Visitors from Pakistan have to be vaccinated for polio: India

Fair Enough !

Should be for some other measures as well & not particular to Pakistanis entering India or Indians entering Pakistan but across the Board for Nationals of one country entering another country there should be a list of Basic Tests + a select-few Advance Tests (Hopefully Subsidized by the Government) to ensure that the host country is safe from any inconvenient & unfortunate surprises !

Dont Pakistan have polio vaccination campaigns to eradicate polio completely from every kid in Pakistan?

It was going on track till the OBL Assassination Incident where the method to track OBL was through either a Fake Polio Vaccination Campaign or one where the Vaccine was true enough but the DNA Samples collected through the process helped identify where OBL was !

Naturally in a country like Pakistan brimming with illiteracy & mistrust of Authority - There was a significant back-lash !

Many people didn't let their kids being vaccinated out of fear of them being administered something else under the guise of the Polio Vaccinations !

On the other hand the TTP & their AQ Affiliates, as revenge, went onto target Polio Workers & other individuals & organizations associated with the Anti-Polio Vaccination Drive !

Right now efforts are being made to insure greater security & greater urgency for the Anti-Polio Efforts but the damage has been done & it will take a while to contain the back-lash of it !

The thing is it would be very easy for people in Pakistan to get any doctor to get a certificate issued for any vaccine just like how in India we can get a fake doctors certificate saying anything we want for Rs 50.

What instead GoI should do is mandatory vaccination on arrival of all visitors from these 3 countries where polio is still present and charge it to either the visitors themselves or their governments.

The thing is it would be very easy for people in Pakistan to get any doctor to get a certificate issued for any vaccine just like how in India we can get a fake doctors certificate saying anything we want for Rs 50.

What instead GoI should do is mandatory vaccination on arrival of all visitors from these 3 countries where polio is still present and charge it to either the visitors themselves or their governments.

Or do what US does, I remember during my visa processing I had to get a health approval. And they gave me the name of the hospital and the time for my checkup, the doctor did the checkup and gave me a sealed packed, which had a seal on it to make sure I couldn't open it or change anything. Plus it was not a paper packet the results were put in a thick plastic bag which was grey in colour. So maybe we should follow the same system as US. Give authority to one or two reputed hospitals in Pakistan who do checkup and vaccination of people who want to travel to India.

Only Polio? I had taken a lot more vaccine, like Hepatitis B

You could get a MOH certificate from Pakistan, those cannot be forged. But if you do want to go down the route of mandatory vaccinations on arrival what you would have to ensure is the vaccine provided is inactivated’ risk-free vaccine and not the one that actually uses the polio-virus.

Since most polio is transferred though from person to person via contaminated toilet bowls (feces), dirty hands, saliva and respiratory secretions. So having people on an airplane would make it an excellent incubator for such a virus to thrive.

The virus can mutate into the now known Sabin Like (2) poliomyelitis. So I agree with the Indian decision to protect it's bio security.

about time..............good decision,very good.
kya yaar............har bar yeh india tv type ke title kyu banate ho....acchi baat hai,acchi tarah rakho.
this news has nothing to do with pakistan in particular, sensible countries shud do it.....its been a long struggle against polio,this decision shud have been taken earlier...........aur ha,,,yeh har mahine jo polio week hota tha usi ka natiza hai.anybody related wud understand.

Fair Enough !

Should be for some other measures as well & not particular to Pakistanis entering India or Indians entering Pakistan but across the Board for Nationals of one country entering another country there should be a list of Basic Tests + a select-few Advance Tests (Hopefully Subsidized by the Government) to ensure that the host country is safe from any inconvenient & unfortunate surprises !

It was going on track till the OBL Assassination Incident where the method to track OBL was through either a Fake Polio Vaccination Campaign or one where the Vaccine was true enough but the DNA Samples collected through the process helped identify where OBL was !

Naturally in a country like Pakistan brimming with illiteracy & mistrust of Authority - There was a significant back-lash !

Many people didn't let their kids being vaccinated out of fear of them being administered something else under the guise of the Polio Vaccinations !

On the other hand the TTP & their AQ Affiliates, as revenge, went onto target Polio Workers & other individuals & organizations associated with the Anti-Polio Vaccination Drive !

Right now efforts are being made to insure greater security & greater urgency for the Anti-Polio Efforts but the damage has been done & it will take a while to contain the back-lash of it !
You take action based on level of risk, for example people travelling from certain african countries have to be checked for yellow fever. People travelling from south asia will have to show chest xray while entering UK. It makes no sense for them to check american where they have very few cases of TB.
Its only when there is a global epidemic (like sars or bird flu) they might be forced to check all.

You take action based on level of risk, for example people travelling from certain african countries have to be checked for yellow fever. People travelling from south asia will have to show chest xray while entering UK. It makes no sense for them to check american where they have very few cases of TB.
Its only when there is a global epidemic (like sars or bird flu) they might be forced to check all.

At any rate an extensive blood test at a minimum whose cost doesn't exceed 15-20 % of the Airfare could serve as a good screening tool for carriers of Hepatitis etc.

A small price to pay to keep away one of the worst disease, for the future of our children.

At any rate an extensive blood test at a minimum whose cost doesn't exceed 15-20 % of the Airfare could serve as a good screening tool for carriers of Hepatitis etc.
where do you propose it to be carried out? definitely not in airports. Travel is already stressful, you dont want to create another massive queue without good reason.

Have a panel of Labs on an Embassy's list of approved Labs where you can get your tests done before hand & have the Reports submitted with the VISA application process !

sara panga paisey ka hai.........uspe corruption toh hai hi.
jis cheez ko priority milni chahiye kabhi nahi milti.....
btw hepatitis is common in developed countries,hamare aur aapke yaha TB ka raj hai:agree:

Have a panel of Labs on an Embassy's list of approved Labs where you can get your tests done before hand & have the Reports submitted with the VISA application process !
what will happen to visa on arrival or visa free travel?