Why India no longer trusts anti-Modi media

No point in blaming those signatories modi bought it upon himself. You gotta be a naive Muslim hating 'kattar Hindu' to believe that modi had no role in 2002 fiasco. If there were any sense of morality left in him or the party he represents he would've resigned.

Doesn't matter if Modi passively supported or was mute spectator to the Gujarat riots or not.

The same was said about Rajiv Gandhi during 1984 riots and about PVN during Mumbai riots.

That is not the point I was trying to make. These MPs or former MPs were elected to by the citizens of India and represent the country at the highest level. They petitioning other countries or even requesting other governments to bring them back to power is traitorous to say the least. There is no other way to look at these things. These actions are so overt that they no longer care to hide that they are being controlled and propped up foreign forces.

Mani Shankar Aiyar embarrasses India in Pakistan, says Narendra Modi hurdle in Indo-Pak relations | Zee News

Mani Shankar Aiyar embarrasses India in Pakistan; says remove Modi government to solve issues - timesofindia-economictimes

@jamahir @The_Showstopper @fsayed real face of Sanghis exposed

eb9e4ee1bdebac7bdf5c9474e785cca0.jpg

Whataboutery will take you only so far my friend.It reflects heavily on the collective conscience of uninitiated gullible Indian masses devoid of any sense of righteousness when someone like Modi whose hands are still with blood of innocents is allowed to occupy top office without any remorse.
Dear friend, we both have been on the forum for long enough to know, if either of us wan't to make generic comments instead of being specific, we can easily hijack the thread for next 20 pages.
So let me ask you straight pointed question - What about Ragiv Gandhi -was he a criminal, and where was congresses conscience back then?

as far as your comment above is concerned, you are utterly wrong about collective conscience, P.M. Narendra Modi went through the judicial process, and Congress before it extinguishes for good should try it's hand at going to the courts again if it has the conviction behind it's narrative, hell forget congress - you should go ahead and submit a PIL if you have the conviction.

It was a travesty that Rajiv could not go through Supreme court regarding anti-sikh riots and bofors case too.

Plenty of congress leaders got away scot free and have the audacity to imply Modi was entrenched and behind gujarat riots.....when he has going through the full legal process at the highest level.

@jamahir @The_Showstopper @fsayed real face of Sanghis exposed
Single point agenda ?? Again and again. Intolerance-muslim-intolerance-muslim-intolerance bla bla bla

How about the other point @dadeechi made?

That is not the point I was trying to make. These MPs or former MPs were elected to by the citizens of India and represent the country at the highest level. They petitioning other countries or even requesting other governments to bring them back to power is traitorous to say the least. There is no other way to look at these things. These actions are so overt that they no longer care to hide that they are being controlled and propped up foreign forces.

Does this not matter to you? Or it is ONLY again about the never ending muslim question? Nothing else matters? Why?

Some TV networks are so viscerally opposed to the PM that they no longer attempt to hide their bias.

27-11-2015

MINHAZ MERCHANT

Four pillars are needed to hold up a structure. Take one away and the structure tilts.

In a democracy, the four pillars are the executive (government), the legislature (Parliament and state assemblies), the judiciary and the media. Each of these pillars has had its moments of turbulence: the executive and the judiciary during the Emergency; and the legislature through the decades when state assemblies were routinely dissolved and President's rule imposed.

The media, before and after independence, faced several challenges. Under colonial rule, newspapers like The Times of India often toed the British Viceroy's line. Many others though were nationalist and suffered colonial interference. After independence, the Emergency marked a new low point. Most newspapers lost their nerve and bent their spine.

The late 1970s and 1980s were the golden period of Indian media. The Emergency was gone. New publications were launched. Specialised Sunday papers made their appearance. So did specialised magazines.

In the 1990s, television was nascent but neutral. News had not yet fallen hostage to vested political and business interests. When did media's fall begin? The seeds were sown in the late 1990s when the first BJP-led government took office. It was around this time that Sonia Gandhi displaced Sitaram Kesri as Congress president.

