Side effects of India's Dharma: One woman killed in Vrindavan temple stampede

why not post the whole one, coward......,....you are great in misinterpretetion.....,

Indian member, you are using Slang. Now where is your shukla didi?

with people like you ranting away rubbish........its nice to be in the 'children's' thread.......btw what were you doing in the children's thread???.......searching for toddlers of your age?? Btw i guess dieing in a temple for hindus is better than being flogged or brutally killed by the taliban or extrimists in the name of islam......though both are pathetic....

Here is the full post. Why were you dragging the Taliban factor here boy?

Also please explain the significance of Smily. I am sure communist smile on their mother's grave.

I always smile. You should also smile. Smiling is good for health.

Now please stop the use of the word 'mother'. Please please.

130 killed in Himachal temple stampede

August 03, 2008 15:44 IST
Last Updated: August 03, 2008 20:06 IST

One hundred and thirty people were killed and several injured in a stampede at the Naina Devi temple in Himachal Pradesh [Images] on Sunday, the Punjab government said.

The Naina Devi temple is in Bilaspur district of Himachal Pradesh. The temple is located about 160 km from Shimla.

A large number of pilgrims had gathered to offer prayers on the occasion of 'Navratra' at the temple where a railing on the way to it collapsed due to heavy rush, resulting in the stampede, official sources said.

The Himachal Pradesh government has confirmed that more than 100 pilgrims lost their lives in the Naina Devi temple stampede. The bodies have been brought to Anandpur Sahib Civil Hospital, which is the closest to the place in Bilaspur where the incident took place.

The Naina Devi temple is one of the most visited temples of Devbhumi, which is throunged by lakhs of devotees. This is the first time that an incident of this magnitude has struck the pilgrims. The temple is located at the height of 7,000 feet.

Chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal has reached Anandpur Sahib to meet the relatives of dead and those who have been injured. His office confirmed that the death toll has reached more than 100. He is likely to meet the newsmen later.

Bharatiya Janata Party president Rajnath Singh said that he was deeply moved by the tragedy and expressed his condolences.

"I have spoken to Dhumal who assured me that his government would take all steps to assuage the suffering of those who have been affected by the tragedy," Rajnath said.

Additional District Magistrate C P Verma said that the tragedy took place when people gathered at one place in the temple following rumours of landslide and rolling down of stones from a nearby hilltop.

The commotion caused by the rumours apparently led to the stampede, which took place as a sudden rush was caused by people returning from the temple and those going up on a 4 km trek to reach it.

A large number of the devotees were from Himachal Pradesh and neighbouring Punjab.

Superintendent of Police K K Indoria and other senior civil and police officials were at the spot to supervise the relief work, which was hampered due to rain.

A temple functionary said devotees with minor injuries have been sent to a hospital in nearby Dawar Chowk while those with serious injuries were being sent to hospitals in Punjab's Anandpur Sahib.

Inspector General of Police (Law and Order) S R Mardi has rushed to the incident site from Shimla.

Bharatiya Janata Party lesgislator Randhir Sharma from Kot Kahloor, under which the Naina Devi temple of Goddess Durga falls, has also rushed to the spot.

The state government has ordered a magisterial inquiry into the incident.

A compensation of Rs 1 lakh each to the next of kin of the deceased would be given by the state government.

Rs 50,000 each would be given to the seriously injured and Rs 25,000 each to those with minor injuries.

Expressing grief over the tragedy, Governor Prabha Rau and Dhumal offered their condolences to members of the bereaved families.

The chief minister directed concerned officials to provide speedy relief to the injured.

130 killed in Himachal temple stampede

India temple stampede death toll rises to 224 | Top News

cb24e137395de686c76d9d569c6dfdbd.jpg

New Delhi - The death toll from a stampede of Hindu worshippers at a temple in India's north-western town of Jodhpur has risen to 224, making it one of the worst accidents of that kind in India in the recent years, officials said Thursday.

