kept walking for the next three hours on streets with a thick cap on my head to keep my body warm and blood running. At 5 am the metro station was opened and I safely reached my hostel. Now if one can survive in -31 windy Russian night that feels like -40 . I can't see a reason why someone can't spend a night outside in murree in just a zero temperature?

RAWALPINDI: Murree was declared as the calamity-hit area on Saturday after 19 tourists died of cold with thousands of cars stuck in the hill station.

An emergency has been declared in Murree with the Pakistan Army and Rangers troops called in to help clear the traffic jam and get tourists out of the hill station.

The government has banned entry of tourists in Murree and Galiyat region to control the situation.

The Rawalpindi deputy commissioner tweeted that around 23,000 vehicles have been evacuated safely from Murree and around 1,000 are still stranded. The district administration is working round the clock to evacuate the remaining vehicles safely, he added.

Earlier today, Interior Minister Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed said 16 to 19 people have died of cold in cars stuck in Murree. He said five platoons of the Pakistan Army have been called in to help rescue the stranded tourists.

Information and Broadcasting Minister Fawad Chaudhry said hundreds of thousands of cars are heading towards Murree and other upper areas to enjoy snowfall.

It has become impossible for the local administration to provide facilities to such a large number of people, the minister said, urging people to postpone their trips to these areas for a few days.

https://arynews.tv/murree-declared-calamity-hit-following-death-of-19-tourists
Such a sad, yet avoidable incident.

I am sure they would be alive today even if they just spent their nights walking in snow with warm clothing. The temperature was not even below zero. Infact during snowfall you don't feel much cold ,it's colder when the sky is clear.
But these mummy daddy folks of Islamabad and shehri babus of Lahore, Gujranwala fond of eating paye,nallis chole etc can't step a bit outside of their comfort zones. They love to exaggerate things psychologically. O dekho barf payi aa Haye sardi Haye sardi ...they are known for making mess at tourist places.
Let me give you a real life example. When I was in St Petersburg Russia in 2012 in January once i missed my metro which was supposed to close at 1 am because I left the city center late. The sky was clear and I still remember the temperature was -31 and it was very windy,the cold wind was making ears ,face and nose numb. That metro station was very far away from the city center and nearby there was little populated areas. Not a restaurant ,hotel etc where I can take a shelter. I decided not to give up and stay like a loser at one place and ended up in a frost bite or possibly dead ,I kept walking for the next three hours on streets with a thick cap on my head to keep my body warm and blood running. At 5 am the metro station was opened and I safely reached my hostel. Now if one can survive in -31 windy Russian night that feels like -40 . I can't see a reason why someone can't spend a night outside in murree in just a zero temperature?
Temperature did reach negative 8 in the night in muree. Nobody dies at Minus 7 , even if wearing some warm clothing.

But cars were buried in snow and that creates lots of insulation.
Likewise restricts flow of air around engine bay and blocks exhaust.
People slept with engine running, and carbon monoxide poisoning happened.

How hard is it to develop a system to that only lets people in if they have a valid booking or a residence during peak seasons?

How hard is it to do many basic things in Pakistan --- apparently, very hard.
Muree is the worst place to go.

Poor accommodation
Very very poor food
Rude people
Poor roads

Why people go there beats me

I think 'Murree' is a catch-all phrase. Many people are going to the various galiat.

Congestion tax in the thousands should be charged at the tolls, roads closed during forecast of heavy snow (as there was), and a ban after a certain saturation of vehicles is reached should be imposed.

Deceased were not old and frail. Look at the age group.

FIk2G6DXwAYHCkD.jpeg

It’s Been 8 years, I heard they widen the road but murree need motor way. US govt build 6 lane motorway 50 years ago on Hawaiian volcanic mountain. Murree should not be hard.
You do know that the project you are quoting took 30 years to built and was one of the most expensive too. That and it's just mere kilometers compared to Pakistan.