What is SAP? and what certification to start with for a newbie in the field?

Zaki, I have CCNA , CCNP, CCIE (W) in rns and security,CCIP,JNCIA,JNCIS(Routing),JNCIS(security),MCSE,CEH,CHFI but struglling for a decent job so i would not recomend any one for IT now.
@Desi Guy
Computer Forensic is vrey different than Computer Science. You need to learn lots of security to learn forensic.You may go for CHFI

i dont recommend anyone doing anything related to Cisco, it wont get you a job, Cisco over rates it own certifications but because its relatively easy to get and because they are offering it everywhere, the certification has lost its value. I know quite a few people here also with bucket full certificates from Cisco but they still cant find a job mainly because companies want individuals with all round knowledge of the industry and not just Cisco centered certificates. to rai.mrityunjay, i would recommend getting a PM certification or try to get into more serious industry applications. SAP wont be a bad choice also.

the words computer science and IT go together nowdays, from my experience the fields are starting to merge at the management level and programming related activities are being outsourced. Its wiser now to pursue IT directly as a profession as programming and pure computer engineering are no longer very attractive fields in Europe and North America mainly due to competition from India etc. If one plans to grow in the longer run in an organization pursuing IT related certifications and degrees is a must.

IT is easy to catch up bro. It's just knowledge of tools and ways to use it. Computer Science is the core. Computer Science is immune to the effects of recession, per se, unlike IT.

And certifications are HIGHLY over-rated. My company told me that PMP is a must have-recognized and absolutely great certification. I thought that it must be tough etc. I studied for 3 days and cracked it. I was like, lol? [This was last week]

I will tell you the difference between IT and Computer Science. My friend, a manager earns 90k per year. My gf's room-mate also works in my company. She is just an individual contributor, and she works as a freelancer consultant. Just only understands Math and C. She makes 250k per year. My gf's lab hired a C programmer to fix their DSP system software, ux based. The programmer worked for a week, and his bill was 15k dollars.

Plus the sheer joy of programming and the challenge you face day to day, where is that in entreprise IT? I quit a job that paid me 40% more to get into a lower designation but more challenging CS work. Today, I make much more than I could have made if I was still in IT.

@Desi Guy
Computer Forensic is vrey different than Computer Science. You need to learn lots of security to learn forensic.You may go for CHFI[/QUOTE]

do you know more about computer forensics?

as we all know, computer science is programming, so what about Computer forensics? does it involve Networking or something like that? i know you said security.

@Desi Guy
Computer Forensic is vrey different than Computer Science. You need to learn lots of security to learn forensic.You may go for CHFI

do you know more about computer forensics?

as we all know, computer science is programming, so what about Computer forensics? does it involve Networking or something like that? i know you said security.[/QUOTE]

Forensic is all about evidanvce gathering and puting in such a way that you would get a conclusion.It has little a bit of networking also as its basic but lots of from security and OS side. Also you will have to learn the insides of storage media like HD,CD alot.

i dont recommend anyone doing anything related to Cisco, it wont get you a job, Cisco over rates it own certifications but because its relatively easy to get and because they are offering it everywhere, the certification has lost its value. I know quite a few people here also with bucket full certificates from Cisco but they still cant find a job mainly because companies want individuals with all round knowledge of the industry and not just Cisco centered certificates. to rai.mrityunjay, i would recommend getting a PM certification or try to get into more serious industry applications. SAP wont be a bad choice also.

Well Cisco certifications may be overrated but not easy at all.Try CCIE and you will find that it is one of the hardest if not most.Also cert like PMP or SAP only benifit you when you have lots of exp in relvent field.CCIE was top most cert for many years(I dont know about current position) and avg salary of CCIE was 100k+ but from last year it started getting bad

IT is easy to catch up bro. It's just knowledge of tools and ways to use it. Computer Science is the core. Computer Science is immune to the effects of recession, per se, unlike IT.

