US Drone Strikes In Pakistan

they will keep doing this because this govt had signed that they will not interfere and will not say anything. I was laughing when Gadari said that Musharraf had signed for the drone attacks and Musharraf response was excellent he said " quam nai churiyan nahi pahny hui un ko sab malum hai kon sacha hai aur kon jhoota hai" and when he was questioned on the govt he said " i don't want give any comment on this" which clearly shows that this govt has completely failed 101%. We need a revolution we need a Marshall law as soon as possible and execute these corrupt leaders all of them in front of the nation so that these type of corrupt leaders are never ever born again.

First time drone attackes started during Musharaf era ,present government is bound to follow the signed agreement .

U.S. steps up drone strikes in Pakistan​

By Zeeshan Haider
ISLAMABAD | Tue Sep 28, 2010 8:32am EDT

(Reuters) - The United States appears to have widened drone aircraft attacks against al Qaeda-linked militants in their Pakistani safe havens as it struggles to stabilize Afghanistan, Pakistani and U.S. officials say.

So far 20 strikes have been carried out by the remotely piloted U.S. drones in September, the record number in a month.

While no high-value militants were reported killed, Pakistani intelligence officials say a number of low-ranking ones from different nationalities are believed to have died.

"We are not surprised at this surge because we knew that as Americans build up their presence in Afghanistan, they will intensify pressure on the militants on both sides of the border and these attacks are part of the same strategy," a senior security official told Reuters.

"It appears that they have lowered their threshold and are hitting every militant irrespective of his ranking in al Qaeda, the Taliban, the Haqqani network," he said.

U.S. President Barack Obama ordered in an extra 30,000 troops for Afghanistan late last year, the last units of which arrived this month.

Most recent drone strikes in Pakistan targeted the Haqqani faction. Named after veteran mujahideen leader Jalaluddin Haqqani, the group closely linked to al Qaeda is now led by his son Siraj.

VALUED TOOL IN ANTI-MILITANT CAMPAIGN

It is one of the most effective Afghan factions fighting U.S.-led NATO forces in Afghanistan, and has also been described as a strategic asset for U.S. ally Pakistan, which wants leverage in Afghanistan to counter enemy India's influence there.

A cousin of Siraj is believed to have been killed in one of the strikes, Pakistani intelligence officials said.

U.S. officials say drones are valuable weapons which have killed high-profile Taliban and al Qaeda figures in an area in northwest Pakistan described as a global hub for militants.

"Our operational tempo has been up for a while now, we have good information driving it, and - given the stakes involved - we hope to keep the pressure on as long as we can," said a U.S. official who asked not to be named.

"The mix of threats isn't new - sometimes it's groups like the Haqqanis, and sometimes it's al-Qaeda and the Pakistani or Afghan Taliban. They're all deadly."

Many al Qaeda members and Taliban fled to northwestern Pakistan's ungoverned ethnic Pashtun belt after U.S.-led soldiers ousted Afghanistan's Taliban government in 2001. From their sanctuaries there, the militants have orchestrated insurgencies in Afghanistan and Pakistan.

Most of the recent strikes took place in North Waziristan, the only one of seven Pakistani tribal regions where the army has not yet launched any big operation against the militants, despite U.S. pressure to do so.