WAJsal
SENIOR MODERATOR
not my ques is provincial govt planning the operationPolice and rangers are working together.
PA would soon need to start an operation in Pakistani cities to flush the terrorists from their urban hide outs. Unless terrorists have been rooted out completely; given time they will resurface. There being no dearth of illiterate young men willing to blow themselves up on the promise of going straight to heaven.
The PPP(P) government has nothing to do with what the Rangers are doing. In fact the rather narrow approach taken by the Rangers has left most non terror related or certain ethnicity related gangs operating freely.I think the PPP government is doing a good job in Karachi in that department.
And that is going to be much more bloody as compared to fighting in mountains... door to door urban combat is something the Americans dread.
@Oscar; your post is rather confusing.....
This is what @niaz sahab said: "PA would soon need to start an operation in Pakistani cities to flush the terrorists from their urban hide outs. Unless terrorists have been rooted out completely; given time they will resurface. There being no dearth of illiterate young men willing to blow themselves up on the promise of going straight to heaven."
Source: What PA recovered from small town. | Page 2
So where do the Americans come in here? He said that the PA will need to start the OPS in Pakistani cities. Wiil the Americans do that on behalf of the PA??
The Americans come in as an example. Their experience in Iraq show that Urban fighting is no pushover regardless of the artificial nature of the terrain. Not just them, the Israelis have had their goose cooked as such as well in Gaza and Lebanon.
Even the Allies and Germans back in WW2 found that carpet bombed cities reduced to rubble still were a dangerous battlefield to be in. And the PA cannot take the risk of additional backlash from a free hand at collateral damage that follows a destroyed apartment building.
However, I am sceptical if the PA will ever officially go into a proper "operation" in the cities. Rather they may come in as 911 calls to assist local law enforcement(which will be beefed up) for the task. Casualties however will be higher in that case as training along with battle hardiness will matter in those confines.
Tactically, special unit should be raised to deal with cities, since the entire objective is minimum damage to surroundings. Also, weapons will need to be for close support and armoured cars with more of top armour in case they are used.
Not to mention surveillance devices used will need to be smaller. Units will also need to learn to use close proximity monitoring devices. They will need to re-learn from large area domincation to local domination.
Would you buy land in tribal areas?
There are currently areas in karachi, which while not terrorist are gang controlled and where law enforcement dares not go into.
The simple reason is that every rooftop is armed in some cases with heavy weapons. Moreover, and rather much more disturbingly the people of the neighbourhood provide support to the gang because the gang delivers in general to the basic needs(water, power) of the area as compared to the government.
But lastly, there is little surveillance of the area that has been carried out simply because local law enforcement is still stuck in the 19th century.
Then, what you guys need is a political will power to shut these. Encounters. Mumbai Police isthyle! First capture, then shoot them while they try to run (I am laughing rocket style from guardians of the galaxy)....if you know what i mean. Put the scare of the bullet in their brains. Daane daane pe likha hotha hai khane wale ka naam....goli goli pe likha hotha hai marne waale ka naam.
His father might have been an evil Pakistani..And no need to have false flags. Even a 5 word sentence gives away Indians considering how typical their mentality is.
Sobs have uploaded videos of themselves on YT showing off their weapons... As for the weapons even HMGs and UBGLs have been recovered from them..Well here is the difference(and my Indian friends were more than perturbed at this). Here you are not dealing with guys with "Tamanchas" and small arms. In some cases these guys have been found(and I am not exaggerating or making this up..but this is at face value)..with M-16s,PKM, M-240s.. Grenade Launchers, RPGs, INSAS(lots came in during the early 90s and are still around) .. and Even Tavors and Galils(how the heck did those get into the system is beyond the debate on this thread). This is a well supplied army in terms of the gangs and the law enforcement is currently ill equipped to do what you state.
Well here is the difference(and my Indian friends were more than perturbed at this). Here you are not dealing with guys with "Tamanchas" and small arms. In some cases these guys have been found(and I am not exaggerating or making this up..but this is at face value)..with M-16s,PKM, M-240s.. Grenade Launchers, RPGs, INSAS(lots came in during the early 90s and are still around) .. and Even Tavors and Galils(how the heck did those get into the system is beyond the debate on this thread). This is a well supplied army in terms of the gangs and the law enforcement is currently ill equipped to do what you state.
This is because of the so-called Pashtoon factor. An overwhelming majority of the members of the so-called religious parties, particularly in the top positions are Pashtoon. Same is true for the KPK government. You are talking about the government and political parties, I say a majority of members here on the PDF do not have the spine to point to this Pashtoon factor for they fear either to be labeled as racists or given infarctions. Some members did try to bring this up but threads were closed and removed by the management for this appears to be a taboo subject on PDF.Number of casualties is meaningless as most of those killed are foot soldiers. Showing recovered arms & ammunition may be good for PR but it hardly matters. Equipment can always be replaced as there are plenty foreign anti-Pakistan agencies as well as individual financiers in Pakistan & the neighbouring countries. It is the end result that counts. There has been a significant reduction in number of terrorist’s attacks inside Pakistan since the Zarbe Azb started. That means that terrorist network has definitely weakened forcing leaders to go underground.
It does not take much for the leaders of the terrorist organizations to disappear in the large cities such as Quetta, Lahore, and Multan etc. Karachi in particular has very large population of all ethnicities and terrorist can easily find safe haven with their relations settled in Karachi.
PML-N support has always been reluctant. Despite their anti-terrorism rhetoric; JUI & JI are against it. I have not yet been able to understand Taliban Khans’ love for TTP but because of it, PTI has never declared its wholehearted support for Zarbe Azb. KPK gov’t condemns “whosoever carried out the bombing” but never dares to condemn Taliban by name. This indicates that Pakistani politicians lack the spine & the will to confront Taliban & their sectarian allies head on.
PA would soon need to start an operation in Pakistani cities to flush the terrorists from their urban hide outs. Unless terrorists have been rooted out completely; given time they will resurface. There being no dearth of illiterate young men willing to blow themselves up on the promise of going straight to heaven.
This means that Zarbe Azb needs to go on for a long time, but would it be allowed to do so by the politicians?