US to freeze $700 mn aid to Pakistan

T90TankGuy

US to freeze $700 mn aid to Pakistan

Indo-Asian News Service, Updated: December 13, 2011 12:08 IST

military weapons – Find Latest Military Products From A Wide Range of Army Contractors!

army-technology.com/Contractors/

Washington: In the midst of a tense standoff with Islamabad, a Congressional panel has agreed to freeze $700 million in US aid to Pakistan unless it helps in the fight against homemade bombs in Afghanistan.

The freeze on US aid was agreed to by leaders of the armed services committees from both Republican and Democratic parties in the House and Senate as part of a defence bill that is expected to be passed this week.

The US wants "assurances that Pakistan is countering improvised explosive devices in their country that are targeting our coalition forces", Republican House Representative Howard McKeon told reporters Monday.

He said the bill would also require the Pentagon to deliver a strategy for improving the effectiveness of US aid to Pakistan, which has received some $20 billion in security and economic aid from the US since 2001.

Militants use improvised explosive devices as the most effective weapons against US and coalition troops in Afghanistan. Many are made using ammonium nitrate, a common fertiliser shipped across the border from Pakistan.

"The vast majority of the material used to make improvised explosive devices used against US forces in Afghanistan originates from two fertilizer factories inside Pakistan," Senator John McCain, 2008 Republican presidential candidate, said last week.

The freeze agreement comes amid the worsening of US-Pakistan relations over a Nov 26 NATO airstrike killing 24 Pakistani soldiers near the Pakistan-Afghanistan border.

US relations with the key ally have been strained since the May 2 US raid in which Al Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden was killed in his hideout in the military town of Abbottabad near Islamabad.

link : US to freeze $700 mn aid to Pakistan

finally, the last nail on the coffen, so it means pakistan govt is standing on its current position

Pakistan don't need aid anymore!

Good news for both american's and pakistani's

you nailed it dude really....a source of income is shut nail in the coffein...:rofl::rofl:

i think you have comprehension problems, please refer to the whole post before mumbling nonsense

as for survival, i will not say the source of income for india is the great UK indian aid

you nailed it dude really....a source of income is shut nail in the coffein...:rofl::rofl:

It`s not a source of income of Pakistani people, but of it`s politicians,

Yaar in angrejon se jitna kheench sate ho utna le lena chahiye mere khayal se...

but nothing good will happen for Pakistani janta from this..

i think that pakistan has shot its self diplomatically in the foot . they needed to have worked things out . they should have demanded larger concessions and trade ,but instead an apology and severing ties was the idea floated.

what good does it do for Pakistan ? being adamant got them no where. i know its a prestige issue for some but lets be honest . you cant fight the US and NATO . so what were your options? take a higher moral ground ,. but that was not done .!!!
instead so many flip flops occurred in the statements by the GOP .

i think that pakistan has shot its self diplomatically in the foot . they needed to have worked things out . they should have demanded larger concessions and trade ,but instead an apology and severing ties was the idea floated.

what good does it do for Pakistan ? being adamant got them no where. i know its a prestige issue for some but lets be honest . you cant fight the US and NATO . so what were your options? take a higher moral ground ,. but that was not done .!!!
instead so many flip flops occurred in the statements by the GOP .

it does good for pakistan in the long run, i think its enough pakistan trades with the blood of its innocent, in long run no drone attack, peace stability and looking towards future is more fruitful then getting pennies for slave service, it has no future after 2014 when they are already panning to leave

i think you have comprehension problems, please refer to the whole post before mumbling nonsense

as for survival, i will not say the source of income for india is the great UK indian aid
lol i didnt mean for Pakistani people i just reffered to our very own democratic government thugs

you know how much it is? 700mn ? 0.4% of pakistani GDP . and worth **** of 100% which we face .AID should not given to to pakistan .its voice of every pakistani .

Imran bhai standing on your own feet is commendable . but thats not the issue here . the issue is why let a situation deteriorate so badly which could have been fixed?

Like I said Few days Ago... USA will never Go on a all out War With Pakistan but it will Put Economic Sanctions...Now they have Stopped Aid Money to Put Pressure, As the Winter Goes Harder on Afgansitan & Central Asia...more Pressure tactics will be used to Open the Nato Supply...

If No then Economic Sanctions are for Sure...Lets See How much Pressure Pak Politicians can handle... So now u get the Reason Why Zardari ran away from the Country:smokin:... he knew if he was there He would have to Bulge under US Pressure... he left it entirely in the Hands of Amry...