Update of FATF Meeting: Outcomes FATF Plenary, 21-23 February 2018

Financial Action Task Force puts Pakistan in the 'grey list' during its meeting in Paris. All member countries supported the motion except Turkey

LATEST UPDATE!!

Pakistan Put on Terror Financing Watchlist by Task Force
The motion, brought forth by the United States, was supported by countries like UK, France, and India. The FATF voted 36 to 1 to grey list Pakistan.

Zakka Jacob | CNN-News18

Updated:February 23, 2018, 12:22 PM IST
ssicon.gif

Image for representation. (Reuters)

New Delhi: The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) in its latest meeting in Paris has decided to put Pakistan on a “grey list” for not taking adequate action against proscribed terrorist entities and individuals.

The motion, brought forth by the United States, was supported by countries like UK, France, and India. The FATF voted 36 to 1 to grey list Pakistan.

The only country that voted in favour of Pakistan was Turkey. Not even traditional friends and allies like China and Turkey voted in favour of Pakistan.

This will make it difficult for international financial institutions and banks to do business in Pakistan. Conversely, it will also make it difficult for Pakistani businesses to raise money overseas.

Pakistan will also find it hard to service its debt obligations. Pakistan has about 300 billion dollars of sovereign debt which it needs to service by the end of June, failing which it could be in for a sovereign ratings downgrade by international rating agencies like S& P Moody’s and Fitch.

Domestically, opposition parties the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) are expected to use this development to attack the ruling PML(N)and its failure to convince the international body. It could also have a negative effect on the PML (N) in the upcoming general elections.

There was a report on Friday that China, Saudi Arabia and Turkey, three close allies of Pakistan, have joined hands to block a move by the Trump administration to place Islamabad on an international terror-financing watch list.

While Pakistan has claimed a victory of sorts, the US was working behind the scenes during the ongoing Paris meeting of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) to take action against the country which it believes has not acted against terrorist financing and the implementation of the UN Security Council resolutions.

http://www.news18.com/news/world/pa...inancing-watchlist-by-task-force-1669931.html

<blockquote class="twitter-video" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Financial Action Task Force puts Pakistan in the &#39;grey list&#39; during its meeting in Paris. All member countries supported the motion except Turkey | <a href="https://twitter.com/Zakka_Jacob?ref_src=twsrc^tfw">@Zakka_Jacob</a> with more details <br><br>Input: <a href="https://twitter.com/manojkumargupta?ref_src=twsrc^tfw">@manojkumargupta</a> <a href="https://t.co/tcvi6IKVFc">pic.twitter.com/tcvi6IKVFc</a></p>&mdash; News18 (@CNNnews18) <a href=" ">February 23, 2018</a></blockquote>
<script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Massive Global Embarrassment Complete; Financial Action Task Force (FATF) To Put Pakistan On Grey List For Terror Financing

Team Republic | 23-02-2018 10:39 am
Khawaja M. Asif

✔@KhawajaMAsif

Our efforts paid,FATF Paris 20Feb meeting conclusion on US led motion to put Pakistan on watch list
-No consensus for nominating Pakistan
-proposing 3months pause &asking APG for another report to b considered in June الحمداللہ
Grateful to friends who helped

12:54 AM - Feb 21, 2018

Twitter Ads info and privacy

Shortly before the meeting in Paris, Pakistan, which was to provide a report on its crackdown on terrorism, had attempted to take desperate last-minute action against 26/11 mastermind Hafiz Saeed's JuD and FIF organisations.

Here's what Indian government sources said to Republic TV about the development:

"We welcome this move by FATF to put Pakistan in the terror financing global list. This has happened on expected lines and comes as a huge embarrassment to Pakistan.

FATF move vindicates India’s stand that Pakistan has been aiding, abetting and financing terrorism against India. The global community needs to realise that Pakistan has been sponsoring terror against its neighbours and using it as a state policy. Global diplomatic steps like these to crush terror important in the war against terror."

The US' move to put Pakistan on the FATF watchlist was foreshadowed by a number of actions by the Trump administration. On the first day of 2018, the US president had launched a scathing and stunning Twitter attack on Pakistan, calling it out for its "lies and deceit" with regards to clamping down on terror and calling an end to military aid to the country. Accordingly, the US administration suspended aid worth about $2 billion to Pakistan. Then, on January 24, the US launched a massive drone strike on Pakistani soil near the border with Afghanistan targeting leaders of the Haqqani network. Another drone strike followed on February 8.

http://www.republicworld.com/world-...ut-pakistan-on-grey-list-for-terror-financing

What a major embarrassment for Pakistan and Khwaja Asif if this news is confirmed later in the day. And if China has not supported Pakistan then thats a huge double whammy!

Official announcement by FATF will come today evening.

Zakka Jacob | CNN-News18

Updated:February 23, 2018, 12:22 PM IST
ssicon.gif

Image for representation. (Reuters)

New Delhi: The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) in its latest meeting in Paris has decided to put Pakistan on a “grey list” for not taking adequate action against proscribed terrorist entities and individuals.