In 1984, the BJP had two MPs. In 1999, it had 182. In 1984, the Congress had 414 MPs. In 1999, it had 114.

It is within these numbers that lie clues to the schisms that would develop over the next 16 years. The media was drawn into this political vortex. Senior editors in the 1980s and 1990s were (relatively) politically neutral. The concept of paid news was notably absent. I launched my first media company, Sterling Newspapers Pvt Ltd, in the 1980s. Our journalists researched, interviewed, wrote and edited without fear or favour. Very few editors had fallen prey to external influences: political parties, business houses, foreign intelligence agencies and power brokers.

The real change came in the 2000s. By then the Indian Express group had acquired Sterling Newspapers with our cache of nearly 100 editors, writers, designers and marketers. I set up a new media firm soon after that and began hiring a new generation of young editors and correspondents.

But things had changed. By 2004, when the Congress-led UPA government returned to office, more and more journalists had begun to cosy up to politicians and business houses. Between 1998 and 2004, when the NDA was in office and LK Advani home minister and then (from 2000) deputy prime minister, it did not even occur to me to seek an appointment with him though he had been a regular columnist in one of our publications for over 10 years. That was the arm's length approach to politicians we had always maintained.

As I once wrote: "The first principle of journalism is to keep politicians at arm's length. Do not socialise with them. Do not curry favour with them. Do not treat them as friends. In a democracy, journalists and politicians have to be natural adversaries."In short, keep the relationship professional.

When the Congress-led UPA government took office in May 2004, we found ourselves receiving invitations to interview UPA ministers. Soon after he assumed charge as finance minister, P Chidambaram conveyed to our Delhi bureau chief that he would be happy to accede to our request for an exclusive interview.

We did the interview in Chidambaram's North Block office. This was followed in the next few months and years by exclusive interviews with (then) Industry and commerce minister Kamal Nath, (then) petroleum minister Mani Shankar Aiyar and the chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir Mufti Mohammad Sayeed who hosted us to a sumptuous Kashmiri lunch at his residence along with daughter Mehbooba. Not once did we attempt a further meeting with any of them beyond the strictly professional.

But on every trip to Delhi - and Srinagar - from 2005 onwards, I noticed a distinct change in the interaction between journalists and politicians. It is around this time that the scourge of paid news became an epidemic. Many journalists became PR intermediaries for political leaders. It was inevitable that PR would overwhelm journalism. The Radia tapes were recorded in 2008-09. Unofficial versions were circulated in early-2010 and finally published by two weekly magazines in November 2010. They revealed the nexus between politicians and journalists.

The nexus has only grown stronger. It has also - since Prime Minister Narendra Modi took office in May 2014 - become more brazen. The masks have slipped. Pretence has been dropped. Shame at violating the principles of ethical journalism has evaporated. Paid news and private treaties are not the issues any more: they are far too common. The real cancer is the politicisation of journalism.

According to an article in Mint published on January 8, 2013, "In the aftermath of the 2009 general elections, a news report by Rediff.comcited Congress MP Kapil Sibal as saying that over 150 media publications were owned by individuals affiliated with the Congress party. The report said that with the impressive win under its belt, the Congress party would activate this machinery to 'carve a legend out of Rahul within a decade.' "

An existential threat

Sonia Gandhi was among the first in the Congress to spot Narendra Modi's potential as a threat to the Congress' political hegemony. Hermaut ka saudagar invective in 2007 sparked a chain of abuse that lowered standards of political discourse which have today become mainstream.

A campaign of vilification was launched against Modi by the Congress in 2013 which saw him as an existential threat - a fear that would be borne out in May 2014 when the Congress plunged from 206 Lok Sabha seats to 44.

