women take a stand, stop karva chauth

Jamahir has some arabic replacements I presume?

replacements for me?? main thoda alag hoon. :enjoy:

by the way, do you live in uae??

@levina , he is the uae person i was talking about.

There is no compulsion for a married females to do karwa chauth. It is not celebrated in the south and western belt with the same enthu as northen UP/punjabi belt...

So those who does not want to follow it are free to not to do so.

karwa chauth was mainly popularized in the last ten or so years all over india through two mediums - the "saas bahu" serials and tv advertisements for jewellery and unrelated useless things like cell phones and insurance.

the op also indicates the commercialness of the event.

also, the renewed interest/fanaticism in "indian culture" among a lot of the modern hindu jobnik youth played a big role in the event being accepted.

this is similar to recent populaization of another hindu festival - "dhanteras"... it was mostly unknown in much of india but a few years ago the bjp leader, uma bharati, had some party problems with someone and declared on media "dhanteras ke din hi !!" ( or something like that ) and soon, this obscure festival or ceremony became yet another medium for sellers of commercial goods to peddle their wares to the unthinking lot who welcomed yet another festival in their chaotic lives.

so what is point of writing an articale and u posting this thread ,

the authoress, married for 25 years, declares that to show/keep her love for her husband, she never had to resort to "wisdom of elders" and superstitions ( "oh, fasting on this particular day will increase the lifespan of my husband" ) and ceremonial demonstration to her in-laws and parents.

my intent of posting this article is not only to provide a international audience to indian progressives like her but also to provoke thought in other south asians whose traditions have also lot of nonsense.

we must get away from all this.

How is anyone fasting going to make someone else starve?

all that special food preparations and extra spending on the ceremony... multiply that by a population of say 400 million... such a waste !!

What about Eid celebrations ? Ramadan ?

i have never fasted.

there is a good number of muslims around the world who also don't ( though in india in recent years, fasters have increased ).

but we must compare the miniscule number of muslim festivity with almost round-the-year traditional hindu ceremonies and festivities... i am not trying to be belligerent here but just pointing to the facts.

nevertheless, like i have always said, religion has no future... i only work towards a post-religion communist humanity.

so u were the born in a hurry eh?

i think so... nature wanted me to enter the world soon enough so that i could arrange some changes. :enjoy:

Whateva!!!
I support nimboopani over mango smoothie.

i support tea over both. :agree:

jamahir

u can try injecting half potent poison in to our heads but u will fail,haum bhagwe jhande ke putt hain,tu hamaara jhaant nahi ukhaad payega

huzoor, ab toh western capitalist agencies ( moody's jaisi ) bhi bol rahi hain ki aap log apni kartoot bandh karein... koi hai duniya main jo aapko pasand karta ho??

On a similar topic: is raksha bandhan a sexist festival?... it presumes girl child as weaker and boy as stronger. :pop:

"raksha bandhan" or "bhai dooj" never stopped many brothers from "honor killing" their sister or forcing her to suicide just because she happened to love someone or wanted to pursue a certain field of study or profession and the brothers wouldn't allow her. :)

but i like a recent tv advertisement where in a raksha bandhan setting, the brother vows "to protect you, o sister" and the girl says "i can protect myself... all i need is your love and this chocolate" ( or something like that ).

"raksha bandhan" or "bhai dooj" never stopped many brothers from "honor killing" their sister or forcing her to suicide just because she happened to love someone or wanted to pursue a certain field of study or profession and the brothers wouldn't allow her. :)

but i like a recent tv advertisement where in a raksha bandhan setting, the brother vows "to protect you, o sister" and the girl says "i can protect myself... all i need is your love and this chocolate" ( or something like that ).
I agree... totally.. although I would not impose my views on others, nor will I unilaterally withdraw supply of chocolate/money/gift just because I came to such realization. :p:

Have you ever observed this: you tend to be super logical, removing all biases and think clear headed way with the information at hand, if it is about other tradition/religion/culture and not one's own.
By you I dont mean YOU, I mean in general, of course. :devil:

I agree... totally.. although I would not impose my views on others, nor will I unilaterally withdraw supply of chocolate/money/gift just because I came to such realization. :p:

sure, bribing does bring advantages... one's non-angry sister can later serve as a alibi or accomplice or general support... she may also set you up with her female friends. :D

sad that i don't have a sister.

