Why isn't Congress revealing details of Sonia Gandhi's travel expenses

Not going into the other issues - but once you come into public life, your every action will be scrutinized. There is nothing haram about that.

So let them scrutinise all they want. But she can refuse to voluntarily divulge her personal affairs. Nothing haram there either. But the point is, she is paying her taxes, whether she chooses to tell us how much or not.

And I am willing to declare you as 'supreme commander of the faithfuls', 'destroyer of corruption', 'messaiah of India'. :)

Thanks...but a supreme council made up of sound minds should be directing the govt focus at all times. This could be implemented now.

I don't understand why she is going abroad for treatment? India has some of the finest and most affordable healthcare on the planet. It strikes me that she is trying to hide somthing but this is a personal issue and should not be discussed like this.

+Indian politics really needs to grow up-this silly BS jounvinille nonsesne produces no good.

^^^ It looks more likely that she wanted to maintain privacy regarding her ailment, and she is definitely entitled to it, like rest of us.
BJP has already realized that its line of attack might backfire.

^^^ It looks more likely that she wanted to maintain privacy regarding her ailment, and she is definitely entitled to it, like rest of us.
BJP has already realized that its line of attack might backfire.

Modi has clarified that he is not seeking the details about the ailment and supports government of India paying for it. He has mentioned that he is interested only in her travel expense between 2004 and now and it is a valid question considering she is holding a public office and so she need to disclose the details of her travel.

Here is a snippet from Indian Express.

Standing by his questions, Modi said he had not asked about Sonia’s illness but about her foreign tours from 2004 (when the UPA came to power) to August 15, 2012. “Soniaji’s illness came into the picture recently. But the questions (under RTI) were asked for three years. And they were only about her travel expenses. One should not make it an emotional issue. I myself tell the PM that the country should bear whatever expenses are needed for Soniaji’s treatment, it’s a human cause. But when a youth has filed an RTI and you take pride over the introduction of RTI, then please give a reply.”

Sonia tours: BJP, Modi cash in on 1,880-cr ‘error’ - Indian Express

Who said she isn't? Are you the regional Income tax officer?

What she refused to do was to make her income tax records public, because she has a right to keep her private affairs private. She does pay her taxes, she just feels that it is only her concern and the IT department's. Just as you don't have to make your tax statements public, so long as you pay your tax.

On topic, Modi scored a self goal in proclaiming that sonia spent 1800 crore on her foreign trip, which he later had to admit was bollocks. Anybody who knows numbers could have told him that nobody will be able to spend that kind of money on travel, unless they are travelling to mars.

Now he is trying to salvage some pride from it by making a mountain out of a mole hill.
True. But Modi's media spin is working. He seems to be evolved in that. He is selling his words well and he does have some projects to his credit like the solar power park. And there must be a lot of corruption in all the business and investment he helped create in Gujarat. But who is there with the balls to call it? Congress is in deep doo itself.

Btw lol on the travel to Mars comment.

True. But Modi's media spin is working. He seems to be evolved in that. He is selling his words well and he does have some projects to his credit like the solar power park. And there must be a lot of corruption in all the business and investment he helped create in Gujarat. But who is there with the balls to call it? Congress is in deep doo itself.

bhai kya hua tujhe tera id aisa q hai :P

Modi has clarified that he is not seeking the details about the ailment and supports government of India paying for it. He has mentioned that he is interested only in her travel expense between 2004 and now and it is a valid question considering she is holding a public office and so she need to disclose the details of her travel.

Here is a snippet from Indian Express.

Standing by his questions, Modi said he had not asked about Sonia’s illness but about her foreign tours from 2004 (when the UPA came to power) to August 15, 2012. “Soniaji’s illness came into the picture recently. But the questions (under RTI) were asked for three years. And they were only about her travel expenses. One should not make it an emotional issue. I myself tell the PM that the country should bear whatever expenses are needed for Soniaji’s treatment, it’s a human cause. But when a youth has filed an RTI and you take pride over the introduction of RTI, then please give a reply.”

Sonia tours: BJP, Modi cash in on 1,880-cr ‘error’ - Indian Express

No ...... GOI should only pay the medical bills for the treatment in Government Hospitals like AIIMS ....

And ....... if Modi is wrong about the figure of 1880 crores then the GOI can declare the correct figure spent and call Mody's bluff.

I think government is on backfoot here ...

Damned if it declares the amount and damned it chooses not too !!!

Modi is a master manipulator.

Who said she isn't? Are you the regional Income tax officer?

What she refused to do was to make her income tax records public, because she has a right to keep her private affairs private. She does pay her taxes, she just feels that it is only her concern and the IT department's. Just as you don't have to make your tax statements public, so long as you pay your tax.

WRONG. Its mandatory for public servants and anyone contesting elections to disclose their income.

