US special forces are in Bangladesh

CaPtAiN_pLaNeT

US special forces are in Bangladesh

US special forces are in Bangladesh | World | bdnews24.com

Fri, Mar 2nd, 2012 1:50 pm BdST

Dhaka, Mar 2 (bdnews24.com) — A top Pentagon commander has said that US special forces teams are currently stationed in five South Asian countries, including Bangladesh, as part of the counter-terrorism co-operation with these nations.

"We have currently special forces assist teams laid down in Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Maldives and India as part of the effort to enhance their counter-terrorism capabilities," US Pacific Command admiral Robert Willard told lawmakers at a Congressional hearing on Thursday.

He said that these teams have been deployed by US Pacific Command to improve these countries counter-terrorism capabilities, particularly in the maritime domain, India's state-run news agency PTI reported.

In the Congressional hearing, Willard introduced Pakistan-based Lashkar-e-Toiba (Let) as a very dangerous organisation. He said, "It not only has very good operational security, but also a lot of international design in terms of their aspirations."

"So it is a very important threat, and we're working very closely with the nations in the region to help contain it."

Responding to a question from congressman Joe Wilson, the PACOM commander said, "Responsible for many attacks in India, including the horrific attacks into Mumbai, LeT is headquartered in Pakistan. It's also affiliated with al-Qaeda and other Violent Extremist Organisations (VEO) and contributes to terrorist operations in Afghanistan and aspires to operate against Asia, Europe and North America."

Willard said that South Asia, anchored by India, comprises of major sea lines of communication for the transport of energy and other commerce to Asia and the Americas from the Middle East and Europe. He said, "South Asia as a whole is of major strategic importance to the US and the security partnerships are increasingly vital to the US Pacific Command's mission."

He also mentioned that these US Special Forces teams engaged throughout these five South Asian countries are assisting and training their respective militaries to counter and contain VEOs, such as LeT; cooperating in maritime security activities, such as countering piracy; conducting disaster response planning and training; and exercising extensively, service to service.

Bangladesh, he said, has emerged as a particularly effective partner in the fight against terror and is cooperating with India as well as the US to counter VEO activity by actors such as the LeT.

"Further, Bangladesh's military is advancing its capabilities and contributes broadly to UN peacekeeping operations," he added.

US Special Forces teams are also stationed in another South Asian country Pakistan to fight terrorism in Afghanistan.

bdnews24.com/jk/trb/tk/1319h

Hmm they might be stationed in chittagong warfare centre. Any idea about how many of them are stationed in bangladesh

Wait, the government is denying that the special orces are stationed in bangladesh

Asked, Additional Secretary (Political) of Home Ministry Kamal Uddin Ahmed in Dhaka said the troops were not stationed in the country as media reports had suggested.
taken from the daily star

Hmm they might be stationed in chittagong warfare centre. Any idea about how many of them are stationed in bangladesh

I think their exact numbers are confidential.

Maybe a battalion at best.

Well everybody quessed that Indian army will come to protect Hasina. May be that is why US special force... I don't know... I don't like it....

admit it or not....but india is planning to invade Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Maldives....with the help of america...

No US base in Bangladesh: Mozena

http://www.bdnews24.com/details.php?id=219504&cid=2

Sun, Mar 4th, 2012 1:07 pm BdST
Dhaka, Mar 4 (bdnews24.com)—US ambassador Dan W Mozena has refuted media reports about US bases in Bangladesh.

"There is no question of (US) bases in Bangladesh," he said while replying to a question on US special forces at a programme at the Detective Branch of police headquarters in the city on Sunday.

US Pacific Command admiral Robert Willard told lawmakers at a Congressional hearing on Thursday: "We have currently special forces assisting teams laid down in Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Maldives and India as part of the effort to enhance their counter-terrorism capabilities."

About the special forces, he said, "They come here to train and leave. We have cooperation with Bangladesh and it is all about partnership."

"It's a small team coming and going and what I read in newspaper about bases and all sorts of things, I think that was very creative. It has no bases."

"We have been working with Bangladesh for many years and we have strong partnership," he said.

Mozena said some people did not share the vision of Bangladesh.

"In fact, these people seek to destroy the Bangladesh of peace, tolerance, harmony and democracy that we know and love," he said adding, "We call these people terrorists."

The US has provided with police over $19 million to train and equip them, he said.

"SWAT team has 48 members trained in the US and I will try to arrange training for another 48 members," he added.

DMP commissioner Benzir Ahmed said Bangladesh needed US assistance and the government was open to cooperation.

bdnews24.com/ssz/kt/bd/1254h

Arre yaar practice karne aaye honge. Chale bhi jayenge. Chill. They are in INDIA as well. :)

Today US Ambassador denied about the US special forces in Bangladesh while giving speech to the Police.

Most probably because they left. I don't know why is this such a huge issue. ?

Blame the Bangladeshi media.

The Americans have sent such people many times in various exercises and training before.