The only country that voted in favour of Pakistan was Turkey. Not even traditional friends and allies like China and Turkey voted in favour of Pakistan.

This will make it difficult for international financial institutions and banks to do business in Pakistan. Conversely, it will also make it difficult for Pakistani businesses to raise money overseas.

Pakistan will also find it hard to service its debt obligations. Pakistan has about 300 billion dollars of sovereign debt which it needs to service by the end of June, failing which it could be in for a sovereign ratings downgrade by international rating agencies like S& P Moody’s and Fitch.

Domestically, opposition parties the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) are expected to use this development to attack the ruling PML(N)and its failure to convince the international body. It could also have a negative effect on the PML (N) in the upcoming general elections.

There was a report on Friday that China, Saudi Arabia and Turkey, three close allies of Pakistan, have joined hands to block a move by the Trump administration to place Islamabad on an international terror-financing watch list.

While Pakistan has claimed a victory of sorts, the US was working behind the scenes during the ongoing Paris meeting of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) to take action against the country which it believes has not acted against terrorist financing and the implementation of the UN Security Council resolutions.

http://www.news18.com/news/world/pa...inancing-watchlist-by-task-force-1669931.html

Pre-mature celebrations comes to an end. :wave:

Why China backstabbed ?
http://www.thehindu.com/news/intern...list-for-terror-financing/article22833899.ece

Pakistan not placed on Grey List yet: FATF

In a statement Financial Action Task Force (FATF) spokesperson Alexander Daniela has denied that Pakistan had been included in the grey-list.While speaking to a private media channel Daniela that the final decision will come once the matter has been reviewed, currently the meeting is underway.

How India had the information prior to conclusion of Meeting?

This whole thread is based on Indian brain farts and a liberal loving their smell

India-US propaganda finaly worked. now idiots start bashing china, russia and KSA too.
We are not only lacking from competent leadership but have been englufed with pathetic people around us.
Buddy if one country is doing it you call it as propaganda...if two countries are doing you can still claim it as propaganda...but if every other country is pointing at you...you must be doing something wrong...time to introspect.
Is hafeez saeed more important than interests of 25 crore people?

So I can't criticize Pak army? Come on man you're deluded. Have I disrespected the martyred according to you or what?
Can you tell me who wrote these words in page 4 i think " Harami government (civilian and military) ney tamasha banaya huwa ha."

kaum ka tamasha banaya huwa ha. Do you not agree with this?

Can you quote a single official statement which is not clear to you? Who is public here as you mentioned? There are many others that understood the stance and clearly understood the purpose of military personnel being sent to KSA.

Did you try to dig about news, details, read it with patience and tried to understand as what GoP said w.r.t. Pakistan Army in KSA? I mean did you search everything? for the ease so you could understand it.
I read multiple news sources before tonight and none of them could provide a definitive answer as to what we were doing in KSA. The matter has been cleared now, all happy days.

Some respectful members think that after this decision the world is end now for us............. nothing happening ............. Because no power on earth that can undo Pakistan......... This is definitely difficult and most crucial year for us.......... but the coming years are bringing pleasure, brightness, Strength and prosperity for us

kaum ka tamasha banaya huwa ha. Do you not agree with this?
Yhi baat to apko samjha raha houn ke ap Army ko kyu is matter main drag kar rhy ho........... Khuda ka wasta ha sabar sy kaam lo............ i request you sir
Dunya aik sath bhi Pakistan py attack kyu na kar lay hmara kux bhi nahi bigar sakti......... Khuda py yaqeen rakho
Sir g

Looks like all the sources ending with Gangadeshi news outlets.

All sources at the end points to these insecure Indians! shameless poor slums!

So can anyone confirm as when was the last time, Pakistan was put on the same list and how we did to this day despite that list?

As far as I know, we were on the same list till 2015, I think and we did far better than past and still doing so by all this, this is not going to matter much. However, will remain affected but world does not ends here and as compare to past, we have further areas, more opportunities & better chances of growth no matter if less but still, we are not going to bow to US for all its failures.

Poors have even given up hope on dramas like surgical strike too. Apparently FATF is the only last hope. :)
I cant quote this @SunilM guy...would be fun to watch him here!

So can anyone confirm as when was the last time, Pakistan was put on the same list and how we did to this day despite that list?

As far as I know, we were on the same list till 2015, I think and we did far better than past and still doing so by all this, this is not going to matter much. However, will remain affected but world does not ends here and as compare to past, we have further areas, more opportunities & better chances of growth no matter if less but still, we are not going to bow to US for all its failures.
And we were put in that list in our worst time and yet we survived quite better ...Things are much much better compared to last time now!

why Pakistan does not raise the issue of terrorist altaf Hussein sheltered in UK ?!? why Pakistan does not deal with them in the same way ?

The US has been taking haqqani network as a propaganda tool against Pakistan ... then why Pakistan does not raise issue of APS school master minds protected in Afghanistan ?

so it is our fault .Either we are coward or sold . thats it .