Assets disclosed by Sonia Gandhi to the Election Commission in the 2009 Lok Sabha poll was just around Rs 1.38 crore. Her main sources of official income are likely to come from being a cabinet-ranked head of the National Advisory Council (NAC), her salary and income as an MP, including attendance fees, and miscellaneous income from fixed deposits, etc.

According to Sonia Gandhis election returns filed before contesting the 2009 poll, she said she had paid Rs 5.58 lakh as income tax for assessment year 2008-09 and Rs 32,512 in wealth tax. :devil: a tax payment of Rs 5.58 lakh would imply a taxable income of around Rs 16-17 lakh in 2007-08 (financial year).

On topic, Modi scored a self goal in proclaiming that sonia spent 1800 crore on her foreign trip, which he later had to admit was bollocks. Anybody who knows numbers could have told him that nobody will be able to spend that kind of money on travel, unless they are travelling to mars.

1800 crore for 3 years , making it around 600 crore per year. Cost of chartering a plane is around 1 crore an hour (including expensive aero fuel). If she takes a flight to the US stays there for 10 days and visits Switzerland, Italy and other tax havens ...it would be a easy 100-200 crore. Now add cost of her security which would be another 100 crore easy. Now add cost of hotels..etc. Now estimate getting treated in the US...post operative care...personal consultant...600 crore is easily possible if you live the lifestyle of a Prime Minister. The only problem is SHE IS NOT THE PRIME MINISTER.

Pretty cool for some one who earned 17 lakh a year. I make 15 Lakh a year ....sadly this kind of lifestyle eludes me :rolleyes:

Now he is trying to salvage some pride from it by making a mountain out of a mole hill.

Only a fool would think Modi needs to salvage pride out of the obscene amount spent by Congress to pamper their mistress. Pathetic.

sonia Gandhi's travel expenses.. Narendra Modi's statements.. have nothing to do with Indian Defence.

South Asian affairs perhaps.

True. But Modi's media spin is working. He seems to be evolved in that. He is selling his words well and he does have some projects to his credit like the solar power park......Congress is in deep doo itself.

Not really. Congress spin is working a.k.a trip to mars.

Reminds me of the time when US reduced the bounty for Afghan terrorists from Millions to thousands as the Afghans could not even comprehend multi million dollars. At that time I remember thinking it was funny. Now it just seems sad.

......And there must be a lot of corruption in all the business and investment he helped create in Gujarat. But who is there with the balls to call it? ....

I guess you are the only Indian with 'balls' to call it. No proof ...but 'balls'.

After all its easier to throw allegation than actually build solar panels and schools. High moral ground and all that ....

Not really. Congress spin is working a.k.a trip to mars.

Reminds me of the time when US reduced the bounty for Afghan terrorists from Millions to thousands as the Afghans could not even comprehend multi million dollars. At that time I remember thinking it was funny. Now it just seems sad.
Lol. It seems you are hell bent on believing that Sonia Gandhi has no avenues for corruption left except overstating her medical bills for reimbursement, which she must have btw, but she got 1800 cr reimbursed?! Even you have to admit it, that's a poorly thought-out figure.

I guess you are the only Indian with 'balls' to call it. No proof ...but 'balls'.

After all its easier to throw allegation than actually build solar panels and schools. High moral ground and all that ....
Since when does it require proof to say that in India every state has corruption? Are you saying Modi's government is squeaky clean? My reason is that since the deals they made are of big tickets, the amount of corruption will not be zero and if anything comes to Modi's attention, he might want to sweep it under the carpet(surprise surprise. We should coin a new term for this instinct of Indian politicians).

Lol. It seems you are hell bent on believing that Sonia Gandhi has no avenues for corruption left except overstating her medical bills for reimbursement, which she must have btw, but she got 1800 cr reimbursed?! Even you have to admit it, that's a poorly thought-out figure.

...straw man argument. :lol: The last resort of the incompetent. (Build up a fantasy enemy of straw and claim victory after defeating that.)

(Medical reimbursement??? more like trips to tax havens to balance accounts..)

I have just proved above that the figure is realistic....but apparently you are just too smart for me, to again claim 'Even you have to admit it, that's a poorly thought-out figure' :woot:

Since when does it require proof to say that in India every state has corruption? Are you saying Modi's government is squeaky clean? My reason is that since the deals they made are of big tickets, the amount of corruption will not be zero and if anything comes to Modi's attention, he might want to sweep it under the carpet(surprise surprise. We should coin a new term for this instinct of Indian politicians).

I guess since you 'CAN'T ACTUALLY FIND' any indication of corruption in Modi govt. you can always generalize and call all Indians corrupt , all politicians corrupt and then by extension call Modi corrupt. Another straw man argument. :lol: