World high speed railway speed survey 2013

For anyone who is interested in the profits and benefits of Chinese HSR, world bank’s on-going study will be a good reference. the study will continue for the next 30 years, and world bank has published a series of papers based on their initial analysis. it would be a very good example for other countries to study as well.

For instance, http://www-wds.worldbank.org/external/default/WDSContentServer/WDSP/IB/2012/04/05/000333038_20120405014021/Rendered/PDF/667980BRI0P12500Speed0Rail0Final0EN.pdf
or this
http://www-wds.worldbank.org/external/default/WDSContentServer/WDSP/IB/2013/01/16/000356161_20130116164534/Rendered/PDF/NonAsciiFileName0.pdf

Certainly we are not going to make world first or second or third largest HSR, it will per requirement instead of meeting GDP growth rate target like China.

who cares if you are making 1st or 2nd
dont take all your infrastructures into your econ growth then
you are just babbling b/s all along

Certainly we are not going to make world first or second or third largest HSR, it will per requirement instead of meeting GDP growth rate target like China.

I don't know how much impact HSR investment is on GDP, but to me, for developing countries like China, investment led growth is way better than export or consumption based growth. Investment for the future, while consumption is just mm, meeting current demands and export is to benefit consumers in other countries. Investment by definition is loss of current profit for gain of future profit.

Anyway, East Asian countries have tradition of saving for future. We don't just spend every penny to purchase consumer goods, so I doubt China will ever be consumption led economy. We have this sense of tradition that every penny we put in investment will be useful to our future generations.

who cares if you are making 1st or 2nd
dont take all your infrastructures into your econ growth then
you are just babbling b/s all along

Why would I babble, I just wanted some statistics from you. What was the purpose of posting crowded Indian train, I can too post such pictures from China. :cheesy:

Why would I babble, I just wanted some statistics form you. What was purpose of posting crowded Indian train, I can too post such pictures from China. :cheesy:

I said this before and pointed out the big difference. why repeat the same point?

while there are some good arguments in your post, the insult is definitely uncalled-for. why can't we just stay on topic and have some nice discussion?

Infrastructure has long term gain, these low IQ Indians don't understand basic economics. They parrot everything their white masters say. One of the main reasons the Indian economy is totally collapsing right now is India has no manufacturing sector. Why doesn't India have a manufacturing sector? Because Indian transportation systems are non-existent. Producers cannot transport their goods from their manufacturing site to warehouses to retail stores. Without great infrastructure (transportation, telecommunications, energy) countries become stagnant due to their bottlenecks. It takes a long time to develop the necessary infrastructure. China has been going at an incredible speed in infrastructure development but even after all of that, we are still short of infrastructure.

You think the Indian economy is bad now, just wait, it's going to get a whole lot worse as their economy is struggling to upgrade from a bunch of useless call centres to a manufacturing based economy that can export and run trade surpluses to reverse their current account deficits which has resulted in a collapsed currency. I know they have these grandiose plans but we all know it never gets completed due to staggering corruption and sheer Indian incompetence.

India thought they could put the cart before the horse and skip the manufacturing phase if industrialization, but now they have realised the deep hole they are in. Indian growth will average 3-4% this decade, I'm talking about actual growth, not the nonsense they want us to believe.

Infrastructure has long term gain, these low IQ Indians don't understand basic economics.

Yeah right,May be thats why ''High IQ'' Chinese are critisizing the very Idea of India building an HSR.Dont worry,We are going to spend 1 trillion for infrastructure in next five years .

They parrot everything their white masters say.

And You are parroting what your CCP masters say

One of the main reasons the Indian economy is totally collapsing right now is India has no manufacturing sector. Why doesn't India have a manufacturing sector?

Are you serious?We have a good manufacturing sector-We are second largest producers of cement,third largest producers of steel,6th largest producers of Cars,and yes,we would have to get more Industrialised .

Thats why we are going in for this project-already started-cost $100 billion

Because Indian transportation systems are non-existent. Producers cannot transport their goods from their manufacturing site to warehouses to retail stores. Without great infrastructure (transportation, telecommunications, energy) countries become stagnant due to their bottlenecks.