It was now that the mainstream media lost the plot. A large section had been co-opted by the Congress and by 2013 was fully embedded into its ecosystem. Some columnists were so obsessively - and often viciously - anti-Modi that they achieved three unintended objectives: one, they eroded their own credibility; two, they generated unexpected support for Modi among readers who felt he was being unfairly maligned; and three, they caused widespread revulsion in the public for mainstream media.

Television fell victim as well. Anchors took sides, again violating professionalism and journalistic integrity. Foreign media took the cue from biased, politically affiliated Indian journalists. The New York Times, The Guardian, The Washington Post and The Economistcarried stories that failed the test of neutral journalism. Facts were mangled and interpretations distorted. The victim: the newspapers' own reputation.

Some Indian television networks are so viscerally anti-Modi today that they no longer attempt to hide their bias beneath a veneer of journalistic professionalism. The charge of being an in-house channel of the Congress does not bother them anymore.

The Modi government's abysmal media management has further emboldened sections of the media grown fat on old largesse. No longer do they fear a backlash to even serious charges of being fronts for politicians' money laundering. They know they have defenders of the faith within the highest echelons of the NDA government. Protection is assured - at least till the prime minister wields the axe.

Fortunately, there are still many honourable and upright journalists across media - print, online and television. Alas, there are many more who are not.

Today we have another one in the Magazine Outlook (Left MP Salim quoted one from the magazine which was attributed to HM Rajnath singh and which he did not said that and late Ashok Singhal told that)

Dear Sir, I don't have so much knowledge but could anyone explain me the meaning of Sanghi, and what is the difference between sanghi and terrorist.

There you go!!!

25 key achievements of Narendra Modi govt in past one year
IANS New Delhi Last Updated: May 25, 2015 | 11:14 IST

Here's a list of 25 key achievements of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's government in the past one year, as listed by stakeholders and analysts:

1. Jan Dhan Yojana: More than 15 crore bank accounts opened, over 10 crore RuPay debit cards issued, with life cover, pension
  2. Corporate sector adopts prime minister's 'Swachch Bharat' mission with promise of total sanitation by 2019
  3. Cooking gas now under direct-cash-benefit transfer scheme, with potential saving of $5 billion annually in subsidies, plus Diesel prices de-regulated
  4. Foreign equity in rail infrastructure allowed, without limit
  5. Foreign equity cap in defence raised to 49 per cent; 74 per cent in case of technology transfer
  6. Fast-tracking of defence purchases: 36 Rafale fighters being bought, orders for several long-pending purchases placed
  7. Foreign equity cap in insurance and pension sectors increased to 49 per cent
  8. Nod for IPOs/FPOs by banks to raise funds, as long as government equity remains 52 per cent or over
  9. Nod for real estate and infrastructure investment trusts, with tax benefits
  10. Cabinet nod for Prime Minister's 100 Smart Cities Project
  11. $130 billion proposed spending on railways over five years on schemes including high-speed trains
  12. Definitive steps forward in introducing pan-India goods and services regime
  13. Successful conclusion of two rounds of coal block auctions, more lined up
  14. Impasse in mining sector ended with passage of new bill for regulation and development
  15. Successful conclusion of auctions for telecom spectrum for mobile telephony and broadband
  16. Launch of 'Make-in-India', 'Digital India' and 'Skill India' initiatives with focus on defence and electronics, primarily to create jobs
  17. Mudra bank launched with Rs 20,000 crore corpus to extend loans of between Rs 50,000 and Rs 10 lakh to small entrepreneurs
  18. Commencement of divestment programme in public sector companies
  19. Disbanding of various ministerial groups for faster decision-making
  20. Adoption of 14th Finance Commission recommendation on far-reaching changes in sharing of revenues between the Center and the States
  21. Single-window scheme for various clearances to steel, coal and power projects
  22. Price stabilisation fund set up for agri-commodities to check inflation
  23. Warehouse Infrastructure Fund with Rs 5,000 crore corpus to increase shelf-life of farm produce (replace if possible)
  24. Clarity in tax treatment on income of foreign fund whose fund managers are located in India , as also on transfer pricing for resident and non-resident tax payers
  25. Panel set up under law commission chairman on issue of minimum alternate tax

And we got 11 IT letter( seeking explanation) in one month!! (Last month):D
Of course we replied them to their satisfaction!! phew!!

