why stop drones ???!

Imran Khan

PDF VETERAN
dear members i was thinking since few day why should stop drone attacks ? TTP and Taliban only scared of drone strikes and can't move freely its horror dream for them . when they move eat sleep they always have fear of drone in their hearts. if drone strikes stop i am 90% sure they will be more free move free attack free and live more comfortable and enjoy gathering and plan more bloody attacks on Pakistani public and forces . drones till now are the best effective weapon against tali ban . last 3 chiefs of TTP killed by drone and many many other top and low level Taliban killed by drone. those media persons politicians and anchors are bashing day night now for stop drones they can give us guarantee that after drone stop Taliban will live peacefully ? any sane person who know nature of blood bath Taliban have to rethink it. time will tell and i am sure you all will see if drones stop Taliban will expend like cancer in Pakistan . only other option is Pakistan buy some 50 to 70 trusty well armed drone from any nation with best tech and keep killing and pushing to the wall Taliban otherwise stopping drone will be a nightmare for Pakistan.those whom are bashing day night drones they are playing in hands of Taliban and doing hard work to fulfill Taliban's dream of freedom in Pakistan.because drone is a one of main wall between civilized world and stone age taliban .

another nice point of view only for pakistanis .

1391655_679120065453216_806469314_n.jpg

3 TTP chiefs? The only TTP Chief who got killed was Baitullah Masoud. And even when he got killed, CIA was not admitted that He got killed, but Pakistani Side was jumping on this. (Some sources were even saying, ISI misguided them to kill Baitullah Masoud)

USA targets and Pakistan Targets are different, very different. But these drone strikes are allowing TTP to get cover under Talibans (Who fought Soviet War). That's why Drone strikes needs to be stopped.

The only allowed option is, USA hand over drones to Pakistan and then Pakistan operate Drones while CIA remains on the selection of targets. Not otherway around.

(There are many other points, but I am keeping only those which are sync with topic)

It should stop the day when those area is controlled by Pakistni forces, then PA can call that is their area. There is no point that you are saying your sovereignty is breached when your army cant even enter that place. Now it is a lawless region just like Somalia.

aji koi nahi rikte yedrone strikes ye to pakistan ki barso ki USA sewa aur loyalty ka inam hai to pakistan ko har hafte milta hai aur ye to pakistani khudmukhtari ka azeem O shan shahkaar hai ye bhi band ho gaya to nikkamme pakistani genrral aur berocrats aur neta kis ko pakistan ki halat ka jimedar thehrayenge

It should stop the day when those area is controlled by Pakistni forces, then PA can call that is their area. There is no point that you are saying your sovereignty is breached when your army cant even enter that place. Now it is a lawless region just like Somalia.
sovereignty ? WTF these areas are out of pakistani control a man wear pant and shirt can't enter in area let alone forces . its war zone and drones are suicide bombers of our side . i will stand with pakistanis if the area was under our control

another nice point of view only for pakistanis .

1391655_679120065453216_806469314_n.jpg
3 TTP chiefs? The only TTP Chief who got killed was Baitullah Masoud. And even when he got killed, CIA was not admitted that He got killed, but Pakistani Side was jumping on this. (Some sources were even saying, ISI misguided them to kill Baitullah Masoud)

USA targets and Pakistan Targets are different, very different. But these drone strikes are allowing TTP to get cover under Talibans (Who fought Soviet War). That's why Drone strikes needs to be stopped.

The only allowed option is, USA hand over drones to Pakistan and then Pakistan operate Drones while CIA remains on the selection of targets. Not otherway around.

(There are many other points, but I am keeping only those which are sync with topic)
TALIBANS never fought any war against soviet russia!

The US operates the drones in those areas where Pakistan Army has no control or is unwilling to operate against the Taliban.

Why Drones Work: The Case for Washington's Weapon of Choice

Despite the obvious benefits of using drones and the problems associated with the alternatives, numerous critics argue that drones still have too many disadvantages. First among them is an unacceptably high level of civilian casualties. Admittedly, drones have killed innocents. But the real debate is over how many and whether alternative approaches are any better. The Bureau of Investigative Journalism reports that in 2011, drone strikes killed as many as 146 noncombatants, including as many as 9 children. Columbia Law School’s Human Rights Clinic also cites high numbers of civilian deaths, as does the Pakistani organization Pakistan Body Count. Peter Bergen of the New America Foundation oversees a database of drone casualties culled from U.S. sources and international media reports. He estimates that between 150 and 500 civilians have been killed by drones during Obama’s administration. U.S. officials, meanwhile, maintain that drone strikes have killed almost no civilians. In June 2011, John Brennan, then Obama’s top counterterrorism adviser, even contended that U.S. drone strikes had killed no civilians in the previous year. But these claims are based on the fact that the U.S. government assumes that all military-age males in the blast area of a drone strike are combatants— unless it can determine after the fact that they were innocent (and such intelligence gathering is not a priority).

The United States has recently taken to launching “signature strikes,” which target not specific individuals but instead groups engaged in suspicious activities. This approach makes it even more difficult to distinguish between combatants and civilians and verify body counts of each. Still, as one U.S. official told The New York Times last year, “Al Qaeda is an insular, paranoid organization—innocent neighbors don’t hitchhike rides in the back of trucks headed for the border with guns and bombs.” Of course, not everyone accepts this reasoning. Zeeshan-ul-hassan Usmani, who runs Pakistan Body Count, says that “neither [the United States] nor Pakistan releases any detailed information about the victims . . . so [although the United States] likes to call everybody Taliban, I call everybody civilians.”

The truth is that all the public numbers are unreliable. Who constitutes a civilian is often unclear; when trying to kill the Pakistani Taliban leader Baitullah Mehsud, for example, the United States also killed his doctor. The doctor was not targeting U.S. or allied forces, but he was aiding a known terrorist leader. In addition, most strikes are carried out in such remote locations that it is nearly impossible for independent sources to verify who was killed. In Pakistan, for example, the overwhelming majority of drone killings occur in tribal areas that lie outside the government’s control and are prohibitively dangerous for Westerners and independent local journalists to enter. Thus, although the New America Foundation has come under fire for relying heavily on unverifiable information provided by anonymous U.S. officials, reports from local Pakistani organizations, and the Western organizations that rely on them, are no better: their numbers are frequently doctored by the Pakistani government or by militant groups. After a strike in Pakistan, militants often cordon off the area, remove their dead, and admit only local reporters sympathetic to their cause or decide on a body count themselves. The U.S. media often then draw on such faulty reporting to give the illusion of having used multiple sources. As a result, statistics on civilians killed by drones are often inflated. One of the few truly independent on-the-ground reporting efforts, conducted by the Associated Press last year, concluded that the strikes “are killing far fewer civilians than many in [Pakistan] are led to believe.”

But even the most unfavorable estimates of drone casualties reveal that the ratio of civilian to militant deaths—about one to three, according to the Bureau of Investigative Journalism—is lower than it would be for other forms of strikes. Bombings by F-16s or Tomahawk cruise missile salvos, for example, pack a much more deadly payload. In December 2009, the United States fired Tomahawks at a suspected terrorist training camp in Yemen, and over 30 people were killed in the blast, most of them women and children. At the time, the Yemeni regime refused to allow the use of drones, but had this not been the case, a drone’s real-time surveillance would probably have spotted the large number of women and children, and the attack would have been aborted. Even if the strike had gone forward for some reason, the drone’s far smaller warhead would have killed fewer innocents. Civilian deaths are tragic and pose political problems. But the data show that drones are more discriminate than other types of force.

dear members i was thinking since few day why should stop drone attacks ? TTP and Taliban only scared of drone strikes and can't move freely its horror dream for them . when they move eat sleep they always have fear of drone in their hearts. if drone strikes stop i am 90% sure they will be more free move free attack free and live more comfortable and enjoy gathering and plan more bloody attacks on Pakistani public and forces . drones till now are the best effective weapon against tali ban . last 3 chiefs of TTP killed by drone and many many other top and low level Taliban killed by drone. those media persons politicians and anchors are bashing day night now for stop drones they can give us guarantee that after drone stop Taliban will live peacefully ? any sane person who know nature of blood bath Taliban have to rethink it. time will tell and i am sure you all will see if drones stop Taliban will expend like cancer in Pakistan . only other option is Pakistan buy some 50 to 70 trusty well armed drone from any nation with best tech and keep killing and pushing to the wall Taliban otherwise stopping drone will be a nightmare for Pakistan.those whom are bashing day night drones they are playing in hands of Taliban and doing hard work to fulfill Taliban's dream of freedom in Pakistan.because drone is a one of main wall between civilized world and stone age taliban .

I fully agree with you sir but I just want to add that along with buying drones as you said, pakstan will require infrastructure as Americans to attack at right place.This includes robust human intelligence input.

The soviets left Afghanistan in 1989 and Taliban was formed in 1994.

Taliban by name my be formed in 1992 (not 1994;)) but all the major players of Taliban were known to those who were involve in soviet war.

In soviet war, mujahideen's were not organized to take over afghanistan, but was trained for Gorilla Warfare, that's why no organization name was know but some segregated elements only. But in 1992, Taliban name was given so that instead of gorilla fight, they become an organization against Russian backed government and Irani/Indian backed militants (which become North Alliance later on). But that doesn't means Taliban were not involve, it just means "No Taliban" name was used back than. Even I remember during soviet war, mujahideens who were getting trained in Madrass used to be called Talibs.

The US operates the drones in those areas where Pakistan Army has no control or is unwilling to operate against the Taliban.

So Pakistan can attack those regions in USA, where miltants has control and USA government don't have control? Or may be in India? Or may be in Russia? Or may be in unnamed countries of EU? Huge Africa is waiting?