Again,are you serious?? :disagree:

21 metro rails by 2019(3 operational,5 more would be operational by 2013-2014)and 15 monorails
Metro

City System Start of operations
Kolkata Kolkata Metro 24 October 1984
Delhi Delhi Metro 24 December 2002
Bangalore Namma Metro 20 October 2011
Gurgaon Rapid Metro Rail 2013
Jaipur Jaipur Metro 2013
Chennai Chennai Metro 2014
Mumbai Mumbai Metro 2014
Navi Mumbai Navi Mumbai Metro 2014
Kochi Kochi Metro 2016
Hyderabad Hyderabad Metro 2015
Ahmedabad MEGA 2015
Bhopal Bhopal Metro
Chandigarh Chandigarh Metro 2018
Indore Indore Metro 2019
Kanpur Kanpur Metro 2017
Lucknow Lucknow Metro 2018
Ludhiana Ludhiana Metro 2017-18
Nagpur Nagpur Metro
Patna Patna Metro 2016
Pune Pune Metro 2018
Surat Surat Metro
Guwahati Guwahati Metro

$13.6 billion+$20 billion for 12000 km Golden Quadrilateral and North-South and East-West corridor roads, $75 billion allocated for National highways only(already under implementation)-India,is a fedarilsm and heck,even the states are building freeways on PPP basis

Name Of The Project:- National Highways Development Programme Phase III, V, VI, VII

Cost Of The Project:- More than Rs 3 lac crore / $75 billion +

Key Facts:-

* Phase III:- Govt. approved on 5.3.2005 upgradation and 4 laning of 4,035 km of national highways on BOT basis at an estimated cost of Rs 22,207 cr (2004 prices). Govt. approved in April 2007 upgradation and 4 laning of 8,074 km at an estimated cost of Rs 54,339 cr.

* Phase V:- CCEA had approved on 5.10.2006 6 laning of 6,500 km of existing 4 lane highways on DBFO basis.

* Phase VI :- CCEA approved on November 2006 for 1000 km of expressways at an estimated cost of Rs 16,680 cr.

* Phase VII:- CCEA has approved on December 2007 for 700 km of ring roads,bypasses and flyovers at an estimated cost of Rs 16,680 cr.

523532_380195505394148_1601482276_n.jpg

Electric power production of 225.133 GW + 34.444 GW (captive power plants) (read below qoute for future expansion)

POWER SECTOR

a) THERMAL POWER

1) Reliance Power Dadri(7460 MW)=$6.25 billion

2) Sasan UMPP(3960 MW)=$5 billion

3) Reliance Power chitrangi(5980 MW)=$7.5 billion

4) Krishnapatnam UMPP(4000 MW)=$5 billion

5) Adani Power Mundra(4620 MW)=$5 billion

6) NTPC kudgi(4000 MW)=$6 billion

7) Jamnagar project(4000 MW)=$5 billion

8) NTPC lara project(4000 MW)=$7.5 billion

9) IL&FS tamil nadu(3600 MW)=$5 billion

10) NTPC sundergarh(4800 MW)=$10 billion

11) Tilaiya UMPP(4000 MW)=$6 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$68.25 billion / Rs 2.6 lac crore

TOTAL CAPACITY=50,420 MW

b) NUCLEAR POWER

1) Koodankulam project Tamil Nadu(9200 MW)=$16 billion

2) Jaitapur project(10,000 MW)=$25 billion

3) Kovvada project(8000 MW)=$15 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$56 billion / Rs 2.3 lac crore

TOTAL CAPACITY=27,200 MW

c) RENEWABLE ENERGY

1) Jawaharlal Nehru National Solar mission(20,000 MW)=$75 billion

TOTAL INVESTMENT=$75 billion/ 3 lac crore

TOTAL CAPACITY=20,000 MW

d) TRANSMISSION AND DISTRIBUTION

1) PGCIL for XI plan=$14 billion

2) PGCIL XII plan=$30 billion

About railways,they are seperating freight and passender traffic,adding more powerful locos and double decker coaches,acquiring semi high speed EMUs and increasing top speed to 200kmph