And certifications are HIGHLY over-rated. My company told me that PMP is a must have-recognized and absolutely great certification. I thought that it must be tough etc. I studied for 3 days and cracked it. I was like, lol? [This was last week]

I will tell you the difference between IT and Computer Science. My friend, a manager earns 90k per year. My gf's room-mate also works in my company. She is just an individual contributor, and she works as a freelancer consultant. Just only understands Math and C. She makes 250k per year. My gf's lab hired a C programmer to fix their DSP system software, ux based. The programmer worked for a week, and his bill was 15k dollars.

Plus the sheer joy of programming and the challenge you face day to day, where is that in entreprise IT? I quit a job that paid me 40% more to get into a lower designation but more challenging CS work. Today, I make much more than I could have made if I was still in IT.

IT is no way easy to catch bro, I have been on it for quite sometime and i know when new guys come in thinking they know everything, they get a nice reality check lol or get fired :P

If you compare the avg incomes then IT is 3rd under Lawyers and Doctors. You must remember that even with CS at the core, its the consultants that do the dirty work and get the business rolling. Currently with the recession on CS guys are not doing very well because they are normally the first ones to go as they get paid on an hourly basis and are expensive to maintain. Basically you only need programmer in the design stage of the development process. You have system analyst and DB administrators to look after the system after that. CS personnel are involved with later stages but their number decrease exponentially.

Im terms of pay, i dont want to boost but most senior level consultants make much more than 250000k and have to work less hours lol For example I consulted Canadian Tire, a Canada based retail chain in early 2004 on a part time basis when they were implementing their new SCM system. Im sure you can guess how much money all the consultants made from that :P

PMP is not overrated bro, you are dead wrong there, In Canada PMP or PM is a very sought after certification and can get you a very good job in United States or Canada.

Well Cisco certifications may be overrated but not easy at all.Try CCIE and you will find that it is one of the hardest if not most.Also cert like PMP or SAP only benifit you when you have lots of exp in relvent field.CCIE was top most cert for many years(I dont know about current position) and avg salary of CCIE was 100k+ but from last year it started getting bad

granted CCIE is tough but the job market is very limited. Cisco is trying to compete with the SAP and Oracle way of thinking and trying to get people certified on its products but it no where close to yielding the same results as the other two have.

Glad to know about CEH but RFID+ is still missing :azn:

and read my other posts i also agreed that it is not easy to get a job in IT sector nowadays. I thought he is in Pakistan and there is a scope of IT in Pakistan as it is still not developed like India and if you are abroad it was completely time waste it is not easy to get a job in IT as long as you don't have real qualifications like CS. These are just certificates that you can even pass by using your personal computer only. But the leading IT companies looking for qualifications along with these certificates.

Zaki bhai RFID+ kya ukhad lega. CompTIA is a flop story.A+ , N+ etc would not get even 5k pm INR for you.Bhai wakt acha nahi hai.

granted CCIE is tough but the job market is very limited. Cisco is trying to compete with the SAP and Oracle way of thinking and trying to get people certified on its products but it no where close to yielding the same results as the other two have.

This is because there is army pf cisco certifide people(mostly cert crackers with little or no knowledge).Also SAP and Oracle only form a little part of software industry.In software people have lots of choice from MCSD to J2EE and so on , so specific certifide one(in SAP or Oracle) may get a good job.Second thing no one ever do SAP to get a job . Its mostly on job people who do this.And Cisco dont need to comptet with Oracle or SAP as both are very different industry altogather.Althou I do have Juniper certifications also along with Cisco

All that are interested in the IT sector..... get your foot in the door even if you have to get a helpdesk job. You can always work on your certifications later. The most important thing you need is experience.
I am an IT Manager at one of the Big Ten Universities and will be more than happy to share my two cents with anyone that needs advice.

All that are interested in the IT sector..... get your foot in the door even if you have to get a helpdesk job. You can always work on your certifications later. The most important thing you need is experience.
I am an IT Manager at one of the Big Ten Universities and will be more than happy to share my two cents with anyone that needs advice.

And what to do when the gaurd at door ask for a certification or exp. Dear its a catch 22 situation.

You have a better chance to get hired with experience and no certification rather than certification with no experience.