Have you ever observed this: you tend to be super logical, removing all biases and think clear headed way with the information at hand, if it is about other tradition/religion/culture and not one's own.
By you I dont mean YOU, I mean in general, of course. :devil:

i will ignore the attempted coded jibe at me. :enjoy:

and yes, most people generally tend to be defensive and elaborate about their own cultural setting and logical/questioning/critical of others beliefs.

but i being a amused and remotely-observant socialist and jaded by the unthinking superficiality of it all, begin to think "at what point does people's festive enjoyment end and uncomfortable wastefulness begin??"... hmm, i am unclear about that thought.

the authoress, married for 25 years, declares that to show/keep her love for her husband, she never had to resort to "wisdom of elders" and superstitions ( "oh, fasting on this particular day will increase the lifespan of my husband" ) and ceremonial demonstration to her in-laws and parents.

my intent of posting this article is not only to provide a international audience to indian progressives like her but also to provoke thought in other south asians whose traditions have also lot of nonsense.

we must get away from all this.
isnt tht the same thing practice u guys do during ramzan is tht also a supersition , why not start with ur ,make example out of it
if ur intent is so clear start with ur tradition

sure, bribing does bring advantages... one's non-angry sister can later serve as a alibi or accomplice or general support... she may also set you up with her female friends. :D

sad that i don't have a sister.

i will ignore the attempted coded jibe at me. :enjoy:

and yes, most people generally tend to be defensive and elaborate about their own cultural setting and logical/questioning/critical of others beliefs.

but i being a amused and remotely-observant socialist and jaded by the unthinking superficiality of it all, begin to think "at what point does people's festive enjoyment end and uncomfortable wastefulness begin??"... hmm, i am unclear about that thought.
ah our observations are so similar but conclusion vary... :)
yesterday was holloween here, kids going around in costumes asking trick or treat... asking chocolate or money from people going door to door.. even adults were having fun... and instead of thinking what a wasteful capitalistic moneyminded idea, I thought.. wish I was a kid.. wish I could join them.. they surely were having tons of fun. :cry:

replacements for me?? main thoda alag hoon. :enjoy:

@levina , he is the uae person i was talking about
Then either he isnt ignorant about the repercussions of posting about certain section or- as i said earlier he doesnt live in this country. :)

yesterday was holloween here, kids going around in costumes asking trick or treat... asking chocolate or money from people going door to door.. even adults were having fun...

when did that american festival come to britain??

isnt tht the same thing practice u guys do during ramzan is tht also a supersition , why not start with ur ,make example out of it
if ur intent is so clear start with ur tradition

please see my reply to "gslv mk3" down below in the very post you have quoted... it will start a new discussion perhaps.

Then either he isnt ignorant about the repercussions of posting about certain section or- as i said earlier he doesnt live in this country. :)

i have edited that post to ask him if he lives there... let's wait for him.

when did that american festival come to britain??
dont know..
wiki says its an old celtic pagan festival celebrated all over the christian world, may be more popular in USA.
anyway who cares who started it, the fun is pure british. :p:
a damp, rainy, dark, cold island surely can do with a bit of fun, I say bring more americanism here.

i don't know why but most of Modern Indian Girls are more Feminist than Americans i don't know why.
bhai yahe to Ghazwa-e-hind ki alamaat hay.. :D

On a serious note , those "Indian/Pakistanis" Girls who ARE modern are normal girls,, Those who PRETEND to be modern are the one who you talking about.

I want to take all these pseudos and examine their brain,how can a creation of god fail on all fronts at the same time?
this particular guy is not a pseudo, he is a closet Islamist.

but we must compare the miniscule number of muslim festivity with almost round-the-year traditional hindu ceremonies and festivities... i am not trying to be belligerent here but just pointing to the facts.

Its still a wasteful exercise,in a country where billions starve