Now dedicated Freight corridor

Cost Of The Project:-Rs 60,000 cr/ $15 billion

Time Duration:- 2008-2018

Current Status:- Western Freight Corridor work started in 2008 and eastern
corridor work started in 2010

The Western Corridor covers a distance of 1483 km of double line electric (2 X 25 KV) track from JNPT to Dadri via Vadodara-Ahmedabad-Palanpur-Phulera-Rewari. In addition, a single line connection of 32km long from proposed Pirthala Junction Station (near Asaoti on Delhi-Mathura line) to Tughlakabad is also proposed to be provided

The Eastern Corridor encompasses a double line electrified traction corridor from Sonnagar on the East Central Railway to Khurja on the North Central Railway (820 Km), Khurja to Dadri on NCR Double Line electrified corridor (46 Km) and Single electrified line from Khurja to Ludhiana (412 Km) on Northern Railway. The total length works out to 1279 Km.
80806535.jpg

Now communication,right

Name Of The Project:- Setting Up National Broadband Network

Cost Of The Project:- Rs 60,000 cr / $15 billion

Time Duration:- 2010-2014

Key Facts:-

* The objective of national broadband network is to provide optic fibre to homes in 63 cities covered under Jawahar Lal Nehru Urban Renewal Mission (JNURM), and within half a km distance from homes in all other cities.

* The first phase covering all cities, urban areas and gram panchayats will be completed by the year 2012

* Phase II will see the extension of the network to all the habitations having a population more than 500, to be completed by the year 2013.

* A target of providing 75 million broadband connections has been kept by 2012 and 160 million broadband connections by the year 2014.

Is Shutter really Chinese living in China? I am curious because his English is too good, lol. Plus, he has this enthusiasm to argue with Indians, haha. You guys keep going.

Lmao... He is obsessed with Indians. lol...

there are quite a few Indian trolls here obsessed with Chinese 'bad news' on this forum. the retaliation has already turned into mud fight and some ppl became very aggressive. I am glad at least Indian rape news, poverty, malnutrition etc are banned topics.

may be,he ought to have an indian girlfriend who dumped him,which made him so intolerant to other indians as well...

nobody seemed to be interested in share some on-topic information. @gslv mk3, nice compilation, just would be better if they are HSR related. Is it possible that you can compile an Indian HSR thread possibly in the C&S Asia section. At this point, any official planning information will be appreciated. I think it would be a much better use of your skills.

$8 billion for 500km of HSR is way too optimistic. considering land acquisition, trainsets and all supporting systems, the final cost is probably going to be doubled.

Its India, not America. Here things can be afforded at low cost.

I am not using American standard(there is no American standard of HSR construction anyway).

You need to import the the cement track plates(if going for ballastless), signaling systems, trainsets and so on. If India is going to use Japanese Shinkansen technology, the Japanese will charge you more than their domestic prices because you don't have the ability to manufacture your own and therefore have to rely on them. Take the Taiwan HSR for instance, it imports everything from Japan now, and Japan is also in charge of its extension construction. The original total budget for the 340km Taiwan HSR in 1999 was $15 billion, and the Taiwanese government later had to make additional investment. That is the price you are going to pay if you don't have the technologies. And choosing French TGV over Japanese Shinkansen isn't going to be any different.

Its India, not America. Here things can be afforded at low cost.

Since you were banned, it seems to be useless to provide the update, but well, hopefully others can still learn something from the following numbers.

The ridership statistics for Beijing-Shanghai HSR just came out this month. In its first year of operation(from 06/30/2011 to 06/30/2012) the 1318 km Beijing-Shanghai HSR delivered 53 million passengers, and in the second year from 07/01/2012 to 06/30/2013, it delivered 74 million passengers, a whopping 40% year by year increase in ridership. The line made $2.8 billion in 2012, which has successfully covered the loan interest and operation costs (mind you, this is achieved in the first two years!).

I want to know the passenger statistics and profit being made by your HSR. HSR project is contributing to achieving China annual GDP growth rate target but I want to know about business.

China is a middle income country, even many developed countries hadn't opted for such a huge HSR network yet.
Ok I will make it easy for you and also check the date 2013-02-03.

China's high-speed rail network reports staggering losses