Dear Sir, I don't have so much knowledge but could anyone explain me the meaning of Sanghi, and what is the difference between sanghi and terrorist.
Sangh is representative of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. Sangh because it was least attractive of the three words in RSS.

Sanghi - Either is Groupie associated with the Robert Plants and Jimmy Page's of RSS or colloquial for Sanghi Travels

p13e1fvg_1kxpn_2.jpg

Since 1968!!!

I do not know about "Sanghi" (I do not like pure sanghis though), But I came across this :

How to spot a Pakistani/Congress agent or their moderate supporters?

a) When you try to support your country, they frequently attack you using terms like "you are RSS" "bhakts" "facist" "nazi" "hindu terrorist"
b) They use misleading nicknames in comments like "Abraham" "Patriotic Indian" "Protector of constitution" etc
c) They visit foreign newspaper websites and type comments like "I am ashamed to be an Indian" & "I agree all Hindus are rapists so I want to leave the country" and encourage foreigners to hate India.
d) They Upvote each others comments in bulk (sanghis also do that).
e) When India makes ANY advance in science, or India makes any new missile, they will IMMEDIATELY say
"the money must be used to solve poverty" "Indians have no toilets, first think about that" etc especially in foreign websites such as Guardian. They just want India to stay in toilets and never progress for their intentions are Nefarious.
f) They supply materials for their ringleader to create and upload Youtube videos showing ONLY bad news in India and highlighting it while at the same time bashing anyone who tries to talk sense by saying "you must accept criticism" "I need freedom of expression" etc.

Single point agenda ?? Again and again. Intolerance-muslim-intolerance-muslim-intolerance bla bla bla

How about the other point @dadeechi made?

Does this not matter to you? Or it is ONLY again about the never ending muslim question? Nothing else matters? Why?

When I truly believe one set of policies are better than another set (Congress's), it would be disingenuous to attempt to appear neutral. There are stupid ideas and there are not-so stupid ideas. I do find many of Modi's ideas a lot worse than what Congress has to offer.The only appreciable thing his government has done in its 18 months tenure is - Gaza crisis: Modi govt's UNHRC vote against Israel must be lauded I'll let him take the credit for that but other than that rest is all hogwash and pure rhetoric aimed at fooing his ignorant followers

I do not know about "Sanghi" (I do not like pure sanghis though), But I came across this :

How to spot a Pakistani/Congress agent or their moderate supporters?

a) When you try to support your country, they frequently attack you using terms like "you are RSS" "bhakts" "facist" "nazi" "hindu terrorist"
b) They use misleading nicknames in comments like "Abraham" "Patriotic Indian" "Protector of constitution" etc
c) They visit foreign newspaper websites and type comments like "I am ashamed to be an Indian" & "I agree all Hindus are rapists so I want to leave the country" and encourage foreigners to hate India.
d) They Upvote each others comments in bulk (sanghis also do that).
e) When India makes ANY advance in science, or India makes any new missile, they will IMMEDIATELY say
"the money must be used to solve poverty" "Indians have no toilets, first think about that" etc especially in foreign websites such as Guardian. They just want India to stay in toilets and never progress for their intentions are Nefarious.
f) They supply materials for their ringleader to create and upload Youtube videos showing ONLY bad news in India and highlighting it while at the same time bashing anyone who tries to talk sense by saying "you must accept criticism" "I need freedom of expression" etc.

Why beat around the bush man?Accept you are a "Sanghi", coz in todays India, either you are one or you are not. :D

Arre, whatever re pachari thili, Chadakhai re kana hoithila? Cheli na kukuda?