Lahore tribute: Pakistani Sikhs remember victims of Golden Temple raid

Kabira

899240-protest-1433619245-504-640x480.JPG

LAHORE: Members of the Sikh community descended on Lahore from all parts of the country on Saturday to pay tribute to the victims of Operation Blue Star that was launched by the Indian government in 1984. The raid on Golden Temple left about 500 Sikhs dead and many others injured.

About 300 Sikhs, including children and women, assembled in Nankana Sahib from different parts of the country and reached Lahore together to mark the attack on Harmandir Sahib Complex popularly known as Golden Temple by the Indian forces.

They staged a sit in at Charing Cross (now renamed Faisal Square) where they had lunch. They were carrying placards inscribed slogans like never forget, never forgive and no more genocide of Sikhs of India.

They were chanting slogans in favour of Pakistan and against the Indian government. A delegation of Pakistan Sikh Gurdawara Parbandak Committee (PSGPC) handed over a memorandum to Punjab minorities minister Tahir Khalil Sindhu on the commemoration.

Speaking on the occasion, PSGPC Secretary General Gopaal Singh said they are proud of being Pakistanis. He said there are 350 Sikh Gurdwaras in Pakistan and all are in control of PSGPC.

Gopaal Singh condemned the Indian government over Operation Blue Star and said they would take revenge for it at any cost. Later, the demonstrators marched to Alhamra Hall where they had planned a performance to depict the operation.

Operation Blue Star

The Indian military operation which occurred between 3 and 8 June 1984, on the orders of the then prime minister Indira Gandhi against Sikhs in order to establish control over the Harmandir Sahib Complex in Amritsar, Punjab, and remove Jarnail Singh Bhindranwala and his armed followers from the complex buildings. Bhindranwala, a secessionist leader, calling for the establishment of Khalistan, had earlier taken up residence in Harmandir Sahib and made it his headquarters in April 1980.

Lahore tribute: Sikhs remember victims of Golden Temple raid - The Express Tribune

Gopaal Singh condemned the Indian government over Operation Blue Star and said they would take revenge for it at any cost.

I think revenge is on the cards, we will help our brothers to take revenge from Indians.

Op.blue star was to eliminate Bhindranwale, a terrorist who was using the golden temple complex to amass weapons.
But the Anti-Sikh riots that followed assassination of Indira gandhi could have been avoided.

I think revenge is on the cards, we will help our brothers to take revenge from Indians.
You're supporting terrorism.
Another post supporting Khalistan would get reported.

bibi aqal se kam lo. I am supporting revenge not terrorism, we don't believe in terrorist vs terrorist like Indians. And stop calling saint like Bhindranwala a terrorist!
Do you have any knowledge of what Bhindranwale did to his own ppl???
Bhindranwale was a congressi stooge who had turned rogue.

Btw isnt it interesting to note that sikh riots preceded kashmir violence??? One way or the other someone had decided to keep India burning.
Dont think I'm taking a dig at your country.

Ghandi ***** deserved what she got.

Indira_Gandhi_assassination.jpg

1) Its Gandhi, which definitely is not her real surname. Her husband Feroze Jehangir Ghandy was forced to make it Gandhi.
2) That lady had a lot of spunk that men lacked, it takes a lot of courage to show middle finger to uncle sam.
So far in India we have had just 2 real leaders, Indira Gandhi and Modi.

Hazrat Umar R.A ne farmaya hai

"Kuffar ki Hakoomat to qayem reh sakti hai lekin Zulm ki nahin".

Mark my words,modi along with his follower will bite the dust and InshAllah one day our true indian brothers will get freedom from hinduvtas like modi and indian army

Unlike other countries our army doesn't have a religion, Gen. Joginder Jaswant singh and Gen. Bikram singh were sikhs and also chief of army staff once upon a time.

Do you have any knowledge of what Bhindranwale did to his own ppl???
Bhindranwale was a congressi stooge who had turned rogue.

Btw isnt it interesting to note that sikh riots preceded kashmir violence??? One way or the other someone had decided to keep India burning.
Dont think I'm taking a dig at your country.

1) Its Gandhi, which definitely is not her real surname. Her husband Feroze Jehangir Ghandy was forced to make it Gandhi.
2) That lady had a lot of spunk that men lacked, it takes a lot of courage to show uncle sam the middle finger.
So far in India we have had just 2 real leaders, Indira Gandhi and Modi.

Saint Bhindranwala was peacefull person, all he wanted was justice and freedom to pray at sikh temples. While Ghendi killed thousands of peacefull sikhs who were praying at that time in Golden temple.

So, when are these Sikhs in Pakistan creating Khalistan ? Lahore will be there capital, right ?
If the Pakistanis support Khalistan, then when are they vacating Maharaja Ranjit Singh's land ?

Unlike other countries our army doesn't have a religion, Gen. Joginder Jaswant singh and Gen. Bikram singh were sikhs and also chief of army staff once upon a time.

Well everyone in the army is brainwashed on the pattern of hindutvas.

So, when are these Sikhs in Pakistan creating Khalistan ? Lahore will be there capital, right ?
If the Pakistanis support Khalistan, then when are they vacating Maharaja Ranjit Singh's land ?

abhe donghu, its Pakistani land. Every pak and khalis person can stay in it.

Saint Bhindranwala was peacefull person, all he wanted was justice and freedom to pray at sikh temples. While Ghendi killed thousands of peacefull sikhs who were praying at that time in Golden temple.
Yes a very peaceful person who demanded khalistan, who was a rabble-rouser, who used golden temple to his weapons.
Tell me about it!
Well everyone in the army is brainwashed on the pattern of hindutvas.
And you sir think every hindu is a terrorist???
what do you think hindutva is???

Yes a very peaceful person who demanded khalistan, who was a rabble-rouser, who used golden temple to his weapons.
Tell me about it!

And you sir think every hindu is a terrorist???
what do you think hindutva is???

Demanding khalistan for khalis people is not terrorism. Their demand were justified since they didn't get to chose for their own homeland or India.

Are your sure ppl in your country are not "demanding" anything similar???
would you give a free reign to the fringe elements in your country???

You're supporting terrorism in India!!!

abhe donghu, its Pakistani land. Every pak and khalis person can stay in it.

1. I will report you if you resort to name calling.
2. Within a blink of an eye independent Khalistan became a part of Pakistan now ? Do you even know Khalistan means an independent autonomous state for the Sikhs ? So how will it be, a province of Pakistan ? What will happen to Punjab and Sind then ?

You should be completing you studies rather than wasting time here, otherwise you will keep saying things without an iota of knowledge about it.