Jodhpur's top administrative official Kiran Soni Gupta said by telephone that 77 more deaths reported by relatives were confirmed by the local administration, adding to the earlier death toll of 147.

"A total of 224 died in the stampede at the Chamunda Devi temple on Tuesday," Gupta said.

"Seventy-seven more deaths were reported by relatives who took the injured and bodies from the accident site directly to their homes or private hospitals," she said.

Doctors at two state-run hospitals where 54 injured were admitted for treatment said the condition of two wounded was "critical."

Tuesday's stampede was most likely caused after one of the devotees slipped on the 70-75-metre ramp leading to the hilltop shrine and fell on other pilgrims, causing a cascading effect in which most of the victims were crushed, trampled and suffocated, she said.

All victims of the accident were men as women had a separate queue about 100 metres apart from the men. At the time of the accident there were at least 15,000 people in the vicinity of the temple.

Police said more than 100 policemen, including several officers, were posted at the shrine to regulate the huge crowds that gather annually on the first day of the nine-day Navratri festival dedicated to the mother goddess Durga or Chamunda.

The 500-year-old temple, located on a hilltop within the 15th century Mehrangarh fort, is a popular destination in Jodhpur, a prominent city in India's Rajasthan state located about 350 kilometres west of the state capital Jaipur.

The Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje has ordered an inquiry into Tuesday's accident.

The probe will be headed by a retired state judge and is to submit its report to the government in the next three months, officials said.

Temple stampedes are not uncommon in India where huge crowds gather to pray on auspicious days at complexes where the approach roads and entrances are usually narrow.

In August, a stampede near a mountaintop Hindu temple in northern Himachal Pradesh state killed 145 people. In January 2005, more than 260 Hindu pilgrims, including several children, were killed in a stampede in a temple in western Maharashtra state.

Jaganath temple stampede - Snoop News from India - SmasHits.com

New Delhi, Nov. 4 (ANI): Three people were killed and at least 10 injured when a stampede broke out in the crowded campus of Jagannath temple in Orissa’s Puri town today morning. The incident occurred around 0730 hrs when the temple gates were opened for the day. A large crowd of devotees, waiting outside rushed in, resulting in the stampede. A state police contingent was rushed to the spot to take stock of the situation.

Communist,

Does stampede only happens in India. Is that what you are trying to prove ?

I could post 10X more photos of stampede deaths during Hajj. But i will not.

Himachal Pradesh Stampede pix

Jodhpur Chamundi Temple stampede:

Attachments

• ab364efd00fac295f608292b06723dcd.jpg
    ab364efd00fac295f608292b06723dcd.jpg
    34.2 KB · Views: 12
  • fdf60e7175bdd34f3726f74b4aa26459.jpg
    fdf60e7175bdd34f3726f74b4aa26459.jpg
    106.9 KB · Views: 14
  • fd4edf1007270020a936fef6184718d4.jpg
    fd4edf1007270020a936fef6184718d4.jpg
    26.8 KB · Views: 10
  • 721ad49160a676f8675a2d9c13f396b1.jpg
    721ad49160a676f8675a2d9c13f396b1.jpg
    48.2 KB · Views: 13
I could post 10X more photos of stampede deaths during Hajj. But i will not.

Nothing to prove. Can you deny that temple stampede cases which take thousands of human lives do not happen in India?

Why are you referring to the Haj?

A Muslim guy is rescuing a Hindu stampede victim along with policemen in Rajasthan

82d8a8f142f1767c76484b95cb364bf1.jpg

Nothing to prove. Can you deny that temple stampede cases which take thousands of human lives do not happen in India?

Why are you referring to the Haj?

dear communist...

You are absolutely right in pointing out side effects of mismanagement.

Thanks for the post.

good night .:wave:

Communist you have gone to new low. Using innocent people's death to bash Hinduism. Can you kindly also post how many people died during Hajj as well. Very dissapointed in you communist. I liked debating you but this is very low. :tsk: